5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

alvinz
post Jan 10 2011, 05:53 PM

832 posts

reporting in~! .. woohooo ! ...
alvinz
post Jan 10 2011, 05:58 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Jan 10 2011, 05:53 PM)
darky's 8.1.. when r u coming T_T
wont be that soon, darky says he will slowly on updating and focus on fixing bugs .. so far other than lockscreen wallpaper, dont see any other bugs ..

btw, read from previous thread, someone talking about speedmod kernel? ... dunno wat install normal way? the normal way he means i think is install through odin, and speedmod have CWM integrated so u dont have to reinstall CWM ...

it is recommended to read the whole 1st page of any thread/mods before doing anything, prevention is better than cure .. dont cry telling us ur phone wont boot up, because u didnt read the FAQ or ask here icon_rolleyes.gif ....

alvinz
post Jan 10 2011, 11:07 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(waiwcw @ Jan 10 2011, 10:41 PM)
juz wanna to ask....did DXJPA or DXJPE have chinese handwriting??
thanks...
yes both has it, both firmware are official asia firmware ...

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Jan 10 2011, 10:48 PM)
Not sluggish if you apply voodoo laugh.gif

Hey guise. Today I got 1day, 16hrs of standby time , and that's with the stock rom LUL (xx hrs of Angry Birds, prolly an hr of talktime, lost of SMSes, wifi on and off quite a number of times). I ono, with it being a powerful phone , and considering 4 inch screen, I expected less.. and it seems my Galaxy S has done well! laugh.gif Hope that I can see even better battery life as I continue using this laugh.gif
stock rom? ... best i got was 74hrs on DXJG4 and around 50hrs on DXJPA .... now on darky's v8, lazy measure also as long as it can last me the whole day while i am outside thumbup.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(kcwo @ Jan 10 2011, 11:04 PM)
I still prefer stick to offical update as I use the phone as my portable laptop to access company email when I at site. So the phone must be stable. I know the avantage of root but saw you all post some hiccup some rooting or custom rom. Pretty sceptical. What to do, wait lo....Saw my brother IP4 so smooth, kind itchy. But SGS can bluetooth and direct usb to window, linux help me a lot in my work!
no hiccups or anything at my side and i am very sure most of us here doesnt have either ... some had hiccups coz they dont explore and research 1st, get phone straight jump to flashing ... gotta learn to walk then only run ma, test on official firmware to get a self opinion/benchmark at the same time read up, then only start the flashing game but of course, some ppl are faster learners thus 2nd week already flashing like a pro .. wink.gif

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 10 2011, 11:10 PM
alvinz
post Jan 10 2011, 11:19 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Jan 10 2011, 11:12 PM)
yeah true, no probs here also..

can still rmb i started flashing kernels.. den oni hv the guts to flash custom roms  laugh.gif
same here .. took me some time to read up everything here and at xda, heck, i started even before i get the phone .. laugh.gif
for those who prefers to stay on official rom, i recommend flashing speedmod kernel by hardcore ... apply the tweaks and u r good to go, if u still feel sluggish then apply lagfix (all integrated in the kernel) ...

btw, to those saying their phone is sluggish ... wat do u guys compare with? wanted to ask this especially to those who straight away flash after getting the phone ...
alvinz
post Jan 11 2011, 05:57 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 10 2011, 11:19 PM)

user posted imageuser posted image
Wah! how u all get tat long? I get 12 hours at best. btw, I have wifi drainig issue. Using DXJPA wifi modules but still 99% wifi on battery history since 3days ago. Wat are you guys' configuration?
mine also same as below, results was few months back ... now i doubt i can achieve those status .. haha
QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Jan 10 2011, 11:35 PM)
HAHA nice " Y U " meme laugh.gif laugh.gif

I have no idea. I'm just using it as how the phone allows me, not much configuration. Probably currently, I'm turning off auto sync and brightness is set to the lowest (at yet it glimmers like noone business, auto sync turned off because my data plan isn't activated yet =.=' ) But that's about it, for everything else, I'm using normally, angry birds, ebook , swiping left and right for no reason, an hr+ of calls, sms almost the whole day.
QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Jan 11 2011, 01:17 AM)
i think all seams easy. only step one is confusing. what do u mean install any eclair rom?

my current rom is JPJPJ, and CSC and MODEM are also something different (middle east firmware)
my best way is, flash to Speedmod kernel ... download Darky's v8 wipe version ...install through CWM (speedmod kernel have cwm integrated) .. viola!

QUOTE(eetony @ Jan 11 2011, 02:05 AM)
hi, may i know how to add chinese language for JPY 2.2.1?
go market, search for google pinyin ... once installed go into Settings, Text menu, check the tick box beside google pinyin .. viola! u can now use chinese input ... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Jan 11 2011, 03:20 AM)
ok guys, im done for tonight. bought my galaxy S, flashed to XXJPY, installed darkys 8. and few languages. now i need to get some good cover for it. smile.gif
u didnt even take time to test out and do some self benchmark on official firmware? ... know some of the basics 1st ma ...

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 11 2011, 05:06 AM)
Supercurio released Voodoo sound app on market. He's working on Voodoo kernel that would work with Voodoo sound. Hope it's coming very soon.

http://qrcode.kaywa.com/img.php?s=6&d=mark...3Dprojectvoodoo
eagerly waiting for it.. hehe ... wonder wats the difference with hardcore's sound/voice settings ... hmm.gif

Added on January 11, 2011, 6:00 amseriously, i love and support this thread!! ..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=739006

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 11 2011, 06:00 AM
alvinz
post Jan 11 2011, 06:20 PM

832 posts

go into ur Application, search for an app named "Circular Battery Indicator" , select it then tap on ur Menu touch key, tap on Close ... if u dont have this menu, ur battery indicator app seems corrupted haunted!
alvinz
post Jan 11 2011, 06:23 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(chris7524 @ Jan 11 2011, 06:21 PM)
u r late ... freakyfingers already posted it few pages back ... laugh.gif
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 01:22 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Jan 11 2011, 10:04 PM)
Tried z4root still at 3e.

How do i return to 2e when I can't install anything in recovery?

Does that mean you guys are on 2e?
errr ... root has ntg to do with 2e or 3e .. wat u need is CWM, once u get that u can flash any zip files .... simple as that, no need find root la flash back eclair la etc ...

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 11 2011, 10:19 PM)
It isn't related. Thus what is the purpose of the the wording "Gingerbread Edition" in the title? I don't think I can get an answer from him.
I have nothing against his rom. I just do not like the person.
he is the first one to implement a gingerbread theme, therefore he somewhat able to put in the Gingerbread Edition. Its up to him to put the title, just like how u put ur nickname/alias or watever name u prefer, i cant go saying y u put gmhafiz, doesnt even sound like a name but rather a fake right? get the point?

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 12 2011, 01:07 AM)
I meant the video guide as a compliment, nothing wrong with it wink.gif The same as my second point.

I'm not pissed. I cringe. The wording gingerbread edition can confuse new users into thinking it a gingerbread version. In the first post, he puts up a screenshot with 2.3.1 firmware version. That, IMO is wrong. You can have fun cooking the rom, adding themes, mod, addons but not

FYI, he once offended docrambone but he took back his statement and apologized. I didn't think darkyy meant to hurt him. Maybe doc was a bit sensitive  laugh.gif

True, more kernels & rom = more fun. I find that docs's and darkyy's thread has too much chatter and is hard to keep up with all the post. I use insanity because it works well, light and is very fast without lagfix even when I underclock to 800mhz.

There's plenty of other roms to try, each that will suit different individual best. More choices the better. That's why we like android and not iOS  wink.gif

p/s I just recently discovered that lowyat has v12 thread of sgs, today actually! that's very commendable rclxms.gif Looks like there are plenty of sgs users in msia.
That the y new users have to read up and do some research... i am totally getting annoyed at those new users 1st day get their phone then start flashing, then come here find solutions while FAQ sections have already stated them.. anything new has to start from scratch, no one can start running without learning how to walk and that applies in every expect of life and things around it ...
through all your post, u r just bias towards him + some rants of his title.. lol
back at wat u said, everyone have their own taste in rom ..and btw, there was once in darky's webchat, r64 helped to reorganize and modify darky's theme to perfect it, so darky didnt use r64's theme but rather have r64's modification in it ...

Added on January 12, 2011, 1:24 am
QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 01:13 AM)
Actually, if u flipped back v11 v10 v9 u'll find the users pretty much the same brows.gif
yea .. all same ppl spamming tongue.gif + newbies came ask simple questions and poof* gone ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 12 2011, 01:24 AM
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 01:41 AM

832 posts

1st in page 12!! .. yay XP
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 02:15 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 12 2011, 02:02 AM)
Correct. One doesn't really know for sure if it is fake right? Who know, maybe it is my real name biggrin.gif

But, we do know that putting gingerbread in the title will cause some confusion. At least one person has admitted as much. Putting up a screenshot saying it is 2.3.1 and editting the build.prop to say it is 2.3.1 are not helping and is wrong. I don't know the reason why but it doesn't sound like a fun thing putting fake version into the rom.

It is not a rant, but an objective view on his decision to call it 2.3.1 and telling people to "[just accept it as it is]"
My point exactly.
p/s doc's rom is not magical in any way and trasig's voodoo v666 kernel is not related to voodoo or you-know-what. But you know how noobs can be - WHERE CAN I HAS MAGIC ROMMMMM????

What's up with the sensationalist title? Xda is not the daily mail or fox news!
confusing or not, a name is a name, same as a title ... its up to the creator to name it, just like nicknames in forum .. as an admin u cant implement a rule that says must your real name otherwise u can post anything, heck no one will even touch that forum ...
newbies should read up, and eventually will know there is no 2.3.1 and 2.3 has just only been officially released 2 months back .. darky has the right to change and make anything to his own rom .. using it or understanding it, is totally up to the users ... users like the one 2 pages back asking is froyo2.2 is out, should read and review more about android before proceeding to a phone with it ..

y not u try and go tell ur grandparents, hey gran, u wanna use an apple? i can buy one for u ... if its my granny, she would say no and says she doesnt even know how to start it but i am sure for some granny will smack u in the head and says hey boy, apple to eat not to play ... hope u get all the metaphors tongue.gif

xda is no daily mail nor fox news .. its developer's heaven to communicate with each other and also to users .. putting attractive title is to make users go in and read thus may lead to become beta testers ... just like Insanity's rom, 1st time i read i would be like "wow man, this must be an insane rom, lets check it out" .. what happen if nitr8 puts "Moded Rom for SGS", i can estimate 60% of the readers wouldnt be bother to click on the thread link ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 12 2011, 02:20 AM
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 03:52 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 12 2011, 02:42 AM)
True, the creator is free to name it into any name of his/her choosing. It is not against forum rule. But why make a misleading name? All others made sensational name too but at least they do not edit build.prop to 2.3.1 and tell users to just accept it as it is.

Apple claimed osx to be the most advanced os in the world. It is true to a certain market. But is it for me? No it isn't. At least Apple's claim is true to a certain extent.

However, darkyy's rom is not 2.3.1.

Don't take this personally. I got your metaphor but what's up with referring to a granny and smack in the head? I expect an intelligent dialog. You are welcomed to use other metaphor.

Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif

edit: you can put an attractive title, but not a misleading one and certainly not a false screenshot.
y u expect an intelligent dialog? .. internet forums arent for intelligent dialog nor formal debates of such, if u wan one go organize a media live talk tongue.gif.
Its just to make a laugh, if u cant take a joke then this proof u r just like doc, over sensitive.. No one have to scream out loud if one doesnt understand, let alone taking a joke ..
Insanity rom aint as great, aint insane at all, why put such misleading name? its just an easy strip down of the original with basic stuff implemented yet y so misleading as insane? ..

hmm.gif, err i guess u posted ur iOS apple stuff at the wrong section, or maybe over intelligent i guess? .. laugh.gif

anyway, u have decided on darky is misleading and no matter wat other says u will still think darky is misleading, so no use posting misleading or wat sort, use ur efforts to help newbies and tell them to use search function instead, go XDA and open a new topic Darky is misleading everyone with gingerbread title and 2.3.1 screenshot save up the spamming space here since we have posting limits to 2500posts ... all i care is its good, smooth, user friend and best of all, i dont have to create my own rom thumbup.gif

Added on January 12, 2011, 3:55 am
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:46 AM)
lol lol... alvinz n gmhafiz, chill chill.. take it to the rom chef.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=814091

btw, i am listening to his interview, his name apparently is joe Joël . well, the interview wasn't exciting, interviewers know nothing about android. wth.
user posted imageY SO STUPEED!
LOL .... listening to it too ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 12 2011, 03:55 AM
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 06:02 AM

832 posts

all spamming ... hehe tongue.gif

alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 07:19 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 12 2011, 06:56 AM)
user posted imageY U NO SLEEP?!
Y NO SAME TIMEZONIE?!user posted image

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 12 2011, 07:26 AM
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 07:38 AM

832 posts

user posted imageever since came to this far far away land ... lonely .....

going to do some studies now.. user posted image

whistling.gif

alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 08:06 AM

832 posts

i am in UK now .. not to say forever alone la, just that everyone have different lifestyle .. i miss 2am mamak!
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 09:54 AM

832 posts

cool idea with the sd card + salsa wood and super glue .. lol
alvinz
post Jan 12 2011, 08:27 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 12 2011, 05:06 PM)
My whole point is that you guys should try other roms besides darkyy. I know it is popular amongst you guys. If you don't try, you won't know what you are missing. For example, during pre-froyo days, OCLF was amazing, it eliminates the lag(it didn't actually) and I got >2200 quadrant score. When various optimized kernel came, I realized how slow OCLF can be. IMO doc's rom has been the most innovative one. everyone else copied kalpik's method of flashing.

I expect an intelligent dialog because this is not a kopitiam thread lah. I think you are missing my point and didn't read my reply properly. Well it was 4am when you replied right? I didn't use caps lock, no mention of iOS here biggrin.gif

tl;dr Don't hold to one custom rom too dearly. Try other roms with an open mind.
I have no bias against him, all nitr8, darkyy, doc use misleading title. some people in insanity thread can be too elitist and unforgiving to noobs. But only darkyy uses 2.3.1 in the screenshot. That is false advertisement.

And there is no spamming. I think my arguments are pretty objective.
That's handy to know. I always disable lagfix and tweaks because they say it is better to be safe than sorry.
i am from a different timezone so no matter how early msia is, its still before bedtime for me. wink.gif so i am well awake of all ur posts, maybe not this one since i just got up.. yawn.gif
how did u know we didnt try other roms? not sure about the new guys but most of us here were on doc's last time, i have even tried insanity but got too used to some samsung apps and touchwiz so i switched back and forth to others ... have u tried the DXJPE custom rom? i sure did .... u cant look at some newbie samples here and generalize others in the whole population. I have even created my own custom rom but failed miserably due to laziness and my gf pro in linux refuses to help me tongue.gif

kopitiam or not, its still an internet forum, furthermore its LYN, ppl come here to relax ... even for me from a different timezone comes here to spam and be able to chat freely when our own m'sian typing/language... this gives me a good feel as foreigners sometimes doesnt even understand if i speak too m'sian-ish.

U have already decided darky is very misleading, thus no matter wat others opinion is, u have already set him as misleading.. look back through ur posts, u might not be able to realize but i am sure other readers have ... u just remind me of someone who came asking me wat brand of laptop is good, but her head already have decided a certain brand and when i recommend she keep say her decided brand is better and less problematic ...

anyway, sad to say.. my opinions/argument are not intelligent for u.... best to keep quiet as mine r totally not objective enough, and i bet no one will reply to ur post anyway ... biggrin.gif

alvinz
post Jan 13 2011, 02:21 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(xedi @ Jan 13 2011, 01:57 AM)
Now I'm on DXJPE with speedmod k12i..
planning to flash to darky 8.0 no wipe version..

so what I have to do is:
1. download darky's room and copy to the internal sd card..
2. go into CWM..
3. install zip from sd..
4. reboot..

that's right??
will the product code or CSC be affected?
Did u know speedmod have superuser(root) integrated? .. guess u didnt really read the 1st post before flashing eh...
here is the link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=822756
some tips, read the FOR BEGINNERS: section in the 1st post .. wink.gif
btw, u outdate la .. now already k12L-beta version .. u can try k12k stable if u dont wan beta thumbup.gif

addon: forgotten to answer ur question, yes ur steps are correct .. simple and easy! take note there r alot of other roms to try, dont get misled by gingerbread edition and screenshot of 2.3.1 tongue.gif ... its still Froyo 2.2.1 with base XXJPY europe version, therefore ur CSC will be changed but product code will stay intact ... remember to backup ur efs folder, and something not confirm, when u flash in CWM, dont not plug in charger, i have read months back most ppl lost their imei and product code due to plugged in flashing with CWM, well better be safe than sorry ... make sure battery is full as well .. good luck thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 13 2011, 02:26 AM
alvinz
post Jan 13 2011, 06:40 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 13 2011, 06:35 AM)
yep,everything is fine here. what's the problem? share the details please.  smile.gif
so early ! good morning wink.gif
yea he need to explain in more details ...
alvinz
post Jan 13 2011, 07:53 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 13 2011, 06:47 AM)
what time is it in UK right now? in egypt, its 0050 a.m, so still no more sleep for me. LOL
oh u also from another timezone! .. yay, i am not alone .. lol ..
as of now, its 11.52pm .. havent even reach 12am yet .. hehe smile.gif

Added on January 13, 2011, 9:13 am
QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 13 2011, 06:47 AM)
what time is it in UK right now? in egypt, its 0050 a.m, so still no more sleep for me. LOL
bro, latest stable version speedmod is out! .. K12L i think now fully integrated voodoo sound fix v1 ... hehe
gonna try it, was studying half way but cant tahan check online .. haha ... gonna try voodoo sound later when i wake up .. hehe

link for K12L !!

flashed ... do i need to get Voodoo App from market? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 13 2011, 09:27 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:15 PM