Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best v2, NP5160, NP5165, NP5175 w/ GT500 series

ALeUNe
post Mar 17 2011, 04:38 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Mucro just sent me an email that my 8170 has been dispatched via DHL.
I should receive it soon.
ALeUNe
post Mar 18 2011, 11:58 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Mar 17 2011, 10:11 PM)
May I know how long have you ordered it since?
It has been two days since my order and I am like "cacing kepanasan" right now. So eager to know!
If my memory serves me right, I ordered it on 19 Jan 2011.
ALeUNe
post Mar 19 2011, 06:34 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 18 2011, 12:16 PM)
u pay deposit only right? havent full amount?

from mucro asia ah?
I paid full amount. I didn't know they accept deposit.
ALeUNe
post Mar 21 2011, 10:50 AM

9,692 posts

I received my Sager 8170.
ALeUNe
post Mar 21 2011, 11:02 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Mar 21 2011, 10:57 AM)
Congratulations!  rclxms.gif

How'd you like it so far? Specs?
It seems good to me.
It's i7-2720QM with Geforce 485.
I'll test it when I return home.
ALeUNe
post Mar 21 2011, 12:48 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 21 2011, 12:34 PM)
bought from mucro asia?

how long did u wait?
Yes, Mucro.
I placed order on 19 Jan 2011 (if my memory serves me right).
Mucro confirmed delivery last Thursday. It took 3 working days to deliver the unit from Singapore to JB.
ALeUNe
post Mar 22 2011, 09:42 PM

9,692 posts

I have got a bad Sager 8170.
Both USB 3.0 ports are not working. The card reader is not working. The enthernet port is not working.
I restart the notebook but it turns off instead.
Something is not right.

I check the device manager, i couldn't find the network adapter (enthernet card). I couldn't see the card reader too.

Can 8150/8170 users catch a snapshot of your device manager? I would like to see what's missing from my hardware list.

ALeUNe
post Mar 22 2011, 09:56 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Mar 22 2011, 09:47 PM)
have you checked for any hidden devices as well? (View > Show hidden devices)

Maybe driver wasn't properly installed?

just a recommendation, but I guess you've tried here as well http://www.sagernotebook.com/index.php?page=driver_download2
Both LAN and card reader are not detected.
Both USB3.0 are not working. All my USB3.0 devices couldn't be detected.
Only the 2 USB2.0 are working.

P/S I've tried drivers downloaded from Sager's website too. Not working.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Mar 22 2011, 09:57 PM

ALeUNe
post Mar 25 2011, 01:54 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Radagust @ Mar 23 2011, 12:34 AM)
here you go, i hope this helps

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Mar 23 2011, 07:55 AM)
Hmmm. That's very odd. Did Windows installed successfully for you?
Reinstalling Windows can help; maybe it didn't load generic drivers for your devices during its installation.
I'm suprised that in your device manager doesn't even mention any sign of the ports.

I'm currently at work now, so I don't have the chance to screenshot my device manager right now.

EDIT: I will ask notebookreview.com for some feedback on this situation too.
Many thanks for your assistance. I have solved the issue.
Many thanks to Mucro and Sager too.
It was caused by a bad bios.
A new bios flushes all the issues away.
My USB 3.0 / card reader / ethernet port are now working fine with the new bios (bios dated 14 Mar 2011) .

I did some testing on my low-latency ram modules. Sager has an excellent ram compatibility.
My ram modules can run up to 1866MHz @ CL9.
Awesome... just very awesome.

Will do more testings in the next few days.
ALeUNe
post Mar 26 2011, 12:22 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 25 2011, 05:34 AM)
any chance of sharing the bios here ?

also which Sager do you have ?
I'll upload it later.
It's Sager 8170.

ALeUNe
post Apr 2 2011, 11:35 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Apr 2 2011, 10:18 PM)
My status for mucro is updated to Confirmed and paid, but still no news. They now wont reply my mails either.

Also, when they say it is ready, it still takes them approx 5-10 days to sort things out according to what Mucro sent me.
The status of "confirmed and paid" will not change until they deliver the notebook.

You don't need to keep chasing them.
Mucro will notify you via email after they deliver the notebook via DHL.

ALeUNe
post Apr 5 2011, 04:42 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Radagust @ Apr 4 2011, 09:25 PM)
yeah sf19 rocks biggrin.gif dedicated adapter to run your fans, not mobile tho. plus got usb 3.0 hub hehe,
btw those wanting to reflash bios or get updates can refer to this thread
http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clev...thread-113.html
the guy uploaded latest bios revisions including the p150hm as well as the p170hm.
The bios that I sent you should be a newer one.
ALeUNe
post Apr 7 2011, 06:04 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 6 2011, 09:44 PM)
wah....really siao ....

FedEX....sad..mucro uses DHL cry.gif
Any problem with DHL?
It took 3 working days for Mucro/DHL to deliver my Sager to my doorstep. I don't see a service failure.

Added on April 7, 2011, 6:05 am
QUOTE(carbonytte @ Apr 6 2011, 09:56 PM)
note that LPC-digital actually used USPS only wor (similar to PosLaju, but this is US wan, US Postal Service). Luckily for International Express, they mentioned the Exporting Carrier to be FedEx Express smile.gif

for this case, suprisingly a multinational carrier (DHL) is using local/national carrier (PosLaju).
Huh? DHL uses Poslaju?
It was DHL staff (with DHL uniform) that delivered the notebook.
He did alot of scannings before he handed the notebook to me.
I saw him doing a neat job.
I don't see Poslaju, for my case.

Added on April 7, 2011, 6:06 am
QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 6 2011, 10:02 PM)
O.o?

DHL costs RM227.

poslaju costs RM100.
DHL pays poslaju to do the work? wtf?
Are you sure DHL needs Poslaju to do the delivery job?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Apr 7 2011, 06:06 AM
ALeUNe
post Apr 7 2011, 12:13 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(giinn @ Apr 7 2011, 06:49 AM)
in my case yes, im living in Kota Bharu, maybe because of my place or other reason i dont know.

also, when i called them earlier, i ask them when they will pass the package to POS Laju?

they answer is something like when ur package reach Kuantan then we will pass to POS Laju, w/o denying.

i guess tis time also same like before. (i use DHL 2 times d before, all end up with Pos Laju)
This is weird. DHL has an office in Kota Bahru.
DHL Worldwide Express Sdn Bhd
No. 5, Lot 1202A/996, Ground Floor, Taman Puspa Uda, Jalan Pengkalan Chepa, Kota Bharu Kelantan 15400 Malaysia,

Unprofessional? Or "special arrangement" by DHL local staff?
I remember DHL advertised on TV that they can deliver goods to every corner in Asia.
Insist delivery by DHL if you are not comfortable with poslaju.

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Apr 7 2011, 09:18 AM)
Aluene,

I tried your suggestion regarding the ACHI/IDE changes (SSD) in BIOS...but unfortunately it does not work. Did the same on my netbook, same result.

I just got my RMA number, so I'll be replacing the SSD tomorrow.
Yup, you might have bad SSD.
RMA is the way.

ALeUNe
post Apr 7 2011, 12:31 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Apr 7 2011, 12:27 PM)
The weird thing was, it was working for a whole month since day one of my laptop. Sad.  cry.gif
Sometimes it's all luck.

I booked the Sager 8170 in January (before the chipset bug was announced).
I waited for 2 months.
It was buggy when I received it. I got it rectified by flashing bios.
I bought a Vertex 3. Few days later OCZ announced there is delay of shipment until mid April.
I gotta wait again.

It's all luck.

ALeUNe
post Apr 9 2011, 11:27 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Apr 9 2011, 08:36 PM)
Errr... where got $1.3k+? Add the ATI 6970M already around $1.4k+!
Which Malibal website you went to? =)
Plus I admit that Malibal's offer is slightly better - case in point their Lotus P150HM-S1 with this configuration:

Lotus P150HM-S1
Display:  15.6" 1920 x 1080 FHD LED Backlit GlassView Display
Processor:  Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM, 6MB L3 Cache, 2.0-2.9GHz
Memory:  (8GB) 8192MB, PC3-10660/1333MHz DDR3 - 2 SO-DIMM
Graphics Card:  AMD® Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5
Hard Drive:  750GB 7200rpm 2.5" SATA 300
Optical Bay:  8X Multi DVD+/-R/RW RAM Dual-Layer Drive
Wireless:  Intel® 6230 Advanced-N 802.11A/B/G/N LAN and Bluetooth Card
Cooling:  IC Diamond 7 Thermal Compound, CPU & GPU
Warranty:  3 Year Ltd. Labor and 1 Year Parts Warranty with 24/7 USA-Based Support
TOTAL PRICE: $1689 (before less 3%) OR around RM5103.31 (before less 3%)

Whereas Mucro.asia's price for the EXACT same configuration is MYR5,689.41

GO FIGURE!

One more thing, I've already emailed Malibal about their high shipping cost and I'm checking if they offer alternative shipping services. Hopefully they can offer USPS' service!
I do remember Mucro mentioned they would match the rate.
Show Mucro the price you got from Malibal.
ALeUNe
post Apr 11 2011, 08:58 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Radagust @ Apr 10 2011, 10:46 PM)
hey guys, the usb3 was being retarded la, and apparently sager said they have fixed it in the latest bios release. and so the sager rep sent me the file to flash. and it bricked my lappy yawn.gif.
Removing cable & notebook battery does not help because you didn't remove the motherboard battery (I suppose).

Try this.
Assuming you have 2 or more ram modules in your system, pull out 1 of the modules and restart/power on your system.
The system will detect a change of hardware configuration when you pull out one of the modules, it will automatically re-set to default setting.

I failed to boot up when I set an extreme setting to my system. The LED is flashing for few seconds, as you described.
I may have different scenario but this method helps me to revive/boot up the system by setting the bios to default.

So, good luck.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Apr 11 2011, 09:12 AM
ALeUNe
post Apr 11 2011, 12:08 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 11 2011, 11:54 AM)
Just did a comparison of buying Sager laptop (whole system, not barebone)

NOTE:
1. Consider you only want the warranty package covered by Sager, not covered Mucro/CubeHub.
2. Price comparison is inclusive of shipping cost.

If buy from Mucro/CubeHub/U.S Online reseller and send to Singapore:
- Buy from Mucro/CubeHub is cheaper than U.S Online reseller.
- Buy from Mucro/CubeHub (in SGD) is more expensive than buying from Mucro/CubeHub (in MYR) and send it to Malaysia.
- Laptop bag is given by CubeHub, laptop bag is not given by Mucro.

If buy from Mucro/CubeHub/U.S Online reseller and send to Malaysia:
- Buy from Mucro/CubeHub is cheaper than buying from U.S Online reseller.
- Buy from Mucro/CubeHub, laptops do not come with Laptop Bag, but from U.S Online reseller, most laptops come with laptop bag.

I did this based on what I saw on the websites, not sure whether you actually get a bag from Mucro/CubeHub.
My Sager (from Mucro) comes with a laptop bag.

The exact black laptop bag you see from below review.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1827691

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Apr 11 2011, 12:19 PM
ALeUNe
post Apr 12 2011, 09:39 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Apr 12 2011, 12:31 AM)
EXACTLY! Why so many ppl says that Mucro is cheaper??

It's always the most expensive when I configure NP8150-S1!

Check this out:
[attachmentid=2150095]
MUCRO.ASIA = RM5,309.80

and,
[attachmentid=2150096]
MALIBAL=USD1,634.00 (before 3% discount), after discount and conversion of RM4,802.98 (assuming USD1.00 = RM3.03)

So where got cheaper??!?!
3 points that you might have overlooked,
1) Exchange rate (the actual exchange rate could be higher than 3.03, it depends on mode of payment & banks)
2) Bank charges (T/T etc)
3) 3% Discounts? You are comparing an apple to an orange (with discounts). Have you checked with Mucro on matching the rates?

As far as I know, all Clevo notebooks have the similar retail pricetag.
I don't think Mucro has a cheaper price on the notebook.
But Mucro offers cheaper postage and no bank charges (via MB2U).
ALeUNe
post Apr 12 2011, 05:17 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Apr 12 2011, 05:14 PM)
@jimmykvt
are you sure poslaju is RM 110? I tot DHL from SG to MY around RM 220++? hmm.gif
Yes, ship via poslaju is cheaper. That is the rate.
But poslaju only has the insurance of MYR3K max.

DHL has higher postage with full insurance coverage.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:04 AM