5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 01:57 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Mar 14 2011, 01:31 PM)
i thought he said other extension cable.
in fact my house do have many power point socket tongue.gif

Unifi staff called back,
and i have confirmed the installation time,
mana tao he said still need to check with technician,
technician will confirm place/time with me  doh.gif  laugh.gif
well its too good to be true... biggrin.gif
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 02:58 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM)
How to configure the DIR-615 to block any torrent app? I am searching it on the manual but found nothing.
I am no network expert but i think torrent apps use many different ports, so you cannot block by port, and you cannot block by ip-address either, so you might need an additional tool to block it, which could use packet inspection or similar technique.
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 04:34 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 03:00 PM)
yes thats what I am thinking now.. the ports always changing. Google might be able to help smile.gif
carry on.... nod.gif

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 14 2011, 03:31 PM)
Thanks a lot and truly understand their terms now... I have no other choices also since i have gone through all the details in this thread and i have figured out to connect my RG from my backroom due to extra cost and hacking work . After getting helps from most of you here, i thought i could solve the Wifi Coverage Area downstairs with Homeplug by TP-link . Initially, i was quite happy with this solution proposed by some of you than when i get deeper into the detail about this tech, this device have two requirements.

1) plug point must be require to be terminated at the same fuse if 3 phase (mine is 3 phase)
2) The device must be connected direct to the wall and must be dedicated by itself or it will not achieve optimum .
(i only have one plug point for the RG and don't have extra point for Homeplug)

Sigh! Anyone had this problem as mine and have it solve for optimum coverage?
I'm not homeplug fan (never use one before)... so perhaps others can help with this...

QUOTE(youliang @ Mar 14 2011, 03:46 PM)
block all ports and only allow whichever ports that you want to use? biggrin.gif
technically yes but practically no since torrent this days can use port 80 as well...

furthermore the technique 'deny all except ones i use' requires normal user to understand about well-known basic TCP/UDP ports and its use
i.e. 80, 21,22, 25, 53, 143, 110, 953, 993, 995, etc...

Added on March 14, 2011, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 04:31 PM)
Hi

a bit blur. is the TP Link provided or need to buy on our own to change the DLink DIR one. I also read that not everybody have got an issue with the DLink one. Or am I missing something? and this only for wireless connections right? for cable should not have any problem right?

i also read that its better to select the channel manually for a better wireless signal. so how do we test to know the best channel?

and also i read about homeplug. is it possible to channel the cabling from 1st floor to ground floor. a bit confused and if anyone care to explain would be great or maybe a link or two about this. for the iptv as well as cabled connections for pc/laptops. or is it only for the iptv.

as for vip 5, should we getting above 5mb for dl and ul or slightly lower than 5mb.

thanks.
TP link is for advanced users who want more control with their Unifi over the standard Dlink...

If you have many heavy user in the house and experience problem with the Dlink then you should consider about it...
as for me, I dont have any problem with Dlink for the time being...(since I'm the only heavy user, err not physically)...

homeplug is an alternative way for connecting to your network besides wifi and utp cables...
what it does is actually using electrical wire (in the wall) as the data transmission medium from one electrical socket to another..
for places where laying UTP cable is not an option (messy) and/or wifi signal can reach/penetrate (too much interference) then homeplug is a good option.

in Unifi case, if your installation is upstairs or in a store room or in bedroom and the tv is on different room or downstairs then homeplug can be used to get the iptv connectivity...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 14 2011, 05:20 PM
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 05:16 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 04:54 PM)
ic.. thanks a bunch.

So that means to exchange to TP Link is free? And is it possible to go to TM Point for the exchange? or do one need to apply and wait for the technician to come by?

and you mentioned advanced.. what so advanced? most that i read are poor wifi signal. for control, i see that the DIR also have tweaking menus.

and what about the speed? usually is it over the 5mb range or somewhere in between (4+mb - 5mb) for dl and ul as i see some are over and some are lower. does 4+mb is acceptable?
Nope... TP Link is just another product... you replace it on your own and its DIY configuration... TM is not supporting this change
its the same thing if you want to change your streamyx modem to a different one than the TM supplied...(even though i still think Kasda 318D is the best)

advanced here mean you've got to know what to configure and where to configure... mostly you will get the Internet connectivity but end-up having problem with iptv...its two separate vlan and you need to map it to two separate network port (or do vlan tagging)...most basic wifi router in the market does not come with this feature..

the DIR 615 tweaking or precisely advanced menu is fairly limited (from my point of view) and honestly i did not touch anything from the day i get connected to unifi..

As for poor wifi signal (2x2dBi antenna), well different people have different house, mine is two-storey 5 bedrooms with build-up almost 3000 sq feet and i have not experience any significant difference in term of signal strength anywhere in the house...
(i have better APs, really powerful but i dont have the mood yet to do any tweaking or hacking...)

the only problem I face with the DLink is sometimes the SSID is missing i got connected to other SSID... but i can live with that knowing the limitation of the wifi router...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 14 2011, 05:22 PM
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 05:31 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 05:26 PM)
Regarding the p2p/torrent blocking, I've Googled and yet found nothing about DIR615 that can block the ports.

The solution is to add a hardware firewall to control the p2p. Can you guys suggest a good firewall for this? I need advise.
if you dont mind, where exactly you want to deploy this? Home or office?
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 07:05 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Mar 14 2011, 05:37 PM)
Disable UPNP and enable the DIR-615 firewall... shouldn't that meet your requirements?

Added on March 14, 2011, 5:38 pm

Unless the ppl you are trying to block the P2P usage has your DIR-615 login too?
well disabling UPnP will only slow down the torrent speed...its a good solution but having UPnP disabled will affect other programs that depends on it...
UPnP is particularly advantageous when it comes to sending files over instant messengers, VoIP, etc...

Other inexpensive solution is to use opendns (it used to be free)... but this solution is for end user who is non technical (meaning to say they dont know how to bypass the local dns setting)...

Added on March 14, 2011, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 06:07 PM)
woahh thanks VerM. i think i read it wrongly hehe.. so its another unit this TP and need to get it ourselves. thanks. I will stick to the DIR as for now because, i've tried most part of the house and the signal is good! will see how it goes in a month or two as it will be on 24/7.

the only thing was at the initial stage after the installation was done, the signal was like 2 bars even at close range. after restart my laptop, its all good. full bar.

and yes the setting are enough for me for now as i only use it for small torrenting (port forward and dmz are enough) as i mainly stream from the net plus online gaming.

thanks for your info VerM. really appreciate it man!

cheers!

hackwire - maybe i read wrongly
i live to serve....eh no.. to share... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 14 2011, 07:10 PM
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 02:32 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(cosmi @ Mar 15 2011, 01:54 PM)
wonder if japanese earthquake affects the internet network.
i think not... our aggregated international lines are sufficient to cope with it...

there are noticeable delays i think yesterday but after midnite everything seems up to speed...

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 15 2011, 02:02 PM)
I think it does. But so far so good here. XD
So far from what i know, only Internet connectivity from Phillipine is having a problem
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 03:35 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 15 2011, 03:18 PM)
hey guys i got a question

my phone line is under name A
streamyx is under name B

can i use name C to apply unifi?
yes... its a separate package... kindly search this thread for explanation..
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 05:09 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Mar 15 2011, 04:42 PM)
My bad... I register the wrong installation address for the UniFi. So for those that want to register online, please check properly. They cancel my order due to can't edit my order. (Just change the house number also cannot.) Then they told me I can register the username again. I have to use another username. (I don't know why.. they want to keep that username since is not in use.)

Now I have to wait for them to refresh it. Tomorrow only can register again.
be careful when selecting the address... wrong address means wrong house..

the unifi registeration system is not refreshing fast enough... for the username the refresh takes about 24 hours but for phone numbers it takes longer than that...
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 05:28 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Gompf @ Mar 15 2011, 05:17 PM)
I guess yours is back as well same as ours, it was more or less gone for 5 days ....
trying powering off everything...
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 06:32 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Mar 15 2011, 05:48 PM)
The "LAN" light on the TMNet modem. 3rd from the right.
it is not modem in the real sense... the LAN LED is blinking to indicate incoming and outgoing internet traffic from the router (or from u)
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 09:56 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
if apply upgrade also need 24 months contract?
correct me if i'm wrong but i think every unifi subscription comes with 2 years contract.
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 10:15 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 15 2011, 10:03 PM)
2 years=24months right? Lol...
You will be like... Terminating the old streamyx and apply new unifi. No special for upgrade-rs. haha
Knowing TM, i think it is a wishful thinking... biggrin.gif
VerM
post Mar 15 2011, 10:55 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 15 2011, 10:45 PM)
how to access myunifi? do we need to register first?
I dont want to be rude, but your internet is now a lot faster... doing some reading won't hurt..

VerM
post Mar 16 2011, 06:37 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(yiyonglee @ Mar 16 2011, 04:09 PM)
Dear all,

I am trying to login to MyUniFi via https://occ.unifi.my/HSBBCustomerPortal/HSB...erPortal.portal

This is what I sees:

I already got my "Unifi Registration Confirmation Slip", what will be my "myUniFi ID"?
Thanks in advance!
did you read the info at the myunifi page?
VerM
post Mar 16 2011, 07:59 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Channel84 @ Mar 16 2011, 06:54 PM)
can i link the stb with my non hd tv set?
yup... the av cable is provided
VerM
post Mar 17 2011, 09:55 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(rockpoper @ Mar 16 2011, 11:26 PM)
I heard because of Japan's earthquake, the internet will slow down.
I understand internet will slow down internationally, but even in Malaysia also slow? sweat.gif
Is the rumor about TM Net is sharing our internet to Japan true? sweat.gif
if its a rumour then it will probably stays as rumours...

we have many international lines... japan is just one of it..
VerM
post Mar 17 2011, 06:27 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gr2000 @ Mar 17 2011, 05:36 PM)
yep same here..for the past few days already...its very unstable..sometimes fast sometimes very very slow
many here (not limited to unifi) are experiencing some degree of browsing crawl... perhaps indeed japan quake has affected us...

so far i myself have not experience any laggingness or crawl...

Added on March 17, 2011, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(SnowWhiteTan @ Mar 17 2011, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys..
I have just registered for Unifi..
I wonder if my TP-Link Repeater will work with the router provided by TMNet?

Also if anyone knows when will they likely impose the download cap?
Thanks..
download cap... what download cap... i know not the term download cap... what i know is unlimited downloads...

should tm proceed with this stupid/backdated/zaman tok kaduk/idiotic idea ... then i suggest we bombard SKMM with thousands of complaint emails...on daily basis... or better hourly...

in fact no single telco in malaysia should impose download/usage cap... they are only concern about making more profit instead of improving the services and access/connectivity... i still cant use any 3g/4g broadband services when i'm at my kampung...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 17 2011, 06:35 PM
VerM
post Mar 18 2011, 02:42 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ Mar 17 2011, 07:20 PM)
In actual fact, not imposing dl cap is the backdated/zaman tok kaduk idea. All developed countries, ie. US, UK, Australia, Singapore all have caps on their connections. This is to ensure that the bandwidth is fairly distributed to the customers based on how much they pay for the service. Otherwise you will have a small minority hogging the majority of the bandwidth.

Of course, in Malaysia we do pay alot more compared to overseas, but thats an argument for another time.
Yes is true in malaysia our provider pay a lot more in term of bandwidth exchange... but giving excuses for the apparent lack of local content should not be translated as cost (and transferred to customer)...

Historically, when internet connectivity first arrive, ISP charge customers with metered usage and when technology became more advanced, ISP start promoting the 'unlimited' usage... and now with all the streaming content made possible (along with more devices able to connect to internet) the ISP want to revert back to metered use but with different term (they call it multi-tiered pricing structure)... that is why this method is backdated...

QUOTE(Neptern @ Mar 17 2011, 07:28 PM)
Not true, all the developed countries are moving away from caps(except US and Canada)and maybe only got traffic management.Read my post a few page back for the article at stopthecap.com.

Even this http://stopthecap.com/2011/03/16/south-afr...y-party-ruined/

So you telling me we are worst off than south africa?
I rest my case... rclxms.gif

Many user oriented ISP opted to use traffic management (esp on heavy p2p traffic) instead of bandwidth capping...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 18 2011, 02:48 PM
VerM
post Mar 18 2011, 02:55 PM

117 posts

Bandwidth cap comparison between US & Japan

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top