Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

chemistry
post Jan 26 2011, 10:00 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 26 2011, 09:30 AM)
The grace period is for the imposition of the late payment charges. However, the payment is still considered late. If you have been enjoying the better tier for finance charges then you would need to rebuild it again. I'm not sure of the impact to your financial records history.
Time to share my own experience.
I used to repay Citibank card by cheque. Several times I nearly missed due date but still managed to drop cheque on due date. My 13.5% finance charge rate was still in force until the day I cancelled the card.

However, this is what happened to me. May not be the same for others.
chemistry
post Jan 26 2011, 10:18 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 26 2011, 10:07 AM)
headache if u hv autopay with the card
The fraud syndicate must have tried to fake trxn but end up failed due to OCBC's One-Time-Password security measure.
chemistry
post Jan 26 2011, 10:33 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 26 2011, 10:30 AM)
I did highlight my concern to the CS officer. He was very helpful. He sent all the auto debit forms including TNB, Astro, TM and Great Eastern to me via email. He will help me to fax the forms to the respective agencies.

Anyway, this morning I have already noticed a new card number appeared on my OCBC online banking and the old number disappeared.
Must we submit the autopay form provided by TM itself in order to get autopay rebate?
chemistry
post Jan 26 2011, 03:07 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 26 2011, 02:39 PM)
so if im rite now using mbb petronas platinum, its advisable to cancel and change to maybankard 2?
any downside in changing to this maybankard 2? hmm.gif
I would say there is only 'upside', no downside . LOL.
By using Maybankard 2, you can earn 5X TreatsPts at any petrol station, no more restricted to Petronas.
chemistry
post Jan 26 2011, 03:39 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(avars @ Jan 26 2011, 03:34 PM)
I used the AMEX form and still get the rebates from TM
I see. Thanks for your kind feedback.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 01:59 PM

3,066 posts

why here become a place to update application status already? LOL.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 05:45 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Jan 27 2011, 04:47 PM)
hi ppl, i need some advice. my agent appealed OCBC Ti for me and got it approved finally. Currently I have HSBC Visa n CIMB DA Plat, which I got it end of 2010. I don't wanna hold so many cards on hand. Which card should I cancel?
Hsbc visa is almost useless if one does not always shop (especially at Mvalley).
DA Plat MC at least got Sunday rebates & very efficient BT service. If Plat Visa, go watch movie often to get the most benefit frm the card :lol
Oh ya, congrats for the OCBC Ti approval. Must thank the agent as well wink.gif
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 06:46 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 27 2011, 06:36 PM)
That's pretty efficient of them. A record for Maybank (sarcasm)  biggrin.gif
When on earth will CIMB fight back? Sigh...
kind of disappointed...
I've written to CIMB to voice my opinion. (kinda threatening them, haha) anyway, they shud thank us for being so 'prihatin'. Tak takut kena complain, paling takut tak da complain langsung.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 09:18 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Jan 27 2011, 07:00 PM)
CTBank
21-01-2011 morning called to cancel newly received renewal Visa classic. Then I was referred to retention team and offered Visa Plat cashback. I turned down the offer but requested to upgrde Master classic to plat and it was accepted.

27-01-2011 morning received Master Plat.

Total 6 days including weekends. Pretty fast.
What a bargain!
Mind to tell why in first place did you want to cancel Visa Classic?
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 09:54 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 09:39 PM)
redeem (convert) all the points into cash! 12,500 points = rm50.

gst waiver is 9,500 points.
why use hard-earned points to redeem GST waiver when she is at the moment considering to cancel the card? laugh.gif
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 10:03 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 09:54 PM)
the question is:
BT amount will be convert into fixed-monthly-installment, or just pay any amount but must settle within the period?

example, BT rm4.5k for 6 months 0% fee, then which 1 it will be?

A. monthy fixed rm750 x 6, or
B. can pay like this - 1st month rm500, 2nd rm1200, 3rd rm600, 4th rm1200, 5th rm500, 6th rm500.

or both method is correct, but by diff bank? example PBB using A, while CIMB & OCBC using B?
AFAIK, there are three types of balance transfer program.
1. Installment
2. Merged with credit card account (5% minimum payment of approved balance, must beware of payment hierarchy)
3. Separate account (5% minimum payment)

Maybank & PBB are Type 1.
OCBC & HSBC are Type 2.
CIMB is Type 3.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 10:10 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:00 PM)
bcoz she asked that! sweat.gif
I see ...Sorry~~ notworthy.gif
By the way, never heard HSBC offers free points for cardmembers to redeem GST waiver. Citibank as well.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 10:15 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Jan 27 2011, 10:06 PM)
actually i won be canceling it atm cause it's my 1st CC and i have just got it like ard sept/oct last year n inside is 7k++ points. So see if i can exchange any good things in the future or if nt just offset GST by then use it for another year only cancel eh...
I'm afraid 7k pts is not enough to redeem FULL GST waiver but 50% waiver.
After using 5,000 pts to redeem RM25 GST waiver, you have only 2,000 pts remaining. What can 2k pts redeem? sweat.gif unless you keep spending to accumulate points.

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:10 PM)
thanks for the info notworthy.gif
what 5% min payment means?
BT amount rm4.5k can just pay rm225? how about the remaining balance? will be charged with interest?
Yes, 5% of the approved balance (BT amount). The remaining balance is interest-free, hence the name 0% BT.
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 10:18 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:10 PM)
AFAIK, all bank with points reward can redeem it for GST notworthy.gif
they shows it at their website, usually on rewards catalogue smile.gif
What you mentioned was using our own hard earned pts to redeem.
I meant the bank offers free points wor...like Maybank did as I heard
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 10:38 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:24 PM)
well, what u heard is me actually? i'm the 1 who maybank give free 10k TP to offset the gst laugh.gif
ahaha, yaya, it's you.

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:26 PM)
so for type 3, if continue to pay the min amount every month, last month must settle - pay full amount, correct?
btw, can BT the remaing BT? (this question is asked by some1 in BT thread)
Yup, exactly.
Regarding "BT another BT", I do have a friend doing so, he transfer HLB BT to Alliance BT.
I'm sorry I have to use the word "my friend", as it is not my personal experience. I am just telling what I heard.

Added on January 27, 2011, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 27 2011, 10:28 PM)
one more thing, CIMB got Tol Free line wheras Direct Access no for CS.
For CIMB and Direct Access, can do BT many times as long as got available credit.
CIMB got toll-free line??
If you mean 1300-880-900 , I'm afraid calling this number will incur LOCAL CALL charges. All 1300- prefix numbers are local calls.

IINM, the toll free lines usually have prefix 1800-xxx-xxx.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 27 2011, 10:43 PM
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 11:27 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 27 2011, 10:49 PM)
CIMB do have tol free 1800 for their premium cards just like HLB and MBB
As for CIMB  1 300 it is Tol free if you use land line. click link below.

http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...3&tpt=cimb_bank

Just for your info even 1800 calls are chargeable with handphone. But starting this year DiGi no charges for  1800 but 1300 still got.
Argh,, premium cards I don't have...
No wonder I don't know the number, ahaha...

Btw, I am sure that my calls to 1300 were charged local rate, not free, I'm sure. Perhaps Blockbuster Deal package's free unlimited local calls make you feel that it is free? whistling.gif
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 11:35 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 27 2011, 11:28 PM)
well you and chem might be 99% right and  I might be 99% wrong because I based on information provided in the link I posted.

anyway here's one CIMB number confirmed Tol Free  Visa Signature Customer Centre at 1800 233 688.
The CIMB webmaster misused the word "Toll-free" mad.gif
Don't know how many ppl fall victim already...

Btw, I prefer DA to CIMB when calling CS. DA CS pick up calls damn fast, on the contrary CIMB CS seems keep me waiting forever.. vmad.gif
chemistry
post Jan 27 2011, 11:41 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 27 2011, 11:36 PM)
I would it's better to hold OCBC Ti and Maybankard2 AMEX, if you average is >RM1000 per month.
With both cards in your wallet, you can get a max of RM100 cash back for each month (with 5X Treatpoints to boost).
from now on, weekends will never be the same brows.gif whistling.gif
chemistry
post Jan 28 2011, 12:23 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 28 2011, 12:14 AM)
Have called CIMB hotline a few times. They are pretty fast in picking up calls all the time. Same goes to HSBC, OCBC, Public Bank and Citibank. The only bank that kept me waiting is Maybank. Thanks God i do not have to pay to call to KL  biggrin.gif
Maybank CS, probably put you on hold for a few minutes just to answer a question, then another several minutes for another question shakehead.gif Been listening to advertisement all the time, almost can memorize already sweat.gif
chemistry
post Jan 28 2011, 01:49 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 28 2011, 01:36 AM)
Bad timing huh ? Anyway, i believe you will get your RM100 (RM50 for the AMEX Gold tax you already paid + RM50 for the Maybankard 2 you are going to pay) back in just a few months, depends on how much you spend on the weekend. The cash back scheme is just so good that my opinion is that you shouldn't wait any longer. Just jump man  biggrin.gif
LOL. I just emailed my application yesterday.
After long consideration, I'll probably cut SCB Plat & Biz Plat altogether soon. Perhaps I don't need them actually in the first place but blame it on the welcome bonus tongue.gif The unlimited access to Plaza premium lounge, hmmm, I don't think I have the chance to use it within foreseeable future. OK, jump! rclxm9.gif
DA MC, I still need its FlexiPayment(Insurance/Hospital/Edu), given that Great Eastern's Easi-Pay doesn't accept Amex hence my plan to BT from Amex to other cc become impossible.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 28 2011, 01:53 AM

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:09 PM