Sony Xperia Neo and Pro, Another Xperia brothers

[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 15 2011, 04:35 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 15 2011, 04:11 PM)
Get from tan alliance directly better I think, good service. He's the supplier.
I think that's not important cause they should have the IMEI data in their system. Warranty card is just a card, plus the dealer needs to register your device to activate the warranty, so they should have it in their system. If the dealer didn't do that, then they'll need the receipt instead cause warranty card, some people can fake the date (some dealer leave the date empty).

The main point is, is your unit authorised unit by Sony Ericsson Malaysia; Asking for warranty card is when they want to find trouble and make your process harder.

Anyway, I'm officially a new Xperia Pro owner, and first time Android user, lots of things to pick-up  sweat.gif
Transferring contacts is a headache, SMS is another headache part. After sync with social networks, so many duplicate contacts.  sweat.gif

Overall, it's very nice experience, but I got myself AP set after disappointed with the service and going through calls between HQ and each retail outlet. I become more like their staff trying to find out and passing information to each outlet... give up and settled for AP set, was told it will be SG set, but seems the unit I got is TW set, and there's no HDMI cable. sweat.gif

Hm... Anybody know how to sort the contacts? (e.g. First Name, Last Name, or NickName? Or View Contacts As?)
and how to set a specific number as primary number (for those who have more than one number).
My colleague's HTC have all these options.
How to know if my phone is an authorized unit by SEM? I only have the thorus sticker on the battery and also another 1 which is embossed with SE logo and also the small round embossed SE sticker. Hmmm. Its also my first android phone and Im loving it. Its like how i like to tweak here and there to maximize my phone's usage without compromising much of my battery life. Oh...duplicate contact? Just hold on to the contact and it will pop up a side bar and choose the merge/combine contact. =) It happened to me too.

About your queries, I have not tried that yet, and its quite a hassle to dial a number while you're on the road as well. Yours no HDMI, mine is also the same, even better, no car charger. I think the shop is just ripping me off.
SiuYi
post Dec 15 2011, 04:50 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

argh!! no xperia pro stock in The Mines!!!! i lepak there yesterday, visited 2 stores, both say no stock......

sad ah!
Andy214
post Dec 15 2011, 05:07 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Dec 15 2011, 04:35 PM)
How to know if my phone is an authorized unit by SEM? I only have the thorus sticker on the battery and also another 1 which is embossed with SE logo and also the small round embossed SE sticker. Hmmm. Its also my first android phone and Im loving it. Its like how i like to tweak here and there to maximize my phone's usage without compromising much of my battery life. Oh...duplicate contact? Just hold on to the contact and it will pop up a side bar and choose the merge/combine contact. =) It happened to me too.

About your queries, I have not tried that yet, and its quite a hassle to dial a number while you're on the road as well. Yours no HDMI, mine is also the same, even better, no car charger. I think the shop is just ripping me off.
If you buy from authorised centre should be authorised unit; else I think you can call up SEM or their service centre and confirm your IMEI.

Yea, I can join, but I've got so many contacts, lol. Actually not really as much as those people who have hundreds/thousands over contacts in FB, but still a lot of work to join/merge one by one; My previous smartphone there's a contacts merger app, which intelligently merge for you, and those that in doubt, it will show up in the next screen for you to confirm or change the selection, it can match by contact, name, email, etc.
Not sure Android have, but I think there should have but not sure which is good cause the thing with many apps is, you don't know which to choose, hahaha tongue.gif

I use to send sms to groups of people, if we can group contacts and send sms to groups will be good. If there's 2 number for a particular contact, normally it'll prompt which number to send, so if there is primary contact will be great addition.

Authorised set supposed to come with full set, unless they took away yours.
The seller free me a 3rd party car charger, which I don't keen on using (have bad experience before). Since it's micro USB port, my previous phone original charger can also be used.

raulxiver
post Dec 15 2011, 05:22 PM

348 posts

how to make the wallpaper fit with the screen nicely? why must crop when set as wallpaper? i find it so complicated

im using xperia neo
SiuYi
post Dec 15 2011, 05:32 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

may i ask just 1 stupid question? any xperia pro owners here bought an AP set which somehow isn't working 100% like an authorized set?

*i am an AP set owner of x10 mini pro and this AP set serious gave me several headaches..so i wanna clarify if getting AP for xperia pro doesnt gave me any issues after this~
Andy214
post Dec 15 2011, 05:54 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Dec 15 2011, 05:32 PM)
may i ask just 1 stupid question? any xperia pro owners here bought an AP set which somehow isn't working 100% like an authorized set?

*i am an AP set owner of x10 mini pro and this AP set serious gave me several headaches..so i wanna clarify if getting AP for xperia pro doesnt gave me any issues after this~
It's the same thing. AP set means authorised set in other country. All is original, just difference is where the unit is from.

One advantage of getting AP is if you can get a good country set, e.g. those that receive first update (and good built quality). e.g. HTC Incredible, Malaysia set no latest update yet, but some countries already have. So even you got authorised set, still need to wait.

AP set what you need to worry is probably the seller change the accessories or battery, or take away / reduce some accessories, etc. And if there is units which made in different country, then you might wanna get a better unit.
Oh, for Pro, with qwerty keyboard, for HK/TW/CN set, the keyboard got Chinese wording.
[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 15 2011, 08:05 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(raulxiver @ Dec 15 2011, 05:22 PM)
how to make the wallpaper fit with the screen nicely? why must crop when set as wallpaper? i find it so complicated

im using xperia neo
Crop maybe due to big sized pic gua? I cropped mine and its still perfect...Allstars Converse wallpaper...=D
Deani_77
post Dec 15 2011, 10:18 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Just want to ask Neo user... This device come with USB OTG feature or not?
pikacu
post Dec 15 2011, 11:33 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Dec 15 2011, 04:50 PM)
argh!! no xperia pro stock in The Mines!!!! i lepak there yesterday, visited 2 stores, both say no stock......

sad ah!
last week got sweat.gif

Added on December 15, 2011, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 15 2011, 05:54 PM)
Oh, for Pro, with qwerty keyboard, for HK/TW/CN set, the keyboard got Chinese wording.
I believe mine is HK/TW/CN set, but no chinese wording..?

This post has been edited by pikacu: Dec 15 2011, 11:36 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 16 2011, 11:10 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(raulxiver @ Dec 15 2011, 05:22 PM)

im using xperia neo
when you set the wallpaper, you can zoom in and out with you TWO FINGERS before you finalize the layout
[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 16 2011, 12:59 PM

312 posts

Im feeling more demotivated...no HDMI cable, but they gave 2 mini USB cables instead, no car charger...and no warranty card...no bluetooth. my god....=(
SiuYi
post Dec 16 2011, 01:45 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

Andy214
yaya, i notice about the chinese wording on the keyboard as well. i checked my AP set unit (x10 mini pro) by refering to the manual inside the box. considering AP sets, for Pro, which country is consider a bit advanced than Msia?

*my x10 mini pro was AP from Sweden and definitely behind Msia...causing baseband issues to me when flashing roms...wtf.

oh, i got an offer for AP Pro rm990 and 2 years warranty. stil haven get to know more about the warranty yet. good grab or not?
[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 16 2011, 02:02 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Dec 16 2011, 01:45 PM)
Andy214
yaya, i notice about the chinese wording on the keyboard as well. i checked my AP set unit (x10 mini pro) by refering to the manual inside the box. considering AP sets, for Pro, which country is consider a bit advanced than Msia?

*my x10 mini pro was AP from Sweden and definitely behind Msia...causing baseband issues to me when flashing roms...wtf.

oh, i got an offer for AP Pro rm990 and 2 years warranty. stil haven get to know more about the warranty yet. good grab or not?
RM990 for 2 yrs warranty is a good deal. Wahhhh....Pro so fast drop price???!
Andy214
post Dec 16 2011, 03:14 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Dec 15 2011, 11:33 PM)
last week got sweat.gif

Added on December 15, 2011, 11:36 pm
I believe mine is HK/TW/CN set, but no chinese wording..?
Mine I think is TW set. The Quick User Guide is in Chinese sweat.gif
The phone startup in Chinese... have to switch language, lucky is easy cause I'm "banana" (but not in pajamas)

It also comes pre-installed with few Chinese App, including the Chinese Social Network apps, which my colleague help to "translate".

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Dec 16 2011, 01:45 PM)
Andy214

I'm not sure which country more advance, need to check which country always get the latest updates. My HTC colleague asked me to get authorised set, but recently HTC Incredible got new update, but not for Malaysia, so now he's in between, haha. For me, surely would prefer authorised, but the price difference is a lot... and actually I also wanted to get authorised set with the christmas promotion, but their "service" level really make me disappointed. Finally get AP, save more than RM300, which I bought Class 10 32GB micro SD, and still have extra RM100 to spare for the iDefense Pro.

The warranty for AP does not cover LCD, and for accessory only for few months. The device got longer warranty, but rarely have issue. If have issue, it may take much longer time.
You can get for below RM950 here in lowyat forum or lelong.com.my, check GNex store.
Authorised also around RM1200 (but better buy from authorised (SEM) set with FREE VH-410 worth RM159, can sell for RM100?)

[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 16 2011, 03:42 PM

312 posts

Omg...the price really dropped that bad huh? I juz came bck from checking and its confirmed ori phone...ah the relief
adz83
post Dec 16 2011, 03:53 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Dec 16 2011, 12:59 PM)
Im feeling more demotivated...no HDMI cable, but they gave 2 mini USB cables instead, no car charger...and no warranty card...no bluetooth. my god....=(
Bluetooth is just for promo. But ori car charger is included in the package, right? Better ask back at the shop.

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Dec 16 2011, 02:02 PM)
RM990 for 2 yrs warranty is a good deal. Wahhhh....Pro so fast drop price???!
AP price need to compete with the christmas promo perhaps. Good la, u guys got good deal. thumbup.gif
Andy214
post Dec 16 2011, 05:31 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Dec 16 2011, 03:42 PM)
Omg...the price really dropped that bad huh? I juz came bck from checking and its confirmed ori phone...ah the relief
Then it should have all the accessories. Go and request; If the shop doesn't want to give, call up SME.

QUOTE(adz83 @ Dec 16 2011, 03:53 PM)
Bluetooth is just for promo. But ori car charger is included in the package, right? Better ask back at the shop.
AP price need to compete with the christmas promo perhaps. Good la, u guys got good deal. thumbup.gif
Yes, everything is included. During my checking, at first all the shops have no idea about this promo, end up I become middle person and check for them and communicate between the HQ and the shops. After some of the shop confirm have the sale, they also not sure got free bluetooth, when asked and said got, then they say "maybe" the other accessories will not be provided.... doh.gif
Seems they don't even know or have the leaflet, and it's already the promo day, end up force them to check with the HQ again and confirm everything got... such poor service.

linmac
post Dec 16 2011, 05:43 PM

147 posts

Im planning to buy this phone, but over SE forum I read that this model having some issue with the camera/photo quality. Is that true ? Do you guys facing any similiar problem or its region related issue ? thanks
[F]atalit[Y]
post Dec 16 2011, 05:53 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(linmac @ Dec 16 2011, 05:43 PM)
Im planning to buy this phone, but over SE forum I read that this model having some issue with the camera/photo quality. Is that true ? Do you guys facing any similiar problem or its region related issue ? thanks
WHat quality issue? My camera seems fine, its chick chacking all the way, it auto focuses for you, even auto absorbs the exposure over dimmed lighting area. You can even adjust the exposure yourself. No grains/noises so far...and its HD...8mp HD. =)
patdidi
post Dec 16 2011, 07:41 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(linmac @ Dec 16 2011, 05:43 PM)
are u sure its neo? Or neo V? are they talking about over compression to the image captured, thus producing horrible quality?

45 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:28 AM