Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 04:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 31 2011, 04:23 PM)
he did mention shell notworthy.gif
what is the point of you spamming, just add to previous post please.
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 07:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Jan 31 2011, 06:00 PM)
understand from first page,

Best Credit Cards and its categories
2) Gold Card = Alliance Younique, AMEX Gold Credit Card

what is AMEX Gold Credit Card, does Maybank American Express Gold same? or only refer to american express without other bank associated.

and will it be more benefit if i apply Maybank American Express Gold rather than ambank carz
We need to update the first page. The info on the Best Gold Card was posted before the launch of Maybankard 2 Cards.

The Maybankard 2 American Express Gold Credit Card which comes with the Maybank logo is now better than the older American Express Gold Credit Card without the Maybank logo. The MBB 2 Amex gives 5X Treat Points for every transaction and on weekends additional 5% cash back as compared to American Express Gold Credit Card where you get 5X Membership Rewards Points (different from Treats Points) for Groceries, Bookshops, telco bills and petrol and other transactions 2X.

click below to read about the Maybankard 2 Cards:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html

click below to read about the Aerican Express Gold Credit Card:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...redit-card.html

As erry mentioned, minimum income RM30K/year for AMEX Gold.

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Jan 31 2011, 05:19 PM)
I just called Etiqa 1300138888, they accept AMEX and they are working on saturday half day.
I will give a call this saturday morning to renew my motor insurance with 10% etiqa rebate + 5% MBB rebate + 5X TP.
this is good news. So we have now two insurance company. AIA (to be confirmed) and Etiqa

QUOTE(slavin23 @ Jan 31 2011, 06:04 PM)
Hi guys, i am a newbie here..I have started working for a year actually but my 1st half year employment do not have epf so my epf statement do not look good. I am planning to get my 1st CC and i am looking at HL Easential, Citibank clear and maybe uob one. Can any1 ple enlighten me on this whether which card is better and what others supporting document i can include so that it will help in my application? Thx in advance..  tongue.gif
HLB Essential is basically a cash back card that gives you 1% cash back and if not mistaken it does not give you anything for Petrol.

Citibank Clear Card - if you drink coffee with partner at Coffee Bean and go movies at GSC and cathay then this card is good. But then again Petrol you get nothing. Some outlets do give discount with Citibank CC.

UOB One Card, check back few posts back, I did give link for where this card gives you Smart $ including Petrol at BHP.

If depends on your life style and where you spend your money. Get one card first and later after you have credit history records, easy to apply for other cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 31 2011, 07:17 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 31 2011, 09:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

winner: I just check with Amex CS and my application still Gold Card, last week taken out from system, now back in doh.gif But come to think of it, I will accept the Gold Card if they give it to me and then apply for Platinum Card again (this time fax in or thru branch) and get both cards like I did last time I hold both MBB Petronas Gold and Plat.

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Jan 31 2011, 07:24 PM)
i think the bank can negotiate it right?
when the time i study, they already keep calling me ask me to apply credit card( i think because i always use maybank debit card to buy thing)
so that is the best for my range i can get right? better than(ambank car, rhb travel, ocbc titanium)
if yes then tomorrow i will go to apply  Maybankard 2 Card gold  tongue.gif
yah, go apply since you got records with MBB. Maybe your application will even be approved earlier than mine which is still hanging for whatever reasons.
Gen-X
post Feb 1 2011, 08:27 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Miles: congrats on your new cards. SCB VI not in your wish list tongue.gif

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 11:09 AM)
hi guys, I applied eon CC months ago before i went to Singapore. The card took about two months for approval and by the time it was approved I am already in Singapore(July). I called and requested them to send to my house but they rejected, so I asked whether I can cancel the card since I couldn't touch nor use the card at all but they said I must go and collect first before I can do anything to it. After several attempts calling them, finally they did send to my house. Yesterday I came back Malaysia, and called them to activate the card, apparently they already suspended my card but i still receiving the bill. Is it because I havent paid the RM50 govt tax they suspended it? will only be able to call them tomorrow. anyone know why they suspended my card while i requested to cancel before but they refused???
hye has explained a CS duty i.e. to forward your request to the relevant person for further actions.

EON kind of slow compared to other banks, the last time I applied EON Visa Signature, took about 3 weeks or more to actually get the card in my hand and that is after I email to them complaining about their service. But the odd thing is they never reply my email and I didn't follow up as card approved 2 days after I emailed them. You can read it at my blog and click EON at the Label Column.

As for your case, if you want the card, just activate it on condition they waive the late payment charges (if any). If they don't want to waive then complain, cancel the card and email them justifying why they should not charge you anything. And why must you wait till tomorrow to call them? Call CS now and get clarification.

QUOTE(dotcom @ Feb 1 2011, 02:17 PM)
OCBC bank is so efficient fast, Amazing~~!! thumbup.gif

Apply for OCBC Ti MC card on 26 Jan and i got my card today already  drool.gif  only took 7 days to reach me
Thumbs Up thumbup.gif real fast
QUOTE(lamode @ Feb 1 2011, 04:33 PM)
Submitted application for OCBC TI last week, today called and asked for the status, got told its approved, but when ask the CL, they said no CL.
Then i ask them so that is approved, but without CL and he says yes  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  wtf
OCBC processing is pretty fast and CS helpful. The last time I applied was during Raya not mistaken, Pos Malaysia was damn slow, Anyway, good to know that more people reporting OCBC approving application then most reporting application rejected.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Feb 1 2011, 05:22 PM)
best cash back card is ocbc titanium and mbb amex.
To clarify, OCBC Titanium good for up to cash back RM50 only, after that it is useless.

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:43 PM)
swt, in their website just say up to 2% rebate.. haha, kena tipu.
btw if that's is the case why
21. Best Credit Cards and its categories
2) Gold Card = Alliance Younique,
other gold card benefit are less than it?
above is just an opinion, get a card that give you best return based on spending pattern. Not necessary Gold Card, the UOB One Card is also pretty good with Smart $ or as erry mentioned AMBank. Or just go apply one that gives you waiver for GST if you want to out and after 1 year, easier to apply for other cards. But must warn you, make sure you confirm terms and conditions for the RM50 waiver like first 500 applicants or swipe X times within the 1st month.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 1 2011, 08:29 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 2 2011, 01:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lolo18 @ Feb 1 2011, 09:51 PM)
I have a Petronas Visa currently. And i will swipe 5k~15k monthly for my
business goods. But too bad all my supplier not accept AMEX. So the MBB2 wont give me any benefit from it. I have applied OCBC Ti before & get rejected.
I still will apply the MBB2 for my personal use like groceries & petrol.
Hope all sifu here can give an ideal to me which card that can max out the return. Thanks.
In addition to what winner mentioned, you can consider Alliance Bank Platinum CC where you will get RM68+ for first RM5000 plus points. After RM5K, go with cards that give you 1% cash back like HLB Essential.

and you can consider Alliance Bank Premier Debit Card, gives you 2% cash back capped at RM180 i.e. up to RM9000.

So with Alliance by spending RM14K with Alliance CC and Debit Cards, total cash back RM248+ per month.

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 2 2011, 12:05 AM)
I called them 3 times this morning, asking different questions, including charges. and EON bank CS could be the dumbest and the most ineffective CS I've ever seen - they could only repeat 'you must call Collection Department tomorrow, heres there number blah blah'.
one more thing, i thought CS was 7/24? i called them 9.50 this morning, and that girl asked me to call back on 10am. First time ever CS told me to call back.....
EON Bank CS are friendly but not helpful, this I would say from my personal experience except for one guy called Brian (if I recall his name correctly).
As zenquix mentioned, Alliance same, after 9pm or so they can do nuts eventho they mentioned 24/7 for Plat cards.

Gen-X
post Feb 3 2011, 12:19 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Happy Chinese New Year! Gong Xi Fa Chai.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Feb 2 2011, 11:42 PM)
yeah. just visited their facebook site and they did mentioned that but in the terms and condition didnt saw the name of MBB 2 card's name. anyway, does harvey norman support the AMEX card? maybe need to buy ipad over there. tongue.gif
someone else mentioned he managed to register for the 15% discount. Make sure you register.

I guess you did not read my blog on Maybankard 2 Cards where I did mentioned that Harvey Norman do accept AMEX and even did a comparison between American Express versus OCBC Titanium.

Click here to read about Maybankard 2 Cards benefits and merchants that do accept American Express.
Gen-X
post Feb 3 2011, 09:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Feb 3 2011, 08:06 AM)
if you use MBB 2 card, 5% weekend cashback + 5X treat points = 7.5% cashback and if you use to pump at Esso station then plus 2.5% more for the Smile points and all equal to 10%??
it is approximately 2.5% for 5X TP based on voucher, 5% cash rebate capped at RM50 and ESSO Smiles Points 1.5%, read my post in my blog, it is stated there.

Gen-X
post Feb 3 2011, 10:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 3 2011, 09:50 AM)
Read jor long time ago...
Not you lah, PPZ, asking questions I did mentioned in my blog. I know PPZ is new to AMEX but if he had read my post on Maybankard 2 Cards, he would have save his time wondering and get immediate answers.
Gen-X
post Feb 3 2011, 05:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Feb 3 2011, 03:58 PM)
Been thinking this way too of getting the extra cc. The main problem is MBB does not offer flexibility to existing holders & their mind only thinking of wooing new customers. This is almost the same frustration I faced years back when I tried upgrading from gold to platinum but was declined again & again by MBB despite with other platinum cc reference. However during their MBB Treats Fair in Mid Valley, there were offering platinum (especially the Petronas one) like nobody business even for other gold card holders. In the end I terminated the gold & reapply for my current AMEX Plat, I feel better now as a renewed customer. But now again this Maybankard 2 conversion problem.

Let's see how it goes as I am holding way too many credit cards right now.
haha, if not for the RM50 GST you wouldn't mind having too many credit cards (like me). Me on the other hand, never cross my mind to get the AMEX Plat CC because the AMEX's AMEX Gold CC gives me more in return than the Plat and turned down the offer to upgrade Plat CC twice. But then AMEX's AMEX Plat also started offering 5X MR for groceries, before I could even consider it, Maybankard 2 Cards was launched. This Dua didn't even need to consider, just apply but application still hanging.

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Feb 3 2011, 05:10 PM)
Based on my experience with EON bank, I got my plat approved 3 years ago with 12k CL only so I cannot apply other plat if my cards highest CL is only 12k.
Even UOB One plat or SCB plat also cannot approve. (at least 15k)
Maybank plat need 25k CL
PBB only 20k
But this MBB 2 Cards need 15k only.

(In CCRIS, only show CL, no card type and the card type is not important to approve any cards.)
As mentioned in previous post, my wife application for Dua was rejected. She has her own Alliance MC Plat (her 1st CC, got in Oct last year) with CL > RM15K and income > RM60K. I must go check her CCRIS. Maybe MBB don't want issue her card because I have 4 cards with MBB presently and supp her 2 cards already where she share my CL which is higher than her income.
Gen-X
post Feb 3 2011, 10:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hit47 @ Feb 3 2011, 06:54 PM)
guys..noob question here.lets say the pump didnt accept amex,we cud use our visa rite?same as shopping rite
Very important to remember - for most Visa and MasterCard, you get nothing, zip, zero nil for pumping petrol unless it is co-brand or it is stated x% in the terms and conditions of the card. It has been years already that CC don't get points except for AMEX's American Express. Not to sure on MBB or HLB American Express.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 3 2011, 10:05 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 4 2011, 08:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 3 2011, 11:49 PM)
but if refer to https://www.maybankard.net.my/terms.html (#7) - it didnt stated that using card at petrol station wont get points.

while hsbc, it clearly stated that no points for transactions at petrol stations - http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/miscellaneous/h...-and-conditions (#4)
well, since you don't believe and you giving advise to others, why don't you go and pump at ESSO with your MBB CC and then find it out for yourself and report back here tongue.gif

the fact is few years back it was announched in the media that CC no longer get points at petrol stations. Since then no Visa and MC (non co-brand) get any points.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 4 2011, 08:50 AM
Gen-X
post Feb 4 2011, 10:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Feb 4 2011, 10:23 AM)
i want too buy my mum want to buy it today. very eager to buy it today.. oh well..
well looks like you got to wait, haha but then again you still get 5X TP. With 2 ipads, you get more than 15000 TP, more than enough to offset GST already.

By the way, heard of MiFi, if not read my post on iTouch iPhone iPad below:

http://ringgitwisefool.blogspot.com/2011/0...phone-ipad.html

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 4 2011, 10:10 AM)
I must say erry got some level of confidence to repeatedly give out advise.
Some folks appreciate his helpfulness although I would like to throw some caution to his advise. I got rebutted by some forummer when I made a note of erry's comments.
well it is good that more people give comments so that others can see from many angels as each of us have different opinions. I myself sometimes post wrong info and others will correct it. The person reading comments should always double confirm and not take what is written here as 100% correct.

as for erry, he does give info that is good but may be outdated and that may mislead others, for the case of smiles points where he mentioned his petrol station gave extra promotional points months ago and people like PPZ and jack2 got the impression that they get 2.5% with Smiles Points. But can't blame erry when people don't pay attention to what is written.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 4 2011, 10:48 AM
Gen-X
post Feb 4 2011, 10:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 4 2011, 07:04 PM)
ok tomorrow i will go to kuantan, so i will pump using my mbb visa (non-petronas) and let u guys know later ~ icon_rolleyes.gif
don't pump too much because I am sure you won't get anything with MBB visa tongue.gif Have a save trip.
Gen-X
post Feb 7 2011, 10:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 5 2011, 01:18 AM)
For those with existing Maybank CC, is the Maybankard2 GST charged based on existing card's anniversary ?
I got my MBB Petronas Visa last year( about 5 months) back and was charged GST already, then got the MBB Mastercard 2 months back, this month GST is in the Statement.

Got a booklet from UOB for their Preferred Platinum Cards where they have offer at the following merchants:

Valiram group outlets get 5% SMART$ Cash except for their Rolex outlet. Coach do get 5% Smart$ Cash with UOB Prefererd Platinum.

BHP 1% for the first RM70 per transaction up to maximum RM400 per month.
Firefly 2% but only applicable at Firefly Airport Ticketing offices only.
Sushi King 10% for transaction RM50 and above.
San Francisco Coffee Co 10%
GODIVA 5%
Charles &amp; Keith 5%
Pedra 5%
Watatime 1% but not applicable to Rolex watches (click the link above to my other blog to find out why).
Golden Screen Cinema 5%
Harvey Norman 2%
SenQ 1%

Please note I got no idea if above applies to UOB ONE Card as the booklet I got is for UOB Preferred Plat cards.

UOB Platinum card members getting 2% SMART$ Cash at Harvey Norman is not too bad but the Maybankard 2 Amex gives better returns with 5X points. To read more about my article on UOB Preferred Platinum offer click link below to my blog, but there is nothing useful to read other than what is already mentioned above unless you are buying Coach hand bags.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...e-with-uob.html

For buying Rolex watches, must get the Maybankard 2 Amex as I can't think of any other creditr card giving better returns for purchasing Rolex in Malaysia. If buy in Singapore then maybe have to consider the conversion rate as Amex admin high at 2.5%. Click below to read about my post on Rolex and other info, once again article full on me blah blah blah wink.gif

http://ringgitwisefool.blogspot.com/2011/0...-rolex-no8.html
Gen-X
post Feb 7 2011, 03:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 7 2011, 02:07 PM)
There's 2 transactions in USD using SCB Mastercard Platinum

Transaction on 2-Feb 2011
USD72.85 => RM226.57
Exchange rate = 3.110089224433768

Transaction on 3-Feb 2011
USD19.99 => RM62.60
Exchange rate = 3.131565782891446

From the above it seem to indicate 2% admin fee for SCB foreign transactions.
ronnie, next time if can use two diffrent cards so we can see the difference.

I still waiting for my next statements to comapre Alliance MC vs DA MC vs MBB Petronas and MBB MC for transactions in SG next month.
Gen-X
post Feb 7 2011, 04:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just got a call from someone at 0327225678 claiming they from EON Bank call Centre offering me Financial Plan where it provides protection up to RM450,000, blah blah blah.

First thing caught my attention was she mentioning that this offer is for new EON Platinum Card members, those who read my blog will know what card I have with EON Bank. So I listen to what she has to offer as I know she not from EON Bank. She kept stressing it was a Financial Plan and told her I not interested but she asked me further what was my concern and that got me pissed off. Asked her again, where she calling from and she said EON Bank approved Call Centre, so I taruk her and told her not to BS and finally she said Chartis. Taruk her again and ask her name of plan stated in policy she offering and she said Protection Plan so correctted her to say that she is not offering Financial Plan and should be truthful upfront and mentioned Insurance Plan from Chartis.

Chartis seems to be calling me often offering this and that plan. Problem with Insurance Plan with a specific credit card is that you cannot, i repeat cannot transfer policy premium payment to another credit card and this may be a problem if you want the cancel the credit card later.

Gen-X
post Feb 7 2011, 09:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 7 2011, 06:09 PM)
I do not have any savings or current account with Maybank. So i had to apply for M2U using my Maybankards. However, if you already have an existing M2U with Maybank. You should be able to view both your Maybankard 2 AMEX and VISA already. If you can't, call their CS and ask him/her to help you to link the cards to your existing M2U.
Well I have M2U online for my Amex Amex Gold CC and cannot view my MBB Petronas and MC account. I did call up CS once and was told need to go to branch and ask them to link it. Have not done so yet.
Gen-X
post Feb 8 2011, 11:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 8 2011, 08:47 AM)
Just to help out in case anyone wants to make a forex comparison

MBB 04/02/2011
USD 55.50 -> RM170.00
Rate ~ 3.06
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 8 2011, 09:25 AM)
That's a very good rate ! Just tiny bit higher than Wawasan Sentosa's rate on 4/2/11.
that is indeed very good rate.
Gen-X
post Feb 8 2011, 04:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Feb 8 2011, 03:14 PM)
i just got a call from maybank/amex

this dude is offering me an international amex CHARGE card. he says its different from the local maybank amex cards offered ....

seems to know my mom's name and my workplace address and my current home address

just afraid it might be a scam or something.

anyone can shed some light for me?

Added on February 8, 2011, 3:34 pmupdate ..
the call is from
03-27763900

but i asked for his number so i can call him back. its 03-22958864

declined the charge card. but now he offered the maybank2card to me. seems to know my credit limit also.

i did not tell him any of my info. he just say the card will be delivered to my house address.
I think that number is legit.

Well I got a call from that same number yesterday claiming from Maybank where a girl was following up on my online registration for Maybankard 2 Cards which I did more than 3 weeks ago. Told her I applied already and she she ok.But the odd thing is she said I register via Facebook which I don't have.

Not only that, I got a call from that same number on 5th Feb 2011 which was a Saturday to confirm that I sent in application via fax.

So if you want the MBB 2 cards, then ask him/her to sent you the cards smile.gif

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Feb 8 2011, 03:51 PM)
Tis benefit only available for Amex Platinium right? The maybankard 2 plat card...

Gold one I dont think have it.
Maybankard 2 Cards Gold American Express also get 5X TP and 5% cash back on wekends.

To read more on MBB 2 cards, click here.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 8 2011, 04:02 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 8 2011, 11:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:27 PM)
How come all of you guys get approved so fast ... I submitted 20th January .. I called CS just now and seems that they just received the application and in-process....
well, I wouldn't say all, mine still hanging eventho apply for it 3 weeks already over the phone sad.gif Better still, got call from MBB staff yesterday to follow up on my registration 3 weeks ago online for them to call me.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:23 PM