QUOTE(yeezai @ Oct 17 2010, 03:27 PM)
so if never test before, just test for it once then its okay already ?STDs (Sexually Transmitted Diseases), important info
STDs (Sexually Transmitted Diseases), important info
Oct 17 2010, 07:40 PM
229 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
Oct 18 2010, 12:57 AM
89 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i think should test once a year...who knows our partner have do anything outside...
Oct 18 2010, 10:55 AM
20 posts Joined: May 2010 |
A standard yearly health check does not include checks for STI. You need to request for it.
It is usually a good idea to check yourself once a year if you have mutliple partners or is sexually promiscuous. It's also good to have a premarital check if you plan on getting married soon to safeguard your partner. It's all about trust, if you are monogamous and your partner is true to you as well then there's really no reason to have further checks after the 1st. In reality, most people don't bother checking themselves if they have no symptoms in the genital area. If everyone were to dwell on such matters, then nobody would dare to have sex! If you have used proper protection during oral and penetrative sex, then the chances of you contracting any form of STI is close to NIL. If you were to catch anything even with all the protection then it's most likely due to kissing (open sore present in mouth) or you going down on them. HIV test are highly accurate and reliable after the 3 month mark. So if you are negative 3 months, that means you're negative period. The 6 months mark is recommended for people who have undergone immunosuppressed treatments or have autoimmune diseases. Of course, anyone is free to test themselves after 6 months as well if it gives them true peace of mind. Certain STI tests have 100% accuracy. Chlamydia, Syphillis, and Gonorrhea can be easily detected via urine and blood test and they also have very obvious visual symptoms as well if you have it. The exception is Chlamydia which can exhibit no symptoms on infected individuals until after a few months. Herpes and HPV can stay hidden within you without symptoms as well. Some people may have Herpes but will never exhibit any symptoms throughout their lifetime or may have their first outbreak many years after they first caught it. To my knowledge, there is no reliable test for HPV. Herpes can be tested in 2 ways, one is a viral culture from a swab on your genital lesion. If you do it when you first notice painful lesions then the results is 100% accurate if it comes back positive. The accuracy will diminish over time and reccurence. The 2nd method is via Herpeselect Igg blood test which offers a very high degree of accuracy as it looks for specific Herpes glycoprotein G (gG) to differentiate between HSV-1 and HSV-2. HIV test is only reliable and confirmed after a blood test. Many HIV related symptoms are usually symptoms of the common cold and fever as well and thus not an accurate indication. |
Oct 18 2010, 07:57 PM
2,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Land below the wind |
Oct 18 2010, 09:07 PM
229 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
true ... never thought about that -_-"
Oct 18 2010, 11:08 PM
but all i think is better know earlier and cure earlier...dun say about raw sex or those one night stand... sometimes not our fault to have a lot of partners... make sure protect sex or have a good hygiene is the most important...
Oct 19 2010, 08:06 AM
actually i was wondering... Std and hiv will get by sexual intercourse of body fluid or blood?
Oct 19 2010, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(alvia @ Oct 19 2010, 08:06 AM) You can actually get a lot of information by just reading some of the past posts.STD (STI) as the name implies is sexually transmitted diseases/Infection. They are transmitted through the exchange of bodily fluids (sexual intercourse/oral/anal sex) and in the case of HIV and Hep.C, it can also infect you if it enters your blood stream as well (Many HIV positive individuals were infected through the sharing of needles). Herpes is an exception because it's also a skin disease as well as an STI. You do not need to have sex to get Herpes, just kissing (esp if there's are sores present in the mouth) can infect you. There are 2 variants, HSV-1 and HSV-2. HSV-1 usually appears around the mouth and HSV-2 usually appears on your genitals, but it is not uncommon to also find HSV-1 on your genital areas and HSV-2 strains infecting the mouth area. |
Oct 19 2010, 03:06 PM
that's mean if the person free from hiv and bleeding when sexual intercourse will it get hiv or std?of course both partners are free from hiv
Oct 20 2010, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(alvia @ Oct 19 2010, 03:06 PM) that's mean if the person free from hiv and bleeding when sexual intercourse will it get hiv or std?of course both partners are free from hiv If one party is positive and the other party is negative, it also doesn't mean they will get infected for sure. It just means your risk is very much higher if you have engaged in unprotected sex and even greater if you have wounds or other STD present. That don't mean you should go around having unprotected sex though as the risk of catching other STD is still present. |
Oct 20 2010, 10:51 AM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(STDinfo @ Oct 19 2010, 09:59 AM) You can actually get a lot of information by just reading some of the past posts. What if the person with HSV-1 infected on the mouth has been cured by applying cream? Can that person still infect others with that herpes and is that person still carrying the herpes virus or treated as herpes patient? Because once its cured, theres no other signs of we knowing that person has been infected with herpes nor if she/he still carrying the herpes virus.STD (STI) as the name implies is sexually transmitted diseases/Infection. They are transmitted through the exchange of bodily fluids (sexual intercourse/oral/anal sex) and in the case of HIV and Hep.C, it can also infect you if it enters your blood stream as well (Many HIV positive individuals were infected through the sharing of needles). Herpes is an exception because it's also a skin disease as well as an STI. You do not need to have sex to get Herpes, just kissing (esp if there's are sores present in the mouth) can infect you. There are 2 variants, HSV-1 and HSV-2. HSV-1 usually appears around the mouth and HSV-2 usually appears on your genitals, but it is not uncommon to also find HSV-1 on your genital areas and HSV-2 strains infecting the mouth area. |
Oct 20 2010, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(~Mew~ @ Oct 20 2010, 10:51 AM) What if the person with HSV-1 infected on the mouth has been cured by applying cream? Can that person still infect others with that herpes and is that person still carrying the herpes virus or treated as herpes patient? Because once its cured, theres no other signs of we knowing that person has been infected with herpes nor if she/he still carrying the herpes virus. There is no cure for herpes, once you get it. It stays with you for life and outbreaks and recurrence can happen from as low as nothing in a persons lifetime to 1 or 6 times or more in a year. The only treatments are topical creams and suppressive daily anti-viral drugs (usually prescribed for HSV-2 but may also be prescribed for HSV-1).And yes, a person can infect others even if there's no symptoms but herpes is a very common thing especially HSV-1 and there's a lot of people that is infected with it. The bad news is, HSV-1 can also infect the genital areas but is much less likely to recur in that region as compared to HSV-2 and vice versa. In any case, HSV-1 & 2 outbreaks become less and less frequent as your body builds its immunity over time. |
Oct 20 2010, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(STDinfo @ Oct 20 2010, 11:15 AM) There is no cure for herpes, once you get it. It stays with you for life and outbreaks and recurrence can happen from as low as nothing in a persons lifetime to 1 or 6 times or more in a year. The only treatments are topical creams and suppressive daily anti-viral drugs (usually prescribed for HSV-2 but may also be prescribed for HSV-1). Thanks for your quick response. Hm so i guess its a pretty unavoidable case as it can be spreaded to others too without you knowing. For instance, utensils that we shared in public are easily infected without us knowing if the previous user is infected with herpes. And yes, a person can infect others even if there's no symptoms but herpes is a very common thing especially HSV-1 and there's a lot of people that is infected with it. The bad news is, HSV-1 can also infect the genital areas but is much less likely to recur in that region as compared to HSV-2 and vice versa. In any case, HSV-1 & 2 outbreaks become less and less frequent as your body builds its immunity over time. |
Oct 20 2010, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(~Mew~ @ Oct 20 2010, 01:07 PM) Thanks for your quick response. Hm so i guess its a pretty unavoidable case as it can be spreaded to others too without you knowing. For instance, utensils that we shared in public are easily infected without us knowing if the previous user is infected with herpes. Possible but very highly unlikely as the virus does not survive very well in normal environment. The window of survival for the herpes virus in normal environment is approximately 10s or less and approximately 15 to 30 mins on a damp towel under optimal conditions. Under lab controlled environment, it has been known to survive for longer than 30mins to a day but again - it's under a controlled environment without any other external influence. In real world environment, there are other germs and factors which will eliminate the herpes virus very easily.Similarly, you can't get infected by herpes or any other STDs for that matter by just sitting on the toilet bowl. I wouldn't worry too much about it. HSV-1 is very common and many people around the world are infected with it since childhood due to many factors unrelated to sex. |
Oct 24 2010, 02:24 AM
50 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kedah |
i think they must invented anti-bacteria condom
Oct 25 2010, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(STDinfo @ Oct 20 2010, 02:33 PM) Possible but very highly unlikely as the virus does not survive very well in normal environment. The window of survival for the herpes virus in normal environment is approximately 10s or less and approximately 15 to 30 mins on a damp towel under optimal conditions. Under lab controlled environment, it has been known to survive for longer than 30mins to a day but again - it's under a controlled environment without any other external influence. In real world environment, there are other germs and factors which will eliminate the herpes virus very easily. sorry for late reply, just got back from oustationSimilarly, you can't get infected by herpes or any other STDs for that matter by just sitting on the toilet bowl. I wouldn't worry too much about it. HSV-1 is very common and many people around the world are infected with it since childhood due to many factors unrelated to sex. edit: herpes sounded like a no timer bomb to me, no signs or with signs too, you never know when you will get it again after the first outbreak. Its just like cancer, you will never know when the cells are activated. This post has been edited by ~Mew~: Oct 25 2010, 11:30 PM |
Oct 26 2010, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(~Mew~ @ Oct 25 2010, 11:29 PM) sorry for late reply, just got back from oustation Can't really worry it all or you'll end up never having sex. If anything, herpes is an annoyance, one that comes and goes and one that can spread through sharing of utensils or skin contact (even if sores are not present). Fortunately, it is mostly harmless and tends to recur less as you grow older.edit: herpes sounded like a no timer bomb to me, no signs or with signs too, you never know when you will get it again after the first outbreak. Its just like cancer, you will never know when the cells are activated. There are some dangers to herpes, but limited to pregnancy cases and that's an entirely different scenario altogether. |
Oct 27 2010, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(STDinfo @ Oct 26 2010, 04:41 PM) Can't really worry it all or you'll end up never having sex. If anything, herpes is an annoyance, one that comes and goes and one that can spread through sharing of utensils or skin contact (even if sores are not present). Fortunately, it is mostly harmless and tends to recur less as you grow older. There are some dangers to herpes, but limited to pregnancy cases and that's an entirely different scenario altogether. |
Nov 6 2010, 08:00 PM
3 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
LOL.
BTW condom can reduce risk but there are still risk involve, i heard a doctor saying when I attended a talk on the topic of sex. To b safe, u n ur partner must be honest to each other. |
Nov 9 2010, 09:36 PM
464 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Miri, Sarawak |
then, about the anal-sex, is it not advisable to practice this kind of sex among married couple?
just wan to know.. |
| Change to: | 0.0285sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:07 AM |