Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 10:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 28 2011, 09:53 AM)
Thanks for all the comments...

Erry & Gen-x:

apply mbb2 amex, swipe, then do BT the main reason is:
1) Get more benefit on MBB2 Amex with limited CL.
2) Already budget for easy payment on those big items with no additional charges. Due to need to keep some cash on renovation...

Gex-X:

1) I also guess MBB will share CL 6K with MBB2 and petronas, but i still need at least a card is more than 1yr and higher CL to apply others card.
So, i wont consider on BT to MBB will lower down my available CL.

4) This is what I worry about...
EON Master statement date on 3th Mar, will pay off on 2 Feb and cancel.
AENO Visa statement date on 10th Mar, will to pay off on 1st of Feb and cut it on the counter.
Citi Master statement date on 17th Apr, if too rush for BT, will pay off on 5th Feb and call to cancel.
MBB petronas statement date on 26th Mar. have to kept for apply others card.

I understand and will be survey the price before purchase in JJ. Will be consider if difference not much after courting all the fees.

As you guide on your BT blog, at least pay for 5% min payment and BT 95% outstanding to avoid late charge. Also follow up with the bank for the BT application status and when they make payment.

Is that ok or have any advise for me??
What you waiting, fast fast go apply another card if you want to cancel the EON and AEON cards.

I guess in Melaka you don't have much choices compared to Klang Valley for electrical goods with 0% installments and that's why you thinking of using BT. Just go survey what card is best in Melaka. By the way, if you buying TV, LYN garage sale sometime got very good offer, so go checkit out.
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 10:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 28 2011, 10:43 AM)
Haha, I already apply MBB2 Card & OCBC Titanium last week, now waiting for the card.

My digi bill RM 200+ will auto billing in OCBC Titanium,
Petrol Esso Est RM 500+ will charge to OCBC Titanium.
Insurance RM 150 consider as bill and can get 5% cash rebate as well?
to get 5% cash rebate.

Others will charge to MBB2 Amex to get 5xTP and weekend 5% Cash rebate.
LYN garage sale mean in Low yatt forum? need to use cash?
insurance no 5% cash back with OCBC Titanium, only 1%.

not necessary, I bought the tv using CC but went to his shop at PJ.
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 02:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Nepo @ Jan 28 2011, 01:32 PM)
Think of cancel off HSBC credit card, the boss are very stingy. HSBC CC is one of the least attractive benefit available to card holders. Moreover the CNY Campaign need to do so many steps and quota aleady full at 10.15am....china men business.....earn u somemore 30sen per sms eventhrough the CNY Campaign's quota is full... sad.gif
hope HSBC marketing people collecting feedback from here. Yah, me also don't benefit much from HSBC nowadays,

I prefer to use my other cards which guarantee me "cash back" and looking forward to the new Maybankard 2 Amex where we get minimum 5X Treats Points and my faithful amex charge card that have been with me for years can go into retirement.
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 05:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jan 28 2011, 04:16 PM)
Got my MBB 2 cards by poslaju today... ^.^

Applied on Monday through platinum line.. I am existing MBB card holder, so the credit check process is fast!!
congrats, that's was fast, less than 5 working days. Just nice for the weekend.
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 08:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 28 2011, 07:36 PM)
the 3 mustakeers  thumbup.gif ...received my maybank2 card today vis poslaju, i also managed to register via sms for the 15% cashback succesfully for the amex platinum maybank2
congrats, the must have cards OCBC Titanum and Maybankard 2 Amex. Won't called it 3 mustakeers as the Maybakard 2 Visa is like a substitute, one injured then only take the other card place, haha
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 10:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 28 2011, 09:43 PM)
Gen-X, I suffer the same fate as you. I applied for Maybankard 2 Amex Platinum and Visa Platinum through telephone last Friday morning, WITHOUT submitting any documents. When I checked with MBB CS just now, my application has just been approved. To my surprise, they give me Gold cards instead!

I guess it could be due to my current record with MBB, as currently the only cc product from MBB that I own is Amex Gold cc. However, during my application through telephone, I have highlighted I only wanted Platinum cards. And just now, the CS officer told me that they could not change the cards to Platinum now. It looks like I have to ask them to cancel my application immediately. What the hell!
Sorry to hear, last you reported not in system, suddenly approved.

My so called Gold Card application have been taken off from MBB system but the Plat card request yet to be updated. Like you I have Amex Gold CC but I also have Petronas Plat Visa and MBB Plat MasterCard with them and the combined CL is pretty high (as far as I am concerned). Maybe my request for Maybankard 2 Cards Plat may not even be approved sweat.gif Anyway not urgent need of the card since new year coming and shopiing all done.
Gen-X
post Jan 28 2011, 11:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

question, does ASTRO also get 5% cash back with OCBC Titanium?
Gen-X
post Jan 29 2011, 12:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 29 2011, 12:02 AM)
Confirmed can get 5% Cash-back with Astro Auto-Billing and OCBC Titanium
thank you Sir. got to call them and ask if can change the auto billing to my card as the ASTRO account is in my wife's name.
Gen-X
post Jan 29 2011, 09:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

ronnie & Miles: thanks for the info on ASTRO

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jan 29 2011, 07:17 AM)
Guys, is it common practice for sales staff to check your signature when you sign off something? I just wonder if they don't believe young person can get CC early.
Nowadays is common even for young children to have Visa or MasterCard debit cards e.g. my children age 10 and 13, and the sales staff never ask anything when they purchase stuff with their Visa Debit Card.

To read more on chidren debit card Click here to my blog on HLB Junior Debit Cards for children under 12.

As for checking the signature, well nowadays we have Visa Wave and MasterCard Paypass where you don't even need to sign on the transaction slip. However, these cards emit radio frequency where others can retrieve info from your card.

To read more and see a video on security risk with having a Visa Wave or MC PayPass click here.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 29 2011, 09:04 AM
Gen-X
post Jan 29 2011, 02:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 29 2011, 10:52 AM)
mbb still ok since they told me to swipe RM3k for 6 months then they will waive it

Added on January 29, 2011, 10:53 ami mean within 6 months
sure boh, which number you call?

by the way, you agent for Citibank? but you promoting MBB card smile.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 30 2011, 08:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Jan 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
Apology for the late reply.  I hardly this card so thought of cancel it.  Now I only carry 3 cards.
i) CT Master Plat (auto debit, retail purchases)
ii) UOB OneCard Visa Plat (BHP petrol, GSC, Sushi King)
iii) UOB Preferred Master Plat  (in cold storage, hardly use)
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 30 2011, 01:44 AM)
The must-get cards as of 30-1-2011 are Maybankard 2 Amex and OCBC Titanium Mastercard.
You may want to make a change laugh.gif
For his case. maybe Maybankard 2 Cards (AMEX) may not be so attractive. OCBC Titanium maybe. With OCBC Titanium, for example he will get 5% cash rebate with OCBC TMC at BHP vs UOB 2% Smart Cash at BHP. But at Sushi King with UOB he gets 10% vs OCBC 5% & also UOB One CArd gets 5% at GSC.

Click here to see cash back for Smart $ with UOB One Card

patricktoh, if you interested to know more about OCBC Titanium Cash Back, i did a write up on it with a comparison table (that time many members here, e.g. ronnie and winner, pointed out the typos and have edited it thumbup.gif )

Click here to read about OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash Back

Maybankard 2 Cards - AMEX 5 Treats Points gives about 2.5% cash back in vouchers terms plus 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays only. Anyway here is the link to my blog for Maybankard 2 Cards. Click here to read about Maybankard 2 Cards.

patricktoh, for your UOB cards annual fees waiver, what are the conditions, or to be precise, the MasterCard.
Previosly I had the Visa Plat and MC Plat where need to swipe 6 times each to get auto annual fees waive but since I cancel the MC, now I have to swipe 12 times plus spend RM3K (supp not counted that is why want to change ASTRO account to OCBC) a year with my UOB Preferred Plat Visa. Thinking of cancelling the card.

Gen-X
post Jan 30 2011, 08:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 30 2011, 07:01 PM)
Thanks for adding the information.

Hope Gen-X can write something on Where can use Amex in his blog...
rclxms.gif
It is in my blog lah, go read again tongue.gif and I have already revised my post on Maybankard 2 Cards to say that AMEX can be used at phamarcy after someone asked about it here few days back. As for JJ, I always mentioned that AMEX can be used there.

My wife MBB 2 cards application got rejected even tho her income is more than RM60K sad.gif She only got her first CC an Alliance MC Plat in Oct last year. Asked her to appiled at 1U last week as we were there and I read ronnie's posting here that they taking applications there. I faxed over EPF and Borong BE to proof her income somemore. Must go check her CCRIS report to see what's in there.

Just to add, the reason why I started blogging in 2009 was because people coming here keep asking same question. Now easy for me, just ask them click here to my blog biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 30 2011, 08:36 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 09:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just posted an srticle on free Access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge at my blog.

You can also get the same info from the first page of this thread basically. My article just expand more on each card benefits and conditions.

To read more about Free Access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge, click here.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 09:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 31 2011, 09:43 AM)
hey guys, i wonder if i can use my new Maybankard 2 gold to spend on my insurance or not. still can get 5X treat points?
Not likely as insurance companies do not accept Amex.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 01:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 31 2011, 10:40 AM)
For Alliance Bank, besides Alliance Platinum credit card and Alliance Platinum debit card, Alliance Premium debit cardholders are also allowed to enter Plaza Premium Lounge.

Gen-X, Amex Platinum charge card and Amex Platinum credit card give unlimited free entries to Plaza Premium Lounges at KLIA, LCCT and Senai.
QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 31 2011, 09:53 AM)
Gen-X,
2. RHB Plat did give annual fee waiver - with a total minimum card spend of RM36,000 per annum.
thank you both for the feedback.

winner: I couldn't confirm on the AMEX Plat CC from Amex website and therefore did not want to include. AMEX website did mentioned about the charge card but those people fly first class anyway.

erry: RHB do have auto waiver feature, forgot about that. But I guess not many people want the card anyway as not many benefits. My RHB Plat just keep in drawer. Regret apply for it and waste RM50 doh.gif

anyway did not include debit cards as was doing for credit cards. My RHB Plat Debit Card suppose to get 4 free entrance but last week at KLIA PPL the recep said no doh.gif Didn't ask him about my Alliance Premium Debit card as didn't bring it along that day.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 31 2011, 10:08 AM)
that you need to find out on your own. If everyone come and ask "does merchant XXX accept AMEX?", I cant imagine that congestion...
Well he can go ask in the AMEX thread and make that thread more active biggrin.gif .

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 31 2011, 10:45 AM)
no point having to maintain a list of AMEX accepted merchants. Best to ask before pass ur AMEx to the merchant.

We should spend within our means not based on the card type.
True, but many people here use credit card to spend beyond their means. Actually the 0% BT and 0% installment plans encourages people to spend their future income leaving them less disposal income in the coming months. Many young people here have not gone thru a recession so they don't know how to save money. I would like to add we should not like our card "control" us e.g can only go to the movies on weekends as MBB 2 Cards give 5% rebate.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 01:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 31 2011, 01:44 PM)
Guys, i have a question. AFAIK, OCBC titanium MC dont have ezy payment plan (from the bank, not by merchants). So lets say i purchase something for RM 1000. Minimum monthly payment is 5%, RM50.
So, if i pay consistantly the minimum payment, i wont get charged the 13.5% pa interest right? and it will be like 0% month installment payment? is my understanding correct?
Based on what you wrote above, you will be imposed interest and it will take you years to just off clear that RM1,000 transactions.

May I suggest you go read my blog on credit card 101, click link below:

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...rds-cc-101.html

ronnie: see what i meant.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 02:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 31 2011, 01:51 PM)

Added on January 31, 2011, 1:52 pm

@Gen-X, it didn't take long before what you just said to materialize. (within a span of 4 minutes)
I always get the negative branding!   sweat.gif
yah caught me by surprise too, hahahaha

don't care lah about what other thinks because what you're stating are facts, I for one think we need people like you to point out from another angle and someday the people not paying attention to what you say will regret and eventually admit you are right.

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 31 2011, 01:54 PM)
Hehe, what i meant is AT LEAST pay the minimum, but surely will be more so that it will take just a year or less than that. so, it means 1000 will directly X 13.5% even if i have a good record or payment?(consistantly paying more than min 5%)
It is not like what you mentioned, 1000 x 13.5%. The interest is charged on daily basis on the outstnading amount. Lazy to show you example. If you don't pay minimum payment, not only you be imposed interest but it would affect your credit records and you kena late payment too. Always practice to pay in full and if need 0% installments, go to merchant that have this plan (but take note, you may be paying hgiher for it. E.g. I bought a leg massager 2 weeks back where shop at 1U having promotion and can do 0% installment, so I ask for discount and he said ok if I swipe in full, got about 10% off from promotion price, oh by the way, paid with Amex).

I think there should be an example in your CC statement, go read it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 31 2011, 02:10 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 02:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 31 2011, 02:11 PM)
The thing is i dont have one at all smile.gif im still considering getting a CC or not. Actually i have a sup card, but i dont use it anymore. So, i wana cancel it and get one..and hopefuly utilize it to save some money and "spread" my finances...means using monthly payments so i can use the rest of my monthly income for other things(eg savings/investment) Right now considering between 2 cards OCBC and Maybankard2. Any advice on this ? smile.gif i did read your blog, but im trying to understand CC dynamics.
ok, you got the idea with the second example e.g. outstanding balance x13.5%/12 (not really divide by 12 as interest imposed is on daily basis based on annual rate)

if you really want to go for installements, there are more merchants offering 0% installment with Maybank than OCBC. when chosing a credit card, chose one that suits your lifestyle, like the other guy that uses OUB One Card. OCBC is good for groceries, utilities, dinning and petrol and for other stuff 1% cash back not too bad, but you just have to remember the max cash back is RM50.

As for spreading finances, well I don't know lah, when I was young (still practicing now), I only buy stuff (gadgets = toys) if I got the cash on hand.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 02:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 31 2011, 02:34 PM)
Haha...i see people here are quite agitated. Ok, i get it smile.gif thats just my opinion of using the word "spread", people dont have to follow(i hope). I'm talking in context of 0% ez payments (but as Gen-X) has mentioned, might be paying more for it instead, but still no interest charged right? So far i think i have managed my money quite ok,  no debts, overdrafts or things like that..
What i'm thinking is:
- if the CC fee can be waived(with min swipes..etc),
- no late payments.
- Rewards/cash rebates.
- 0% interest payment.
- rm50 gst is OK.
Then i can actually save? I dont mind people correcting me, i need to learn from experienced people.

Added on January 31, 2011, 2:37 pm
i got the cash in hand, but i wana use it for savings/investment. Haha, i know its not really a good practice....invest what's extra and what ur prepared to lose right? hehe
I think you are on the right track. My bad for assuming.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 31 2011, 02:49 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 04:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Jan 31 2011, 03:12 PM)
as previously get advise that apply RHB travel card for petrol rebate.

is is worth to apply? due to anual fees need to pay, mean it actually rebate to cover up the 2% only

any other good choices of card for me to apply which more on
petrol(shell) rebate/point, travel(going bali mid if year) rebate/point.

my anual income is 25k +- only
where you pump petrol? if esso, you can consider Public Bank Esso Debit Card, no GST but may have other fees, go check it. Public Bank Debit cards also get discount/offers like CC.

Petronas - you can either go with MBB or CIMB but you need to pay GST RM50.

To see if worth it or not, yo have to do the math yourself base on your monthly usage.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:52 AM