Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

chemistry
post Jan 22 2011, 09:16 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 22 2011, 07:02 AM)
I dont feel safe applying cc using email, as the scanned documents (ic and cc) in email can be rechanneled easily and reproduced clearly if they fall into the wrong hands. Fax copies which is not very clear would be better in my opinion.
May be I am being paranoid especially after watching those internet-related movies
The recent three cc of mine were applied through email. I always cross the IC & cc copy with 'XXX application only'.

instead, applying cc through card agents is even riskier, as you might not even have the chance to cross those docs especially when the kiosk is crowded.
chemistry
post Jan 22 2011, 12:29 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 22 2011, 11:36 AM)
For MBB 2 Amex card:
Did somebody mentioned that the supplementary card holder do not enjoy cash rebate and treatpoints?
Supplementary cards must be issued in pair just like the principle cards and being charged rm25/card ?
Supp card also earns 5X TP as principal card does.
However, principal & supp cards will share a RM50 monthly cashback limit.
Yes, supp cards will be issued in pair just like principal cards. One RM25 GST, two supp cards. If you don't want to use Visa/MC, just keep it in drawer.
chemistry
post Jan 22 2011, 03:20 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 22 2011, 01:50 PM)
There is a dispute on this as the T&C states RM25 per card.
OK, better follow black&white T&C.
And, advice to whom it may concern, don't apply supp cards if cannot agree to T&C.
chemistry
post Jan 22 2011, 05:08 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 22 2011, 04:59 PM)
Yes. Sometimes even other security questions, such as your mailing address, your registered telephone number, credit limit, how you normally make payment, your company, your favourite restaurant, your primary or secondary school, etc.
Yah, in fact I enjoy being asked many questions by CS. Lol. It tests my brain.
chemistry
post Jan 23 2011, 12:56 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 23 2011, 12:15 PM)
Wt about online bill payment on weekends? Or do we have to pay over the counter for it to qualify as a RETAIL transaction ?
Can you suggest any bill payee accept Amex?
IINM PayOnline only accepts Visa/MC.
Neither can you pay bills via Amex Online, like OCBC Online, Citibank Online etc..
chemistry
post Jan 23 2011, 01:05 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 23 2011, 12:58 PM)
Agreed. Many came in here wanting to look for answers which satisfy them only and not the actual fact.
Despite getting satisfactory answer, he/she will then start to doubt its accuracy. LOL.
Only after experiencing the reality, he/she will then realize 'Oh I see...'
chemistry
post Jan 23 2011, 02:13 PM

3,066 posts

We will be glad to share our experience. However, sometimes experience is not certainly true.

For example, my basic savings account was charged an ATM Annual Fee. I wrote an email to the bank and carbon copy to BNM. They refund to me immediately. In the bank's website, indeed there isn't any clause stating that BSA doesn't have ATM Annual Fee. But I felt like being set up by the bank, so I voiced my dissatisfaction.
chemistry
post Jan 23 2011, 11:19 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 23 2011, 11:10 PM)
Awesome information. I tried on my Visa.
All my cc pass the test tongue.gif
However, I still don't find any usefulness of the test.
It is very unlikely the bank will issue illegal cards.
I say very unlikely, I don't rule out the chances of crime OK. laugh.gif
chemistry
post Jan 24 2011, 11:53 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 24 2011, 09:25 AM)
Cash rewards and reward points are more or less the same actually. Just that some banks offer much higher cash rewards (OCBC Titanium MasterCard comes to mind) or reward points (Maybankard 2 AMEX comes to mind).

By the way guys, i just found out that we can settle our 0% IPP with HSBC early without incurring any penalty charges  rclxms.gif  Guess i don't have to wait until next year to cut my HSBC MasterCard then.
According to my knowledge of BT, your method of avoiding early exit fee must be 'leaving certain months of minimum payment (RM50 or 5% whichever higher)', am I right?

Let say you purchased a DSLR for RM6000, installment 12months. Each month pay RM500.
After paying 9 months of installment (RM4500), you feel like wanna settle the installment. To avoid being charged early exit fee, you must leave a balance of RM6000*5%*3month=RM900 in the cc account. For simpler calculation, please avoid any retail trxn afterwards.

Above is just my case study. It does not make any financial advice.
chemistry
post Jan 24 2011, 02:12 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Jan 24 2011, 01:53 PM)
any recomendation wat to claim for citibank 40k reward points?
better claim gift or the cash vouccer?

i check 40k points can claim 2x giant rm100 voucher
worth it?
40k pts redeem vouchers worth RM200 , not bad. The 0.5% rate is still there.

If you happen to buy electrical appliances, don't miss the redemption fair at SenQ. Pay a visit to any SenQ to find out latest details.

Added on January 24, 2011, 2:14 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 24 2011, 02:06 PM)
In the reply i got from their online support officer, he said that their won't be any charges whatsoever. The reason i want to settle the 0% IPP early is because i plan to cancel the card before its anniversary month.
Great! That is absolutely zero exit fee then. Lucky you.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 24 2011, 02:14 PM
chemistry
post Jan 24 2011, 04:47 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 24 2011, 04:42 PM)
Nope
Most cashiers do not verify the signatures on the trxn slip with the one at the back of the card.
Many times I "cincai"sign but never encountered problem.
chemistry
post Jan 24 2011, 10:44 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Jan 24 2011, 10:36 PM)
hi, i would like to ask whether worth to apply for shell city bank card.
mostly my expense is on petrol(shell) only. but i check their calculation actually didn't save up much.
by using shell city(classsic), i put rm300 per month, anual only save roughly rm50..
any recommend card for me to apply ?
OCBC Titanium : 5% on fuel/dining/groceries/utilities, subject to maximum RM50 monthly.
Maybankard 2 Amex (Gold or Platinum) : 5X points everyday, 5% cashback on weekends (also limit to RM50 monthly)

I think these two are the most popular cards at the moment.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 24 2011, 10:48 PM
chemistry
post Jan 24 2011, 11:11 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Jan 24 2011, 11:01 PM)
i fresh and my salary only around 2k++.. how to apply titatum sad.gif
any good card to apply within my range?
There are very few classic card that gives rebate on petrol nowadays. Even DirectAccess (CIMB) mastercard also ceased their 2% petrol rebate recently. Now left only Shell Citi Classic gives 1.5% cashback on purchases at Shell.

What you can do is apply a DirectAccess (or Citi Shell Classic) card first. Or Citi Giant card (if you spend a lot at Giant).

After a year or so, go apply another bank's cc. That time, you may try to apply higher grade cc such as Maybankard 2 Gold. Fresh grad is like that one, everything starts from the ground.

Just my opinion. Please don't take it as financial advice.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 24 2011, 11:17 PM
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 01:56 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 25 2011, 10:50 AM)
Likely yes ... due to payment hierarchy. I suggest if you want to do BT then forget about using the OCBC TI anymore until you clear your BT.
I beg to differ.
My friend transferred balance frm Citibank to OCBC. She continues to use the card as usual. When the statement comes, she just paid 5% minimum, there's absolutely zero finance charge. I saw the statement with my own eyes.

Added on January 25, 2011, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(princezs @ Jan 25 2011, 12:42 PM)
i applied the business platinum,  Dunno will take how long to approve?
You have asked a question nobody can give definite answer. We are not banks, how do we know?
By the way, you don't need to worry. As long your application 'reached' the credit card processing department before 31Jan, you're entitled to welcome bonus once approved. That's why I encourage application through fax.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 25 2011, 02:01 PM
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 02:06 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 25 2011, 02:01 PM)
I may be wrong but until December 2010, OCBC will not impose any finance charges on outstanding balance. That explains the zero finance charge.
I overlooked that.
My apology. I might have given inaccurate info.
Will update this if I get to see her latest statement.
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 02:59 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 25 2011, 02:36 PM)
I did throw this question to OCBC CS last month but nobody can give me an accurate answer. They said BT and cc share the same account. Whatever payment will go towards the settlement of cc outstanding balance first. But when asked whether the extra payment will be deemed settlement of BT balance, nobody can answer this. If all the money goes to cc account ONLY, then interest will be charged for BT.
What hye said might be true.
The statement I saw was for Dec2010. Hence 5% payment will continue to enjoy zero finance charge.
Now stepping in Jan 2011 already, maybe cannot 5% minimum anymore, must settle the retail in full, plus 5% of the BT amount (which is as advised by OCBC CS)
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 03:53 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Jan 25 2011, 03:46 PM)
So this is not confirmed by yourself. No offence.
believe it or not, up to you.
you made no contribution but talk a lot here. No offense.
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 06:04 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 05:45 PM)
all banks will check your CCRIS report and or other reports and will make their own conclusion.  I blur on your statement, you have annual income RM51200+RM4300 > RM30000 for MBB 2  Gold, so why cannot qualify?

Added on January 25, 2011, 5:46 pm
He is having UOB Plat wor, I think he will apply MBB2Plat as well . lol.
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 06:43 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 06:24 PM)
From my posting I already stated clearly:

I am thinking of applying MBB2 Platinum which requires annual salary of RM60K to be shown in BE  which cannot include tax-exempted income.

At least Alexwsk understand it.

My salary is RM51200+4300= RM55500 which is < RM60k and is stated in BE form.
The other tax-exempt income of >RM30k does not reflect in BE form.
Got it?
What you can do now is accept the fact that you do not fulfill MBB2 Plat card's requirement. The only way is Give Up the Plat and go for Gold.
chemistry
post Jan 25 2011, 07:13 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 07:04 PM)
I have posted this:

I have a UOB PREFERED PLATINUM (since 2009) which I HARDLY USE. Could that be used as a reference to apply for the MBB 2 Platinum cards?

Thats why I am seeking advice here as to whether I can apply MBB2Plat using this.
For my case, I also hardly use my DA Plat. When I use it to apply SCB Biz Plat, it was successful.
Don't worry pal, go ahead. Gd luck.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:48 PM