❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

ryozoemiko
post May 21 2011, 05:06 PM

162 posts

I juz recently bought 2 guinea pigs from petswonderland. Unfortunately 1 died juz 3 days after moving into new house as her head stuck at d egde of cage for few hours when I went for work =( she survived for 12 hours but plain lying down..I have now sticked the side of the cage with cloths and newspaper until the other GP grow bigger to avoid accident like this to happen again.

I am actually looking for another female GP (short hair) from home breeder, if any of u is having 1 for sale or adoption please let me know..I would prefer tri-colour tho. Hehe. Wanna get a new friend for my 1 month old Dan Dan..Thx in advance =)

Btw, I have a question for all pros in GP. Is eye discharge common for GP? My GP has 1 big eye on the right and 1 smaller eye on the left. Her left eye always have small discharge, and it will dried up like us when we wake up from sleep. Sometimes they will be discharge too. Dunno is it common for GP? Looking for advice....*.*

Btw,

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 21 2011, 05:08 PM
ryozoemiko
post May 22 2011, 01:31 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kalvianna @ May 22 2011, 01:58 AM)
Hi there,

actually the eyes discharge is common only if you buy from a pet store especially from pet wonderland as they didnt really take care of any of the pets there. i bought my first baby there and a week after that, i need to go to the clinic as he get infection, due to low vits and do not had healthy food at the pet wonderland.

the best is, you should send ur guinea pig first to the vet, then after he is ok, then u can buy the new one. as the disease can spread really fast among guinea pig, so i suggesting the best is, you got to clinic first.
Thanks for d advice.

5 days after i clean d gp n feed them w veges n good pellet. She is now having big eyes n no more discharge. Haha, today i felt that her eyes are so beautiful >< hopefully the condition w remain, if nt i really dunno where to find a good vet in muar, such a small town..

Yea, if compare to home breed gp here, gp bought from pet shop is soooo much smaller. They sell it even when d gp is only 2 weeks old...

ryozoemiko
post May 22 2011, 11:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ May 22 2011, 09:33 PM)
1. Just get 2 guinea pigs , they dont really need humans companion .
2. As long 1 day 1 time can d.
3. Just dont move the box too much.
Other info :

You need to be very careful with gp. They can get sick easily and they wont show sickness till its very serious.
They also poop and pee alot. Are u prepared to clean them everyday?
You need to give them GUINEA PIG pellets not rabbit pellets or they might die.
Give them a good space to walk about , they exercise by that.
I bought a few guinea pigs from pets wonderland and i tell u its my worst mistake ever.

My first one died of some intestinal disease. i had it for 5 months + , so its not pw fault i guess.
My second one died of upper respiratory infection. i had it for 1 week only.
My third one died out of no reason , i had it like 3 days.
My fourth one died the same disease at the first one. had for 2 week only.
My fifth one had URI TOO!!

If you are interested , i have a tri colour short hair gp for RM40.

BEWARE OF THE EYE DISCHARGE!! MY 2nd , 5th and 6th GUINEA PIG HAD EYE DISCHARGE AND IT ALL ACTUALLY HAD UPPER RESPIRATORY INFECTION!
THEY ALL HAD THE SAME SYMTOMS AS URS! GET IT TO A VET QUICKLY TO GET EYE DROPS!

Unless the discharge is liquid type , its okay cause that thing is what they use as soap to clean their face.
Wahhh..thats very bad and now I am worried bout the gp i got from petswonderland = =

But the discharge dried up when I saw them. Today theres no more discharge tho. How bout ur previous 1? Did they continuously getting discharge or once every 2 days kinda of thing?

Yea I am interested, do u have d pic for me to see? Is is a female or male?

Added on May 22, 2011, 11:39 pmBtw,gps that u had with URI, when they wheek do they have some kind of wind sound? Like wind sound comes before the real wheek?

Added on May 23, 2011, 4:32 pmGosh my gp only weighed 200g cry.gif need to really feed her well from now onwards!

Just brought her to vetjuz in case of URI, she was given mabrofloxacin inj. Hopefully she will recover fast n grow up healtily flex.gif

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 23 2011, 04:32 PM
ryozoemiko
post May 23 2011, 05:36 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 23 2011, 05:21 PM)
mabrofloxacin!! did the vet teach u how to apply? u applying orally or topically? this is medication for cat and dog.. so hopefully u get the right dosage for ur piggy..  from wiki-->It is particularly used for infections of the skin, respiratory system and mammary glands, as well as with urinary tract infections in dogs and cats. For dogs, a dose of approximately 2 mg/kg is used. The duration of treatment is usually at least five days, longer if there is a concurrent fungal or yeast infection.

urs is 200g = so should be around 0.4mg only the dosage.. icon_idea.gif

Marbofloxacin should usually be avoided in young animals, during pregnancy where central nervous system accumulation can occur, or when there is an existing kidney problem. Under certain conditions it can cause discomfort such as cramps, treatable with Valium. Other side effects are vomiting and anorexia.
She was given a jab. I think which is less than 1ml coz vet said 1ml cost RM25. I brought back 1 small botol of mabrofloxacin, 3 drops per day for her starting tomorrow. I m so worried until i asked d vet so many stupid questions like the antibiotic is nt penicillin derivatives right? (then he told me d antibiotic's name), then how come theres sudden drop in fur after inj (he said, this is nt serious prob, dun worry) then how to give her the drops? (just feed it by the mouth, she will take it)..Haha, he sumore showed me the vet's guideline in treating exotic animals > <

200g is sooooooooooooooooo underweight...I am so worried when I heard that coz I think u mentioned that 1 month old gp shud weighed 500g / 250g? Anyway is still not at the standard weight cry.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(weikent @ May 23 2011, 05:01 PM)
shocking.gif i bought 1 from petwonder land and die after 1week also... Waste my Rm58!"
Aww thats very bad. What disease he/she got?

Mine died in 3 days due to underage and undersize, so stucked at the cage cry.gif When managed to pull it out, is all too late...

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 23 2011, 05:39 PM
ryozoemiko
post May 23 2011, 11:14 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 23 2011, 07:58 PM)
i think he typo.. ya.. 1 month piggy should be around 250- 300(home breed well fed) whistling.gif
OOps...typo..500g will be obese..hahaha..

My gp prefer wild grass rather than the exp romaine lettuce > < sweat.gif But still very choosy, younger n greener grass she will sapu all. Grass that put there longer or old jor 1..she will ignore..haha
ryozoemiko
post May 24 2011, 11:30 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(emino @ May 24 2011, 11:06 PM)
The new babies:

Awww..they are so cute~~ wub.gif What mix are they?

Congratz to u emino ^^
ryozoemiko
post May 25 2011, 12:20 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 25 2011, 12:15 AM)
size wise yes jus shorter leg... like a 5 month old cat... lol. 

emino :
maybe due to the teddy mix rex .. which I remember form American...
Haha..i can imagine mine gonna get a big big tummy and butt coz I fed her so much > < My friend said she is showing her butt whenever she is eating from her bowl..Can't wait to see it grow big n healthy, then I can really feel that I am holding her. Now too light sweat.gif

Added on May 25, 2011, 12:21 am
QUOTE(emino @ May 24 2011, 11:41 PM)
Rex and Teddy mix.

Dunno yet whether their hair will be frizzy or curly like their parents. But sure looks like it. biggrin.gif
Haha..frizzy will be so cool. Like waxing up the hair..

I realise, lesser ppl breed short hair gp, why ah? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 25 2011, 12:21 AM
ryozoemiko
post May 25 2011, 12:42 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 25 2011, 12:38 AM)
bcos it d common breed unless u got d pure American breed n not Malaysia bred short hair.. it won't grow as big as other breed n they have longer nose compare to other...
Ahh..icic...thx for d clarification.

Any idea where to get pure breed american short hair?
ryozoemiko
post May 25 2011, 12:51 AM

162 posts

Xavi, is it safe to use the wet tissue for baby on GP?

My gp cannot bath until 1/2 weeks later to avoid flu, but her butt always tertouch her pee n poo and make it very dirty..so thinking of cleaning it with the wet baby tissue..
ryozoemiko
post May 25 2011, 01:03 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ May 25 2011, 12:58 AM)
hi all GP lover
need u guys advise  notworthy.gif
i bought peruvian male almost a month
tonite after come back from work i just realize
the down body from mouth to stomach are wet  sweat.gif
then i found he also got hair loss at back
what should i do? and what the cause he got those sickness??
thanks for any advise in advance...  notworthy.gif
[attachmentid=2233509]
[attachmentid=2233512]
Hair loss in large quantity revealing gp's skin is surely a kind of sickness, u shud bring it to the vet asap i think?

Stomach part is wet i can understand when gp is still nt toilet trained or pee at smooth surface like on d floor when I let my gp out. Need to wipe it with tissue tho > < (own experience)

Added on May 25, 2011, 1:04 am
QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ May 25 2011, 01:02 AM)
^ you can use wet tissue. Gp dont need bath often so just use the wet tissue and it will be fine.
Haha..thx for d advice. Now i feel relieved in using the tissues thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 25 2011, 01:04 AM
ryozoemiko
post May 25 2011, 11:55 PM

162 posts

My gp wheek at everyone except me =((

She must be remembering I am the bad guy who brought her for a jab and made her pain...T_T
ryozoemiko
post May 26 2011, 11:25 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ May 26 2011, 08:41 PM)
new pic the one with red eye like his father and the short hair (her parents are abbysinian)
Wow very cute tri-colour?

Do u wanna sell it? rclxm9.gif

Added on May 26, 2011, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(townberry @ May 26 2011, 08:53 PM)
Come to think of it. My Sotong stopped wheeking ever since then. Lol. No more painful experience I guess. Although occasionally he run too fast he fall down and flipped over. Still no sound. The only sound was those honking sound when he's running around
If he is hungry, he also wont wheek anymore?

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 26 2011, 11:26 PM
ryozoemiko
post May 27 2011, 01:25 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ May 27 2011, 12:42 AM)
My current setup.    biggrin.gif
Penthouse
Bachelor Frat.
Family Quarters.

New babies, born on the 16th of May.
All having red eyes despite both their parents having black eyes. So strange...

Caramel Fuzzy Bunny and Mocha Milo Bunny Crunch have gotten so fat!
That's their mom over there. Babies are 50% abby, but their fur is like...not-abby. =_=
Wahhh..very nice gps u having here...I like the last pic, centre 1..hahaha...=p

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: May 27 2011, 01:25 AM
ryozoemiko
post May 27 2011, 02:22 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ May 27 2011, 02:05 PM)
It's Woody Pet Professional Animal Bedding. Comes in pellet form. I tried so many beddings before but this seems to keep the smell away the longest. I have to put cardboard coz before this their droppings would somehow end up on the floor and one GP has a habit of pointing and sparying his pee out of the cage. =_=
Oh..icic.. I am facing problems that gp's poo will somehow drop outside the cage. Now I know wat to do =)

Do u have female gps that I can buy together when I go to KL? rolleyes.gif

P/S: Now my gps only interested in green grass. All pellets that tried to be fed to her were rejected. However, she always continue eating carrot besides the grass I gave. Anyone can explain to me? Is she having toothache or the pellets are too hard?
ryozoemiko
post Jun 3 2011, 09:12 PM

162 posts

Today i stupidly didnt know that DanDan is whining asking me to let her down so that she can pee...
As a consequence, she pee-ed on me..and wet my working pants...T_T

I should pay more attention on the sounds she made...aihhhh...

Dunno to laugh or to be angry LOL
ryozoemiko
post Jun 12 2011, 10:22 PM

162 posts

Hey all sifu, I have a question mark @@

I juz bought a female gp from iX3rukia and let my dan dan (the other female gp) smell her and make fren. Weird thing is, dan dan tends to making rumble sound then stand on the new gp in mating position ?! Both females...how come dan dan will have the tendency to...errr...??
ryozoemiko
post Jun 12 2011, 10:27 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Jun 12 2011, 10:23 PM)
That's to show who is the BOSS !! hahaha
OHHH?! thats how they bully newbie? hahahaha...i got frightened that i kept checking dan dan's sex tongue.gif

I separate them now for maybe few days, but will let them play together for a while tho...haha
ryozoemiko
post Jun 12 2011, 10:41 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Jun 12 2011, 10:30 PM)
well put their cage near to each other so they can sniff and see each other and communicate tongue.gif
Yep, i bought a carrier from petswonderland right after buying the new gp from forumer. 1st is to let me bring them to kl easier every month, 2nd is to quarantine them for a few days. Haha, they are now staying beside each other at diff cage, so making lots of noise. Juz like when 1 dog bark, the other barks too > <

Added on June 12, 2011, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(lum_yu_wat @ Jun 12 2011, 10:38 PM)
i have the triangle toilet tray already.. i used to have to change towels/fleece daily.. now just clean the tray daily.. much easier.. i think Yu Wat don't know how to drink from the bottle.. so when im having bonding time with her, i pushed it towards her mouth.. a little water dripped out, and she was smacking her lips.. gonna do it a few more times and hope she will learn to drink from there.. haha can give her treats if she drinks on her own, right?
im not sifu, but im just wondering.. i read that it is better to quarantine the GP first, in case of infections or what.. but buying from trusted breeders should be okay, right? because i'm planning to get a mate for Yu Wat as well.. so i'm interested in your scenario as well..
Yeap, the new 1 is under quarantined now. She looks small for a 2 months old gp tho, my 1 and a half month dan dan is fatter..haha

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: Jun 12 2011, 10:43 PM
ryozoemiko
post Jun 12 2011, 11:23 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Jun 12 2011, 10:58 PM)
hahah ... u should try to take photo of them side by side .. that will be cute!! herm .. why u need to bring them to KL every month?? unsure.gif
Oh, becoz i will go KL once a month to have holiday / work =p So nobody jaga he gp at home, need to bring them along. Hehe..

I will definitely shoot some pics and post them up once they r more stable together haha
ryozoemiko
post Jun 13 2011, 01:15 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Jun 12 2011, 11:36 PM)
it will be cute see thier size difference  brows.gif

i see i see.. i bring my Yuki to travel also ... so far she went to ipoh, kampar, melaka, penang, seremban, mantin  icon_rolleyes.gif
One longer + bigger butt, 1 slim and small..haha...

wah..u bring her everywhere~~~~ how old is she?

Added on June 13, 2011, 1:18 am
QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Jun 13 2011, 01:14 AM)
yes u have to make sure water is enough for the baby ... and also, if u realise it is too shaky for her to drink ... den hold on to her carrier ... make it as stable as u can

I don't know ur GP la.. but my baby when i tell its ok to drink water ady, she will go drink  unsure.gif  duno is it she know listen to me .. or she just knew safe to drink  sweat.gif
My dan dan not so obedient..i put water in the carrier using dog bowl...she drink a bit, then flip the whole bowl upside down..n u know wat happen lo rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ryozoemiko: Jun 13 2011, 01:18 AM

0.0258sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:04 AM