5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

property101
post Apr 25 2011, 09:43 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 25 2011, 09:31 AM)
Ok, moving on to another question. How will the general election next year affect the property market? Is there a realistic chance of the opposition gaining control of the federal government? What will happen then? Otherwise if BN gains control, will it institute unpopular measures that will strangle the property market?
as far as i see, the government would like the property market to continue soaring rather than cooling down. the cooling down initiation was mainly seen on late 2009 and early 2010 but not so much now
property101
post Apr 26 2011, 08:53 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(bluesfingers @ Apr 25 2011, 10:50 PM)
Why dont we use this as a reason to demand higher salary? or even gang up with others to demand salary raise  biggrin.gif
Instead of hoping the economy crash which is definately beyond human controls.
i would like to see you do it tongue.gif tell me if it works, i will do the same to my boss too
property101
post Apr 26 2011, 07:29 PM

1,830 posts

the household debt level does not necessary directly reflect / caused by property price
one's debt major portion may due to mortgage, that is no surprise as property IS SUPPOSED to be the most expensive purchase / debt
the high level of household debt mainly cause by people spending beyond their mean, buying expensive toy which depreciate in value, maxing out credit limit, repayment of personal loan
to solve the household debt level issue, measurement need to be taken to tighten credit card limit, tighten personal loan approval, educating public on their spending habit

This post has been edited by property101: Apr 26 2011, 07:30 PM
property101
post Apr 27 2011, 09:49 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Apr 27 2011, 09:07 AM)
I'm not hoping the property bubble will burst because the last thing I want is for malaysians to start losing their homes and investors that don't have the holding power to start getting bankrupt. But I am hoping that salaries do increase. I know that's a tall order sad.gif
thats the reason why government is more keen to transform rakyat's income to high income, rather than controlling property price
property101
post Apr 27 2011, 10:04 AM

1,830 posts

i reckon the next thing that happens will be increase of rental wink.gif
property101
post Apr 27 2011, 12:22 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Apr 27 2011, 10:23 AM)
back to one of my shitty idea?! shocking.gif
yeah right, back to your shitty idea laugh.gif

reason are property price risen significantly, landlord will not be able to cover loan with rental. how long is the landlord willing to bleed cash? one landlord increase rental might not have effect, but how about when most of the landlord are already feeling the pain and they slowly increase rental? previously if the tenants find the rental is high, tenant look for somewhere else, but in this situation, everywhere rental has increased, tenant cannot afford to buy, the only option is to continue paying higher rental.

i remember a business guru in taiwan once said, things will always swing from one end to another. for example, when there are too much exclusive (expensive) restaurant in the market, affordable mamak will start mushrooming. in this context, when property price has increased to certain level, which indicates has reached the end of a swing, rental will be another end to rise

secondly is combo with government high income nation transformation, what is unaffordable today will be affordable tomorrow
property101
post Apr 27 2011, 02:16 PM

1,830 posts

i wouldnt be too negative about the high income transformation program, government has announced it not long ago, i believe it's only fair if we rakyat give them time to implement what they have promised to deliver.

i do recognize that politicians can say many things, but the point is they also can make things happen, especially they are the politicians in power
property101
post Apr 27 2011, 08:48 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Apr 27 2011, 07:44 PM)
some university grads are surprising. we recently had two girls come in with degrees, one works directly under me. they are not fresh grads and have been working in the market for a number of years. both of their salaries at their last employment were in the region of RM1500. i was shocked considering that they had worked 5 years in the market. once they started working, everything made sense. how can a degree graduate with 5 years working experience be unable to draft a simple one paragraph letter in English, not have basic mathematic skills and not know basic microsoft word rclxub.gif
our job market has changed so much, 20 years ago, a degree qualification belongs to someone who study really really hard
today, a degree is a norm, something that people expect you to have by default. not long ago, i was talking to my colleague, he was asking me when i am i going to get a master, as if it is something perfectly normal to do, something everyone is expected to have - but the fact is i have not even complete my degree tongue.gif
in the next 20 years, i foresee having a degree would be as normal as completing SPM

back to your 5 years working experience girl, i believe this really comes down to how much the person have the passion to improve himself. i know people who assume upon completing degree, he already knows all that he needs to know. the person has no intention to further educate himself. as some gurus said, you are either growing or dying, there is no standing still. the grad you mentioned might have the appropriate skill to enter job market 5 years back, but unfortunately she chosen not to further growing, therefore she is lacking behind the job market. this has a lot to do with the mentality rather than the education she received.

example here: assume there are 2 IT graduate, upon graduation, one decided to work in a small china man style company doing non IT related work (perhaps admin work) for salary RM1500/month, life is easy. another started to work in cutting edge IT firm, salary RM1500/month also, tasks are very challenging, life is hard. 5 years down the road, assuming both these graduate didnt change job, the first graduate work in a small firm has been promoted to be a supervisor with salary rm3000, while second graduate worked in IT firm might be earning rm5000. the bigger picture here is that although they both are university graduate, their skill set are totally different now. one's skill is way more valuable than another. and most interestingly is the person who worked in a small firm with admin work has wasted the skilled he acquired during his university time, he is merely 5 years more experienced (in a specific industry) compare to a fresh SPM graduate. while another grad who took the harder route initially leverage on his education that potentially lead him to soar.

in the job market today, instead of hiring the person with a good paper qualification and impressive number of working experience years, i would rather hire the person with the correct mentality for the productivity.

This post has been edited by property101: Apr 27 2011, 08:52 PM
property101
post Apr 28 2011, 06:30 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Apr 28 2011, 04:49 PM)
Recent EDGE property forum 2011 reported that new prop supply dropped last few years (vs 03, 04, 05 etc) , only lately the supply slowly back to normal again. this is why the prop price increase in 2009, 2010 due to short supply. agreed??
[attachmentid=2183555]

Not sure when the supply will back to normal again and price will stabilized like previous.
looking at the chart,
1. Incoming Supply drop every year since 2004
2. New Completion in 2009 and 2010 are lower than all the previous years
3. New Starts in 2009 and 2010 number is extremely low.

this is a clear indication that demand (increased population) > supply (new property), now it make more sense that why property has been rising drastically for the past few years. i just cant understand how come rental never increased hmm.gif
what is going to happen next is up for individual's prediction - but i guess it is kinda obvious here

This post has been edited by property101: Apr 28 2011, 06:33 PM
property101
post Apr 29 2011, 09:53 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Apr 29 2011, 09:06 AM)
Professional foreign expats have dropped from 40k in the 90' to ~25k now. Currently what we have are mostly low cost middle eastern consisting family, students here for short term basis. Just wonder the actual working foreign expats that can contribute higher rental.

Anyway, have to thank those middle easterns too. Some good tenants, some unfortunately lousy tenants, depend on your selection and luck. Thank them for taking up my unit after mat salleh left for cheap bargain in Mont Kiara, rot bottom price suppose.

People still going after $500-600psf hoping for 7% return, even an old bird agent said these people must be mad.  rclxub.gif
yes, number of expats has drop - they are the high end tenants.
how about our local tenant who rent a 3 rooms apartment? apart from the income didn't increase accordance to (the actual) inflation, what could be the other reasons
property101
post Apr 29 2011, 07:55 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Apr 29 2011, 07:20 PM)
...this ruling mainly to filter out property speculators from the market...
you mean big big speculators laugh.gif

i remember there were a person who bought 10 units on a new launch was trying to dispose off his units, looking for buyers in lowyat forum

property101
post Apr 29 2011, 10:16 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Apr 29 2011, 09:03 PM)
Small fry like me also get hit by the ruling biggrin.gif  I was about to purchase my 3rd prop when this ruling suddenly announced.  doh.gif  regret didn't buy last year...  cry.gif
i'm sure your current properties already gain reasonable amount of "capital appreciation" since last 2 years real estate was generally booming, why not cash out one unit by:
1. dispose off (if you do not wish to maintaining the property anymore) OR
2. refinance (if the loan package is not as attractive as today) OR
3. top up loan amount (if the loan package is attractive already)

even with 30% down payment, i guess you will be able buy more than 1 with the profit margin you gain from there
property101
post May 1 2011, 03:04 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 30 2011, 01:08 AM)
i dun think that many people buy subsale to invest or speculate. they almost always buy new for that.
subsale activity is a good indicator for own stay buying.
there is no doubt susbales have slowed considerably in the last few months.
ltv70 is a factor but the main explanation is prices have gone high enough to turn own stay buyers off.
100% loan is a sure firestarter for speculating new, but may not be so for someone buying subsale for own stay.
subsale activity is a good indicator for genuine buyer (own stay) and long term investor (rental), however there is also a reasonable amount of buyers are buying new launches for own stay.

developer have been generously offering 5% - 10% discount, absorbing legal fees, DIBS etc made the new launches more "affordable". no doubt the psf is generally higher, the approach is mainly to tackle the problem of a lot of youngster nowadays cannot afford to pay for the initial capital (10% downpayment + addtional amount that the buyer cannot get loan probably another 5%-10%), legal fees, bank loan, etc. the amount above can easily cost up to 40k-50k for a decent condo, not to mention a landed property. now can anyone tell me the percentage of how many younger generation (below age 30) has that amount of saving? as far as my observation, the answer is not much. therefore, their solution is to go for new launch which they can "own" a property without having to pay much right now. a lot of youngster nowadays can afford to pay for the monthly installment but not able / not willing to pay for the huge amount of downpayment + transactional cost.

unfortunately the developers' "good intention" to help youngster to own a property also have caused a lot of people turned into a "property investors" over the past 2 years. whether the price will drop or how much it will drop really depends on how much of holding power of these "property investors" have.

i reckon this group of "property investors" constituted by:
1. cash rich elderly
2. speculators in their 30s-40s
3. high income youngster

i personally feel group 1 and 2 are safer as they have better holding power. the danger lies on group 2 who have neither excessive cash flow nor a back up capital, they are purely betting to reap >30% of profit upon completion by selling the property as this is the fastest and easiest way for making money in property for the past few years. i do not have a concrete number of what is the percentage for each group, but most of the people (even in group 1 & 2) are hoping to gain a quick gain

This post has been edited by property101: May 1 2011, 04:21 PM
property101
post May 3 2011, 12:34 AM

1,830 posts

what caused shortage of the construction material?
property101
post May 3 2011, 09:24 AM

1,830 posts

once again, the developers will use the excuse to increase property price

property price will rise, people will be struggling to own a house, the question is, whats next?
property101
post May 3 2011, 09:48 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ May 3 2011, 08:48 PM)
that just shows how credible he is.
earlier this year, he says malaysia property prices to hit rm5k psf by 2015. now he say market correction.
agree with UFO-ET, gavin did mentioned property price will hit rm5000psf by 2020 - obviously he was talking about certain high end property in super prime area rather than property market in general
this round he mentioned there will be price correction, which i think it is a fair statement.

what he didnt mentioned is where are the potential corrections going to take place and how much of correction. try ask him that question, i bet he will answer it with "come to my seminar, i will tell you" tongue.gif (if my memory serves me right, i remember he said it before jokingly during his free seminars in those property expo)

This post has been edited by property101: May 3 2011, 09:52 PM
property101
post May 3 2011, 09:55 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 3 2011, 09:50 PM)
Many people with spare cash are dumping RM100-200k & trying their luck.
Sort of like a gamble.

Don't be surprised. Around my close circle, there're more than 10 cases d.
if they are dumping RM100-200k into a RM300-400k property, they are absolutely safe

property101
post May 4 2011, 10:23 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(bluesfingers @ May 4 2011, 10:06 PM)
Do you think is really matter who bought the houses? the important thing is they are a Speculator/ investor or genuine buyer for own stay? if 30% RPGT kicked in they must lari kuat-kuat too    icon_question.gif
not necessary, if what rain88 mentioned is true regarding Singaporean are buying here, Singaporean might not speculate like how our malaysians do.

1. they have the holding power which allow them to hold it long term, assuming they understand that an investor who can hold it long enough would have very good chance of making money from property.

2. holding it for rental income (even it does not bring positive cash flow), is way less hassle than buying and selling a property every 12 months. especially true when they are many hours away from kl / penang

3. the property might serve as an affordable temporary vacation location / retirement house

4. current property price might be unreachable for many malaysian middle working class, but still 'affordable' for singaporeans due to their currency advantage

This post has been edited by property101: May 5 2011, 12:09 AM
property101
post May 5 2011, 12:14 PM

1,830 posts

that depends who can hold on longer

developer's business will be even better as the entry cost is so much cheaper compare to subsales
property101
post May 5 2011, 09:30 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 5 2011, 08:46 PM)
Now BLR up 1%, so housing price should go up in tandem with BLR rise?  whistling.gif  biggrin.gif
if BLR up 1%, a 400k loan will cost about additional RM250 for installment - hopefully buyers have not stretch themselves too thin

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0673sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:18 PM