123 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 30/01 Southampton v Man Utd | 01:15 ESPN

mhyug
post Jan 27 2011, 02:07 AM

1,553 posts

fletch says boss inspired the team last night, i bet what he really meant was boss left us to hang dry after the latest hair dryer treatment laugh.gif

what ever the gaffer said sure stuck in the lads in 2nd half last night smile.gif

Fletch: Boss inspired us

Darren Fletcher says some words of wisdom from Sir Alex Ferguson at half-time played a big part in United's stunning comeback at Bloomfield Road.

Two first-half headers from Craig Cathcart and DJ Campbell had given the home side a shock 2-0 advantage as the below-par Reds struggled to get going. The United players were out early for the restart following their half-time team-talk which Fletcher says gave them the belief to turn things around.

"He really inspires us and gets us going and he made us believe that we could still do it," the midfielder told MUTV. "He said it was important we got that first goal as early as we could so we'd have time to get a second and hopefully a third.

"As a team we were desperate to get out there and put things right. We were really disappointed to go in 2-0 down having lost two goals from set pieces. We had to regroup and respond and we did that and it was a fantastic second half performance."

Tuesday night's visit to Bloomfield Road was one of United's games in hand in the title race, having initially been postponed because of a frozen pitch at the start of December. The 3-2 victory took the Reds five points clear at the top of the table with Fletcher insisting it's pleasing to have positive results in the bag rather than fixtures to look forward to.

"It's all good and well people counting up games in hand but you have to go out on the pitch and win those games," he added. "That's why this game was so important. We knew if we could win it would send out a massive statement and keep us kicking on in our challenge to win the league."
http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features...nspired-us.aspx
pyroboy1911
post Jan 27 2011, 02:18 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i reli like Holloway la. isnt shy in voicing him opinion, the stronger he believes in the opinion, the louder he is laugh.gif

Darren Fletcher says some words of wisdom from Sir Alex Ferguson at half-time played a big part in United's stunning comeback at Bloomfield Road.

I dont think words like "score the f***ing ball, you f***ing twat!" are considered as words of wisdom laugh.gif sweat.gif
mhyug
post Jan 27 2011, 02:20 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 27 2011, 02:18 AM)
i reli like Holloway la. isnt shy in voicing him opinion, the stronger he believes in the opinion, the louder he is laugh.gif
I dont think words like "score the f***ing ball, you f***ing twat!" are considered as words of wisdom laugh.gif  sweat.gif
its wisdom from a sage if youre under the gaffer laugh.gif its either that or some thing flying some where biggrin.gif
SGSuser
post Jan 27 2011, 02:26 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

goalkeeping coach eric steele said vds will retire after this season...so it's confirmed now
pyroboy1911
post Jan 27 2011, 02:46 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

mana sos? i see many ppl on twitter oso say the same thing...
SGSuser
post Jan 27 2011, 02:56 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 27 2011, 02:46 AM)
mana sos? i see many ppl on twitter oso say the same thing...
usually these interviews later keluar report one...twitter is way faster
pyroboy1911
post Jan 27 2011, 02:57 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

oh then u oso following other's twitter izzit tongue.gif i tot u read it from some source, or reliable twitter source. sad day indeed.
SGSuser
post Jan 27 2011, 03:02 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 27 2011, 02:57 AM)
oh then u oso following other's twitter izzit tongue.gif i tot u read it from some source, or reliable twitter source. sad day indeed.
yup...nick coppack stewart gardner daniel taylor etc etc...all reliable ones, official website also they update sometimes, not daniel taylor tho he's from guardian

the eric steele comment was thru bbc..."it's been a mutual decision between the management team & Edwin. He's a difficult man to replace"

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Jan 27 2011, 03:03 AM
let_me_be_free
post Jan 27 2011, 03:44 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jan 27 2011, 03:02 AM)
yup...nick coppack stewart gardner daniel taylor etc etc...all reliable ones, official website also they update sometimes, not daniel taylor tho he's from guardian

the eric steele comment was thru bbc..."it's been a mutual decision between the management team & Edwin. He's a difficult man to replace"
Big loss VDS.

A Man Utd legend forever and a day after Moscow.
calvin_yit
post Jan 27 2011, 04:24 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jan 26 2011, 10:05 PM)
They're almost similar really, in different ways. SAF saw the potential. Fletcher, big game player. The one who would run non stop. With Gibson he sees those long range screamers which would be very useful to have. And Gibson is a good passer of the ball when he usually gets involve. I thought that interchange between him, Evra and Rooney were good in the first 10-15mins or so. After that the whole side collapse. But let's put all the blame on Gibson.  doh.gif

We were down 2-0 away from home. And after a change of formation, he was playing out of position. And we have the evergreen Giggs on the bench who could turn the game around. Considering the  What would you do?

Hmm.. Let's see.

Nani-Fletcher-Scholes-Gibson + Giggs

It's no shame to be substituted at that time, considering the ability of those first 3 and who he went off for. If it was still 0-0, he would still be on the pitch. But we needed to chase the game that time, and he's not a winger.

Only one time he went off at HT. And that was in last night's game. Keep looking.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/player/_/id/7...-gibson?cc=4716

Added on January 26, 2011, 10:11 pmHe's still very much a work in progress. And it's kinda unfair considering he was out injured for a while before turning up in December. He's not the best talent around to be fair. And I can't see him be a first teamer for us. But he can be a solid(squad/backup) player for us IMO. That long range of his will be useful. And his all round game(passing) is quite good when he does get himself involve in plays. We'll see how this season goes for him. But my guess is next season he will play better. 24-26, that's when they shine these midfielders. Ando is hopefully on that step already. Too bad about his knee trouble.
If u mean similarity in the amount sticks they receive during their formative years in the 1st team, i would agree with u without a thought. On the other hand, as u had already pointed out and i assume are aware of, its really pointless to compare both player as both of them brings a different skillset to the table when playing for man utd. Like u said, its freaking obvious what gibson can do-----> hit the ball real hard, goal threat from outside the box, call it watever u want where else fletcher provides us with energy, pressing/harrying of opponent, box to box, big game mentality.

However, i think too much had been made of how fergie saw from the beginning how fletcher's had this hidden potential and kept faith with him and all that nonsense. Truth is, when fletcher first came into the team, he doesn't resemble anything like the kind of player which he had became today. He is more like this floating fragile player with a great first touch for a midfielder, playing balls with outside of the food, one touch, killer pases all the time (think one of the reason everyone is mad with him is becoz he gave ball away alot like this). Keane was also constantly screaming at him to get back in to position, press the ball, don't dwell on the ball. He never was an energy player. He had the vision to play forward passes, buh just not enuf quality to pull it off. Which goes to the point i made earlier, pre 2007, he is already an average/capable CM who are a tad inconsistent. Throughout the last 4 years, he had managed to reinvent himself and his game into this midfield destroyer/ big game player. Maybe its a change of attitude, an awakening, a self-relection time in his career when he told himself he is gonna try his hardest and give his united career a final go, he succeeded becoming what he is today (iirc, this new mean/destroyer fletcher introduced himself in a champions league match against roma where he had to play at the RB and totally dominated roma's LW, dunno whats his name. It left such an impression on me that nite. was practically shouting at my bro with pride mind u at 5am). I think this theory of mine is somehow corroborated by an interview fletcher gave a few years ago when he said that he was thinking of quiiting united but wanted to give it a final try to push himself into fergie's plan. So, any myth on how fergie see fletcher had X n Y was bull for me, as i felt that if fletcher had not reinvented himself, he would had long left united.

Which brings us to the gibson argument. Having explained that i do not believe that fergie had any special power to look into the crystal ball, I think there are too much blind faith placed on gibson to come good. It is highly unlikely that gibson will do a fletcher and miraculously transform himself into an important part of our team. His attitude on the pitch just doesn't convince me that he had that mental toughness to do watever possible to made it at united. Even as a squad player who doesn't complain and make a fuss, after balancing the thing he brings to the team (shooting) with the baggage he brings (lack of movement, lack of cohesion with teammates, does not link well with any fellow CM in the squad, lack of positional awareness, this might be harsh and maybe a bit mean.....lack of football intelligence?), i still think it would be better to play oshea at CM ahead of him. (dun get me started on gibson the "winger"). I know that to blame gibson solely for our first half stinker in blackpool would be totally wrong. In fact, the blame goes solely to fergie for getting the starting tactics wrong and had to further expose the limitation of gibson the "winger" when he had to change the system around. I still get this sneaky feeling that gibson is not in the team on merits but fergie is just trying to fill his match quota. However, for the sake's of gibson's career, i think he needs to start looking for a new club in the summer as i dun think he should waste his time anymore. A footballer life is a short one. and fergie could be ruthless. u never know when he might dump u.

Nice stats btw. really lazy to go stat searching. somehow, i always has this impression that most of the game gibson starts for us, some s.h.i.t always happens and we end up subbing him off at HT and need to put someone more efficient on. Maybe tats why, i dun rate him. My subconscious tells me he is a s.h.i.ttt player. oh well. what about the season be4. and the season be4 tat. how many times he got sub off at HT? brows.gif brows.gif
+Newbie+
post Jan 27 2011, 10:52 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

While there's nothing wrong with debating the merits of a player, one would be well advised to show said player respect. He is a Man Utd player, and therefore it would be nice to see Man Utd fans showing a Man Utd player some respect. The man has done nothing wrong to the club, unlike some Judases of the past. Those we can all agree to slag. brows.gif

As for all this debating the merits of a player, sometimes, it's better to stick with facts. While everyone is entitled to their opinions; passing off anecdotal observations and personal opinion on said observations as facts is not really the makings of a good argument. And to use such weak arguments to insinuate the gaffer has blind faith and makes bad decisions on purpose is even worse. You, yourself have mentioned this. The gaffer has no crystal ball. He never knew it would turn out so bad. It's always so easy to say things in hindsight.

For all the criticisms thrown at said player, whether constructive or otherwise, at the end of the day, SAF will be the judge and he will be ruthless, as you so eloquently put it yourself, if he needs to be.

As for us fans, it would be good to remember that it is the job of the manager to manage, the players to play and the supporters to support. Lest we forget what we're all here for.
boxsystem
post Jan 27 2011, 11:12 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Jan 27 2011, 10:52 AM)
While there's nothing wrong with debating the merits of a player, one would be well advised to show said player respect. He is a Man Utd player, and therefore it would be nice to see Man Utd fans showing a Man Utd player some respect. The man has done nothing wrong to the club, unlike some Judases of the past. Those we can all agree to slag. brows.gif

As for all this debating the merits of a player, sometimes, it's better to stick with facts. While everyone is entitled to their opinions; passing off anecdotal observations and personal opinion on said observations as facts is not really the makings of a good argument. And to use such weak arguments to insinuate the gaffer has blind faith and makes bad decisions on purpose is even worse. You, yourself have mentioned this. The gaffer has no crystal ball. He never knew it would turn out so bad. It's always so easy to say things in hindsight.

For all the criticisms thrown at said player, whether constructive or otherwise, at the end of the day, SAF will be the judge and he will be ruthless, as you so eloquently put it yourself, if he needs to be.

As for us fans, it would be good to remember that it is the job of the manager to manage, the players to play and the supporters to support. Lest we forget what we're all here for.
Good post Sir.

Exactly my thoughts. If it were up to us, Fletcher will be long gone. His horrendous spells as a right midfielder that time were killing us.

Like I have said, fans are fickle minded. Initially they will scrutinize players and when the player came good, they lavish them with praises.

calvin_yit, you have your own opinion, I respect that, but I do think that most of us will standby and support Gibbo because he is still Man Utd player. You can put that as a blind faith or whatsoever. But to us, we learnt our lesson with Fletcher. Gibbo might just come around and prove everybody wrong or not. That is the thing with young players. It's like lottery.

clsiluf
post Jan 27 2011, 11:21 AM

2,058 posts

For 2 consecutive matches, VDS launch some long ball which lead to the goals ... really will miss him a lot next season ...

hope united really find a better goalie
beck_ken
post Jan 27 2011, 11:32 AM

4,716 posts

Last time Fletcher now Gibson. One or two seasons later when he becomes as good as Fletcher then everyone praise him like he is important to the team

When you look back the history during Fletcher kena cucuk every single match, he was played as RM and CM but most of the time play on the right that make many fans cucuk him every single poor match he played. When he was playing the position he is playing now, he was living the shadow and keep on forgotten cuz other players were playing better than him.

He was then keep on improving and injuries of Scholes and other makes him played week in and week out and that's where his real talent was finally explode

I don't mean we need other to get injuries so that Gibson can prove himself just that he needs games and play along with Scoles Carrick Fletcher or Ando will makes him grow
aa1985
post Jan 27 2011, 11:45 AM

630 posts

whats wrong with gibson?he's still playing for manutd..and i dont see any of his action on the pitch to intentionally make manutd lost..
soul_krasty
post Jan 27 2011, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 26 2011, 07:26 PM)
funny thing happens when u translate from BM to Eng laugh.gif

http://encikazuwan.blogspot.com/2010/10/bi...-steinhaus.html
thats my blog icon_rolleyes.gif

damnself
post Jan 27 2011, 12:07 PM

244 posts

I would be gladly put my away jersey with Gibson name on the back.

He will be the next Paul Scholes.

If not? What can I say. God have some plan for him and we maybe?

For the time being I will stick by him since he has done nothing wrong and fully committed to MUFC eventhough some might say he is shit. The are even shitter player than him playing in other team who suck money and don't even have the passion and heart to play for their club.
choy89
post Jan 27 2011, 12:46 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Jan 27 2011, 12:07 PM)

He will be the next Paul Scholes.

If not? What can I say. God have some plan for him and we maybe?

For the time being I will stick by him since he has done nothing wrong and fully committed to MUFC eventhough some might say he is shit. The are even shitter player than him playing in other team who suck money and don't even have the passion and heart to play for their club.
icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
sinoffire
post Jan 27 2011, 01:02 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Jan 27 2011, 12:07 PM)

drill or gtfo. tongue.gif
Quick`
post Jan 27 2011, 01:18 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 27 2011, 01:02 PM)
drill or gtfo.  tongue.gif
lol
n1!
he is now forced to do it

123 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:47 PM