7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

gmhafiz
post Jan 11 2011, 09:50 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

Seems like the majority of people here uses darkyy's rom. I can see why his rom is popular.
First, he puts the word gingerbread in the title post. Many users can be mislead into thinking that the rom is gingerbread 2.3.1
Secondly, he pre-installs themes and icons. It looks beautiful out of box.
Thirdly, he has got a video on how to install it.
He has improved a lot since he first started making his rom - made by copying doc-kalpik's base rom. However, I cringe everytime I look at his v8 changelog:
Changed Android Version to 2.3.1 [just accept it as it is]
Seriously??? It looks as if he is desperate.

As for me, I prefer doc's rom and occasionally I install insanity rom because I like a minimalistic rom. I also feel more comfortable installing rom from experienced rom cooker. doc's kitchen is very handy to cook my own rom too.

The speed of the rom largely contributed by the kernel like speedmod, super-optimized, ya-ok, trasig, etc while signal&gps depends on the modem. Thus the differences between roms are how bugs are squashed and how they are supported, etc.

I now use insanity. It is very stripped down and I dictate what I want to include in the rom. gingerbread keyboard (which works brilliantly) handily beats samsung keyboard hands down.

In you opinion, what made you choose darkyy. Also, have you tried other roms besides it?
gmhafiz
post Jan 11 2011, 10:19 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jan 11 2011, 09:57 PM)
it was never related to gingerbread on the title post nor the 2.3.1 thing..
most of us here know it just 2.2.1 and he not desperate bout it i think, maybe he just a kid like to play around..who know? at least he knew how to customize rom.
It isn't related. Thus what is the purpose of the the wording "Gingerbread Edition" in the title? I don't think I can get an answer from him.
I have nothing against his rom. I just do not like the person.
gmhafiz
post Jan 11 2011, 10:48 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Jan 11 2011, 10:28 PM)
Thanks bro,

Finally get rid of 3e i guess since I'm able to enter ClockWorkMod to do backup.

Just helping my fren out, which rom do you prefer? Darky's v8.0 Gingerbread?
I prefer insanity rom. But you should try darkyy or doc's rom.

darkyy has a video. If you are a first timer, it is easier to learn how to install a rom.
doc's has a kitchen, you can customize what you want to include in the rom before installing

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:30 PM)
Cos he and a few others made the theme and he's the first one to implement Gingerbread look-a-like theme in his rom.
C'mon be happy tat we have more choices of good custom roms out there. At least he's satisfying his users/fans by making it easier to install and all.
Considering he now uses R64 theme, there's no point of putting the word gingerbread in the title. I agree that the more custom roms are the better. However, I look forward to kernel hacks more than custom roms. There was a point in when there were more kernel hacks than the number of roms available. Personally, I am excited with supercurio's latest kernel biggrin.gif

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:34 PM)
Hey guys, I can't get a smooth configuration. I NEED LIVE WALLPAPER. That's the point I get android. But most of the LWPs tend to slow down the phone. Crap. I get smooth homescreen scrolling with Launcher pro but scrolling in application drawer is choppy. ishh... what launcher u all use? ADW/Zeam or Touchwiz?
I use LP and touchwiz GTG. Try go launcher as well. Zeam seems like the lightest among all.

You might want to overclock your phone. Just flash a kernel of your choosing.
gmhafiz
post Jan 11 2011, 11:15 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:53 PM)
Ok thanks. Will try plume widget. But I am looking for both twitter and facebook in one widget and can status update both at the same time. Can't seem to find. LP widget is the best.

Lol, he still uses his theme but with R64's notification bar. Ya kernel seems to make a lot of difference. By far speedmod and voodoo are the only stable ones. I don't like to  OC, seems unstable and certain games will freeze. Ok trying zeam now.
Have you tried Tweetdeck? It supports both twitter and facebook as well as google buzz and foursquare. It has a widget as well but it is not scrollable. Plume's widget is a nicer eye candy.

I actually underclock to 800mhz. Seems very smooth too. This is w/o lagfix & live wallpaper. The speedmod kernel is actively developed and is very reliable. IMO, the same can be said about laststufo's kernel too.

Anyhow, what modem are you guys using? Do you know which one gives the best wireless and gps signal?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 11 2011, 11:16 PM
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 01:07 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 12:33 AM)
I choose Darky bcoz I like the gingerbread theme and black colour tone. He's not popular just bcoz of 2.3.1. we, who follows those roms know that it's not the real Gingerbread. And users shouldn't be thinking that it's Gingerbread coz it's not even available for our phone yet.

The video is uploaded by users not he himself I think. It's there to guide people, what's wrong? blink.gif

Every one of us here is desperate for the real Gingerbread. 2.3.1 is just him having some fun and trying to make the rom looks like a Gingerbread. Why should u be pissed with that?? He's not offending anyone. I mean, there's nothing wrong, is there??

Every rom is different and targeted at different users. just like how phones are targeted at people with different market segments. some may like Dco's rom, like how u want to choose what to install in ur rom, but some will prefer Darky's or even others. Darky cooks his own rom with themes to be shared with the community, lke how Ultimate rom is. If all of them make rom like Doc and Insanity, there won't be lots of varieties.

Just appreciate that they make more choices for us. More roms/kernels = more fun. And yes, I've tried Doc's rom before. it's my first custom rom too btw. Cheers smile.gif
I meant the video guide as a compliment, nothing wrong with it wink.gif The same as my second point.

I'm not pissed. I cringe. The wording gingerbread edition can confuse new users into thinking it a gingerbread version. In the first post, he puts up a screenshot with 2.3.1 firmware version. That, IMO is wrong. You can have fun cooking the rom, adding themes, mod, addons but not by editing build.prop into 2.3.1

FYI, he once offended docrambone but he took back his statement and apologized. I didn't think darkyy meant to hurt him. Maybe doc was a bit sensitive laugh.gif

True, more kernels & rom = more fun. I find that docs's and darkyy's thread has too much chatter and is hard to keep up with all the post. I use insanity because it works well, light and is very fast without lagfix even when I underclock to 800mhz.

There's plenty of other roms to try, each that will suit different individual best. More choices the better. That's why we like android and not iOS wink.gif

p/s I just recently discovered that lowyat has v12 thread of sgs, today actually! that's very commendable rclxms.gif Looks like there are plenty of sgs users in msia.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 12 2011, 01:11 AM
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 01:26 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 01:13 AM)
New users shld read more before flashing those roms tongue.gif  Yea, Doc's a bit sensitive. he had issues with JimPanse as well I stopped following Doc's thread long ago due to the never ending posts
Actually, if u flipped back v11 v10 v9 u'll find the users pretty much the same brows.gif
doc's thread has become more of a chat room with beta testers teasing users with the next improvements, plus noobs too. darkyy's thread also has too many noobs who refuse to read the frontpage and use a search button. Looks like I'm sticking with insanity for a while. There were less chatter anyway.

I got bored with greenish theme. I am now using generation x theme. IMO it is very clean and beautiful.
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 02:02 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 12 2011, 01:22 AM)
he is the first one to implement a gingerbread theme, therefore he somewhat able to put in the Gingerbread Edition. Its up to him to put the title, just like how u put ur nickname/alias or watever name u prefer, i cant go saying y u put gmhafiz, doesnt even sound like a name but rather a fake right? get the point?
That the y new users have to read up and do some research... i am totally getting annoyed at those new users 1st day get their phone then start flashing, then come here find solutions while FAQ sections have already stated them.. anything new has to start from scratch, no one can start running without learning how to walk and that applies in every expect of life and things around it ...
through all your post, u r just bias towards him + some rants of his title.. lol
back at wat u said, everyone have their own taste in rom ..and btw, there was once in darky's webchat, r64 helped to reorganize and modify darky's theme to perfect it, so darky didnt use r64's theme but rather have r64's modification in it ...

Added on January 12, 2011, 1:24 am
yea .. all same ppl spamming  tongue.gif  + newbies came ask simple questions and poof* gone ...
Correct. One doesn't really know for sure if it is fake right? Who know, maybe it is my real name biggrin.gif

But, we do know that putting gingerbread in the title will cause some confusion. At least one person has admitted as much. Putting up a screenshot saying it is 2.3.1 and editting the build.prop to say it is 2.3.1 are not helping and is wrong. I don't know the reason why but it doesn't sound like a fun thing putting fake version into the rom.

It is not a rant, but an objective view on his decision to call it 2.3.1 and telling people to "[just accept it as it is]"

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jan 12 2011, 01:28 AM)
On that I agree. it was quite confusing when I saw gingerbread edition. I was thinking, that was quick ! then realize it wasnt!  cry.gif  shocking.gif  anyways WP7 is better than ios too (soon) !
My point exactly.

p/s doc's rom is not magical in any way and trasig's voodoo v666 kernel is not related to voodoo or you-know-what. But you know how noobs can be - WHERE CAN I HAS MAGIC ROMMMMM????

What's up with the sensationalist title? Xda is not the daily mail or fox news!
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 02:42 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 12 2011, 02:15 AM)
confusing or not, a name is a name, same as a title ... its up to the creator to name it, just like nicknames in forum .. as an admin u cant implement a rule that says must your real name otherwise u can post anything, heck no one will even touch that forum ...
newbies should read up, and eventually will know there is no 2.3.1 and 2.3 has just only been officially released 2 months back .. darky has the right to change and make anything to his own rom .. using it or understanding it is up totally up the users ... users like 2pages back asking is froyo2.2 is out, should read and review more about android before proceeding to a phone with it ..

y not u try and go tell ur grandparents, hey gran, u wanna use an apple? i can buy one for u ... if its my granny, she would say no and says she doesnt even know how to start it but i am sure for some granny will smack u in the head and says hey boy, apple to eat not to play ... hope u get all the metaphors tongue.gif

xda is no daily mail nor fox news .. its developer's heaven to communicate with each other and also to users .. putting attractive title is to make users go in and read thus may lead to become beta testers ... just like Insanity's rom, 1st time i read i would be like "wow man, this must be an insane rom, lets check it out" .. what happen if nitr8 puts "Moded Rom for SGS", i can estimate 60% of the readers wouldnt be bother to click on the thread link ...
True, the creator is free to name it into any name of his/her choosing. It is not against forum rule. But why make a misleading name? All others made sensational name too but at least they do not edit build.prop to 2.3.1 and tell users to just accept it as it is.

Apple claimed osx to be the most advanced os in the world. It is true to a certain market. But is it for me? No it isn't. At least Apple's claim is true to a certain extent.

However, darkyy's rom is not 2.3.1.

Don't take this personally. I got your metaphor but what's up with referring to a granny and smack in the head? I expect an intelligent dialog. You are welcomed to use other metaphor.

Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

edit: you can put an attractive title, but not a misleading one and certainly not a false screenshot.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 12 2011, 03:00 AM
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 05:06 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 12 2011, 03:52 AM)
y u expect an intelligent dialog? .. internet forums arent for intelligent dialog nor formal debates of such, if u wan one go organize a media live talk tongue.gif.
Its just to make a laugh, if u cant take a joke then this proof u r just like doc, over sensitive.. No one have to scream out loud if one doesnt understand, let alone taking a joke ..
Insanity rom aint as great, aint insane at all, why put such misleading name? its just an easy strip down of the original with basic stuff implemented yet y so misleading as insane? ..

hmm.gif, err i guess u posted ur iOS apple stuff at the wrong section, or maybe over intelligent i guess? .. laugh.gif

anyway, u have decided on darky is misleading and no matter wat other says u will still think darky is misleading, so no use posting misleading or wat sort, use ur efforts to help newbies and tell them to use search function instead, go XDA and open a new topic Darky is misleading everyone with gingerbread title and 2.3.1 screenshot save up the spamming space here since we have posting limits to 2500posts ... all i care is its good, smooth, user friend and best of all, i dont have to create my own rom thumbup.gif
My whole point is that you guys should try other roms besides darkyy. I know it is popular amongst you guys. If you don't try, you won't know what you are missing. For example, during pre-froyo days, OCLF was amazing, it eliminates the lag(it didn't actually) and I got >2200 quadrant score. When various optimized kernel came, I realized how slow OCLF can be. IMO doc's rom has been the most innovative one. everyone else copied kalpik's method of flashing.

I expect an intelligent dialog because this is not a kopitiam thread lah. I think you are missing my point and didn't read my reply properly. Well it was 4am when you replied right? I didn't use caps lock, no mention of iOS here biggrin.gif

tl;dr Don't hold to one custom rom too dearly. Try other roms with an open mind.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 09:29 AM)
omg, y the flame on darky.. lol..
I have no bias against him, all nitr8, darkyy, doc use misleading title. some people in insanity thread can be too elitist and unforgiving to noobs. But only darkyy uses 2.3.1 in the screenshot. That is false advertisement.

And there is no spamming. I think my arguments are pretty objective.

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:20 PM)
I never disable lagfix, either from voodoo from speedmod from super optimised kernel from ya ok or from raspdeep, any kernel I flash, I don't disable lagfix nor tweaks beforehand. But I do wipe cache and dalvik cache before flashing new kernel.

Added on January 12, 2011, 3:22 pmHey guys, before Supercurio completes his work, try this out! Hopefully it works. The korean counterparts says it's fantastic. Trying it out now. Just sharing:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=909801
That's handy to know. I always disable lagfix and tweaks because they say it is better to be safe than sorry.
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 05:32 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:15 PM)
Better you  read this thread from V1 until now, then you will get  your answer... sweat.gif
I have no time to read all that sweat.gif But I think I know what you are trying to say. No wonder sgs got v12 thread.

I have a few comments on the FAQ:

How do you get your PC to recognise the Galaxy S?
I was also asking myself this as well. After reading the User Manual, for the first time, I found out you have to down “Samsung Kies”, which is a 140MB program, that allows you to sync stuff to your phone, as well as allowing wired tethering. This is the stupidest move by Samsung, 140MB just to get your Galaxy S to mount it’s internal and external memory to your PC. Which leads on to the next question..

I have hosted “Kies” locally for you guys if you want to download it faster: Download Kies

Kies is not mandatory, can just download samsung usb driver. If you are on linux, just plug it in and it just works!

What are custom ROMs? How do I get them?

Better to point to http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=886000

My phone takes forever to get a GPS-fix? Is there a solution to this problem?

There's an app called Faster Fix. can add that one too.

I am experiencing long loading times when opening apps/intermittent lags when switching screens. What is the problem?

Outdated answer. Better to point out to flashing JPX/JPY and optimized kernels

WHAAAA! I think I bricked my phone. My flash was unsuccessful/My device boots to a black screen/similar scenarios. Can I still save my device?

Can add the hairdryer method and the homemade jig method.

When will Froyo be released for my shiny new phone?

change to gingerbread. then point user to cyanogenmod

I'm running Linux. Can I still flash my firmware? Do I need to install windows?

Heimdall can do the flashing
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 06:09 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:58 PM)
I think Koreans are not bad at softwares at all. y samsung y cry.gif

Added on January 12, 2011, 5:59 pm@gmhafiz, maybe u can try to be the TS?? as hihihehe is a bit busy and he's asked if someone can replace him

Added on January 12, 2011, 6:00 pmbtw, Speedmod K12L-T4 integrates Voodoo Sound. still a test though smile.gif
I only recently jumped into this thread. Other active long standing members should be the TS.

SO kernel 4.6.4 also has supercurio's fix included. The music is really loud but is clear and crisp. The voodoo app has an amp!
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 06:51 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(janov @ Jan 12 2011, 06:38 PM)
btw, no one has still replied my query regarding the "Tips : Hidden Word" pop up in swype, it comes out a lot as i type in more words, is there a way to disable it? it really spoils the momentum when i'm typing and it pops up.
I never had this problem. Are you on darkyy's rom? You can try several swype packages he made: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...postcount=14303

You also can try beta swype but you have to remove the swype in your phone first.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 12 2011, 06:52 PM
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 08:00 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 12 2011, 06:52 PM)
It is unremovable. The trick is to delete the first word, then the pop up will not come out..
You need to be rooted to delete swype.apk from /system/app folder. Join the beta swype and get the latest version.

QUOTE(Narako @ Jan 12 2011, 07:21 PM)
hey guys how to fins those live wallpaper that came with samsung?
like the one with the grass where it changes according to time of day
and the one with the leaves falling on the water or something like that
which comes with stock android
I also want this!

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 12 2011, 07:22 PM)
Samsung email not working in Darky V8? How to un-install it then? Nothing shown up in the manage application?!?
Root, and delete email.apk from /system/app. Needs root explorer, adb, or some linux command to perform this.

Is samsung email a push service? I think k9 email is one.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 12 2011, 07:35 PM)
Btw, this Samsung Email and Samsung IM app are not showing in my Manage Application list...??? So I don't know how to remove both...

Added on January 12, 2011, 7:38 pm

The app is still here. You mean to use the Account Sync in settings??

Added on January 12, 2011, 7:40 pmI open samsung email>add accounts and it will forever stuck at "in progress" status..

Added on January 12, 2011, 7:41 pmCould it be due to my product code now is XEE and this samsung email is not intended for XEE countries??
Wait, I'm not aware of samsung IM.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 12 2011, 08:06 PM
gmhafiz
post Jan 12 2011, 11:48 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Jan 12 2011, 08:41 PM)
If you download it from Samsung App. The application called Social Hub. It is registered under manage application as Social Hub ver 7.+++ or it is located under /data/app folder as com.seven.Z7-1.apk

The original Social Hub that's come with firmware called UnifiedInbox.apk in /system/app
No wonder. I never bothered to install unifiedinbox biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jan 12 2011, 09:26 PM)
whats that ? blink.gif  sound ?  EQ as in equalizer? where where!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=909801

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 12 2011, 11:11 PM)
Samsung will oways be the leader in screen tech biggrin.gif
I believe LED is the future. I don't see LCD tech advancing any further than LED will be.
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 12:47 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

I just tested a gingerbread keyboard from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...postcount=28075 Being a fan of the keyboard myself, I am pleased to see that it is working well, together with haptic feedback.

I pushed the gbkb.apk to /system/app. But I think it may work like a normal app if you install by clicking on it in My Files program.

Added on January 13, 2011, 12:51 am
QUOTE(xedi @ Jan 13 2011, 12:40 AM)
so guys.. what method you guys use to root the phone??
just tried z4root.. is not working anymore after updated to dxjpe.. =(
will the CF root work with DXJPE??
For what do you want to root for? As for me, I just install a custom ROM. They come pre-rooted.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 13 2011, 12:51 AM
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 12:56 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 13 2011, 12:53 AM)
Voodoo app is now compatible with almost every kernel. Speedmod, Voodoo, Trasig's Voodoo, Super Optimised Kernel.
I've been using this one for a long time and haptic feedback is working.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=845162
Nice, got different themes. Gonna try it.
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 01:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 13 2011, 01:03 AM)
Im not using any lagfix,should i enable it first or im good to go?
You mean the voodoo app? I am not using any lagfix too. It is working well.
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 01:28 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(xedi @ Jan 13 2011, 01:01 AM)
Cause wan to try the Galaxy Tuned app that freakfingers12 introduced...  tongue.gif
I don't know man, chainfire's thread didn't put DXJPE.

Quick google: http://www.techlivez.com/2010/12/how-to-ro...d-2-2-galaxy-s/ <-- don't know how reliable his advice is

1. You can wait for other member to answer. or
2. If you cannot wait, flash compatible stock kernel like JPY, and then flash the corresponding cf-root.
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 01:47 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(xedi @ Jan 13 2011, 01:40 AM)
but I still havent root my phone yet..
as I dunno which method is working..  rclxub.gif
or maybe is the chance to try all the custom rom..  blush.gif
any big issue on darky 8.0?
- make a backup of your /efs folder using adb. make sure you have 3 button download mode working. Read everything and watch the video on frontpage.
- ask, if you do not understand

Then you should good to go.
gmhafiz
post Jan 13 2011, 02:42 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jan 13 2011, 11:22 AM)
doesnt SGS come with an apps call FM Radio?? y u still need other apps??
Maybe he is in overseas like me and wants to hear to malaysian fm radio on the phone.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 13 2011, 12:24 PM)
besides sound and mic improvements,
- Rear speaker volume increased +1 for media
- Light sensor polling interval changed to 2s instead of 0.5s
  (saves battery, more stable brightness levels)
- Light sensor sensitivity adjusted so that the screen doesn't turn bright so easily
  (saves battery and reduces screen burn)
- Adjustments to IO scheduler Tweak (super smooth now!)
- Changed battery level polling interval to 60 seconds, from 5 seconds

I hardly use FM radio too tongue.gif  but I just flash anyway and install Voodoo app. U'll love the radio after this!! Let others listen to ur radio, it's not a radio anymore. LOL laugh.gif
I am not having a good battery life on SO kernel. I am switching back to hardcore's

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jan 13 2011, 01:26 PM)
Iphone 4 is LCD, right?
Yes, LCD. Apple uses IPS technology owned by hitachi and manufactured by LG. Apply just buy them up, increase the resolution and call it retina display. Sadly, it is not gorilla glass like our sgs has smile.gif

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jan 13 2011, 02:11 PM)
Steve Jobs: "We call it Retina Display" "In which u have to move it near ur retina to see it" biggrin.gif
nice one! what a gimmick

Added on January 13, 2011, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(dejima @ Jan 13 2011, 02:20 PM)
lol i using 256 all the while, so now thinking to use 500~

1 more question...i saw this at the changelog
- Adjustments to IO scheduler Tweak (super smooth now!)

does it mean i have to enable IO scheduler Tweak only will become super smooth?  rclxm9.gif
You can always try both and see the difference.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 13 2011, 02:43 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1239sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:47 AM