VW Polo 1.2 VS Peugeot 308 Turbo, Please help

azxel
post Feb 27 2011, 11:01 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

i only tested a few cars recently but not the Polo..

I'd say that for driving experience and ride comfort (front and back passnger included), for me it's gonna be Golf 1.4 TSI > Ford Focus TDCI > Peugeot 308THP.

There used to be reports of the 308THP jerking when driven in a jam when braking and accelerating but this was in the 4-speed model. Not too sure about the 6-speeder but when I tested it, it seemed ok.

I still say, take a test drive.. drive in a housing area with loads of speed bumps, stop and go conditions and highways for speed and corners. Then sit behind while asking someone else to drive to see how it feels like sitting behind.
azxel
post Mar 2 2011, 02:40 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Feb 26 2011, 06:23 PM)

Added on February 26, 2011, 6:25 pmAnd oh, my preference is actually sedans, I really like Audi A4 but sadly it's far beyond my reach.

I guess I can try to accept hothatches, but only if they are really worth it smile.gif
Both the PUG 308THP and Polo 1.2 are hot hatches blink.gif

I just tested the Polo and I say get this if you:
- drive this car alone or fetch minimal people
- wanna save a bit more fuel
- wanna go 0-100 faster than the 308THP
- like taking corners
- like driving small(er) cars
- like overtaking a lot of cars
- feels and seems better built quality compared to the 308THP

Or wait for the possible Polo Sedan made to compete with the Vios/City market (soon to be CKD together with the Jetta, China-Passat). Polo GTi will be kinda out of reach but you can still buy the Polo and later buy Polo GTi parts (fog lamps, LED grills, etc) to enhance your Polo.

Of course the problem about buying the Polo is that you'd probably get a lot of.. "waaa.. top up a bit and you can buy a Honda Civic or Accord liao...somemore got resale value..." kinda mumbo jumbo from relatives and other folks. laugh.gif

308THP has
- better interior
- more space
- looks better on the outside as well (not as sedated as the Polo)

I like it but I'm not very very impressed by it.
azxel
post Mar 3 2011, 10:06 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:27 PM)
IMHO... PUG 308 is hot hatch same segment with golf which is C-segment..

while Polo 1.2 TSI is in Supermini category rival with mini cooper which more towards B-segment..

yup... Polo isn't that small to be a supermini.. the Mini Cooper is much smaller... of course that Smart car is much smaller.. laugh.gif

I guess if interior is important (after all we're buying the car and we're the ones constantly sitting inside it driving it and we wanna enjoy it's interior), then the 308THP is a good choice.
azxel
post Apr 8 2011, 08:48 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Tested both and find the polo more nippy than the 308thp... Step on the pedal and the polo really surprised me.
azxel
post Apr 8 2011, 09:22 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I'm not quite sure how there would really be an advantage with a 7-speeder and how it stacks up with a 6-speeder.

Safety features, I think both cars are equally good. I won't consider cruise control a safety feature... didn't quite like the 308thp's cruise control position as well.

About Traction and Stability control, I would say that the 308thp needs it. I took a pretty sharp corner on the Polo going 70-80km/h with confidence, something I didn't feel confident with taking (the same corner) when I was testing the Fiesta.

I'm not certain I swear by Traction and Stability control because... I've felt my Mini Cooper's TCS activate while driving in a heavy rain and wonder what it would be like without it. On the other hand, I also drive a '96 Alfa which safety feature is only 1 airbag and never had any issues driving in a heavy rain. Perhaps, its the tyres?

Would I buy the Polo, especially as a main car? Nope.. LOL.. its cramped inside. The gearbox while smoother than my Mini Cooper (and the Fiesta I tested), doesn't feel as smooth as other cars I tried, namely.. the new Golf, 308thp, 3008, Focus and even the Prius therefore, the pregnant misses said NO! It's not as comfy as a Beetle or the 308thp as well. Its a very.. very.. basic car with a really nice engine and gearbox and 6 airbags.

I will say however that the Polo would be a pretty neat 2nd car to drive around town, go to the market, go out for drinks when I go hang out with pals, etc. If I'm young, single and alone... I might buy it.

Then... would I buy a 308thp? I would love to (actually was eyeing the 5008 as well) but I wouldn't either... the 308thp seems to be riddled with quite a few nuisance and we all know how bad their after sales service is.

SO.. now I'm stuck not knowing which car to buy.. LOL

0.0161sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:10 AM