LYN Football Jersey Talk, Please read first page 1 for basic info

TSschmeichel7
post Jun 19 2011, 12:33 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(lit_ching @ Jun 19 2011, 11:07 AM)
As far as i concerned knowing from a friend, the freight charges have been revised to RM287.16 and other amount according to weight is basically because of the request from CAPEC (The Conference of Asia Pacific Express Carriers) who represent the interests in Asia of the world’s leading integrated express delivery services companies: DHL, FedEx, TNT and UPS

Custom has granted their wishes till end of the year, so all the freight charges by courier service from all over the world will be refering to the TACT rate by IATA as reference. However, i am not sure whether all the courier companies use the same practice, so far i only know UPS.

Although its ridiculous, just like many things, unless you are very persistence to go for a fight, if not, what we can do is only accept and find other ways smile.gif  smile.gif
Thanks for the useful info. But still, I find the reason behind to this is purely silly.

You paid for the services based on what is quoted in the invoice. And you see this... ridiculous.

Thanks anyway for the info.
lit_ching
post Jun 19 2011, 12:41 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Jun 19 2011, 12:33 PM)
Thanks for the useful info. But still, I find the reason behind to this is purely silly.

You paid for the services based on what is quoted in the invoice. And you see this... ridiculous.

Thanks anyway for the info.
I share the same sentiment as you, we paid the amount as quoted in the invoice but they have other interpretation. Being caught then learned the hardway, haha biggrin.gif

so fellow members, do take note tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lit_ching: Jun 19 2011, 12:42 PM
ckimy
post Jun 19 2011, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(DarXnight @ Jun 18 2011, 06:38 PM)
If I order 6 jerseys from United Direct and post to SG, will the SG customs tax me and is there any GST?
you will be taxed when the value is over SGD400..

7% GST & service charges...
accab
post Jun 19 2011, 05:13 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ameer88 @ Jun 19 2011, 11:16 AM)
Hi jersey fans! Im a jersey collector and have around 150 football shirts of various years that i bought mostly from ebay.co.uk. Its super cheap, max price i ever bid was 20pounds and that was for manutd 1999 shirt. The rest is basically below 3pounds or 0.99pence.

Do you guys know where can i get Malaysia football shirt? wink.gif
hello bro baca lah comment2 kat atas dulu.main terjah pun x sedap gak.
baru bincang buat masa skarg malaysia jersey memang sold out.FB nike malaysia britahu mungkin awal july.
owenwong84
post Jun 19 2011, 05:43 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Is there any website shows from the old jersey untill today's for EPL and UEFA?
dxjb
post Jun 19 2011, 07:12 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Jun 19 2011, 03:29 AM)
Thanks dxjb for venting out your anger (that most of us share, including myself) regarding this situation with our national team jersey.

First biggest problem we have with our national team jersey, is that most people prefer to buy the fakes ones. You can even see it being highlighted by the local newspaper during the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup Finals. Pretty bad it sounds, as if we are encouraging the public to buy fake stuff.

Second issue is with the sizing of the nike jerseys. XXL = almost like european L, slightly smaller than european XL. What the hell. I never had this problem during the adidas days. Shame on nike. I have no idea what they really want. Fans to slim down I guess hehehe.. performance enhancement perhaps to the wearer (less air resistance). Ridiculous. I had to seek out XXXL (that's 3 Xs) somewhere last time to get the 2008-2009 home & away that was comfy to wear and that was a pain in the arse (you can read again my review on those jerseys here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1424696/+2377). For the ones worn in AFF Suzuki Cup 2010, no choice... had to get the XXL ones, even though they feel like wearing kappa shirts (very tight).

Third issue, which is what you're highlighting.. is availability. Yes, this problem has been always like this since nike started to make Malaysia's national team kit. In 2007, same story but not as quick as the current one. 2009.. also similar. What made things worst was no thanks (unfortunately) to Malaysia's success in the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010. It made these kits sell like hotcakes. Spoke to some of my friends working at al-ikhsan, the story they gave was, once Malaysia qualified into the finals, so many people suddenly bought it. The old timers like chcher, aw13 bought the shirt day one (once it was available at store). Because they know these shirts will be selling fast like hotcakes (due to the experience from previous kits).

Problem 3 is related to problem 1. Why people buy fakes? Because of cost. But for those who can afford it, they might still buy the fakes because of no stock left. You saw Malaysia win the AFF Suzuki CUp 2010 tournament, you will definitely want to have the kit.

Next problem, promises by Nike to restock the kits. Not sure why, the factory is in Indonesia though, maybe there are some issues there I don't know. Maybe someone can go to Nike Sales (M) Sdn Bhd at The Curve and ask the folks there.. when will they restock. I hope they do.. but not sure when.

So dxjb, to be honest, the problem is no thanks to nike. FAM is powerless, other national teams under nike (Indonesia, Singapore, Vietnam) too have this same problem. They have kits being sold out, and no signs of being restock. Shame.. it's Nike. For european team kits, they wouldn't mind to press hard the poor Nike staffs in the factories to produce massive batches of jerseys............ 

This is a fact. Unfortunately. So to you and me and the rest......... we learn one thing. Once the jersey is out, buy first think later. smile.gif

For your idea to raise this issue to the press, good luck mate. I'm with you on this... because I am annoyed to see how our national team jersey is so difficult to find but for the EPL, La Liga, Serie A kits.. piece of cake. I remember my experience one time ago, I was at Real One store in BB plaza. A Japanese couple were asking about the national team kit... I was sad to say that you can't find it here, so they ask where to find it? I was reluctant to answer (at Jalan Masjid India).. so I didn't give them any answer. Shame.
Thanks jerseyman for ur reply..I guess what we Malaysian football jersey collector must learn is pride urself with the national team jersey 1st before any other clubs u like..meaning once a jersey comes out, just buy it coz u may nevver get another chance to do so again..EPL club jerseys can wait..Malaysia team jersey is a rarity..

Just to add on, I think its foolish of Nike not to reproduce the national team jerseys of countries like Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore..especially in Malaysia's case, the team just won a major competition in such a long time..so the jerseys surely would rake in big money..Nike could even have produced a boxset or special edition kit to celebrate the win but they did not but have been busy producing EPL teams kits..shame really..imagine how many more people would have bought he kit if it was available..?

1 question though..and its just a question..do Nike have 'udang sebalik batu' with the pirates in jersey trading? Meaning could they actually have some 'shares' in pirate trading? Think about it logically..one original jersey sells for RM250++..Nike say, selling fake ones for RM40++ people would buy that more and far outweigh the number of people buying the authentic jerseys? Im only relating this to the national jerseys of the countries around here based on the economic state we are in..meaning most of our people would rather buy the fake than the authentic ones..could Nike have any profit in this? Not an acqusation, just a question..thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Jun 19 2011, 07:15 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Jun 19 2011, 08:01 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Jun 19 2011, 05:43 PM)
Is there any website shows from the old jersey untill today's for EPL and UEFA?
A lot.. plenty. But which team are you referring to?

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jun 19 2011, 07:12 PM)
Thanks jerseyman for ur reply..I guess what we Malaysian football jersey collector must learn is pride urself with the national team jersey 1st before any other clubs u like..meaning once a jersey comes out, just buy it coz u may nevver get another chance to do so again..EPL club jerseys can wait..Malaysia team jersey is a rarity..

Just to add on, I think its foolish of Nike not to reproduce the national team jerseys of countries like Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore..especially in Malaysia's case, the team just won a major competition in such a long time..so the jerseys surely would rake in big money..Nike could even have produced a boxset or special edition kit to celebrate the win but they did not but have been busy producing EPL teams kits..shame really..imagine how many more people would have bought he kit if it was available..?

1 question though..and its just a question..do Nike have 'udang sebalik batu' with the pirates in jersey trading? Meaning could they actually have some 'shares' in pirate trading? Think about it logically..one original jersey sells for RM250++..Nike say, selling fake ones for RM40++ people would buy that more and far outweigh the number of people buying the authentic jerseys? Im only relating this to the national jerseys of the countries around here based on the economic state we are in..meaning most of our people would rather buy the fake than the authentic ones..could Nike have any profit in this? Not an acqusation, just a question..thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
This is the problem with brands like nike. They prioritize the big european teams and other popular teams but small asean countries like Malaysia... well.. The marketing is fabulous though.. but still, I see that they still do not take serious our concerns. As the 3 points that I've highlighted to you before.

Nice conspiracy theory though.. smile.gif But I doubt that nike will cooperate with the fakers. These pirates have their own syndicate networks in Thailand and China. Reason why their imitation products are getting better and closer to the real stuff is because unfortunately top brands like nike/adidas are preferring to outsource the factories here in this region. Nike's authentic replica football shirts and shorts are now Made In Thailand. Nike polo tees are still in China. Adidas too has the same (Thailand and China). These pirates might have insiders from the official factories to help them imitate. But attempts are still made by these brands to reduce the risks of imitation. Nike did some effort for Man United's replica jerseys... beginning this season, the club crest is embroidered with a better detail and outline (slightly harder to imitate) but I won't be surprised if the pirates can still imitate it..

As far as I know, Nike and other brands get 0 profit from the fakers.

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Jun 19 2011, 08:01 PM
plokoon
post Jun 19 2011, 08:27 PM

Baek
753 posts

Actually come to think of it, Nike Malaysia did in fact produced a special boxset of the latest Malaysia jersey to commemorate the AFF Cup win. It comes with a special 10% voucher for NN printing at Q-Line at Pertama Kompleks.

Anyway, the difficulty of buying an original national jersey is not only limited to ASEAN countries only. Other Asian countries like China and Hong Kong also have difficulty in getting their own national team jersey or even club jersey. You will be hard pressed to find a china league or HK league jerseys too as I found out first hand during my recent trip there.

The thing is apart from Japan, European league jersey is still more appealing to the majority of Asians due to the extensive exposure given to them by the media.
owenwong84
post Jun 19 2011, 08:46 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Jun 19 2011, 08:01 PM)

Famous or top team for EPL like MU, Arsenal, Liverpool
Others like Barcelona,Real Madrid, England.

Just wanna browse/compare the old and new design which one nicer.
accab
post Jun 19 2011, 10:50 PM

191 posts

for arsenal fan.
guyz nike malaysia ader buat arsenal limited box set.
dxjb
post Jun 20 2011, 12:02 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Jun 19 2011, 08:01 PM)
This is the problem with brands like nike. They prioritize the big european teams and other popular teams but small asean countries like Malaysia... well.. The marketing is fabulous though.. but still, I see that they still do not take serious our concerns. As the 3 points that I've highlighted to you before.

Nice conspiracy theory though.. smile.gif But I doubt that nike will cooperate with the fakers. These pirates have their own syndicate networks in Thailand and China. Reason why their imitation products are getting better and closer to the real stuff is because unfortunately top brands like nike/adidas are preferring to outsource the factories here in this region. Nike's authentic replica football shirts and shorts are now Made In Thailand. Nike polo tees are still in China. Adidas too has the same (Thailand and China). These pirates might have insiders from the official factories to help them imitate. But attempts are still made by these brands to reduce the risks of imitation. Nike did some effort for Man United's replica jerseys... beginning this season, the club crest is embroidered with a better detail and outline (slightly harder to imitate) but I won't be surprised if the pirates can still imitate it..

As far as I know, Nike and other brands get 0 profit from the fakers.
well..ruling out my Nike-Pirates theory then just makes Nike lose out potential money making business by not producing enough jerseys for national teams around ASEAN/Asia..

Anyway, thanks jerseyman for the infos..Lets just hope the football in our region will be better so that Nike wont be able to push away anymore demands for more jerseys in the future.. nod.gif
Olala7
post Jun 20 2011, 12:19 AM

Next season, are EPL teams besides MU will still using the same design normal EPL patch and NN as 2010-2011 ?
editorial
post Jun 20 2011, 02:16 AM

yup.. same design..
Olala7
post Jun 20 2011, 02:31 AM

QUOTE(editorial @ Jun 20 2011, 02:16 AM)
yup.. same design..
Thanks!
ojp
post Jun 20 2011, 09:05 AM

193 posts

Is the size for the united new kit the same with the previous one ? went to try out the new united jersey and found out that the size is not the same with the previous design.
blanket84
post Jun 20 2011, 09:37 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ojp @ Jun 20 2011, 09:05 AM)
Is the size for the united new kit the same with the previous one ? went to try out the new united jersey and found out that the size is not the same with the previous design.
LOL! You pretty much answer your own question..What is the difference btw? Length? Width?
evolutionize
post Jun 20 2011, 02:01 PM

159 posts

some of the early birds in the thread said that the new kit is more fitted i guess smaller width at the chest.

This post has been edited by evolutionize: Jun 20 2011, 02:01 PM
blanket84
post Jun 20 2011, 02:05 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(evolutionize @ Jun 20 2011, 02:01 PM)
some of the early birds in the thread said that the new kit is more fitted i guess smaller width at the chest.
Is it? Guess I have to wait for other people feedback..don't want people to see my "pregnancy".. Lol..
'62jaguar
post Jun 20 2011, 02:15 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(lit_ching @ Jun 19 2011, 11:07 AM)
As far as i concerned knowing from a friend, the freight charges have been revised to RM287.16 and other amount according to weight is basically because of the request from CAPEC (The Conference of Asia Pacific Express Carriers) who represent the interests in Asia of the world’s leading integrated express delivery services companies: DHL, FedEx, TNT and UPS

Custom has granted their wishes till end of the year, so all the freight charges by courier service from all over the world will be refering to the TACT rate by IATA as reference. However, i am not sure whether all the courier companies use the same practice, so far i only know UPS.

Although its ridiculous, just like many things, unless you are very persistence to go for a fight, if not, what we can do is only accept and find other ways smile.gif  smile.gif
if just 1 shirt (value 35GBP and using UPS)...kene freight chargers??
habibz84
post Jun 20 2011, 03:44 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 20 2011, 02:05 PM)
Is it? Guess I have to wait for other people feedback..don't want people to see my "pregnancy".. Lol..
yup. the new MU kit slightly fitted than previous one. nod.gif

Added on June 20, 2011, 3:46 pm
QUOTE('62jaguar @ Jun 20 2011, 02:15 PM)
if just 1 shirt (value 35GBP and using UPS)...kene freight chargers??
pray hard sweat.gif

This post has been edited by habibz84: Jun 20 2011, 03:46 PM

126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0828sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:00 PM