Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

cherroy
post Jun 17 2011, 02:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jun 17 2011, 11:51 AM)
A successful property investors need to do their homework well, have holding powers, have their exit strategy. Unfortunately these kind of savvy investors are not many, what we have in the market are followers, those who buy properties blindly (which is the majorities).

So what Dreamer said is right, majority do not make money in property, some even got burnt.
A lot of people make money do not realise they are not making money, but still claim they are making money from properties.
No offence. smile.gif

For eg. you bought a house with capital 200k, after 10 years, you sold your house, let say gain 100k
99% of people will claim they are making good money of 100k, 50%, magnificent.
But gain 100k from 200k in 10 years time, FD also can achieve it (last time, 90's when FD was average 4-6%).

This is not actually "make money", nor can be classified as successful investment.

The actual make money, is that your achieved gain surpass what FD can offer you, at least 1.5x above, only worthwhile to be classified as "successful". My view only.
Just because it is a net gain, doesn't mean it is a successful investment.

So my FD also a successful investment... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 17 2011, 02:38 PM
cherroy
post Jun 17 2011, 03:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jun 17 2011, 03:27 PM)
problem is.. rental doesn't go up in par with props price  smile.gif
currently the props is so expensive..
Rental rate is going up like snail pace only.
and a handful can be very difficult to find tenants, and continuity of tenants as well.

For those get good tenants and paying your mortgages, congratulation.
But many left with properties vacant as well. This especially more can be found in mid high class condo, new landed houses in totally new area etc.

Added on June 17, 2011, 3:36 pmIt is not like today you decided to rent, next week get a good tenants.
Good tenants a lot of time depended on luck factor as well.
We never know a stranger (tenants), from just meeting, talk to them a few hours.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 17 2011, 03:36 PM
cherroy
post Jun 17 2011, 04:05 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jun 17 2011, 03:56 PM)
I accept the fats tat rental doesn't go up in par with props price & all those quality blue chip shares r expensive with div
well for me, its better than fd. everyone got their own cup of tea & here is really having a healthy debate  cheers.gif

Nobody said FD is a good choice of investment. smile.gif
Just if the net gain from properties is on par with FD rate, then the properties investment cannot be classified as "successful"

Yes, some may choose, different people different cup of tea, but if looking back and assess the situation, it is not a "successful" investment.
FD rate is the benchmark. smile.gif
cherroy
post Jun 17 2011, 05:29 PM

25,802 posts

We have healthy debate here.
Different people different view/opinion.

One doesn't need to agree on the other, merely can debate and explore how others thinking.
No one force any idea to anyone. smile.gif

There is never right or wrong, no one can see the future or can assure how future will be like.
cherroy
post Jun 19 2011, 09:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dumeort @ Jun 19 2011, 12:49 PM)
So u r on which site ? smile.gif

Imho, ( i study until spm only) everyone also dont want bubble but everyone also want to buy few properties.
Personally I don't quite agree on this.
"Everyone also want to buy few properties" statemet.

I lived in rented house for >20 years, none of family member complaint not owning a house, as long as live with financial ok condition.
No point stressing one financially to max until cannnot breath, just to "own" a house.
Need a place for shelter, and a place called home.
And a place call home doesn't mean must own the house, it is intangible.

I see rent has its own advantage.
With current properties condition, price sky-rocketing while rental rate is not.
There are reasons for choosing to rent.

Somemore, you don't scare to buy the wrong properties, ended up with half abandoned project, don't like the house afterwards etc risk.
Can simply just move out.
Has chance to live in several condition/area around if wish. biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Jun 20 2011, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chisel55 @ Jun 20 2011, 01:00 AM)
I have a friend who doesn't like to buy properties and would rather rent.  This is ok if he has got other investments that gives a better return than properties. One property that cost rm300k 7 years ago now costs rm900k. So if you can invest in a business that gives you better returns then rent. Also don't forget if you had paid rent for 7 years you would have paid rm126k!! You could have invested in a house already!!
It is not fair to compare like this.

First when you rent, you never know the properties will rise from 300k to 900k.
There are risk all along.

Now it is end result you see, only you know rise from 300k to 900k.
Just like 4D, today number is 1234, then you said to yourself, if I bought 1234, then I won a couple to ten thousand already.
Same analogy.

The property can be ended a abandoned project.
The property can be completed but just for growing grass. etc...

By renting, you do not take those risk.
You don't have other commitment, the commitment is monthly rental only.

We cannot say renting is sure loss strategy.
Yes, it is good to own a property the rise in value while still own stay.

But risk wise adopting in the first place is difference.

I always reiterated, cashflow is the most important aspect, and first priority in financial management.
You may have 1 million of worth of property, but no RM10 cash in your pocket, still ended starving because you have no cash to buy foods. biggrin.gif

Don't tell me when you bought 300k, you know it will rise to 900k.

Don't get me wrong, getting or owning a house is good, I am not saying renting is better. But still it depends on individual condition and rent is always an alternative option, not necessary must buy.

cherroy
post Jun 20 2011, 03:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Jun 20 2011, 03:15 PM)
i think compare 4D and prop is abit wrong leh... 4D u only need maybe RM10 to bet, but prop need few hundred K..

900k prop is on paper only.. as long as u hvn't sell it it still remind at 300k.. just shock sendiri leh.....
Yes, you are right.
Just to highlight people tend to say or look back, 300k --> 900k, say, I missed that, look like very easy.
But on the other hand, can also bought 300k and fall into financially difficulty afterwards.

Nobody know the future.
It is not like every property rise in value (net to net)
Some property may left abandon for years as well.
It is not the like it never happened before.

cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 02:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 21 2011, 11:19 AM)
The latest economic data from China shows that it is heading towards a soft landing. A crash is not expected of China property prices.

Greece is already gone case. Whether or not it will cause euro to drop is a matter of time. But this is Europe's problem.  smile.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 11:21 am

I am standing by for MK to hit RM400psf. I wish.  laugh.gif
Huh?
Soft landing, with inflation, or official CPI at 5.5% which is one of the highest in the past.... unsure.gif
cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 03:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 21 2011, 02:18 PM)
That is what the analysts at CNBC SquawkBox said last week based on the latest released financial data.  biggrin.gif

I guess the vote is still 50-50 out there on China economic future...

What is your take on this?  notworthy.gif

On another note, even if China face a hard landing, China can still utilize part of their foreign reserves (USD3,000,000,000,000) to cover the big hole in their banking sector (like they did before).  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hard landing or not, has nothing to do with foreign currency reserves.

Japan also has trillion of foreign currency reserves back 80's.

A lot of time, over-booming seldom ended up with soft landing due to complacency most of the time.
Japan superb economy growth in 80's
Asian superb economy growth in 90's
Internet booming, or dotcom bubble
US real estate booming, subprime.

I am not saying China will head to hard landing. Just it is not a soft landing economy (yet), it is still hot, far from soft landing.

cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 03:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 21 2011, 02:38 PM)
There were so many people predicting that it will drop a year ago but it didn't happen. Seriously make your own analysis.
Most of the time, price won't drop, even drop, only minimal only.
But you may see more difficulty to sell.

People rather hold on the properties instead fire-sale, until last resort, which prevent price dropping.

So high probably is you see more property want to sell, but harder to sell, take longer to sell, instead of price drop.
You may see "for sale" banner for longer time.

Unlike last time, property is snapped up once you put up "for sale".
cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 03:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 21 2011, 03:13 PM)
In Kiara Park Condo, TTDI low rise units put up for sale are often snapped up within days of the sale notice. Thats how high the demand is.
It still depends on area or location.

Even if property market turn sour in general, there are still location still selling like hot cake.
We cannot conclude property market turn bad time, everything turn bad at same degree.

In Penang, there are location once you put up for sale, you will get at least 5-10 calls from interested buyers, agent later on.
Even your mail box being flooded with name card, stated if interested to sell, please contact xyz.

While some location put banner, advertisement, yet hardly get many interest party after 1-2 months.

cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 05:25 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Jun 21 2011, 04:53 PM)
i beg to differ. Just sold my condo less than 1 month after putting it in the market and on third potential buyer visit and the price is very close to my asking price   biggrin.gif
I am not saying price will drop, or property market become sour now or in near future.
What I am saying, if property market does turn sour, price won't drop in the first place. You will see property hard to sell first.
Expect price to fall 10% 20%, as soon as market turns not favour, is not a realistic expectation.

Added on June 21, 2011, 5:27 pmPeople will try to hold on their property until last resort or totally losing hope before you see price moves down.
(For those selling below their purchase cost)

Realistic expectation property price won't fall much (may be except those super high end one or those escalating too much already one), property price may stagnant, it may escalate more but definitely not as same pace with previous years.
To expect property price to fall with inflation looming around, from cutting subsidies to minimum wages etc, while economy is still growing, is not something realistic expectation.
Property price consolidation? yes highly.
To plunge? unlikely, unless there is problem in economy.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 21 2011, 05:33 PM
cherroy
post Jun 21 2011, 05:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 21 2011, 05:33 PM)
yes, i am now in Shanghai, everything is so bullish here. malls, disco, pub, bars and restaurants is pack with people.  Train and flight is full, immigration in long queue (especially foreigner lane), hotels is quite full most of the time...where hard landing?
I was respond to statement China economy is heading to soft landing.

The reality, There is no landing at all! still flying non-stop.
cherroy
post Jun 22 2011, 04:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jun 22 2011, 04:44 PM)
-BLR now stuck with 2.4    :'(  i heard bankers said that now all bank stop throwing the -BLR. All seems like cooperate among each other..
Maybe banks know that they can't afford to give more discount..
When SRR being raised, cost of money for banks will rise, so they cannot offer more -BLR rate.

SRR is still way below historical average.
cherroy
post Jun 27 2011, 05:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 27 2011, 03:29 PM)
The only prices which are ridiculous are the prices of the new launches. Prime areas have been growing steadily for the past 10 years. Who asked u to buy new launches? I have always said this and im gonna say it again. FOCUS ON SUBSALE PROPERTIES NOT NEW LAUNCHES.

Buying a property in the right area will get you excellent capital appreciation. So dont be foolish and claim that to avoid paying banks interest so u gonna rent. You will always be renting and u wont have anything at the end of the day. The only person that benefits will be the landlord. Trust me.
I don't understand on this part.

If new launched properties is priced at 500k, how can subsale can be cheaper than 500K?
If subsale can cheaper than 500k, then there will be a lot of people not interested to buy property again.

If new launched properties is priced at 500k, then adjacent similar properties even previous worth 350k, seller will tell the buyer, they only want to sell with 500k.
cherroy
post Jun 27 2011, 09:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jun 27 2011, 07:26 PM)
It is true my dear, new launched price is ridiculous, easily double or more than double price of sub-sale (3yr old price). Tat's why a lot of existing owners like us not worry of bubble or no bubble. Buyers for new launched buying at >$500 psf whereas we bought at $250 psf merely few yrs ago even now sub sale selling at $450 psf cheaper than new launch people will still go for new launched. Indirectly pull up the price of sub-sale. Smarter ones will go for sub-sale at good locations but there are only handful, majority blind followers want new new new but complaining expensive at the same time.

People in the country too pamper lah, everything wanted to new, new house, new car, new i-pod, new wife blah blah. 2nd hand traders like us no worries of bubble or no bubble.    laugh.gif

Added on June 27, 2011, 7:42 pm
Bear in mind that bank valuation for sub sale usually below sub-sale selling price. Buyers need to fork out additional cash as compare with buying from new launch, 90% or more under bank loan.

So new launch ---> long term pain
Sub sale ---> short term pain
I don't know, but I experienced, and saw subsale pricing is almost on par with new launched. Just like mentioned pull up the pricing across.
Adjacent got new launch at Rm500/psf, subsale price also being jacked up near to this level.
It may a little bit cheaper, but not too much.

New launched is more easier to "rip", and easier to goreng.
There are plenty of buyers do not intend to own the properties, just wait to flip only. That's why they go for new launched.
As you mentioned, nowadays, people want "new",
New car, new model etc. (sometimes, new model doesn't mean better than old model, but yet, people asked for new model), so for flippers, they take advantage on the situation.

Wah, got new wife somemore.... laugh.gif

cherroy
post Jun 28 2011, 11:15 AM

25,802 posts

Please open a new version, aka V3, if wish to continue the discussion.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0715sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:54 AM