After reading the posts here, I gather that I have to lay the network cables in a separate PVC pipe to my electrical wiring.
However can I lay several network cables in the same PVC pipe?
Installing Gigabit Home Network
Sep 12 2012, 07:57 AM
844 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Mars, where else? |
After reading the posts here, I gather that I have to lay the network cables in a separate PVC pipe to my electrical wiring.
However can I lay several network cables in the same PVC pipe? |
Sep 12 2012, 08:06 AM
1,310 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Sep 12 2012, 07:57 AM) After reading the posts here, I gather that I have to lay the network cables in a separate PVC pipe to my electrical wiring. Shouldn't be a problem for multiple network cables in one PVC pipe. I guess maximum can put 4... If want to lay same piping as electrical wiring. You may consider shielded cat 5 cable.However can I lay several network cables in the same PVC pipe? |
Sep 12 2012, 08:12 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 12 2012, 12:17 PM
Thanks for the reply.. I am still deciding between ca5e and cat6. Cat5e for it's price and cat6 for future proofing. Difference about RM300-400 (cable + keystones, etc). Any suggestions which should I go for? My main purpose to is to deliver FTTH to all my computers/laptops, file sharing with NAS, and FullHD movie streaming from NAS to network media player.
I am thinking of maximum 6 in a pipe (hub side). They rest are either one or four in a pipe. Is that reasonable? Edit: And I forgot to add that I'll be using the network for cat5e/cat6 based HDMI extender and remote repeater. This post has been edited by Kain_Sicilian: Sep 12 2012, 12:18 PM |
Sep 12 2012, 01:34 PM
1,310 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Sep 12 2012, 12:17 PM) Thanks for the reply.. I am still deciding between ca5e and cat6. Cat5e for it's price and cat6 for future proofing. Difference about RM300-400 (cable + keystones, etc). Any suggestions which should I go for? My main purpose to is to deliver FTTH to all my computers/laptops, file sharing with NAS, and FullHD movie streaming from NAS to network media player. Like this?I am thinking of maximum 6 in a pipe (hub side). They rest are either one or four in a pipe. Is that reasonable? Edit: And I forgot to add that I'll be using the network for cat5e/cat6 based HDMI extender and remote repeater. ![]() 1. Maxis FTTH 10Mbps 2. Qnap TS212 NAS Server 3. TP-Link Gigabit 16 Port Switch |
Sep 12 2012, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(mhhee @ Sep 12 2012, 01:34 PM) Yes, something very similar! Just that I probably will be using the maxis ori Thomson router instead of a switch. I might add a switch (Old TBase100 somewhere in my shed) to the router for non demanding gadgets e.g PS3 in future if I run out of ports on the router. |
Sep 12 2012, 03:31 PM
A real Cat 6 cabling standard need DB testing for optimum performence. If the test failed / have too much crc error running cat 6 at the highest rate, it will fall back to the lower rate and that is already similar to CAT5e.
Cat 5e is good up to 1Gbps, and Cat 6 can go up to 10Gbps if it pass all the testing. Added on September 12, 2012, 3:31 pmHDMI extender need 2 LAN cable. Cat 5e or 6 does not matter. This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 12 2012, 03:31 PM |
Sep 12 2012, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 12 2012, 03:31 PM) A real Cat 6 cabling standard need DB testing for optimum performence. If the test failed / have too much crc error running cat 6 at the highest rate, it will fall back to the lower rate and that is already similar to CAT5e. I see, it seems like in that case cat5e should be sufficient for me isn't it?Cat 5e is good up to 1Gbps, and Cat 6 can go up to 10Gbps if it pass all the testing. Added on September 12, 2012, 3:31 pmHDMI extender need 2 LAN cable. Cat 5e or 6 does not matter. |
Sep 12 2012, 06:22 PM
1Gbps is good for sometime. If you want future proof, pull fiber entire house. Can go up to 100Gbps.
Sep 12 2012, 10:39 PM
I think I will stick to cat5e
Sep 13 2012, 08:53 AM
532 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i just bought cat5e cable
will be laying it this weekend |
Sep 13 2012, 10:09 AM
Everyone are talking about cat6, have anyone every try to boost the cable up to 10Gbps? and see if any CRC error?
Ususally is only 1Gbps, and that is still achiveable in cat5e. For cat6, get the bendable without the center rubber, it cost almost double, but easy to lay and less problem. Lots of installer don't know how to handle Cat6 with the center rubber, is really a pain to deal with, especially after complete you run the test and fail. |
Sep 20 2012, 10:59 AM
In the end, I chose to install cat5e partly because of the cost and I am not sure If i'll be able to make sure the cable that I install meet the conditions for cat6 to run optimally.
THanks for all the advice and help! |
Sep 20 2012, 11:54 AM
334 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Cat5e is good enough lah, how many data you need to transfer just from your house? 1Gbps can last for 20-30 years good enough. When Cat6 is common perhaps the time u got new house and just install cat6 at new house
Added on September 20, 2012, 11:56 am QUOTE(mhhee @ Sep 12 2012, 01:34 PM) UPS and Surge protector ?This post has been edited by xerox1234: Sep 20 2012, 11:56 AM |
Sep 20 2012, 12:32 PM
Get fiber sure future proof. Current testing phase is fiber transmitting 1Tbps. Not even have any production servers can process such a huge data speed yet.
Apr 7 2013, 04:17 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
My house is going through renovation now (with lotsa hacking) and i was planning to setup a small network system in my home. Following is what i was planning to do (refer to diagram above) 1. Ask contractor to prepare an empty conduit so that TM contractor can lay the fiber to where I plan to put my Wireless Router. 2. Buy DINTEK Cat.5e 4 Pair UTP Cable 305m/Box (http://www.tom3c.com/networking-devices/network-cabling-accessories/dintek-1101-03003) and lay them around the house using wall plug so that all cabling will be concealed. 3. I would like to have two DECT phone, one at first floor and another ground floor. What type of cable are they using? Do i just need to ensure the switch that i gonna buy has an VOIP port and it will works fine? Understood that the BTU from TM comes with a VOIP port. When the phone comes in, will both be ringing? Last but not least, can someone let me know if my setup above is correct? Cause i was planning to lay them next week Many Thanks This post has been edited by Gundam84: Apr 7 2013, 04:24 PM |
Apr 8 2013, 12:15 AM
You have 2 DECT Phone, is this the analog DECT supply by uniFi? Or VOIP Phone via internet? if is uniFi DECT Phone that is analog phone you can't plug into your ground floor switch.
Your layout are very confusing to me. How is Ground floor and 1st floor connect? Or you plan not to connect them? For Analog phone cabling is using CAT 3 with RJ11 head/jack, but you can use CAT 5e and use Cat5e faceplate no issue, Cat 5e use RJ45 faceplate and are backwards compatible to RJ11 head. This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 8 2013, 12:21 AM |
Apr 8 2013, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 8 2013, 12:15 AM) You have 2 DECT Phone, is this the analog DECT supply by uniFi? Or VOIP Phone via internet? if is uniFi DECT Phone that is analog phone you can't plug into your ground floor switch. hi weikee,Your layout are very confusing to me. How is Ground floor and 1st floor connect? Or you plan not to connect them? For Analog phone cabling is using CAT 3 with RJ11 head/jack, but you can use CAT 5e and use Cat5e faceplate no issue, Cat 5e use RJ45 faceplate and are backwards compatible to RJ11 head. Sorry for the confusion. Ground floor and 1st floor are connected via the concealed Dintex Cat 5e. UTP cable network cable. If you refer to the numbering wall plug, it should be 1 to 1 mapping ( there is some mistake in the earlier diagram where i got no.2 plate mapped into two different location) Following are the updated one I had no prior knowledge for Unifi. I do mean the one that supplied by Unifi, thus from your post if i not mistaken, it can't connect it via my ground floor switch. In this scenario, how could i have a two DECT setup (not VOIP Phone via internet). Could i do it something as what shown in the updated diagram? using a splitter This post has been edited by Gundam84: Apr 8 2013, 09:35 AM |
Apr 8 2013, 11:21 AM
212 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Gundam84 @ Apr 8 2013, 09:13 AM) hi weikee, Some inputs based on my reno experience...Sorry for the confusion. Ground floor and 1st floor are connected via the concealed Dintex Cat 5e. UTP cable network cable. If you refer to the numbering wall plug, it should be 1 to 1 mapping ( there is some mistake in the earlier diagram where i got no.2 plate mapped into two different location) Following are the updated one I had no prior knowledge for Unifi. I do mean the one that supplied by Unifi, thus from your post if i not mistaken, it can't connect it via my ground floor switch. In this scenario, how could i have a two DECT setup (not VOIP Phone via internet). Could i do it something as what shown in the updated diagram? using a splitter 1) From BTU to wireless router - there's only one LAN cable connecting these 2 equipments, not 2 cables from your diagram (refer to point 2). 2) The wireless router have 5 ports, one WLAN port (to plug-in incoming LAN cable from the BTU), and 4 switch ports. Of these 4 switch ports, only 3 can be used for data, as port no 4 is dedicated to your IPTV. 3) Yes, you can have a simple splitter plugged into your BTU RJ-11 port to have 2 DECT phones connected. I have a 3 way splitter for my DECT phone. Just make sure your RJ-11 phone lines are long enough to reach your BTU unit. 4) Other setup seems to be ok, although I am not sure if your switch on the ground floor will be compatible with the wireless router or not (I am not sure abt this, u gotta ask some sifoo). 5) I used a separate switch to handle most of the traffic inside the house, leaving most of the ports in the TM's wireless router unused (only use port 1 for internet traffic, and port 4 for IPTV). I would suggest that you do the same if you stream lots of videos or audio around your house, as the router provided by TM isn't exactly enterprise quality level Hope this helps! |
Apr 8 2013, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Nitrous @ Apr 8 2013, 11:21 AM) Some inputs based on my reno experience... Thanks, Nitrous. I had alwiz thought that the IPTV line from BTU. But it seems that it will be from the wireless router.1) From BTU to wireless router - there's only one LAN cable connecting these 2 equipments, not 2 cables from your diagram (refer to point 2). 2) The wireless router have 5 ports, one WLAN port (to plug-in incoming LAN cable from the BTU), and 4 switch ports. Of these 4 switch ports, only 3 can be used for data, as port no 4 is dedicated to your IPTV. 3) Yes, you can have a simple splitter plugged into your BTU RJ-11 port to have 2 DECT phones connected. I have a 3 way splitter for my DECT phone. Just make sure your RJ-11 phone lines are long enough to reach your BTU unit. 4) Other setup seems to be ok, although I am not sure if your switch on the ground floor will be compatible with the wireless router or not (I am not sure abt this, u gotta ask some sifoo). 5) I used a separate switch to handle most of the traffic inside the house, leaving most of the ports in the TM's wireless router unused (only use port 1 for internet traffic, and port 4 for IPTV). I would suggest that you do the same if you stream lots of videos or audio around your house, as the router provided by TM isn't exactly enterprise quality level Hope this helps! You mentioned that you used a separate switch to handle traffic. In that case, can I confirm if you connect the switch to the port 1 for the wireless router and port 4 for IPTV? The rest of the LAN devices are connected to this separate switch (and with internet access)? If yes, it is very similar to what I'm trying to achieve with the switch at ground floor. Just that besides, using the switch, I'm also utilizing port 2 & 3 of the wireless router Updated Diagram (if this works, perhaps the IPTV can be using the port from the switch instead from the wireless router This post has been edited by Gundam84: Apr 8 2013, 12:07 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0312sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:14 AM |