Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!
kmrdeva
Jan 18 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:02 AM) Want to download speedmod kernel also cannot. Tourist in paradise is down!!! Too many downloads apparently. I have K12O - 250 tar, cwm_zip and 500 tar, cwm_zip. Want? PM me with your email address, I will send whichever you want.
roci
Jan 18 2011, 10:16 AM

btw guys.. how do we know that our SGS is brick?
lch78
Jan 18 2011, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2011, 11:16 AM) btw guys.. how do we know that our SGS is brick? when you can't start your phone it is brick...
roci
Jan 18 2011, 10:20 AM

u mean cant start in terms of what? if push the power button and nothing happen? Added on January 18, 2011, 10:21 amQUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:18 AM) when you can't start your phone it is brick... u mean cant start in terms of what? if push the power button and nothing happen? This post has been edited by roci: Jan 18 2011, 10:21 AM
lch78
Jan 18 2011, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2011, 11:20 AM) u mean cant start in terms of what? if push the power button and nothing happen? Added on January 18, 2011, 10:21 am u mean cant start in terms of what? if push the power button and nothing happen? I mean when you can't boot into Android system, got stuck somewhere either at logo screen or you feel vibration repeatedly.... Try flash a kernel with OCLF on and you ll understand..
blurjoey
Jan 18 2011, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:02 AM) Want to download speedmod kernel also cannot. Tourist in paradise is down!!! Too many downloads apparently. I can go in but cannot download the speedmod from TIP. Can still download from XDA. This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 18 2011, 10:36 AM
lch78
Jan 18 2011, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 18 2011, 11:35 AM) I can go in but cannot download the speedmod from TIP. Can still download from XDA. It was down this morning 8am like that. Could be up already now, didn't check..
kmrdeva
Jan 18 2011, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:38 AM) It was down this morning 8am like that. Could be up already now, didn't check.. Normally only the 500Hz flavours are available on xda-developers. For 250Hz, you'd have to go to the TiP site which hosts the files in Google Docs, if I am not mistaken.
gmhafiz
Jan 18 2011, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 18 2011, 09:36 AM) jig to me u are   lol.. I've been experiencing battery draining issues but can sort out which app is draining the battery  may I suggest installing osmonitor? It can show you which app is using the cpu. QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2011, 10:12 AM) what is usb jig? oh my god.. i dont want to go to samsung services centre.. it will took long time.. but then if i go, do i need to pay? or my warranty will void??  There's a thread in xda that shows the hair dryer method and homemade jig. Try a search over there. I doubt it is bricked. Try and flash stock eclair like jm8 using odin. This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 18 2011, 12:12 PM
alvinz
Jan 18 2011, 12:13 PM
did u press the 3button combo long enough? ... take off battery, then put it back and make sure u press and hold on Volume Down + Home button and power button. Dont let go till screen starts up, some times it might take roughly up to 30secs of holding ... nite guys ...
| K e e |
Jan 18 2011, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 18 2011, 12:13 PM) did u press the 3button combo long enough? ... take off battery, then put it back and make sure u press and hold on Volume Down + Home button and power button. Dont let go till screen starts up, some times it might take roughly up to 30secs of holding ... nite guys ...  morning
reehdus
Jan 18 2011, 12:58 PM

A bricked SGS will just show this image no matter how many times u try to reboot it:  if your one of the lucky one's whose 3 button download mode/recovery mode works...u can get into recovery mode and do a factory reset...or download mode and reflash another firmware with odin. If the combo buttons don't work, then you either need to do the jig thingy or take it back to samsung. I took mine back to samsung and got it reflashed at no charge. (You will lose all data though). Apparently bricking the phone is quite common with people trying to update from Eclair to Froyo using Kies (according to the ppl there). Another scenario is when the phone is able to boot into the SGS opening screen (showing the 'S'), but turns off after that. In this case you can try downloading adb from the net onto ur computer, plug in ur SGS, boot it up, navigate to the adb folder using command prompt and typing in 'adb reboot recovery'. This should force the phone into recovery mode where u can do a factory reset. I have not tried this, but I assume it should work  Hope this helps.
rainbow6
Jan 18 2011, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(reehdus @ Jan 18 2011, 12:58 PM) A bricked SGS will just show this image no matter how many times u try to reboot it:  if your one of the lucky one's whose 3 button download mode/recovery mode works...u can get into recovery mode and do a factory reset...or download mode and reflash another firmware with odin. If the combo buttons don't work, then you either need to do the jig thingy or take it back to samsung. I took mine back to samsung and got it reflashed at no charge. (You will lose all data though). Apparently bricking the phone is quite common with people trying to update from Eclair to Froyo using Kies (according to the ppl there). Another scenario is when the phone is able to boot into the SGS opening screen (showing the 'S'), but turns off after that. In this case you can try downloading adb from the net onto ur computer, plug in ur SGS, boot it up, navigate to the adb folder using command prompt and typing in 'adb reboot recovery'. This should force the phone into recovery mode where u can do a factory reset. I have not tried this, but I assume it should work  Hope this helps. As long as you can get the 3-buttons working, you will not get into brick issue that easily. Just make sure you got Odin on the desktop and then put CWM update.zip into your main sdcard. In case you're bricked, you can still flash with update.zip.
ahhon83
Jan 18 2011, 01:51 PM
Hi everybody...how are you guys?
Just back from China trip, not able to check here for 1 week already. And phone got some problem for 1 whole week. Just factory reset and wipe everything and flashed to Darky's again....8.0 wipe version.
But i found the folder for installed apps doesn't deleted even though i do factory reset and wipe everything. So, can i just delete all unrelated folders?
Fornx
Jan 18 2011, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Jan 18 2011, 01:51 PM) Hi everybody...how are you guys? Just back from China trip, not able to check here for 1 week already. And phone got some problem for 1 whole week. Just factory reset and wipe everything and flashed to Darky's again....8.0 wipe version. But i found the folder for installed apps doesn't deleted even though i do factory reset and wipe everything. So, can i just delete all unrelated folders? yea u can just delete them
ahhon83
Jan 18 2011, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Fornx @ Jan 18 2011, 02:20 PM) yea u can just delete them THX fornz bro...i deleted some of them My sms ringtone prob solved... Sigh...need to restore many apps...
roci
Jan 18 2011, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 18 2011, 12:13 PM) did u press the 3button combo long enough? ... take off battery, then put it back and make sure u press and hold on Volume Down + Home button and power button. Dont let go till screen starts up, some times it might take roughly up to 30secs of holding ... nite guys ...  yeah.. already press long enuf.. but nuthing happen. QUOTE(reehdus @ Jan 18 2011, 12:58 PM) A bricked SGS will just show this image no matter how many times u try to reboot it:  if your one of the lucky one's whose 3 button download mode/recovery mode works...u can get into recovery mode and do a factory reset...or download mode and reflash another firmware with odin. If the combo buttons don't work, then you either need to do the jig thingy or take it back to samsung. I took mine back to samsung and got it reflashed at no charge. (You will lose all data though). Apparently bricking the phone is quite common with people trying to update from Eclair to Froyo using Kies (according to the ppl there). Another scenario is when the phone is able to boot into the SGS opening screen (showing the 'S'), but turns off after that. In this case you can try downloading adb from the net onto ur computer, plug in ur SGS, boot it up, navigate to the adb folder using command prompt and typing in 'adb reboot recovery'. This should force the phone into recovery mode where u can do a factory reset. I have not tried this, but I assume it should work  Hope this helps. my case is different.. the bootanimation keeps on flyin with one time vibrate then two time vibrate.. dun kno what really happen.. maybe just send back to samsung thanks guyss
lch78
Jan 18 2011, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2011, 04:01 PM) yeah.. already press long enuf.. but nuthing happen. my case is different.. the bootanimation keeps on flyin with one time vibrate then two time vibrate.. dun kno what really happen.. maybe just send back to samsung thanks guyss The jig don't work?
roci
Jan 18 2011, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 18 2011, 03:10 PM) vr leceh to do the jiq unless i already have one in hand rite now..
angel-girl
Jan 18 2011, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2011, 03:15 PM) vr leceh to do the jiq unless i already have one in hand rite now..  i think ur phone just turns into massage machine.still can c the boot anime rite?u probably can download any firmware from samfirmware and then flash it using by odin via recovery mode.or ur set is a locked set?