4,440 posts

2 interesting articles on CNN Money:

http://money.cnn.com/2011/08/11/markets/gold/index.htm

http://money.cnn.com/2011/08/11/news/inter..._debt/index.htm

brokep
post Aug 12 2011, 09:08 AM

gold investment account can withdraw in gold or not? like instead of withdrawing money, i take out gold.
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2011, 09:09 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 12 2011, 09:03 AM)
NOBODY will know how gold will behave in the short term.

Plan yer buying.......if $1755 is your 1st target buy some.....avrage in over a few
price targets......IF gold is your major investment asset

Otherwise any price is okie
No gold surely isnt my major investment. Mine still is property and ASB. But still nobody wants to experience losses on any investments. biggrin.gif

The problem i see with gold is the rise over the past week was too drastic. When something rises so drastically, its bound to drop the same. Gold has been so volotile this week which makes it more risky. Thats why i would prefer UOB as the spread is only RM2. High chance of profit and lower chances of major losses as compared to banks with higher spreads.

Whats your view?
prophetjul
post Aug 12 2011, 09:14 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2011, 09:09 AM)
No gold surely isnt my major investment. Mine still is property and ASB. But still nobody wants to experience losses on any investments.  biggrin.gif

The problem i see with gold is the rise over the past week was too drastic. When something rises so drastically, its bound to drop the same. Gold has been so volotile this week which makes it more risky. Thats why i would prefer UOB as the spread is only RM2. High chance of profit and lower chances of major losses as compared to banks with higher spreads.

Whats your view?
If you are looking for short term, forget gold. Unless you trade forex gold swings.

Its gonna get more volatile mainly because the world's financial system is in chaos...
it will slowly unwind and more and more dirt will be found.

Using gold accounts means you amy waann be longer term?
Otherwise trade GLD on the stock exchange.

If longer term, IMO WAIT..............
ikram.adi
post Aug 12 2011, 09:19 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(brokep @ Aug 12 2011, 09:08 AM)
gold investment account can withdraw in gold or not? like instead of withdrawing money, i take out gold.
Try KFH gold account. http://www.kfh.com.my/. You can open account, take physicals out or let them store it
Nidz
post Aug 12 2011, 09:25 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

yeah, KFH allows us to withdraw physical gold. but their gold is just 995, not 999... will that bother any investor?
brokep
post Aug 12 2011, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(ikram.adi @ Aug 12 2011, 09:19 AM)
Try KFH gold account. http://www.kfh.com.my/. You can open account, take physicals out or let them store it
thanks bro. exactly what i'm looking for.

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:29 am
QUOTE(Nidz @ Aug 12 2011, 09:25 AM)
yeah, KFH allows us to withdraw physical gold. but their gold is just 995, not 999... will that bother any investor?
which page did you read that from? i thought standard is 999 for gold investment? 995 will definitely bother me.

thanks for the info

This post has been edited by brokep: Aug 12 2011, 09:29 AM
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2011, 09:31 AM

4,440 posts

I just saw KFH. The spread is so damn high! RM 10 per gram. Crazy! shocking.gif

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:31 am
I just saw KFH. The spread is so damn high! RM 10 per gram. Crazy! shocking.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 12 2011, 09:31 AM
Nidz
post Aug 12 2011, 09:37 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(brokep @ Aug 12 2011, 09:25 AM)
which page did you read that from? i thought standard is 999 for gold investment? 995 will definitely bother me.

thanks for the info
here
http://www.kfh.com.my/bpmapp-upload/downlo..._-64e1/Gold.pdf

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:39 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2011, 09:31 AM)
I just saw KFH. The spread is so damn high! RM 10 per gram.  Crazy!  shocking.gif
syariah compliant bro... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Nidz: Aug 12 2011, 09:39 AM
OneBuck
post Aug 12 2011, 09:45 AM

208 posts

I just saw KFH. The spread is so damn high! RM 10 per gram.  Crazy!  shocking.gif

Why KFH so high?
Because, to comply with shariah, they must give an option to convert to gold at any time.

So, lets compare apple to apple.
Public Gold, 10grm, 1877-1722=150=15 pergram

Kijang emas, 5551oz-5336oz=215/31.1 = 6.91 pergram.

So, for security not to hold it physically and the convenient of paper gold transaction, you decide whether RM10 pergrm is high or not. nod.gif
brokep
post Aug 12 2011, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(Nidz @ Aug 12 2011, 09:37 AM)
here
http://www.kfh.com.my/bpmapp-upload/downlo..._-64e1/Gold.pdf

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:39 am

syariah compliant bro... brows.gif
thanks bro
chengcheng
post Aug 12 2011, 12:08 PM

294 posts

For investment gold that is 999.9 better or 995?
DM3
post Aug 12 2011, 12:21 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

dont put all the eggs into just 1 basket lor
Nidz
post Aug 12 2011, 12:27 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(chengcheng @ Aug 12 2011, 12:08 PM)
For investment gold that is 999.9 better or 995?
999 is better loh. higher quality and easily sellable coz its regarded as investment.
same with 995 but not really sure what is the significant disadvantage of 995 over 999.. maybe the price will differ abit?
lee90
post Aug 12 2011, 01:04 PM

Ozibala
1,005 posts

Hmm.. although it dropped 2day but I think it will still increase in the next few weeks. am I right?

I got a question here:
1. I wanted to open a gold investment account in UOB but then all my money is inside Maybank account. so, How do i transfer the money to UOB?

kelvyn
post Aug 12 2011, 01:15 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Aug 12 2011, 02:04 PM)
Hmm.. although it dropped 2day but I think it will still increase in the next few weeks. am I right?

I got a question here:
1. I wanted to open a gold investment account in UOB but then all my money is inside Maybank account. so, How do i transfer the money to UOB?

1. Withdraw all your money from Maybank in cash and walk over to UOB bank.
2. Ask Maybank to issue a banker cheque in your name and the go to UOB bank.

As simple as that. biggrin.gif

lee90
post Aug 12 2011, 01:23 PM

Ozibala
1,005 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 12 2011, 01:15 PM)
1. Withdraw all your money from Maybank in cash and walk over to UOB bank.
2. Ask Maybank to issue a banker cheque in your name and the go to UOB bank.

As simple as that.  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif Im thinking of that too but im afraid later I kena rob by ppl hahahaha tongue.gif
But I'll try to do that later biggrin.gif
whizzkid
post Aug 12 2011, 04:01 PM

96 posts

If u calculate in percentage, it's just 5.33%.
megabyte
post Aug 12 2011, 04:10 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Aug 12 2011, 01:23 PM)
rclxms.gif Im thinking of that too but im afraid later I kena rob by ppl  hahahaha tongue.gif
But I'll try to do that later  biggrin.gif
Haha won't lar I did the same yesterday. I collect my money from HSBC then open gold savings account in UOB. Simple and fast. They even gave me an ATM card, I don't know if there's any charges for the ATM service though, didn't bother to ask.

The reason I opened the gold savings account is to start learning investment, so I start from small, but my friend said silver better if you don't have a lot of cash. But oh well, what done is done. No point regretting like sifus here says. I still have a lot to learn from sifus here.
lee90
post Aug 12 2011, 04:47 PM

Ozibala
1,005 posts

QUOTE(megabyte @ Aug 12 2011, 04:10 PM)
Haha won't lar I did the same yesterday. I collect my money from HSBC then open gold savings account in UOB. Simple and fast. They even gave me an ATM card, I don't know if there's any charges for the ATM service though, didn't bother to ask.

The reason I opened the gold savings account is to start learning investment, so I start from small, but my friend said silver better if you don't have a lot of cash. But oh well, what done is done. No point regretting like sifus here says. I still have a lot to learn from sifus here.
swt, just went to UOB and the guy there told me that it is already 3pm and they 'cut-off' already, need to wait monday just can buy gold.. cry.gif

121 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0191sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:55 AM