Installing Gigabit Home Network

TSwz3k
post Feb 22 2011, 10:29 PM, updated 15y ago

109 posts

Hi All,

I'm thinking of installing gigabit wired network in my home. This would consist of a switch and cat6 cables running into each room in a 2.5 storey house (5 rooms to be exact). Each room will have an ethernet wall plate each. I understand that this will involve hacking into the wall to lay and hide the cables. If anyone has previous experience either DIY or using contractor for this, hope you can share your experience and how much it cost. If you provide this service, please let know and we can discuss further.

Now I have considered other options like wireless N and homeplugs but I want reliability and speed (I mean some serious speed brows.gif ). If you know of another way to get reliable connection and speed, do let me know as well..

Thank you all.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wz3k: Feb 23 2011, 05:04 PM
Kiding
post Feb 22 2011, 11:55 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Feb 22 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hi All,

I'm thinking of installing gigabit wired network in my home. This would consist of a switch and cat6 cables running into each room in a 2.5 storey house (5 rooms to be exact). Each room will have an ethernet wall plate each. I understand that this will involve hacking into the wall to lay and hide the cables. If anyone has previous experience either DIY or using contractor for this, hope you can share your experience and how much it cost. If you provide this service, please let know and we can discuss further.

Now I have considered other options like wireless N and homeplugs but I want reliability and speed (I mean some serious speed  brows.gif ). If you know of another way to get reliable connection and speed, do let me know as well..

Thank you all.. thumbup.gif
I asked my lighting guys to do it when laid wires for lighting for total 8 points (5 cables from ground floor to first floor, and another 3 for ground floor), if my memory serve me well, total cost is around RM400.

If your house is still under renovation, better ask the lighting guys to do it when they hack the wall, otherwise, to re-conceal the cables is troublesome and may costly.
TSwz3k
post Feb 23 2011, 12:45 AM

109 posts

wahh.. that's quite affordable.. my house will get CF soon.. so now surveying and calculating what I can afford to do.. thanks for the info.. will definitely check with electrician later to bundle with the other wiring job that is needed..

another question, when they install the network cable, did they put yours in PVC piping or something? thanks
Kiding
post Feb 23 2011, 09:00 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Feb 23 2011, 12:45 AM)
wahh.. that's quite affordable.. my house will get CF soon.. so now surveying and calculating what I can afford to do.. thanks for the info.. will definitely check with electrician later to bundle with the other wiring job that is needed..

another question, when they install the network cable, did they put yours in PVC piping or something? thanks
You can ask them to put cable in the PVC pipe, just remember not to lay cable parallel with the electricity wires.

BTW, the RM 400 charge is only for laying cable and hacking, not including cable, wall plate, connector and cable termination.
SnoWFisH
post Feb 23 2011, 10:04 AM

2,250 posts

Usually you'll need to get your own cables (anyway recommended, cuz the contractor won't know what is your requirement). They can probably supply the wall plate.
LickGuy
post Feb 23 2011, 02:46 PM

Highly Flammable Material
1,520 posts

I also got my contractor to lay CAT6 cables @ my new hse,
total 5 points (rj45 next to rj11, then go opposite wall (TV bench), then from TV bech got 3 rj45 go down all the way to basement... i use it to convert HDMI instead)...
total cost ... 1 lump sum they didn't gimme breakdown

If you want it cheap ... better get your own cable, faceplate, keystone... It's quite hard to get cat6 keystone but I manage to find 1 guy in garagesales sellin it ... the rest all selling faceplate + cat5e keystone. and 4 ports faceplate is VERY hard to get .. i scout whole klang valley kenot find, end up earlier this week I got one of my fren bought it from JB and now courier to me. sigh.

and I also bought cable stripper & punch down tool also... and pinjam network tester from my fren tongue.gif

btw, I've still got some 2 ports faceplate (brand dintek) and about 150-200m (dintek jugak) of cat6 cable ... leave me a pm if you're interested on these, thanks.
TSwz3k
post Feb 23 2011, 05:19 PM

109 posts

I'm working out the cost estimate in the attached below. What do you think guys? About there?

LickGuy, I'll PM you about your leftover cable.. if can sell for cheap maybe I'll get it.. smile.gif

jojozep
post Feb 23 2011, 06:09 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Feb 23 2011, 05:19 PM)
I'm working out the cost estimate in the attached below. What do you think guys? About there?

LickGuy, I'll PM you about your leftover cable.. if can sell for cheap maybe I'll get it.. smile.gif
Where is the best place to get these? Jalan Pasar? Where is the best place to put the modem...is it always next to TV?
TSwz3k
post Feb 23 2011, 06:43 PM

109 posts

Jojozep, the price estimates above is based on my findings at lowyat and lowyat.net.. Sri Computers (Lowyat Store) has most of the items.. some items in there i estimate only..

I couldn't find Cat6 cable per box selling at lowyat though.. only lowyat.net. I'll be checking out jalan pasar later to see if it's available there.. I'm pretty sure they have it..

for me, i'm thinking the modem and switch I'll put on top of a rack somewhere... together with a media server or NAS..

do any of you guys have like a little server room at home? smile.gif

LickGuy
post Feb 23 2011, 10:06 PM

Highly Flammable Material
1,520 posts

wz3k:
okie dokie, i'll need to go home and check how many feet cable i left,
then we'll try to achieve win-win situation
(u buy cheaper, i rugi not so teruk biggrin.gif )

i got cable stripper + punch down tools around rm25-30 @ pasar road,
but I didn't get the crimper tho .. currently I still got few pcs pre-crimped cat6
and you can get AMP RJ11 + RJ45 combo faceplate @ rm15 from pasar road too,
but the rj45 come w/ cat5e keystone not cat6 ...
for cat6 keystone i got it around 20/pcs ... later i pm u the forumer name here ...
dun wan other ppl said i selling ad
Kiding
post Feb 24 2011, 01:39 AM

1,135 posts

Remember, CAT6 system required end to end compliant, which means not only your cable, but also RJ45 plug, keystone must also complaint with CAT6 standard.

I still have >60 cat6 RJ45 plug bought from monoprice last time. if you want, I can sell it to you. BTW, you can try to order keystone from www.monoprice.com, they do ship to Malaysia.
simplicio
post Feb 24 2011, 02:43 AM

277 posts

hi guys...anyone can recommend a repair guy.
i have all wall plate working except in one room.

I need him to check and change it if rosak.
so far i ask around no one seems to undertsand!!

ADJ
post Feb 24 2011, 09:46 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Feb 23 2011, 06:43 PM)
Jojozep, the price estimates above is based on my findings at lowyat and lowyat.net.. Sri Computers (Lowyat Store) has most of the items.. some items in there i estimate only..

I couldn't find Cat6 cable per box selling at lowyat though.. only lowyat.net. I'll be checking out jalan pasar later to see if it's available there.. I'm pretty sure they have it..

for me, i'm thinking the modem and switch I'll put on top of a rack somewhere... together with a media server or NAS..

do any of you guys have like a little server room at home? smile.gif
there's a store in Lowyat level 3 that's selling networking cables and accessories, they sell premade cables and cables by the box
TSwz3k
post Feb 24 2011, 10:41 AM

109 posts

ADJ, do you remember the store name in lowyat that sells cable per box?
jojozep
post Feb 25 2011, 11:20 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(LickGuy @ Feb 23 2011, 02:46 PM)
I also got my contractor to lay CAT6 cables @ my new hse,
total 5 points (rj45 next to rj11, then go opposite wall (TV bench), then from TV bech got 3 rj45 go down all the way to basement... i use it to convert HDMI instead)...
total cost ... 1 lump sum they didn't gimme breakdown

If you want it cheap ... better get your own cable, faceplate, keystone... It's quite hard to get cat6 keystone but I manage to find 1 guy in garagesales sellin it ... the rest all selling faceplate + cat5e keystone. and 4 ports faceplate is VERY hard to get .. i scout whole klang valley kenot find, end up earlier this week I got one of my fren bought it from JB and now courier to me. sigh.

and I also bought cable stripper & punch down tool also... and pinjam network tester from my fren tongue.gif

btw, I've still got some 2 ports faceplate (brand dintek) and about 150-200m (dintek jugak) of cat6 cable ... leave me a pm if you're interested on these, thanks.
LIckguy,

I am renovating at the moment, whole house a mess..but good time to lay the cat6 cables?

can you tell me what are the steps to make it internet ready, I would like do have networked cable the major rooms.
also who is your contractor and approx what cost for the hacking?

my house now..

numbertwo
post Feb 25 2011, 11:36 AM

1,790 posts

To lay Cat5e or Cat6 cable, firstly you must decide where are you going to locate the incoming broadband line. From here, you will split all the individual access points to your living, your room, kitchen or even toilets per se.. Talk to the contractor see if he can lay it free for you since they are already hacking to conceal the electricity wires.. for my case it was a FOC case laying 2 cables to living and 2 to the masterbed room, all coming from the living hall upstairs where I will place my router etc. in.
ADJ
post Feb 25 2011, 02:06 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Feb 24 2011, 10:41 AM)
ADJ, do you remember the store name in lowyat that sells cable per box?
cannot really remember, but its not too far from All IT. In fact, since you are buying per box, nearly all stores should sell it.
ryansia
post Feb 27 2011, 01:17 AM

316 posts

for unifi user and user to be, tm normally belakang mali...

so if you are not running all cables to the room at the back, remember to run 2 cables from the back room to the location where all cables meet. the extra cable is for unifi modem to the router.

btw, mine was done by my wiring guy for free.
Rinyuu
post Feb 27 2011, 11:14 PM

90 posts

KS NETWORK Lowyat 3rd Floor. Seller's name ADAM. If you have budget go for AMP CAT6, blue color cable. Dont buy AMP RM200++ in a box, its imitation.
DINTEK also good cable cheaper a bit than AMP.
ADJ
post Mar 5 2011, 12:55 PM

2,921 posts

anyone has any experience with schneider clipsal keystone jacks? the wiring diagram is very confusing!

the wiring diagram in the manual provided does not match the markings on the actual jack itself sad.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:25 AM