Just in case you haven't noticed, when you call someone who switches his phone off you get a sms
"RM 0. Your sms didn't reach XXXXXX as the phone is switched off. It'll be sent once the phone is switched on. To stop these alerts, send STOP to 22021"
This is FOC.
But lately Maxis has gotten smart, and apparently they have activated this service called NOtifyme. They send me a sms disclaimer :" RM0. Enjoy NotifyMe Free trial until 28/2. It will inform you when your friends are available to take calls again. To deactivate dial *100# > services > notifyme"
This is basically activating this service for me by default , which they will start charging in March 2011. This is an unfair trade practice for maxis to opt-out unsolicited value-add services for its customers.
I just checked *100# --> services ---> notifyme and confirmed this service was activated for me WITHOUT my knowledge from Maxis.
My supplementary line just got charged 5 sen per notification. Got an sms from maxis.
"RM0.05. The number 012XXXXXX that you called at 7.00pm 21.1.11 is now available. You may call the number now".
WTF????
Although it's not a lot 5 sen , but I do feel upset because I never know Maxis will stoop so low to such unfair trade practices. What's MCMC response to this to protect the interest of consumers?
Just called up 123 maxis to complain, and do you know what was the response from them?
Maxis: It's only 5 sen per notification sir, if you don't like the service you can deactivate it later.
Me: It's not the issue of 5 sen , but of you activating unsolicited services for me without my knowledge. What if I am not aware of this, then I will kena charge like that lar for services that I didn't request?
How about those number 22021? we all know how unscrupulous you all can become when we send whatever sms reply to those short codes, who knows by sending STOP you will activate another service for me? that was why i couldn't be bothered with your first sms, but it looks like you took your own liberty to activate this service for me.
Me: It's not the issue of 5 sen , but of you activating unsolicited services for me without my knowledge. What if I am not aware of this, then I will kena charge like that lar for services that I didn't request?
How about those number 22021? we all know how unscrupulous you all can become when we send whatever sms reply to those short codes, who knows by sending STOP you will activate another service for me? that was why i couldn't be bothered with your first sms, but it looks like you took your own liberty to activate this service for me.
Maxis you please hear this - I am going to TERMINATE my service once my Iphone contract expires. I am not going to support a company with unfair trade practices.
This post has been edited by soul2soul: Feb 10 2011, 09:15 AM
Jan 21 2011, 10:46 PM, updated 15y ago
0.0284sec
5 queries