4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

help im new to keyboard/piano

Christopher7
post Jan 16 2011, 11:31 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Jan 16 2011, 11:15 PM)
cheaper keyboard do not have touch response, meaning that u cannot control the volume.

as to why sellers sell those is so as to cater to the demand. there are some who just wana hit some notes and will be happy, there are others who seek to put more emotion in their playing. different target audience different budget.

how serious are u in learning? if u are dead serious and even going for classes then there is really no point to get a toy instrument. it will only be a waste of your school fees if you dun have a proper instrument to play on.

secondhands are fine.

before anything else i guess u better spend some time to discover for yourself what you want in your music education and the amount effort you like to put it becoz a good keyboard is not cheap.....
I see. I would put as much effort as possible if i am into it.
I think so far I could only raise a maximum budget of RM1.3k sad.gif
If still it wasn't enough I think the alternative would be getting a second hand unit wink.gif

Added on January 16, 2011, 11:35 pm
QUOTE(liez @ Jan 17 2011, 12:27 AM)
Okay~ thanks bro =)
I think I will check out yamaha soon!

btw, I downloaded some guide from Pianoforall.com
Donno if its useful or not.

Do you mind take a glance at it?

Added on January 16, 2011, 11:42 pmDGX505 this Keyboard looks great.
When buying keyboard, must i get 88 keys? ( long term )

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Jan 16 2011, 11:42 PM
liez
post Jan 16 2011, 11:51 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 16 2011, 11:31 PM)

btw, I downloaded some guide from Pianoforall.com
Donno if its useful or not.

Do you mind take a glance at it?

Added on January 16, 2011, 11:42 pmDGX505 this Keyboard looks great.
When buying keyboard, must i get 88 keys? ( long term )
user posted image user posted image

well...looks not bad at all.. you can try it...My first glance (at the books name sweat.gif ) is taht they gave you introduction to many types of genre a keyboardist should have. well... if RM120+ is not too expensive for you, maybe you can try them.

if you want to play sentimental songs, 88 keys is a must as it opened more options for you to swing/flash your improvisation.

DGX505 sounds not bad....

it says it was designed for piano levels. and it can change the sensitivity from light to heavy....its not too abd for a keyboard but Amazon is selling for about US$540 equivalent of our RM1620+ but overall i will say its not bad, quite good in fact. I opined based on how I look at the video demonstration, so it will be good if you can test out the keyboard yourself. smile.gif
Christopher7
post Jan 16 2011, 11:53 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 17 2011, 12:51 AM)
user posted image user posted image

well...looks not bad at all.. you can try it...My first glance (at the books name sweat.gif ) is taht they gave you introduction to many types of genre a keyboardist should have. well... if RM120+ is not too expensive for you, maybe you can try them.

if you want to play sentimental songs, 88 keys is a must as it opened more options for you to swing/flash your improvisation.

DGX505 sounds not bad....

it says it was designed for piano levels. and it can change the sensitivity from light to heavy....its not too abd for a keyboard but Amazon is selling for about US$540 equivalent of our RM1620+  but overall i will say its not bad, quite good in fact. I opined based on how I look at the video demonstration, so it will be good if you can test out the keyboard yourself.  smile.gif
i actually spent about few hours "downloaded" it sweat.gif
Yeah... I think i might be getting it if i could get more $$ during CNY
or i will need to find a secondhand unit doh.gif

thx!!

Added on January 16, 2011, 11:57 pmThe " performance assist " =.="

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Jan 16 2011, 11:57 PM
liez
post Jan 17 2011, 12:05 AM

1,346 posts

well, good luck and hope you get a really good keyboard and have fun playing the keyboard, coz it really does thumbup.gif
christellia
post Jan 17 2011, 12:09 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 16 2011, 11:27 PM)
well you started your question and ask someone recommended you piano instead of keyboard....Thats why I tried to distinguised between keyboard and piano to you....They are not really the same thing in a technical term... so these words arent suppose to sue interchangeably but piano can do what a keyboard does and same goes to the keyboard.
my worst technique is playing stuff like Chopin Etude Op10-3 where it required 4th and 5th fingers of the right hand to play the melody but the 1st and 2nd of the same hand to play accompaniment...taht makes 1 hand to play 2 parts.... have to practice alot to control it....and it happened to quite some songs too.  laugh.gif
That is singing the top note smile.gif Put more arm weight on the 4th and 5th fingers and curve more. 4th and 5th fingers are the weak fingers. That is why it is not easy. Maybe you can try these :

1.Get extension and lateral finger exercise to practice which involve legato inner note or outer note.
2.Play the piece with legato for your outer note but detached your inner note. Right hand part only. Listen to the outer note and sound them. Softer for inner note.
Christopher7
post Jan 17 2011, 12:11 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 17 2011, 01:05 AM)
well, good luck and hope you get a really good keyboard and have fun playing the keyboard, coz it really does thumbup.gif
Thankss!! I hope to get one soon!
Having final exams but Keyboard distracted me~~
liez
post Jan 17 2011, 12:30 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(christellia @ Jan 17 2011, 12:09 AM)
That is singing the top note smile.gif  Put more arm weight on the 4th and 5th fingers and curve more. 4th and 5th fingers are the weak fingers. That is why it is not easy. Maybe you can try these :

1.Get extension and lateral finger exercise to practice which involve legato inner note or outer note.
2.Play the piece with legato for your outer note but detached your inner note. Right hand part only. Listen to the outer note and sound them. Softer for inner note.
Thanks mate, I am still training my ring and pinky finger's strength because both the fingers are too reckless now. Thanks anyway. smile.gif

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 17 2011, 12:11 AM)
Welcome and all the best to your final exam. laugh.gif
SUSmhb
post Jan 17 2011, 01:49 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

QUOTE(mhb @ Jan 16 2011, 07:53 PM)
Guys,

Do you guys who have keyboard happen to hav this problem where the speakers produce constant humming buzz?

The buzz sounds like a static and would go away the second a note is played, but then when nothing is played it sounds again. It even sounds during the time gap between notes.

How could I fix this? sweat.gif

P/s - My keyboard is an old cheapo Casio LK series.
Anyone care to help me on this?

Pretty please? blush.gif
jady
post Jan 17 2011, 02:13 AM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

QUOTE(mhb @ Jan 17 2011, 01:49 AM)
Anyone care to help me on this?

Pretty please? blush.gif
I think it's better to contact the shop or direct contact casio. send back to them for service.
SUSmhb
post Jan 17 2011, 02:15 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

QUOTE(jady @ Jan 17 2011, 02:13 AM)
I think it's better to contact the shop or direct contact casio. send back to them for service.
I'm afraid that would cost quite a hassle in term of time and money also.

If anyone of you hav experience this before, maybe you could provide me some help? sweat.gif
Christopher7
post Jan 17 2011, 02:19 AM

1,044 posts

I believe you might be able to get some ideas by Googling
"Electronic keyboard humming sound"
felixyukito
post Jan 17 2011, 04:58 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Jan 16 2011, 10:15 PM)
cheaper keyboard do not have touch response, meaning that u cannot control the volume.

as to why sellers sell those is so as to cater to the demand. there are some who just wana hit some notes and will be happy, there are others who seek to put more emotion in their playing. different target audience different budget.

how serious are u in learning? if u are dead serious and even going for classes then there is really no point to get a toy instrument. it will only be a waste of your school fees if you dun have a proper instrument to play on.

secondhands are fine.

before anything else i guess u better spend some time to discover for yourself what you want in your music education and the amount effort you like to put it becoz a good keyboard is not cheap.....
Yea, that's very true.. a cheap keyboard is something like those toy you pull out from Toy 'R Us. get something decent if you insist on keyboard, i would say go for a 2nd hand piano around 8k to 12k. You wont regret getting a piano in the end. Cuz i've learnt piano before, and i can play keyboard, organ , piano or whatever with white keys and black keys on it... anywhere..

ps: Don't look or try on a Grand Piano.. is addictive.. =S
liez
post Jan 17 2011, 06:29 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 17 2011, 12:11 AM)
just helping you, I saw someone selling on the forum...maybe you can try to inquire/nego with him.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1693522&hl=piano

QUOTE(felixyukito @ Jan 17 2011, 04:58 AM)
Yea, that's very true.. a cheap keyboard is something like those toy you pull out from Toy 'R Us. get something decent if you insist on keyboard, i would say go for a 2nd hand piano around 8k to 12k. You wont regret getting a piano in the end. Cuz i've learnt piano before, and i can play keyboard, organ , piano or whatever with white keys and black keys on it... anywhere..
ps: Don't look or try on a Grand Piano.. is addictive.. =S
2nd hand no need 8-12k lar. laugh.gif 12k u add 3 more k, u can buy 2nd hand baby grand already.

someone selling 5k+ in forum only
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1703525&hl=

another for 4.3k
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1354812&hl=

another for 3.8k
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1639448&hl=

another for 2.5k sweat.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1323554&hl=
Christopher7
post Jan 17 2011, 01:08 PM

1,044 posts

just helping you, I saw someone selling on the forum...maybe you can try to inquire/nego with him.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1693522&hl=piano

I wonder how much is the current market price blink.gif
I think i will check out Yamaha tomorrow.

thx bro wink.gif
SUSmhb
post Jan 18 2011, 11:40 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 17 2011, 02:19 AM)
I believe you might be able to get some ideas by Googling
"Electronic keyboard humming sound"
This leads me to a site that tells that it may be with the problem with the capacitor.

Guess I really need to send to repair shop. sweat.gif
guna17
post Feb 10 2011, 10:23 PM

Hi guys....nice thread u guys having here....im 27 years old n never had any background in music lesson let it be instrument or notes...however im very passionate abt music n intend 2 learn keyboard soon.....im looking for a good tutor as well (preferably Indian since i would love to play indian songs)....i am looking at 2 models since im a beginner.....first one is Casio CTK 2100 and another keyboard is Yamaha PSRE223. both keyboards are priced at RM720. could u guys suggest me which of this will be very helpful for a beginner like me? appreciate for ur feedback...thank you

Skydrop
post Feb 14 2011, 11:20 AM

361 posts

Hi guys

My humble suggestion would be to start your piano class first and check with them if you can drop by their center to practise before you decide to buy a keyboard or piano. The reason for this is that, you need to feel the touch of a real piano, listen to the sound to get an idea of how it sounds. For beginners with no musical background, it is not that crucial to have a keyboard/piano for the first month. Not because you do not need to practice but you need these exposures to help you find a decent keyboard/piano that you will be playing with for some time. If you invest in a crappy one, trust me, you will be dissapointed very2 soon and yet, forced to use it until you can afford something of better quality.

Just my 2 cents.

Christopher7
post Feb 19 2011, 03:01 AM

1,044 posts

I originally budget was 300 for keyboard,
But as more opinion i got from the people
I realize that if really serious into it,
should get a better1.

I finally bought a Digital Piano costs RM3600 at 10% discount.

liez
post Feb 19 2011, 08:13 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Feb 19 2011, 03:01 AM)
I originally budget was 300 for keyboard,
But as more opinion i got from the people
I realize that if really serious into it,
should get a better1.

I finally bought a Digital Piano costs RM3600 at 10% discount.
oh my God.... rclxub.gif from RM300 to 700 to 1100 to 1800 and now 3600. Respect! notworthy.gif
jhp
post Feb 19 2011, 09:57 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 17 2011, 01:08 PM)
I wonder how much is the current market priceĀ  blink.gif
I think i will check out Yamaha tomorrow.

thx bro wink.gif
oh god... yammie again.... hehehehe... the market does not only have yammie... doh.gif

hv fun shopping check this link.... ---> http://www.pianobuyer.com/fall10/46.html

use it as a guide... learn of some brands for own knowledge or anything.. hobby ka... for fun ka.. anything.... yes... surprise how many brands are there available in the market... if u have the pierce piano atlas u find over a million brandnames..... yes... many well-known brands from UK have all gone.... sad but true.... in the next few decades u see more factories closing one by one or if not shifting to the land of the dragon.... as the dragon is awake and it is just the beginning.... sad but true.... then again it is not a bad thing, the land of the dragon have proven themselves over the last decade.... an alternative to JUNK brows.gif

u have a choice.... smile.gif indeed... like buying a car or a house.. u have choice... listen to someone is good but do some shopping... it pays end of the day... at least u know u have finalized ur decision in buying this brand.. even if is a yammie end of day... at least u know why u made the decision in buying a particular brand... dont end up buying a piano and suddenly find another one that is much nicer and regret smile.gif......

ops i think i wrote too much... anyway i enjoy it and below list of piano brands that you be able to find in the malaysia... i distribute, import, export yes.. but i love to ask my customers or anyone to try out themselves.... every brands have their own tone character....

yamaha ->> www.yamaha.com.my
kawai, bluthner, haessler ->> use to be in ONe Utama but last heard they move to taman mayang.. behind St Ignatius Church.
wagner, hailun, petrof, weinbach, grotrian, schulze pollmann, bosendorfer, pearl river, ritmuller ->> www.wagnerpiano.com
samick, challen, barratt & robinson, grotrian, schimmel, c.steinbert ->> www.viennamusic.com.my
steinway, boston, essex, ritmuller ->> www.bentleymusic.om
young chang ->> www.ycmusic.com.my
perzina ->> heard there is a distributor but based in Johor (anybody?)
qrs music (auto player) ->> www.wagnerpiano.com
pianodisc (auto player) ->> www.viennamusic.com.my
disklavier (auto player) ->> www.yamaha.com.my

This post has been edited by jhp: Feb 19 2011, 10:52 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0233sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:11 PM