cherroy
post May 5 2011, 09:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ May 5 2011, 09:00 PM)
Now, I think everyone wait for bank offer blr-2.65....wkwk
With SRR trending higher, highly unlikely.
Cost of money for banks are getting expensive with SRR raised.
cherroy
post May 6 2011, 03:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(RedBishop @ May 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
jangan mimpi, the price will never drop
QUOTE(godutch @ May 6 2011, 10:08 AM)
i think prices may not drop overnight, but speculators will think twice before sapu 10 units, hence cool the market down and desperate sellers may start to become "kan cheong" a bit.

prices drop or not drop just wait and see.  biggrin.gif
Ya, most of the time, price won't drop, but abandoned properties, or vacant property. tongue.gif

No transaction, so price didn't drop... biggrin.gif
cherroy
post May 12 2011, 02:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ May 12 2011, 12:54 PM)
I noticed a significant increase of low/medium cost flat/apartment (< RM100k) being auctioned lately. Why don't government collabrate with banks to promote these house to the poor/needy? If they are truely poor and just need a roof to live, they can't be choosy, right?

May be government can provide some incentive to those buyer, like tax break of RM10k over 3 years of tax assessment (for expense to renovate/clean up the flat). Bank can abosrb lawyear fee / stamp duty, etc as part of their corporate social resposibility and probably provide lower than market housing loan scheme.

Am I too simple minded or the above is worthwhile or possible to be implemented by the government with collabration from the banks?  hmm.gif

ps. I am not a property expert though, just my 0.01 cents.  wink.gif
My personal view.

No gov intervention is preferred.
Most of the time, too many intervention measure by gov, can lead to inefficient issue.

Also, Gov intervention mean you open up channel for crony, political linked issue may arise.

Tax break for poor?
Most poor doesn't need to pay tax. Those pay tax means you at least earn 2.5k above.

The real and effective to do social responsibility, can come from RPGT.
Any property transacted >200k, RPGT is imposed.

Those RPGT money collected then can channel to build low cost housing as gov funding to build low cost.
This is a muchmore effective way of social responsibility.

or those property transacted below 200k, has a low flat rate stamp duty.

Just my view.

cherroy
post May 14 2011, 01:11 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Edmund86 @ May 13 2011, 09:32 PM)
True enough... but most youngsters pressured by increasing property price.... same location they are eyeing, increase from RM200k, just 3 years then 300k, another 3 years, 400k....
when are we saving enough? lol...
Then ensure yourself earn from 20k, 3 years later 30k, another 3 years 40k.

Pressure?
What pressure?
Anyone pointing gun on them to buy properties?

Since when just start working, buying car and properties is a must?
No offence. smile.gif
cherroy
post May 15 2011, 12:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ May 14 2011, 05:36 PM)
Wow! A lot of bashing on youngsters purchasing properties with FAMA support. But why people are so sure that when youngsters purchase properties, they must have FAMA support? 10% on RM500k is only 50k. Even 1mil house require only 100k. Furthermore, if got rebate, then actual outlay is much lesser. No, not all require FAMA support. EVEN if they require FAMA support, what's wrong??? It is only natural for parents to support their children. I have read so many posts that give a negative connotation if youngsters purchase properties using FAMA support. it is like these kids are 100% spoilt. Come on, if one is born with rich parents, it is not the kids fault right. And if your parents are rich, what's wrong with helping your own kids? If you educate your kids correctly, they will not be spoilt.
Nobody want to bash.
People feel very not right when they are complaining that they cannot afford to buy new car, new houses, new Iphone, cannot go clubbing, after they have just graduated and starting working for a few years only.

If you are earning 5K per month as starting point, you still need at least 3 years to accumulate 50K.

It is not the like after start working, already deserved to have all those.

We can see household debt is increasing rapidly last this few years,
house loan up to 35 years,
car loan up to 9 years (where got 9 years car loan last time, only 5 years the max),
personal loan (people curse bank when personal loan is not approved, seeking all sort of way to get it), in fact personal loan is the worst loan, the interest rate is extra-ordinary high.
Buying thing with monthly installment, even those 1-2k stuff.

Nobody care when one is under FAMA support or not.
But please do not complaining just because cannot afford due to one wants new car, new house, new Iphone, just after graduated or starting working less than 3-5 years.

cherroy
post May 18 2011, 03:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 18 2011, 03:29 PM)
ok.. i sapu one properties liao.. now only worried for the BLR > which i know for sure few more months will go up more ~
but kenot tahan to wait liao.. home stay one not for investment..
but if reli crash and somehow can force the developer price is lower than i purchase one.. then i will only blame my luck ~  tongue.gif
anyway.. happy that I'm able to find my dream home ~
Home stay/dream home one, BLR, price plunge or not later on, are not the consideration.
Even your house price surge 1000%, you are not intended to sell one, and merely own stay, why care.
Even the house price plunge 50%, you are not intended to sell also, doesn't matter.

The one matter is you can afford the house.
cherroy
post May 20 2011, 05:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ May 20 2011, 02:06 PM)
Sorry, my finance knowledge isn't that strong, is there any difference if our currency depreciated 30% as we are still living and spending in Malaysia? 
Gold yes, but property? Unless you paid fully for the property or I think that is more of a liability, no?
Yes, goods price sky-rocketing.

Currency depreciated, it makes your property look even cheap from external, aka foreigner.

Added on May 20, 2011, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(kh8668 @ May 20 2011, 12:29 PM)
sounds like Vietnam >10% ..kekeke

singapore now around 2-3%? HK 2%?

oppss
Wrong, both below 0.5%, roughly 0.1~0.2%

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 20 2011, 05:06 PM
cherroy
post May 21 2011, 10:02 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 20 2011, 05:10 PM)
0.1~0.2%
that one is interest ?? or BLR ?? or ?? sorry i get confused liao.. i tot it is BLR
When talk about interest rate, always use the central banks benchmark overnight rate, or rate policy set.
Like Malaysia OPR is 3% currently. So when we talk about interest rate, we said Malaysia current rate is 3%.
BLR is on top on the 3%, after adding cost of money, profit margin etc.
We don't use BLR as the indicator rate of a country.

Generally lending rate is above 2-3% the rate policy set.
cherroy
post May 22 2011, 08:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ May 22 2011, 06:45 PM)
for most seasoned investor, commercial is always better than residential. if one has the ability play the commercial game, generally he will not want to play residential game
Commercial is lucrative compared to residential.

Commercial properties yield can easily fetch up 10% yield, for good location/demand.
Residential yield somehow below 5% is quite normal, some even considered at high end range of yield already.
cherroy
post May 22 2011, 09:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tigana @ May 22 2011, 09:21 PM)
High product prices does not just depend on strength of ringgit, subsidy, etc. it depends on many factors. One of which is property prices. The rental rates obviously goes up with property prices. Also, a home is a basic neccessity for many - inlcuding the noodle seller by the road side. A high ncome economy is also definitely going to drive property prices and food prices. But what you can hope for is better service and quality. How do we keep prices down? Have more competition and eliminate monopolistic practices. Why only have one or a few companies sell toyota in Malaysia, or mandarin oranges, etc. Remove these monopolies and have laws against price fixing practices.
Rental rate is not going up as same pace with properties price. Rental rate is going up at a tortoise pace, while properties price is sprinting like a rabbit.

Currently the major inflation problem mainly come from external (have to agree car price is high due to high taxes, but this has been there for long time,)
which if we talk about current inflation spike, it is mainly due to massive QE which drive up commodities price, which just means Malaysia (almost all Asian region across) has no control over it, aka inflation being imported, or someone said US export inflation to Asia also.

cherroy
post May 23 2011, 03:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PeterChai288 @ May 23 2011, 11:32 AM)
If the blr bcome 8,then many buyer will dying exhausted.tat time we will turn back 50years. Lifestyle.dun use light.use candle...hehe.
Even if BLR does rise to 8, you just see slowdown in transaction, and economy acitivities, for sure it is not end of world.

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 23 2011, 11:57 AM)
i hope it dun exceed 7  :'(
yeah.. those who sapu alot one.. sure cham..
This years, the highest most predicted, is around 7%, aka BNM, the most will raise 2 times, aka 0.5%. There is high possibility BNM will only have another 0.25% on OPR, then pause to see the effect before deciding next course of action.

As economy has shown sign of weakness.
The raise on rate, is mainly inflation is running too hot and also BNM want to control the household debts which is rising too quickly and start to concern the health of household debt.
cherroy
post May 25 2011, 03:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(antal @ May 25 2011, 12:29 PM)
The real current market price for Petrol is around RM5 +-, so I think the gov ppl should get their act together to work out a more equitable solution to the subsidy issue. My point of contention is why should the ppl who are rich, can afford BMW, Merc, etc be entitled to subsidized petrol??

Yes, you have a valid point, but
do not spread false info. smile.gif

Existing non-subsidy diesel is around Rm2.70~2.80/lit.
It is same with petrol, non subsidy petrol price is around Rm2.80/lit

Ron 97 is already near non-subsidy price indicator.

Added on May 25, 2011, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(CKHong @ May 25 2011, 12:47 AM)
RM3 for RON95 will impact alot.. ahhhhhhhhhh
i hope we don't have to pay for RM3
as we're petrol importer...
what happen to those money gained by PETRONAS as for now the fuel per barrel is so expensive.. masuk poket kah.. keep on burdening rakyat... damit
Current real market price (non-subsidised) is RM2.70~2.80.

My company got buy industrial diesel, which is non-subsidised, price fluctuate every week. From Rm1.80 when global crisis on its height, to now around Rm2.70.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 25 2011, 03:51 PM
cherroy
post May 25 2011, 04:26 PM

25,802 posts

When you have traffic jam around the bus route, it is impossible for anyone to implement a timing and efficiency bus system.

You cannot possible solve traffic jam if our car new sales keep on climbing, from previously 50K per month, now >60k per month.

The better solution is getting good LRT, MRT system, that get rid of car around the town.
cherroy
post May 27 2011, 04:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 27 2011, 02:06 PM)
All sifu,
   I would like to ask sifu opinion, as we know Klang Valley property all are overvalue from bank market value. I seen a property a fully furnish condo is selling rm300k and near the LRT. But the bank market valuer given me only rm270k. Should i wait and see the property to drop(when) or buy now. FYI i need folk up rm30k for deposit and remaining i will take from EPF. Is that worth to buy now or waiting the cond value drop ?
This is not classified as overvalued.
Bank only value the property worth aka excluded renovation and full furnished or not issue.

There is no such thing of worth or not worth if you are buying for your own stay. smile.gif

Added on May 27, 2011, 4:37 pmBuy a new condo, totally blank one.
Renovation, furniture stuff, even only renovate the most simpler, basic, 50-100k is norm.

A sofa cost you >Rm2k, bed >1k, cabinet, table, especially nowadays wooden stuff is very expensive.
Those furniture alone >10-20k on the most basic.
If customised even costly.

Not yet count the kitchen stuff, another 10-20k.

Electrical wiring >5-10k.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 27 2011, 04:40 PM
cherroy
post Jun 2 2011, 01:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jun 2 2011, 12:02 PM)
if economy so bad till many rakyat out of job
who'll get the most impact ?  a person without a house.. or a flipper/investor with alot of unit ?
if they still dun want to buy props.. then we got nothing to say to him already.. go rent for whole life la.. and stop complaining..

yeah they can wait for props to drop further.. but they have to make up a point like
currently the props is 500k.. it starts to drop to 450k
decide now! how much u're expecting to drop.. let say 420k [lets be realistic] duno expect it to drop till 200k
if let say it drop till 430k.. then next month it jump back to 460k [u still wait meh ? already start climbing]

now 460k u buy.. still untung from 500k initial price what.. if he still wait then..... just tell him to wait lur ~  their fault already what ~
I view rent is not a bad idea after all.
Personally I don't see why must buy a house. My priority is a place that call home, that's enough.
Whether I own, I rent is always secondary.
Yes, owning is the best, but it is not a must for me.

The main priority is the property can be sold or not.
There are properties sitting there, waiting 6 months, 1 year, some even more, there is no buyer turn out.
The most fear is no buyer aka some properties that little buyers show interest, even your slash price 10%, 20%.
Some properties especially wrong location shoplots, you can find zero buyer one.

Added on June 2, 2011, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(CKHong @ Jun 2 2011, 01:26 PM)
yeah.. fuel hike is the main concern.. few more years will be 'no more subsidy'  smile.gif
let see how gomen going to use the money .. hopefully it'll prosper msia..
Gov doesn't have extra money when cutting subsidy, it reduces the deficit, so that the financial is more manageable and sustainable.
It is not the like cut subsidy then gov has extra few billions.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 2 2011, 01:52 PM
cherroy
post Jun 2 2011, 03:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jun 2 2011, 02:06 PM)
for me, i kenot rent for whole life lur ~ one thing i can think of is i rent the whole place, then i buy all my stuff needed.. after 5~10 years the landlord say "i'm going to sell out the unit.. u have to move in xx month later "
troublesome for me to move my stuff [bed, fridge etc etc]
aha.. diff ppl diff needs ~
oh oh.. gov will have extra few billions thru out the year smile.gif  its like this year i suppose to subsidy 5 bil per year.. i cut it to 3 bil subsidy.. for 1 year i got 2bil more to do other stuff
I live in a rent house for >25 years. smile.gif

Some landlord are good, some are not, so it depends.

Rent, means you have no high commitment, can have extra cashflow doing others things.

Gov budget is already in deficit, reduce subsidy means reduce deficit, which in turn gov doesn't need to borrow to fund the deficit.
It just mean no further borrowing needed, it doesn't mean there is more money popping up. smile.gif
cherroy
post Jun 13 2011, 12:36 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 12 2011, 10:38 PM)
as far as i know not many chinese invest in share market, (china share is limited liquidity mostly control by govt, very similar to msia epf, khazanah etc),  chinese invest mainly in prop. individual foreigner cant buy china share but ok to buy prop. china govt just banned foreigner buying prop since last year, this is the main reason the prop price dropped recently. but china prop hv been increased for about 5x in last 10years. so if the prop now drop 20-30% i think many chinese will jump in to buy again (now only dropped less than 5%) and push up the price. if china govt to open to foreigner to buy again, the prop price will go crazy again. i hv many sg, hk, taiwan, msia fren are waiting to invest china prop again. initially they want to invest in msia but they now prefer china ..waiting for the buy signal.
Not 100% actually.

Why a lot of people want to buy properties in current scenario?
Because it can make profit or a lot of profit for them.
Once the profit cycle is killed, just like US housing bubbles, those buyers can become nowhere to find.

People want to buy properties simply it is making a lot of profit for the last 5 years.
Just like an animal (sorry no offence, not mean directly, just illustrate) can find foods at place A, the animal will constantly go to place A, until cannot find the foods at place A.
Same with stock market. Back 90's, a lot of people make good and easy money when bull run, lot of people were lurking around brokers houses, watching stock market everyday.

So if property market price stop rising for 2-3 years, or have a dip and doesn't shoot up back quickly, some of buyers or speculators may suddenly disappear.
There are lot of buyers around now because the properties price escalating non-stop for the last few years, and price surge quite significantly.
cherroy
post Jun 13 2011, 12:43 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:19 PM)
I am wondering whether the US will default on its bonds soon and what is the impact on the Malaysian economy.  hmm.gif
How can US default its bond when USD is the world major trade currency and world largest economy?
Impossible.
Do you know, money can be just being printed?
It is not the like trillion of debt or treasuries need to be repaid now.

In fact, treasuries price is going up in current scenario, due to flight to safety, aka investors feel safer to park money in there.
Fyi 10 years treasuries yield goes down from around 3.5% to now 3%.
Funding cost is even cheaper if wish to.

Default? if really default (an impossible scenario), whole world economy go kaput, still need to figure what impact to Malaysia? laugh.gif
A Lehman went under, already cause so much turbulence on 2008 global crisis, US somemore? whistling.gif
cherroy
post Jun 15 2011, 01:29 PM

25,802 posts

People generally share the success story, how many money had been made through properties etc, yes people did,
but there are people suffering due to high commitment on properties portfolio especially when things turn bad, but this 'suffering story' generally being swept under carpet, which we seldom or will hear.

There are people buying some properties but stuck with little people interested to buy or having difficulty to be rent out.
Not every property is the same, even though properties has tremendously surge for the last few year, there are properties hardly fetch a lot of premium or if calculated carefully, the return rate is not something very good, some even comparative to FD rate only, after deducting expenses incurred, renovation etc.

Locally despite many said oversea moon is brighter, there are still opportunities around for one to make decent living, income around.
The most important is whether one is capable or skill enough.
One may argue got skill but not being appreciated, but in private sector, if one has decent skill, and ability, there is still room for one to strike out good living.

Added on June 15, 2011, 1:37 pm
QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 15 2011, 10:15 AM)
dun hentam ppl for shiok oni la. ppl just sharing their success strories, it is good if we all cab share our success stories here so to motivate our adik2 here in bolehland.

if u and yr fren have some sucesss stories, pls share with us. but be sincere and with true facts. if u read my previous posts i m also sharing my experience working oversea for the last 10 years. i dun consider myself success yet, but i want my adik2 in LYN to be smarter (as early as possible).  I always tell my adik2 to go oversea (1st world ofcoz) and earn 4-5x msia salary and multiply your wealth. then decide later where to settle down. if u earn oni msia RM u dun much choices... for me, i dun hv confident with msia..
Yes, if can strike a good working life and earn decent overseas good.

But whether has confidence or not with m'sia, some (majority) is born here, live here, and mostly will died here as well.

I am not encourage nor discourage people to go overseas, but not everyone has the chance and opportunity to do it, due to various personal reason, condition etc.

So need to make the best from the situation or environment they had.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 15 2011, 01:37 PM
cherroy
post Jun 15 2011, 10:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Jun 15 2011, 05:12 PM)
This is because usually property slowly increases in price. Increase is usually slightly above inflation rate.

If a bubble builds and subsequently bursts lots more people will lose money. Read about Japan and US housing bubbles for examples.
It is because we had no such magnitude of bubble before.
Partly due to more conservative nature of our banking system.

Sometimes, you need to look at the banking system or financial, once they too relax about lending practice, then it is a dangerous sign.

Most bubbles are similar if look back the history, too easy to get credit, too optimism, complacency.
When everyone especially the bearish people finally give up their bearish view and concede that the price won't fall, then most of the time, price hit the peak.
Peak always happened when people cannot see the peak time. Get what I mean.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0689sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:11 PM