QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 24 2011, 11:09 PM)
ok la. d size.. the eye still not yet fully open and the mother yet to groom them.. better give back mom.. lol 
Really, because the other kids I have a few weeks back are a bit larger than this on birth.❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering
May 24 2011, 11:13 PM
5,967 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Malaysia... Duh! |
May 24 2011, 11:30 PM
162 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
May 24 2011, 11:35 PM
79 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
you mean as big as a small dog?
May 24 2011, 11:41 PM
May 25 2011, 12:15 AM
3,348 posts Joined: May 2006 From: The Matrix |
May 25 2011, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 25 2011, 12:15 AM) size wise yes jus shorter leg... like a 5 month old cat... lol. Haha..i can imagine mine gonna get a big big tummy and butt coz I fed her so much > < My friend said she is showing her butt whenever she is eating from her bowl..Can't wait to see it grow big n healthy, then I can really feel that I am holding her. Now too light emino : maybe due to the teddy mix rex .. which I remember form American... Added on May 25, 2011, 12:21 am QUOTE(emino @ May 24 2011, 11:41 PM) Rex and Teddy mix. Haha..frizzy will be so cool. Like waxing up the hair..Dunno yet whether their hair will be frizzy or curly like their parents. But sure looks like it. I realise, lesser ppl breed short hair gp, why ah? This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 25 2011, 12:21 AM |
May 25 2011, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ May 25 2011, 12:20 AM) Haha..i can imagine mine gonna get a big big tummy and butt coz I fed her so much > < My friend said she is showing her butt whenever she is eating from her bowl..Can't wait to see it grow big n healthy, then I can really feel that I am holding her. Now too light bcos it d common breed unless u got d pure American breed n not Malaysia bred short hair.. it won't grow as big as other breed n they have longer nose compare to other...Added on May 25, 2011, 12:21 am Haha..frizzy will be so cool. Like waxing up the hair.. I realise, lesser ppl breed short hair gp, why ah? |
May 25 2011, 12:42 AM
2 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Waaa Xavi.. You always the best adviser. Thanks for your explaination..
However, after 2 months i given them, i think the leaf is safe for them.. And until now, no problem such as hair fall, skin problem etc.. But the problem is not much internet sources that mention banana leaf is a suitable food for guinea pig.. Ya here i want to share my GP photos taken at the back-yard studio last week.. Heheee... Enjoy the pics.. QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 24 2011, 04:13 PM) yes.. it is quite good for them antioxidant -->n addition to their value as food wrappers for cooking, banana leaves contain large amounts of polyphenols such as epigallocatechin gallate, or EGCG, also found in green tea. Polyphenols are natural antioxidants found in many plant based foods. According to an article by Augustin Scalbert and colleagues published in the January 2005 issue of the "American Journal of Clinical Nutrition," extensive research is ongoing to help determine the extent of how polyphenols affect human cells, the oxidative process and its impact on disease prevention. Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/319930-t.../#ixzz1QBA3Q9w4 list of vege and fruit (can and cant) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
May 25 2011, 12:51 AM
Xavi, is it safe to use the wet tissue for baby on GP?
My gp cannot bath until 1/2 weeks later to avoid flu, but her butt always tertouch her pee n poo and make it very dirty..so thinking of cleaning it with the wet baby tissue.. |
May 25 2011, 12:58 AM
99 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
May 25 2011, 01:02 AM
18 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
@ryo you can use wet tissue. Gp dont need bath often so just use the wet tissue and it will be fine.
@katanazz maybe kena its own pee lol. The skin problem is maybe the skin frequent touch the pee then it get sensitive and skill will peel off. My gp also like that but now its fine , just botak patch at his buttocks. Is he eating and drinking well still? This post has been edited by ix3Rukia: May 25 2011, 01:05 AM |
May 25 2011, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(katannaz @ May 25 2011, 12:58 AM) hi all GP lover Hair loss in large quantity revealing gp's skin is surely a kind of sickness, u shud bring it to the vet asap i think?need u guys advise i bought peruvian male almost a month tonite after come back from work i just realize the down body from mouth to stomach are wet then i found he also got hair loss at back what should i do? and what the cause he got those sickness?? thanks for any advise in advance... Stomach part is wet i can understand when gp is still nt toilet trained or pee at smooth surface like on d floor when I let my gp out. Need to wipe it with tissue tho > < (own experience) Added on May 25, 2011, 1:04 am QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ May 25 2011, 01:02 AM) Haha..thx for d advice. Now i feel relieved in using the tissues This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 25 2011, 01:04 AM |
May 25 2011, 01:42 AM
ix3Rukia, thanks for ur answer but i dont think becoz of pee because i'm using cat cage
and sure pee or poo will goes to tray and the from mouth a bit sticky water came out eating and drinking well, timothy, pellet and carrot all gone ryozoemiko, thanks ya.... i also think want to go to vet but 2morrow still bz with work any other treatment that i can do as a 1st aid? |
May 25 2011, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(katannaz @ May 25 2011, 12:58 AM) hi all GP lover from the blurry picture.. i thing tat is a very severe case of manges mite.. better go to the dr. asap.. the sticky thing coming out is a sign of severe bacteria infection inside d... is he eating well? if not u better be prepare and give him 100% watch d..need u guys advise i bought peruvian male almost a month tonite after come back from work i just realize the down body from mouth to stomach are wet then i found he also got hair loss at back what should i do? and what the cause he got those sickness?? thanks for any advise in advance... |
May 25 2011, 09:46 AM
The babies and their mum this morning:
![]() |
May 25 2011, 02:56 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Just lepaking at this thread since got nothing much to do at work for today. (Goyang kaki only).
I read a few pages back and I see a lot of people got bad experience buying guinea pigs from Pets Wonderland Midvalley. I happened to buy mine there too so let me share my experience. (Sorry ar incoming grandmama story) I bought my guinea pig, Sotong (yes that's his name) back in 12 Dec 2010. It was a spur of a moment since I wanted a companion. Working in KL alone can be really lonely But in any case, I initially wanted to buy a hamster so I didn't research much on GP. But the moment I go there, I saw the GP then fall in love liao Too cute. So I bought one male GP. (As I said I didn't do enough research that time. I assumed they were similar to hamster and I read that siberian hamster likes to be alone so I assumed this one should be also). Besides I didn't want it to breed and I don't know GP is extremely friendly to own kind. My bad But in any case, I spent roughly RM250. Sotong himself costs me RM48, the cage another 100+, pellets, water bottle (the non drip type), food bowl and beddings. It was when I finally brought him back that I read up about GP and I realized they like to be with their own kind. But since Midvalley is quite far from where I lived, (I was based in Sri Kembangan) I just monitor him for a few days. Here's a picture I first snap when I bought him back. ![]() Initially it was all good. He was afraid of me but normal la...Until a few days later, I realized his right eye was a bit swollen. I do a check up on him every morning and before I go to bed to ensure he didn't hurt himself since he's still a baby (maybe a few weeks old) and he's in a new environment. Alone somemore. Aiiiii So anyway, his right eye was abit swollen with some of those dried yellowish eye discharge stuck. I tried to clean it for him with a clean wet towel but he didn't like it. Then I read that GP do discharge some milky liquid from their eyes to clean themselves so I was thinking maybe it's those milky liquid. Anyway I went to work as usual but was very worried throughout the day. So I checked google map for any vets in sri kembangan just in case. When I came back from work at 6pm, true enough, something WAS VERY WRONG with his eye. For the first time when I came back, he ran to me inside his cage (I think he pun dah sakit kut) so I picked him up easily and I found that his right eye is totally shut due to the discharge! I knew immediately it might be something like conjunctivitis so I quickly wipe the discharge off with a wet towel gently. Then I drove him to the nearest vet called "St. Angel". The lady vet there was very kind and gentle to Sotong. She cleaned his eye and gave me a bottle of eye drop to cure the conjunctivitis. She told me to administer it 8 times a day. That's roughly 3 hours once. ... Die lor. So, when I came back roughly 8pm, I set my alarm clock. Before I sleep at 11pm, I administer again, then wake up at 2am administer, 5am again, 8 am I wake up another time. Then I couldn't put it during my working hours but since the conjunctivitis is at its early level, the vet just told me to drip more frequently at night. So yeah, for the next 3 days I wake up every 3 hours to gave Sotong his eye drop. I do wonder if all the GP from pet shops are prone to diseases since they are not really properly taken care off After he recovered, I brought him back to Penang where my hometown is since my mom and my sister lives here and someone is home even during the afternoon to monitor him. I ended up didn't buy a second guinea pig because of a few concerns: 1) They may have disease and Sotong will contract it again 2) I read that if you introduce a new GP to your current one, you need to quarantine the new one first to ensure he/she is clean. I don't have an additional cage or space to do so. Pity the new GP if I were to put him/her in those carrier for 1 week 3) They may fight and may have lack of space to stay. So yeah, Sotong is still alone now but we're giving him the most attention he needs. I've moved back to Penang for my new job so I get to be with him still Currently he's roughly 6 months old and been healthy since. No diseases or fleas. My family members also modified his cage abit so that he has more space to run around. (We also let him run around our living room and kitchen daily for roughly 20 mins~30 mins while we sit on the floor like nannies Here's a picture of his modified cage ![]() And he likes to sleep on the second floor balcony that we built ![]() Until we bought him a tunnel. Cloth tunnel is rather awesome in my opinion. My GP Sotong plays with it every single day. ![]() And I got to cut my story short cause Boss sudah balik. Need to continue err to pretend to be busy. But I just want to share my story and oh, if anyone can recommend me a good GP vet in Penang, that would be helpful in case Sotong needs anything. Hope everyone enjoyed my grandmama story. Maybe I will write more in future |
May 25 2011, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 25 2011, 09:42 AM) from the blurry picture.. i thing tat is a very severe case of manges mite.. better go to the dr. asap.. the sticky thing coming out is a sign of severe bacteria infection inside d... is he eating well? if not u better be prepare and give him 100% watch d.. sory for the blur picture last night when i put hay, he jump and eat, same when i giv carrot while he eating la i saw some liquid came out from mouth no other choice, have to bring him to vet after work thanks a lot for all comment and advise yaa, really appreciate it. |
May 25 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(katannaz @ May 25 2011, 04:20 PM) sory for the blur picture wat kind of water feeder u are having? bowl or bottle? the liquid is it reddish in colour.. if yes then tat is from the carrot... if other colour.. pls refrain from feeding vege and fruit.. jus feed hay and pellet.. last night when i put hay, he jump and eat, same when i giv carrot while he eating la i saw some liquid came out from mouth no other choice, have to bring him to vet after work thanks a lot for all comment and advise yaa, really appreciate it. town berry: nice back view there |
May 25 2011, 05:29 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Ah.. thank you thank you. I try to give him as much love and care as I can since he's alone.
After sexing a few times, confirm it's a he Besides, I don't know if it's normal or not but his balls are quite big that he sorta almost mop the floor when he walks. My mom always complain he helps her mop the floor everytime he comes out (and the floor became sticky) |
| Change to: | 0.0314sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:32 PM |