125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Mov_freak
post Apr 21 2013, 09:14 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jack Reacher (2012)

Well, paint me blue and call me a smurf!!

Two Tom Cruise movie in a week.

Good Story √
Great Actors √
Action Packed √
Fantastic Production Value √
Amazing Pacing √

So, is there anything wrong with the movie?

In a nutshell, NO!

A rare animal indeed. A recent movie that delivers everything!!

The best part about this movie Robert Duvall's character, Cash.

I'll say no more.

Do yourselves a favour.

Watch this is you had not already!!

Mr Two Sen

Mov_freak
post Apr 21 2013, 09:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Saving General Yang (2013)

I really avoid "Hong Kong" movies nowadays.

I usually end up really REALLY disappointed!

If Hollywood is lazy with their script, Hong Kong in my opinion, don't even write scripts anymore and just shoot... WHATEVER!!...

Having said that, the pedigree of movie movie was just too delicious to pass, Ronny Yu is the director, and Adam Cheng as the head of the Yang Family!

Boy was I NOT disappointed!

Adam Cheng, being the seasoned thespian, did not disappoint!

Every single gesture and emotion are exact and effortless...

He is not in a big chuck of the movie, be when he is, you cannot help but notice what he had done.

The story about the Yang family is widely known.

I notice that some people complained about the end and have to add, that is based on fact and so, the script writer can not change that.

On that note, I notice that they had put in plot lines that suggest a possibility of a second movie, and that is actually welcome!

For the love of everything that is good, PLEASE DO NOT COMPARE THIS with Legendary Amazons (2011). THERE IS NO COMPARISON!! So please don't go THERE!!

In short, I like this!

There are one or two characters whom I wish were done by another actor, but that is not within my influence so, c'est les vie.

As always, My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 23 2013, 01:23 PM
orangeong6
post Apr 22 2013, 10:34 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Apr 19 2013, 04:30 PM)
Er... which one? The 1953 or 2005 version?
2005 ones of course! haha..
i love all those bloody gory movies..
something like SAW I... VII, the hill have eyes, human centipede.. etc..
u have any others to intro? =)
orangeong6
post Apr 22 2013, 11:49 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Jan 10 2011, 02:37 AM)
Kick-Ass

First movie to start off the 2010 season. Really kicks major ass. I love about everything in this movie. Action, swears and Nicholas Cage + Chloe Moretz. Amazing cast, btw. (McLovin? lolwut). Only gripe is the ending could've been more climatic (c'mon? a deus ex machina?!). A-

Prince of Persia

I believe the subtitle has Sands of Time in it but I've only seen the dagger usage like 2 or 3 times. lrn2market. Anyway, thin plot as always for a video game movie and that sadly destroys the movie for me. But I like the black guy and the guy who owns the ostrich racing syndicate. C+

Iron Man 2

Disappointing. Nothing much to say except I still have faith for a beter third film. :|

Hot Tub Time Machine

Guilty pleasure movie of 2010 for sure. I can summarize the movie in a sentence: 4 dudes found a hot tub time machine and went back to the 80s. Totally hilarious especially the part with how the bagboy lost his arm. The chemistry between the four guys are great as you can really feel like they're best buds since ages ago. B-

Toy Story 3

Amazing, amazing, amazing. I've watched the first two films a day before i watch TS3 to experience the nostalgia beforehand. Pixar can never do wrong. Great plot, great animation, great characters and most of all great emotions. Makes me teared at the end. Very few films can do that to me. Farewell, Toy Story. A+

Predators

Oh look, the aliens from Jamaica (j/k) are back! After the stinkbombs of AvP and AvP2, I can finally see the light at the other end of the tunnel with this film. Humans vs predators ftw! A few badass death scenes here and there makes it great. I also like the cast as well (Yakuza guy was badass, Adrian Brody was unexpectedly good but he hast that Batman voice in him for some reason, Topher Grace/Venom/Eric Forman was hilarious in this flick). There's also an unexpected twist at the end. Nice summer movie.B+

Inception

Nolan can do no wrong. He's like the human version of Pixar studios. When the entire audience are at the edge of the seat all the way to the ending, you know you have done something right. The acting in this film is phenomenal (big props to JGL and Cillian Murphy). Visually stunning, some of the shots in this film has what it takes to enter my top 10 fav. shots of all time. I'm still digesting the plot and I have to go see it again to fully absorb everything. A+

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Visually impressive and funny most of the times, it's safe to say Edgar Wright still has a perfect score card in directing movies. A

Machete

The first half is just so fun to watch cuz of DAT VIOLENCE. Fortunately, it's enough to keep me entertained over a timid 2nd half. B-

Buried

Nobody should decline an offer to watch 90 minutes of Ryan Reynolds in a coffin. Without a great performance by RR and innovative cinematography, this movie would be boring as hell. A-

The Social Network

Great acting by the entire ensemble. Flawless writing. Beautifully handled by David Fincher. Amazing soundtrack. A modern masterpiece right here. A+

Red

How can a movie with so many talented actors be so dull? I can't even watch this in its entirety. Most disappointed movie of the year. D+

Unstoppable

Funnest movie of 2010. CHOO! CHOO! B+

Due Date

It's really funny but somehow this movie lacks soul. Might be due to pacing issues and poor character development. C+

Get Him To The Greek

It has the funniest scene and the most WTF performance (I'm looking at you, Diddy) of 2010. But I really wish some of the other characters from Forgetting Sarah Marshall were in this movie. In comparison, FSM is a better movie but GHTTG is funnier. B+

Enter The Void

One of the best cinematography I've ever seen, it has a really interesting premise. Unfortunately, new wave french cinema isn't my thing as it can get pretty distasteful. Pacing is also another issue but the journey is still worth it. A really spiritual film. B-

Macgruber

WHAT THE HELL IS THIS CRAP? D-

The Kids Are All Right

Family-in-crisis movies don't do much to me. But this movie is somewhat considered more original because it features a lesbian couple with kids. A lot of Oscar buzz but I don't get the hype. C+

Black Swan

If you think Inception was a mindf*** experience, go watch Black Swan. It'll f*** your mind until your mind gets paralyzed from its amazing orgasm. If my description makes you cringe, the movie will practically have the same effect to you. A

The Town

Crime movie of the decade so far. Intensely shot and confidently directed by actor/director Ben Affleck, it'll be unfair for the movie to not get nominated for Best Picture during Oscar season. A-

Tron:Legacy

Basically the Avatar of 2010: Amazing special effects but boring plot. I really wish the characters and story were written better but the visuals made up for it. B-

Somewhere

This movie follows an A-list actor whose life seems monotonous. The first 30 minutes of the movie basically drones on and on until it makes me bored of the movie and I was really disappointed because I'd high expectations of somewhere. And then all the scenes with his daughter came and his mundane life was turned upside down. The hour and so of these scenes really made the main character so lively that I've finally understood why the director chose to make the first 30 minutes to be that. A

Exit Through The Gift Shop

This has to be my fav. documentary I've ever watched. Smart and creative throughout the film, the film does a fine job as a documentary: educating us while still being entertaining. A

127 Hours

James Franco has proven himself with this film that he's finally joined the Premiere League of actors. Some people compare Buried with this but I don't think there's much to compare as the context of both films are different. Basic plot is about a guy who got trapped in a cave and the only way to escape is by amputating his arm with a made in China pocket knife. The amputation scene is unexpectedly gruesome but I can understand why Danny Boyle made it that way. And the best part of the movie for me is the use of a Sigur Ros song during the ending. A-
great review for all those movies! any comedy for 2013 would u recommend?

shootkk
post Apr 22 2013, 12:15 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Painted Skin I (2008) & II (2012)

Looks like I am a sucker for fantasy-romance tale. Here is my review on another Chinese fantasy romance tale that is also adapted from the Tales of Liao Zhai.

I will regard the 2 movies as one tale in this review but let it be known that one need not see part 1 in order to understand part 2. So on with the cast list:

Painted Skin I has Zhao Wei, Zhou Xun, Chen Kun and Donnie Yen as the leads. It's directed by Gordon Chan.

Painted Skin II sees Zhou Xun reprising her role also playing opposite Zhao Wei and Chen Kun. Donnie Yen did not appear in this one. Directed by one called Wuershan and don't ask me who he is.

In Painted Skin I we are introduced to a fox spirit called Xiao Wei (Zhou Xun). She has cultivated enough magical energy over the centuries to appear as a beautiful and seductive damsel. Although she looks ravishing she needs to periodically devour human hearts to keep appearing young and beautiful. One day while she is out to seduce men, Xiao Wei comes across General Wang Sheng (Chen Kun) who saves her from a bunch of bandits and takes her back with him to his fortress/outpost. Xiao Wei's demonic energies alerts a rookie demon hunter, Xia Bing (Betty Sun) of her presence and Xia Bing sets out to capture or eliminate her.

Intrigued by this General, Xiao Wei decides to stay and learn about this human emotion called love. She then plots her way into his heart although she knows that the general is already married to Pei Rong (Zhao Wei). Sensing a change in her husband's behavior ever since Xiao Wei's arrival, Pei Rong seeks the help of her ex-lover Pang Yong (Donnie Yen). Talk about complicating an already complicated problem. Pei Rong suspects that Xiao Wei is a demon spirit but Pang Yong initially brushes it off. Later with Xia Bing's help, Pang Yong is finally able to unmask Xiao Wei but Xiao Wei is not going to surrender without a fight.

Painted Skin I ends with Xiao Wei finally understanding what love really means but not all who loves get their happy endings.

Painted Skin II aka Painted Skin : The Resurrection picks up the tale 500 years later. We are told that due to her transgressions into the human world, Xiao Wei the fox spirit is imprisoned in a dungeon of eternal ice as punishment. A bird spirit, Qu Er (Yang Mi) however, comes across Xiao Wei's prison and inadvertently sets her free. Having being freed from her icy dungeon does not mean Xiao Wei is liberated however. She is persistently being pursued by forces unseen and unnamed that endeavors to trap her under the ice again.

Xiao Wei now plans to escape her fate by becoming human. To do so she must seek a mortal that has a strong and warm heart. The catch is that the human must be willing to give Xiao Wei her heart. She must not grab it by force.

Xiao Wei finds a suitable candidate in Princess Jing (Zhao Wei) who is on her way to the White City a border outpost. Unbeknownst to them, Princess Jing is also targeted by a the Tianlang kingdom (who practices black magic) for her strong heart. The Tianlang kingdom has offered an alliance with the king (Princess Jing's father) of the middle kingdom by way of marriage between the Tianlang's crown prince and Princess Jing.

Princess Jing, unwilling to be married off to a distant kingdom, goes AWOL to seek her one and only love Huo Xin (Chen Kun) who is the general in White City. Huo Xin is also in love with Princesss Jing but he blames himself for causing her disfigurement and believing that he is not worthy of being together with Princess Jing, exiles himself to the border outpost White City. In the same city lives a bungling demon hunter Pang Lang (Feng Shaofeng) who makes a living selling herbal medicine more than actual demon hunting. In fact Pang Lang has never even encountered a real demon before but the surname Pang seems to suggest that he is the descendant of Pang Yong and Xia Bing. Pang Lang finally gets his chance to meet demons when Xiao Wei and Qu Er comes to the city. He ends up making friends with Qu Er.

Xiao Wei takes advantage of the situation between Huo Xin and Jing to persuade Jing into giving Xiao Wei her heart willingly. Xiao Wei tricks Jing into believing that Hou Xin left Jing because of her now disfigured face. Xiao Wei offers a trade in which Jing has to offer Xiao Wei her heart for Xiao Wei's flawless looks. Jing agrees and the trade is made. Xiao Wei is now human with Jing's body while Jing gets Xiao Wei's body minus her heart.

Xiao Wei goes off for the arranged marriage while Jing (in Xiao Wei's body) remains with Huo Xin. When Xiao Wei reaches the Tianlang kingdom, she finds out too late that the marriage is a ruse and that she is now helpless as she no longer has her magical powers to help her escape. Qu Er however finds out about the swap and rushes off to tell Pang Lang who informs Hou Xin and they set off to rescue both Xiao Wei and Jing.

Both movies has great acting on the part of the leads. They also offer some slick action scenes but Painted Skin I comes out on top due to Donnie Yen's presence. The story is also pretty entertaining and is well worth a viewing but bear in mind that at the core, this is a tale about love and sacrifice in a fantasy setting. Sensual and beautiful. I'd recommend watching them.

Mov_freak
post Apr 22 2013, 09:52 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(orangeong6 @ Apr 22 2013, 10:34 AM)
2005 ones of course! haha..
i love all those bloody gory movies..
something like SAW I... VII, the hill have eyes, human centipede.. etc..
u have any others to intro? =)
Have your tried Wrong Turn (2003) and Turistas (2006)?
Mov_freak
post Apr 22 2013, 10:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 22 2013, 12:15 PM)
Painted Skin I (2008) & II (2012)

Looks like I am a sucker for fantasy-romance tale. Here is my review on another Chinese fantasy romance tale that is also adapted from the Tales of Liao Zhai.

I will regard the 2 movies as one tale in this review but let it be known that one need not see part 1 in order to understand part 2. So on with the cast list:

Painted Skin I has Zhao Wei, Zhou Xun, Chen Kun and Donnie Yen as the leads. It's directed by Gordon Chan.

Painted Skin II sees Zhou Xun reprising her role also playing opposite Zhao Wei and Chen Kun. Donnie Yen did not appear in this one. Directed by one called Wuershan and don't ask me who he is.

In Painted Skin I we are introduced to a fox spirit called Xiao Wei (Zhou Xun). She has cultivated enough magical energy over the centuries to appear as a beautiful and seductive damsel. Although she looks ravishing she needs to periodically devour human hearts to keep appearing young and beautiful. One day while she is out to seduce men, Xiao Wei comes across General Wang Sheng (Chen Kun) who saves her from a bunch of bandits and takes her back with him to his fortress/outpost. Xiao Wei's demonic energies alerts a rookie demon hunter, Xia Bing (Betty Sun) of her presence and Xia Bing sets out to capture or eliminate her.

Intrigued by this General, Xiao Wei decides to stay and learn about this human emotion called love. She then plots her way into his heart although she knows that the general is already married to Pei Rong (Zhao Wei). Sensing a change in her husband's behavior ever since Xiao Wei's arrival, Pei Rong seeks the help of her ex-lover Pang Yong (Donnie Yen). Talk about complicating an already complicated problem. Pei Rong suspects that Xiao Wei is a demon spirit but Pang Yong initially brushes it off. Later with Xia Bing's help, Pang Yong is finally able to unmask Xiao Wei but Xiao Wei is not going to surrender without a fight.

Painted Skin I ends with Xiao Wei finally understanding what love really means but not all who loves get their happy endings.

Painted Skin II aka Painted Skin : The Resurrection picks up the tale 500 years later. We are told that due to her transgressions into the human world, Xiao Wei the fox spirit is imprisoned in a dungeon of eternal ice as punishment. A bird spirit, Qu Er (Yang Mi) however, comes across Xiao Wei's prison and inadvertently sets her free. Having being freed from her icy dungeon does not mean Xiao Wei is liberated however. She is persistently being pursued by forces unseen and unnamed that endeavors to trap her under the ice again.

Xiao Wei now plans to escape her fate by becoming human. To do so she must seek a mortal that has a strong and warm heart. The catch is that the human must be willing to give Xiao Wei her heart. She must not grab it by force.

Xiao Wei finds a suitable candidate in Princess Jing (Zhao Wei) who is on her way to the White City a border outpost. Unbeknownst to them, Princess Jing is also targeted by a the Tianlang kingdom (who practices black magic) for her strong heart. The Tianlang kingdom has offered an alliance with the king (Princess Jing's father) of the middle kingdom by way of marriage between the Tianlang's crown prince and Princess Jing.

Princess Jing, unwilling to be married off to a distant kingdom, goes AWOL to seek her one and only love Huo Xin (Chen Kun) who is the general in White City. Huo Xin is also in love with Princesss Jing but he blames himself for causing her disfigurement and believing that he is not worthy of being together with Princess Jing, exiles himself to the border outpost White City. In the same city lives a bungling demon hunter Pang Lang (Feng Shaofeng) who makes a living selling herbal medicine more than actual demon hunting. In fact Pang Lang has never even encountered a real demon before but the surname Pang seems to suggest that he is the descendant of Pang Yong and Xia Bing. Pang Lang finally gets his chance to meet demons when Xiao Wei and Qu Er comes to the city. He ends up making friends with Qu Er.

Xiao Wei takes advantage of the situation between Huo Xin and Jing to persuade Jing into giving Xiao Wei her heart willingly. Xiao Wei tricks Jing into believing that Hou Xin left Jing because of her now disfigured face. Xiao Wei offers a trade in which Jing has to offer Xiao Wei her heart for Xiao Wei's flawless looks. Jing agrees and the trade is made. Xiao Wei is now human with Jing's body while Jing gets Xiao Wei's body minus her heart.

Xiao Wei goes off for the arranged marriage while Jing (in Xiao Wei's body) remains with Huo Xin. When Xiao Wei reaches the Tianlang kingdom, she finds out too late that the marriage is a ruse and that she is now helpless as she no longer has her magical powers to help her escape. Qu Er however finds out about the swap and rushes off to tell Pang Lang who informs Hou Xin and they set off to rescue both Xiao Wei and Jing.
Both movies has great acting on the part of the leads. They also offer some slick action scenes but Painted Skin I comes out on top due to Donnie Yen's presence. The story is also pretty entertaining and is well worth a viewing but bear in mind that at the core, this is a tale about love and sacrifice in a fantasy setting. Sensual and beautiful. I'd recommend watching them.
Wow.

Have you watched the 1980s Chinese Ghost Story Series??

(Please note that the original Enchanting Shadow a 1959 Shaw Brothers movie has the same Chinese name. Tsui Hark asked Mona Fong [Shaw Brothers] for permission to use the same name when he and Ching Siu-Tung was working on the 1987 version)
shootkk
post Apr 23 2013, 12:20 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Apr 22 2013, 10:18 PM)
Wow.

Have  you watched the 1980s Chinese Ghost Story Series??

(Please note that the original Enchanting Shadow a 1959 Shaw Brothers movie has the same Chinese name. Tsui Hark asked Mona Fong [Shaw Brothers] for permission to use the same name when he and Ching Siu-Tung was working on the 1987 version)
You mean the 'Siin Lui Yau Wan' (in Cantonese) series? Starring Leslie Cheung as scholar Ning Choi San and Joey Wong as Siu Siin?

If the above is the series you are talking about then yes. I've watched all 3 in the series.

The first in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 1 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan' starring Leslie Cheung and Joey Wong is the best of the 3. Tells the tale of how an innocent scholar ends up in a haunted temple controlled by a thousand year old tree demon. Siu Siin is a female ghost under the tree demon's control and her job is to seduce the men keeping them in the temple until the tree demon comes and devour them. Lucky for Ning Choi San, Siu Siin takes a liking to him as he's innocent, honest and naive. The 2 them teams up with Yin Chek Ha, a taoist exorcist to defeat the tree demon.

The second in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 2 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan II : Yan Kan Dou' is the worst of the lot. Deals with Ning Choi San coming across a girl that is the spitting image of Siu Siin but she is apparently human and not a ghost. Can't remember much after that but Leslie Cheung and Joey Wong reprises their roles and Lee Kar Yan also stars. This one lost the clever humor of the first movie and the story not as interesting.

The third in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 3 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan III : Dou Dou Dou' is also quite good. This one regained the humorous moments that the first movie had. This one stars Joey Wong as Siu Cheok rather than Siu Xiin. She is another ghost under the tree demon's control. It is said that the tree demon is too strong to be vanquished forever and has regained its strength and presides once again in the old abandoned temple in the first movie after a passing of 500 years. Tony Leung Chui Wai stars as Sap Fong a novice monk that travels with his master and ends up spending a night in the haunted temple. Also stars Jacky Cheung as a taoist exorcist also called Yin Chek Ha.

Given the time, the special effects look cheesy by today's standards but they were quite good back then. The acting was top notch from both Leslie Cheung and Tony Leung as well as Wu Ma and Jacky Cheung as Yin Chek Ha. Joey Wong is more eye candy than anything but she held her own too in the acting department. I guess the role of an lonely emo ghost suited her.

Entertaining stuff that's hard to come by in today's Hong Kong fares.

Mov_freak
post Apr 23 2013, 12:28 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 23 2013, 12:20 AM)
You mean the 'Siin Lui Yau Wan' (in Cantonese) series? Starring Leslie Cheung as scholar Ning Choi San and Joey Wong as Siu Siin?

If the above is the series you are talking about then yes. I've watched all 3 in the series.

The first in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 1 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan' starring Leslie Cheung and Joey Wong is the best of the 3. Tells the tale of how an innocent scholar ends up in a haunted temple controlled by a thousand year old tree demon. Siu Siin is a female ghost under the tree demon's control and her job is to seduce the men keeping them in the temple until the tree demon comes and devour them. Lucky for Ning Choi San, Siu Siin takes a liking to him as he's innocent, honest and naive. The 2 them teams up with Yin Chek Ha, a taoist exorcist to defeat the tree demon.
The second in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 2 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan II : Yan Kan Dou' is the worst of the lot. Deals with Ning Choi San coming across a girl that is the spitting image of Siu Siin but she is apparently human and not a ghost. Can't remember much after that but Leslie Cheung and Joey Wong reprises their roles and Lee Kar Yan also stars. This one lost the clever humor of the first movie and the story not as interesting.
The third in the series : A Chinese Ghost Story 3 or 'Siin Lui Yau Wan III : Dou Dou Dou' is also quite good. This one regained the humorous moments that the first movie had. This one stars Joey Wong as Siu Cheok rather than Siu Xiin. She is another ghost under the tree demon's control. It is said that the tree demon is too strong to be vanquished forever and has regained its strength and presides once again in the old abandoned temple in the first movie after a passing of 500 years. Tony Leung Chui Wai stars as Sap Fong a novice monk that travels with his master and ends up spending a night in the haunted temple. Also stars Jacky Cheung as a taoist exorcist also called Yin Chek Ha.

Given the time, the special effects look cheesy by today's standards but they were quite good back then. The acting was top notch from both Leslie Cheung and Tony Leung as well as Wu Ma and Jacky Cheung as Yin Chek Ha. Joey Wong is more eye candy than anything but she held her own too in the acting department. I guess the role of an lonely emo ghost suited her.

Entertaining stuff that's hard to come by in today's Hong Kong fares.
Yup

Tsui Hark did very pioneering work in Hong Kong, Die bian (1979) to Zu Warriors From the Magic Mountain (the practical effects in that movie is mind blogging, but then the light effect comes into play...) to The Swordsman (1989) etc. And he went to a weird place in the 90s and then Hollywood crap... But he seems to have found his footing again.

The Hong Kong movie industry is in a sad state...

They either have a very good movie or the crappiest movie... The standards are TOO bipolar....
shootkk
post Apr 24 2013, 04:47 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

A Chinese Ghost Story (2011)

Since we are already on this topic, might as well review the re-imagining of the tale of Siu Siin in the new movie also called A Chinese Ghost Story released in 2011.

This new movie stars Louis Koo as Yin Chek Ha and Liu Yifei as Siu Siin and is directed by Wilson Yip.

I must say that this movie is a big disappointment for me. They had a great premise going on but they wasted it all on the execution. I label this movie as a re-imagination of the original tale because apart from the same characters, the story is fundamentally different.

In this new tale, Yin Chek Ha is a world weary Taoist exorcist when we meet him. Apart from exorcising demons, he seems to have distanced himself from everyone and everything. When a bumbling Ning Choi San (Yu Shaoqun) stumbles into the scene, he attracts the attention of the lovely damsel ghost Siu Siin. Of course Siu Siin is bound to a powerful tree demon as per the original tale.

We then find out that Yin Chek Ha and Siu Siin has a past. It is this past that is haunting Yin Chek Ha. Not so long ago, Yin Chek Ha and Siu Siin were lovers and because of this love affair, Yin Chek Ha became complacent and in one incident, his tardiness resulted in the deaths of some of his fellow exorcists. Yin has never forgiven himself for that and as punishment, he sealed off Siu Siin's memory of their time together and outcast himself.

Ning Choi San's presence re-unites Siu Siin and Yin Chek Ha and even drew the ire of the Tree Demon that has enslaved Siu Siin. Things come to a head when all the parties clash and in the final battle, the Tree Demon is finally defeated but not without some casualties.

This movie features some beautiful scenes and updated special effects but is hampered by an indecisive script and weak acting. Liu Yifei, while no slouch in the beauty department, is wooden in her acting as Siu Siin. Yu Shaoqun is even worse as Ning Choi San. You could replace him with an actual plank with dialogue written on a piece of paper stuck to it. Louis Koo does not fare much better and mainly puts on a sad face most of the time. There's little chemistry between Siu Siin and Yin Chek Ha or Ning Choi San.

Kara Hui, a veteran of Hong Kong serials, hams it up to the max as the Tree Demon and may be the only one whose acting is appropriate in the movie.

I actually liked the idea that Yin Chek Ha and Siu Siin has a backstory but this little twist to the original tale was squandered when the writers could not decide to showcase Siu Siin/Chek Ha or Siu Siin/Choi San as the main relationship in the movie.

I'll only give this a 2 out of 5 stars rating and won't recommend fans of the original movie to see this one unless you really have nothing else better to do on a lazy Sunday afternoon. Disappointing.
odomneil
post Apr 24 2013, 07:51 PM

I am waiting for IRONMAN-3 rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 30 2013, 02:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Hitchcock (2012)

... I'm speechless.

Firstly, NOBODY put anything here...

Secondly, this movie was made with NO MONEY (Supposedly, Scarlett Johansson [at first look, you go, nah that is not Janet Leigh, but in some scenes...] and Jessica Biel ask for next to nothing to be in this)

Toni Collette (as Hitchcock's secretary) and James D'Arcy (as Anthony Perkins) are crazy good.

Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren.... as I had stated, I'm speechless.

Some of you know that I'm a die hard Alfred Hitchcock fan

It took me some time to actually watch this because I was afraid.

I was afraid that this might "diminish" Alfred Hitchcock for me.

I watched this during the weekend, and it took me this long to write a review about it.

I needed to let it sink in...

And By Jove this is a HECK of a good movie.

It is SCARY GOOD.

As I had stated, this movie did not have a budget.

Most people did it, because of the association with Alfred Hitchcock!!

This is a fictitious telling of the period in time, where Alfred Hitchcock was making the movie Psycho, arguably his most well known and received movie.

The broad strokes of the story is real.

Alfred Hitchcock and his wife had to mortgage their house to raise money to the movie (Paramount was to chicken shit to do so. They considered the story to risque).

Alfred Hitchcock did have a nervous breakdown while making the movie (since it was all or nothing to him).

Alfred Hitchcock had to figure out a way to market the movie, since Paramount was not gonna do it.

Everything else is the "made up" by Stephen Rebello, the author of the book.

Alma Hitchcock (wife to Alfred Hitchcock) had always stood by her man, and many people knew that behind every successful man there is an equally capable woman, but this movie, my goodness Alfred Hitchcock would be less them half of a man if Alma was not by his side!!

Sacha Gervasi the director had only done a documentary before this movie, and one would not feel that this is a work of an amateur...

Him making this movie with no money, is in sync with Alfred Hitchcock, desperately wanting to do Psycho and does not have a money from Paramount to do it...

Clever, Clever, CLEVER!!!!

Heck of a movie!

If you young'un want to know want a good movie is, look no further!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 1 2013, 01:23 PM
Mov_freak
post May 16 2013, 11:47 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

With 84 episodes of Star Trek The original Series, 178 episodes of Star Trek The Next Generation, 172 episodes of Star Trek Voyager, 176 episodes of Star Trek Deep Space Nine, 98 episodes of Star Trek Enterprise and NOT TO MENTION 12 theatrical films (phew, what a mouth full), can J.J. Abrams and gang pull of the impossible??!

Another fresh, original and fanboy pleasing Star Trek movie??

I believe the answer is YES!!

Story - fresh, original, entertaining, brilliant and there are themes that are revisited (I believe the Hollywood term is "re-imagine")
Pacing - Unbelievable
Cast - Perfect!
Action - Non stop
Picture Quality - Eye Popping Imax 3D
Sound Quality - Is the Enterprise chasing my A$$??!! tongue.gif

Downside??

You betcha. Zachary Quinto and Leonard Nimoy I believe had since become fast friends. I believe Chris Pine had very cockily stated that he was to make Kirk his own character... I believe they are both channeling their predecessors... They are both developing... a pot belly...! (Damn you form fitting Star Trek uniforms... Damn you...) laugh.gif

It have been more then 3 years since we last saw Chris as Kirk, and all the new found fame and wealth and my assumption partying is taking their toll on Chris... he has AGED!!

But I digress and I'm nitpicking...

I really hope that they make another Star Trek movie, WAY BEFORE fours years from now.

This movie is gonna make Paramount ALOT of money. The question is whether Paramount is willing to give all players their share so everyone will come back.

Another concern would be J.J Abrams had since sign on to another monster project, Star Wars VII...

Do I LOVE this movie?

If I wasn't being clear, HELL YES!!

DO I want more???

YES PLEASE WITH SUGAR ON TOP.

As always...

My two Sen.

P.S. Please note that our Censorship board had decided to make 3 VERY OBVIOUS CUTS from the movie...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 17 2013, 02:59 AM
Mov_freak
post May 17 2013, 12:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Mama (2013)

Let's cut to the chase, this is a horror movie, so, is it scary??

The answer is, with the right setup, YES!!!

If you had watched this is a good cinema, or you have a good home theater, this movie can be very frightening!!

It is how the movie design.

There are a lot of image and sound the is very subtle and if you have a really bad copy, these nuances will be missed and hence the lack of enjoyment (fright!)

The best I can describe this is, anything that Guillermo del Toro is involve in would be DARK!!

Don't get me wrong, I don't think that he is the Prince of Darkness per say...

I believe his motives are more towards, if he (Guillermo del Toro) does not show us what is dark, how can we appreciate the light!

At least that is my take.

Creepy movie evolves around two very young children, and surprisingly with Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (of Games of Throne fame) who is NOT the focus of the movie.

Guillermo del Toro likes his women and likes them to be strong, tough and independent (maybe, what he wishes his daughters to be??)

I think this takes the award for the scariest movie of 2013, so far.

We still have Insidious 2 to go so...

For people who likes horror movies, please consider.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post May 17 2013, 12:13 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Iron Man 3 (2013)

Watched this a couple of weeks back and did not have the chance to do a write up here.

Not sure what I can say that would add to this.

I'm sure it is going make an obscene amount of money and I hope they do not let that get to their head...

With their "Chinese Version" (eg a few scenes shot in China was added to titillate the Chinese market), from a marketing point of view, it probably makes sense, I just have to add, that this publicity tools should be used wisely or they risk over marketing their product!! (Which Warner brothers learnt the hard way, Batman and Robin anyone... *groan*)

The concept of Mandarin as per Ra's Al Ghul is TOO over the top (blatant??), although I admit, Ben Kingsley did it SO DELICIOUSLY!!!!

Not sure how this would influence Avengers 2? If there is one...

Although I do think that the pacing could have been much better, most people would be too razzle dazzle to care.

For what it is worth...

My two Sen
Angel of Deth
post May 19 2013, 10:58 AM

1,242 posts

Bio-Zombie (1998) Lost in Time (2003)

Bio-Zombie is like HK throwback to the 80's Living Dead series but without the excessive gore and special effects. Jordan Chan and Sam Lee were amazing. The plot is mainly revolve in a mall, which begin to populated with zombies. Any zombies fan should watch this film. Apart from the ending, everything is satisfying.

Lost in Time is just amazing. Usually i'm not fond about drama film. But this one is really good and effective. That's all i can say because my lack of writing and reviewing skill.

For me Hong Kong film industry was the best during their peak, even better than Hollywood. Because it's not just about pretty faces, big explosion, over the top action. Instead it contain plenty of implicit theme, moral inside their medium. Not just plain entertainment. Today i'm not sure, haven't watch most of their recent stuff since i'm not really fan of most of the new faces.
Mov_freak
post May 19 2013, 10:20 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Tower (2012)

A Modern Korean, retelling of Towering Inferno... Interesting

Cannot say I watch alot of Korean movies, and have to add, this is not bad, quite well made

My Two Sen
SUSifourtos
post May 20 2013, 02:28 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 16 2013, 11:47 PM)
Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

With 84 episodes of Star Trek The original Series, 178 episodes of Star Trek The Next Generation, 172 episodes of Star Trek Voyager, 176 episodes of Star Trek Deep Space Nine, 98 episodes of Star Trek Enterprise and NOT TO MENTION 12 theatrical films (phew, what a mouth full), can J.J. Abrams and gang pull of the impossible??!

Another fresh, original and fanboy pleasing Star Trek movie??

I believe the answer is YES!!

Story - fresh, original, entertaining, brilliant and there are themes that are revisited (I believe the Hollywood term is "re-imagine")
Pacing - Unbelievable
Cast - Perfect!
Action - Non stop
Picture Quality - Eye Popping Imax 3D
Sound Quality - Is the Enterprise chasing my A$$??!! tongue.gif

Downside??

You betcha. Zachary Quinto and Leonard Nimoy I believe had since become fast friends. I believe Chris Pine had very cockily stated that he was to make Kirk his own character... I believe they are both channeling their predecessors... They are both developing... a pot belly...!  (Damn you form fitting Star Trek uniforms... Damn you...) laugh.gif

It have been more then 3 years since we last saw Chris as Kirk, and all the new found fame and wealth and my assumption partying is taking their toll on Chris... he has AGED!!

But I digress and I'm nitpicking...

I really hope that they make another Star Trek movie, WAY BEFORE fours years from now.

This movie is gonna make Paramount ALOT of money. The question is whether Paramount is willing to give all players their share so everyone will come back.

Another concern would be J.J Abrams had since sign on to another monster project, Star Wars VII...

Do I LOVE this movie?

If I wasn't being clear, HELL YES!!

DO I want more???

YES PLEASE WITH SUGAR ON TOP.

As always...

My two Sen.

P.S. Please note that our Censorship board had decided to make 3 VERY OBVIOUS CUTS from the movie...
After watching thousand of Space-Science Fiction,

The Latest Star-Trek really to have grade A CG Effects.
But its story plot is really childish. At a unreasonable level.
( Consider the wrath of Khan, the movie has its dark side, but the plot are really childish, too much loophole )
Should make this a comedy better. Not action movie.

All the character inside think like Cartoon. Not well-trained Military.
Children would love it much. But an adult movie fans would found it too... unacceptable.

If its a comedy, it would be better.

This post has been edited by ifourtos: May 20 2013, 02:30 AM
pkh
post May 20 2013, 07:07 AM

316 posts

Evil Dead (2013)
===============

No way Malaysia will ever show it. Unless they took half the show out.

There's alot of stuff which resembles the first original movie. The cabin, the car, the basement, the book, the woods, the bridge. There's even the boomstick (which is still called a shotgun at this point) and chainsaw. So, for the first half of the show, you were like "hey, the flow is gonna be the same". True enough, you get the same plot (no spoilers here). But just when you thought it's ended, there's more. It's like "whoa, that didn't happen back then".

Actually, I saw it in Singapore last week. Didn't notice any cuts. F words and blood everywhere. A great watch if you're into gore horrors. It's more complete than the original. Get to see what's written inside the book, a minor back story and an ending (rather than a teaser/cliffhanger).
Mov_freak
post May 20 2013, 09:40 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ May 20 2013, 02:28 AM)
After watching thousand of Space-Science Fiction,

The Latest Star-Trek really to have grade A CG Effects.
But its story plot is really childish. At a unreasonable level.
( Consider the wrath of Khan, the movie has its dark side, but the plot are really childish, too much loophole )
Should make this a comedy better. Not action movie.

All the character inside think like Cartoon. Not well-trained Military.
Children would love it much. But an adult movie fans would found it too... unacceptable.

If its a comedy, it would be better.
Erm... maybe you can elaborate on the loopholes?

On another note, United Federation of Planets is suppose to be explorers (sort like an adult Dora to coin a childish term.... tongue.gif) ... not militia....

Just my opinion...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 20 2013, 10:23 AM

125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:31 AM