VW Polo 1.2 VS Peugeot 308 Turbo, Please help

geforce88
post Feb 26 2011, 11:21 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
from what I heard from the salesman it's cbu but registers as ckd. They remove the door separately then send the car over to Malaysia.
so can we conclude that everything can be 'ckd' as long as just 1 part is not completely assembled? hmm.gif

wow, if that's really the case, that means we are able to ckd almost every car, right? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

i want a 'ckd' Ferrari California !!!! laugh.gif
twincharger07
post Feb 27 2011, 01:54 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:18 PM)
wow just the doors are made in malaysia??? funny... y naza can do this but others can't...
??????

dude.. is your facts correct?? made in boleh land?

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Feb 27 2011, 01:57 AM
turbocharged
post Feb 27 2011, 02:00 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:21 PM)
so can we conclude that everything can be 'ckd' as long as just 1 part is not completely assembled?  hmm.gif

wow, if that's really the case, that means we are able to ckd almost every car, right?  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

i want a 'ckd' Ferrari California !!!!  laugh.gif
if you know the right person, yes, thats how it works here.

no, there will not be cheap Ferrari, you can buy recon at naza world, which also sell some other CKD cars, low end than ferrari though, lol.
Vervain
post Feb 27 2011, 02:56 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

its a complete car then they remove the door from car, ship the door and car loose over back to malaysia and assembled here. Well it's what the salesman from Naza said. Whether it's true or not, we will never know unless some insider can confirm on this.
phas3r
post Feb 27 2011, 04:12 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(swhung @ Feb 26 2011, 09:46 PM)
i think 120k can squeeze a 2nd hand Mk5 golf gti. especially those older ones, year 2004 wald imported.
turbocharged 2.0 litre inline 4 with DSG. u can tapau civics, lancer gt, inspirar, and any car around the 100k range.
at least 140k for 2005 ones
not to mention some backup for repairs etc
with 120k budget you can't
kenji1903
post Feb 27 2011, 06:44 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(swhung @ Feb 26 2011, 09:46 PM)
i think 120k can squeeze a 2nd hand Mk5 golf gti. especially those older ones, year 2004 wald imported.
turbocharged 2.0 litre inline 4 with DSG. u can tapau civics, lancer gt, inspirar, and any car around the 100k range.
golf gti can tapao C200 kompressor, type-R, why compare with Civic/lancer/inspira? doh.gif

Added on February 27, 2011, 6:49 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
from what I heard from the salesman it's cbu but registers as ckd. They remove the door separately then send the car over to Malaysia.
that's one of naza's selling point for the 308... they'll tell you that the whole car is flown in with only the doors and wheels seperated, they only assemble the wheels and doors here... don't know cos never been to their factory...

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Feb 27 2011, 07:24 AM
phas3r
post Feb 27 2011, 06:51 AM

1,206 posts

actually gti can even tapao rm300k 325i sports
michael9413
post Feb 27 2011, 07:34 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Feb 27 2011, 01:54 AM)
??????

dude.. is your facts correct?? made in boleh land?
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 27 2011, 06:44 AM)
golf gti can tapao C200 kompressor, why compare with Civic/lancer/inspira? doh.gif

Added on February 27, 2011, 6:49 am
that's one of naza's selling point for the 308... they'll tell you that the whole car is flown in with only the doors and wheels seperated, they only assemble the wheels and doors here... don't know cos never been to their factory...
well in order to achieve CKD status they need to make some part in malaysia... that is the rules... duno how much things in the car is needed to be manufactured in the country... if not it will not have sharp decline on the cars... sales talk, disassemble and ship in sweat.gif

in Paultan blog i remember i read somewhere that ppl mention u need to meet 40% of local parts in order to have a good tax exemption...
turbocharged
post Feb 27 2011, 08:48 AM

250 posts

well, the 308 they sold is less than 3000 units last year, i remember is 1000-2000 only.

i do not think they are able to source any parts to make locally, how to get ppl to manufacture a part for a mere 2000 cars?

even the good selling Kia forte, total only sold 5000++ since launch, look at the number, if anyone telling you they produce anything locally, they lied.

5000 T shirt can print la. the number simply doesnt justify any local production.

unless u can do like myvi, one month selling 7000-8000.

if you think again, how can naza one year launch more models than proton and perodua combined?

right? Perodua , the giant now, only launch ONE new model every TWO years.

ssshhhh, dont tell gomen.
michael9413
post Feb 27 2011, 09:36 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

who say Myvi one month selling 7000... the OTR registration statistic from JPJ is only around 3500 only...

big volume got the advantage of lower cost but u duno the brake disc, pads, lighting and some others invisible parts for the user they use local vendor... even Vios and City used a lot of local parts already wat... haha...
look into details u will see more...

so if you say low volume cannot localize then you are wrong...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Feb 27 2011, 09:36 AM
turbocharged
post Feb 27 2011, 10:10 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 27 2011, 09:36 AM)
who say Myvi one month selling 7000... the OTR registration statistic from JPJ is only around 3500 only...
big volume got the advantage of lower cost but u duno the brake disc, pads, lighting and some others invisible parts for the user they use local vendor... even Vios and City used a lot of local parts already wat... haha...
look into details u will see more...
so if you say low volume cannot localize then you are wrong...
myvi average sales per month 6500 for 2010, total sold 77700, OTR statistic my arse, 3500units? those are stats in 2005.

http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...285&whichpage=2

those disc brake, light are all OEM. yes, from bosch, from automotive lighting,from ZF Steering all in malaysia. They'll export the OEM parts to other countries too.But we dont export cars( in a large quantity) to other countries.

there is no doubt about naza SA words about pasang door. The best they can do is assemble the car (in this case, doors) only. You set up automotive production line to sell an annual volume of 3000? 5000? lol. 308 turbo you're talking right? not 207 right? lol. Assembly line is much simpler, than making the whole car and source local parts.

look at the tyre 308THp and kia forte are using. You dont purposely import the tyre all the way from Germany and Korea/china to assemble in malaysia. You'll do it like inspira, get from Continental (Sime) in....Alorsetar Kedah.

--------------------------------------------------

So, no, local stuff are good, just simply what can the public afford.

BTW, Merc S500 is also CKD in msia, not that we can afford it, its A million RM.

http://cbt.com.my/cbt-story/mercedes-benz-...global-presence

Back to the topic, 308thp is a better buy compared to polo, look at the moon roof, priceless!

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 27 2011, 10:19 AM
azxel
post Feb 27 2011, 11:01 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

i only tested a few cars recently but not the Polo..

I'd say that for driving experience and ride comfort (front and back passnger included), for me it's gonna be Golf 1.4 TSI > Ford Focus TDCI > Peugeot 308THP.

There used to be reports of the 308THP jerking when driven in a jam when braking and accelerating but this was in the 4-speed model. Not too sure about the 6-speeder but when I tested it, it seemed ok.

I still say, take a test drive.. drive in a housing area with loads of speed bumps, stop and go conditions and highways for speed and corners. Then sit behind while asking someone else to drive to see how it feels like sitting behind.
miczee
post Feb 27 2011, 12:58 PM

QUOTE(cropika @ Feb 26 2011, 06:54 PM)
dun forget- the polo u buying in msia is made in south africa...hence the lower specs that u get compared than the 1 in germany...
there are many specs..if u can find the brochour..
the best type is not sold here..hence we get the lowest spec..
Please get your facts right, it's a mid range spec to sell at the current price, before tax it is 78k ++ and the tax is about 38 k therefore its 100k ++ here. So its about the same as the fiesta but the fiesta is made in thailand therefore AFTA tax exemption. In Germany you get to choose what spec you would like , it's not necessary chock full of every option when you buy a polo in Germany ........ Back to his topic, if you want a bigger car get the Peugeot if you don't mind size...get the polo.... But most of all go test drive both...then you will know which to choose, btw the fiesta is a good car to get too if size is not an issue for you. If you can wait another year , get the vw jetta however you won't get the tsi engine....and btw cropika the 'outdated' 2009 engine you mentioned is years ahead of any 'new' non -continental car engine in the market now
TSblinky
post Feb 27 2011, 01:49 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Wow guys, thanks so much for the feedbacks!

Okay, I think I'm currently leaning more towards the 308 Turbo, because interior and comfort is very important to me, and the Polo's interior is a little off the mark.

May I ask how much is a pre-owned Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI selling for? Or are there even people selling it?

For those who suggested, no I'm not planning to start a family anytime soon. I'm only 25+ years old so yeah, at least 5 more years to go before I move on to my dream car - the Audi tongue.gif

Like I said, my car will be used for normal city driving, I'm a very active person so I'm out on the roads most of the time.

The thing about the 308 Turbo I'm worried about is the reliability and service. I've heard a lot of horror stories about Naza and the general mechanism of Peugeot cars.
twincharger07
post Feb 27 2011, 02:39 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Feb 27 2011, 01:49 PM)
Wow guys, thanks so much for the feedbacks!

Okay, I think I'm currently leaning more towards the 308 Turbo, because interior and comfort is very important to me, and the Polo's interior is a little off the mark.

May I ask how much is a pre-owned Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI selling for? Or are there even people selling it?

For those who suggested, no I'm not planning to start a family anytime soon. I'm only 25+ years old so yeah, at least 5 more years to go before I move on to my dream car - the Audi tongue.gif

Like I said, my car will be used for normal city driving, I'm a very active person so I'm out on the roads most of the time.

The thing about the 308 Turbo I'm worried about is the reliability and service. I've heard a lot of horror stories about Naza and the general mechanism of Peugeot cars.
Golf TSI pre-own 4 months about RM140k (not sure include light and sound or not).. check motortrader.com.my

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Feb 27 2011, 02:53 PM
michael9413
post Feb 27 2011, 07:11 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 27 2011, 10:10 AM)
myvi average sales per month 6500 for 2010, total sold 77700, OTR statistic my arse, 3500units? those are stats in 2005.

http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...285&whichpage=2

those disc brake, light are all OEM.  yes, from bosch, from automotive lighting,from ZF Steering all in malaysia. They'll export the OEM parts to other countries too.But we dont export cars( in a large quantity) to other countries.

there is no doubt about  naza SA words about pasang door. The best they can do is assemble the car (in this case, doors) only. You set up automotive production line to sell an annual volume of 3000? 5000? lol. 308 turbo you're talking right? not 207 right? lol. Assembly line is much simpler, than making the whole car and source local parts.

look at the tyre 308THp and kia forte are using. You dont purposely import the tyre all the way from Germany and Korea/china to assemble in malaysia. You'll do it like inspira, get from Continental (Sime) in....Alorsetar Kedah.

So, no, local stuff are good, just simply what can the public afford.

BTW, Merc S500 is also CKD in msia, not that we can afford it, its A million RM.

http://cbt.com.my/cbt-story/mercedes-benz-...global-presence

Back to the topic, 308thp is a better buy compared to polo, look at the moon roof, priceless!
ok my bad on the facts but to skip that huge sum of tax u need to have certain amount of things manufactured locally... i duno how Pug did it with Naza... but for my just assemble the doors to get that huge amount of tax exemption is a joke... don forget Naza have a assembly plant for Kia... it is not full assembly full assembly when they come in parts might be imported from Thailand and others places too...

no point to argue on this...

just to tell you Inspiria tires sucks... entree level for a car like that just like cheapo... BTW not only Conti has factory here (PJ also have), goodyear also in shah alam... there is still a lot of parts they manufacture here...
DarkNite
post Feb 27 2011, 07:20 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Feb 27 2011, 01:49 PM)
Yup this is a major issue.
One melted wire and you can't start the car!
Yup most of the horror stories about NAZA is true, basically they sell car and that's it!
After that you are on your own! sweat.gif

FYI, VW sells about a million cars a year in China, so I won't worry about cost or availability of parts.
turbocharged
post Feb 27 2011, 08:32 PM

250 posts

308THP has a moonroof!! smile.gif

and its a bigger car too!

If you love taking fast corner everywhere, then go for Polo.

but then, VW has some serious issue with after sales and their DSG gearbox too. can check in forum, and check the comments on paultan ( test drive golf 1.4 tsi page)

Naza has 1 boss, VW....all dealers are different. Test drive first la.
Pogostik
post Feb 27 2011, 08:46 PM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 27 2011, 08:32 PM)
308THP has a moonroof!! smile.gif

and its a bigger car too!

If you love taking fast corner everywhere, then go for Polo.

but then, VW has some serious issue with after sales and their DSG gearbox too. can check in forum, and check the comments on paultan ( test drive golf 1.4 tsi page)

Naza has 1 boss, VW....all dealers are different. Test drive first la.
Some says after a while they get bored of the panoramic roof.

Well...

Yes, the 308THP has some reliability issues. But most of the owners are willing to trade those for the joy of owning it. Please log on here to read more on Peugeot 308.
michael9413
post Feb 27 2011, 08:48 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well there will always pros and cons... just enjoy driving your car...

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:56 AM