4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

maresh88
post May 22 2011, 04:27 AM

79 posts

hi, i'm planning to get a gp soon but i have few inquiries.

I'm currently a student n planning to get one as companion since i heard they're great to have around. I do understand that this is a great deal of commitment. so before i get my feet wet, i'd like to get know them more detailed.

1. how long do i have to be around one per day? i'm basically in my room half of the day n the other half in campus
2. will it be a problem if i don't spend enough time to that said time period?
3. Do they get stressed from traveling? i go back to my hometown every 2 weeks, which is a 1.30 hours drive on bad traffic days

any advice will be much appreciated smile.gif
maresh88
post May 22 2011, 10:12 AM

79 posts

any other tips and tricks i should know? really looking forward to getting one smile.gif
maresh88
post May 22 2011, 01:28 PM

79 posts

thanks for the feed back, anyway learnt so many stuff from the first page n other sources as well so i think will be able to handle them with no problems smile.gif

btw what's the best age of guinea pig for a newbie like me to handle?
maresh88
post May 24 2011, 09:41 PM

79 posts

forgot to ask, how huge this lil fellas get? i hear they get pretty big
maresh88
post May 24 2011, 11:35 PM

79 posts

you mean as big as a small dog?
maresh88
post May 28 2011, 12:40 AM

79 posts

hmm juz got my from a home breeder (or farmer coz he had lots of em) i think, n the dude said feed her (Hazel is a girl) bread? =.=

she's very shy n timid now, hopefully she eats her pellets n hay
maresh88
post May 28 2011, 08:51 AM

79 posts

and she hasn't touched her food since i got her yesterday evening, any ways to encourage her?
maresh88
post May 28 2011, 09:22 AM

79 posts

remember no bread for gp.smile.gif

[/quote]

yea i was freaked when i heard that too
maresh88
post May 28 2011, 02:49 PM

79 posts

i'm currently feeding her hagen pellets n she's starting to eat but very little. Still its a good sign i guess. n i think she cant reach the water bottle coz she's kinda tiny, should i put some in a bowl or something?

maresh88
post May 29 2011, 12:06 PM

79 posts

notice something on my piggy's back, its got me worried. looks like a wound Attached Image Attached Image
maresh88
post May 29 2011, 03:37 PM

79 posts

sigh vets are closed today in my area, will get her to see one by tmr
maresh88
post May 30 2011, 07:47 PM

79 posts

consulted the vet, after inspecting samples he said its not mange mites but localised bacterial infection
maresh88
post May 31 2011, 12:05 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(kalvianna @ May 30 2011, 10:23 PM)
which vet are you going? must go to the vet that really specialized with guinea pig.

well i went to the one in seri kembangan coz it was the closes to me. the vet did scrap her affected skin and checked under the microscope n said he couldn't find any mites. He gave a antibacterial cream n told me to keep an eye on her progress.
maresh88
post May 31 2011, 08:01 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(kalvianna @ May 31 2011, 07:27 PM)
hi,

if you really love your guinea pig, you should go to the real vet that really know guinea pig. i am ponteng from my class just to go to the clinic, not near but other side of my living place just to make sure my baby get the best treatment. and i also get lost cause never been to the place before.

and some vet that do not know about g.p they will love to just assume and then will give sebarang ubat which will infected your g.p health, even getting worse and then die la.

the next time, you go to the experienced vet like dr. yeoh at damansara.
hmm yea, was planning to do so as well. Went to him coz i needed a quick consultation but seems like his medication is working. My piggy's wound is healing up pretty well and she's been eating a lot like normal
maresh88
post Jun 1 2011, 01:12 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(kalvianna @ May 31 2011, 11:50 PM)
a quick way for your guinea pig to get healthy is by giving them vit c. you can use human vit. divided into 4, then give 1 portion only. in one day, 2 times. up to three days. then you give like every three days once. cause they can produce their own vit c...
thanks, will do that asap smile.gif. juz mix it with pellets right? i do have vit c drops but not using since i heard gps dont like the taste in water

maresh88
post Jun 1 2011, 05:16 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(townberry @ Jun 1 2011, 01:26 PM)
I suggest you don't put the vitamin C pellets into the water
http://www.guinealynx.info/diet.html#c
yea that's y not using it n dont plan to as well
maresh88
post Jun 3 2011, 09:25 AM

79 posts

mine is getting used to me since she's not hiding much when i'm in the room. But applying meds is still a problem =.=
maresh88
post Jun 4 2011, 01:29 PM

79 posts

i'm trying to introduce bell pepper to mine since it been one week since i got her, but she's not interested and still very skittish. Sigh. anyways to calm her down n make her try out her new vege?
maresh88
post Jun 4 2011, 11:53 PM

79 posts

k now i'm really stumped, my piggy won't even try cucumber. i think she really really hates me after the trip to the vet =.= she isn't skittish with my other housemates. sigh
maresh88
post Jun 7 2011, 11:25 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(lum_yu_wat @ Jun 7 2011, 11:16 PM)
so far, there is less pee on the fleece.. she seems to like peeing on the "good morning" towels, and on the litter pan lined with hay.. maybe my fleece is not wicking the liquid.. soemthing wrong with how i prepare it, i guess.. any advice?

twist-shake = like how a wet dog would shake dry after a shower.. definitely not the "happy" kind.. always follows with a face scratch..

maybe the noise around my place is constantly putting her on "scared" mode.. she is more nervous than when she first arrived.. sad.gif

she will eat vege/fruits which are placed on my hand.. sometimes i put it to her mouth, she also will eat.. she will wheek when i open/close the fridge door and the sound of running water in the kitchen will make her come out and stand up, waiting for me to feed her..
but when i try to pet her, there is always this purring sound.. and sometimes will use her hind legs to scratch/kick my fingers..

the "maiden heart" is really difficult to understand.. laugh.gif
mine oso same, been 1 week edi since got her n yet she's more tensed than she first go here. i can't even touch her now, ever since the vet visit. Cleaning the cage juz became harder =.= but otherwise she's doing good ( by that i mean she eats n poops a lot laugh.gif )

edit: n she hasn't made a single sound yet. which kinda worries me

This post has been edited by maresh88: Jun 7 2011, 11:26 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:51 AM