125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Angel of Deth
post Feb 26 2013, 07:53 PM

1,242 posts

Finished watching Lan Kwai Fong 2. A bad film, probably an exploitation film about sex, nightlife / clubbing. Cliche theme and storyline. Also the ending.. that was the worst ending ever. Too corny, cheesy, unrealistic and it was embarrassing to watch.

King of Comedy (1999)
This is very good film. As usual, everything Stephen Chow touched turn into gold. Not only the main cast, he's also co-director in this film. This is not just a plain comedy, it has ton of message and Chow is very good on his role. He can amuse and sympathize the viewer at the same time. The way he shift his acting from comedic role to the more serious is just natural. I wish the film bit longer because i feel there are several underdeveloped aspect and character, especially for the female protagonist played by Cecilia Cheung.

This post has been edited by Angel of Deth: Feb 27 2013, 08:13 AM
Mov_freak
post Mar 6 2013, 11:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Willow (1988)

In the 80s, George Lucas was at his peak.

The original Star Wars trilogy made him a ton of money.

The said movies' toys and merchandising (T-Shirt, Coffee Mug etc) is still making him tons of money.

Indiana Jones the first of another franchises was making him tons of money.

Industrial Lights and Magic, a company he founded, specialising in movie Special Effect, because of Star Wars and Indiana Jones, became the industry standard (was making him tons of money)

He started Pixar and then sold it to Steve Jobs... making him tons of money, so as stated he was at his PEAK.

One thing did allude him, the movie rights to The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings!!

So much so that he said to himself, what the hey, I'm RICH and powerful, I'll write my own version of The Hobbit and the resulting product is Willow...

I do remember going to the cinema to see this and at the end I went... Meh!! biggrin.gif

They wanted the Han Solo-ish main character (loveable Rouge) and selected Val Kilmer to be Madmartigan. Nobody and I say NOBODY can out Han Solo, Mr Harrison Ford...

In The Hobbit and Lord of the Ring, a bunch of guys basically said, Let's Go on a Road Trip, and did, Willow the main character (who interestingly resembles a Hobbit) in forced into a road trip whilst he is constantly always wanting to return to him family at his village.

There are too many elements from The Hobbit and The Lord Of the Rings, which inspires George Lucas while he was writing the script. As good a writer as George is/was, Tolkien he is not.

The RICHNESS which is in Tolkien's writing, is simply non existent in Willow...

More emphasis was place in, can we have a monster here, or, can we do Trolls and we make them walk on a ceiling (eg special effects stuff) rather then giving us rich story or fantasy...

Having said that, this is probably one of the first movie that used the computer's "Morph" effect (way WAY before Michael Jackson's Black and White).

Video and Sound transfer are good, but because of the age of the movie, there are two special effects scenes that seems a little cheesy compared to today's standards...

I also appreciate the fact that this movie introduces Warwick Davis to the world.

The 80s were a mini Golden Age for Fantasy movie. Ranging from expensive Big Budget movies like Willow, Legend and Dragon Slayer, to the more modestly budgeted Beast Master (I still like this), Sword and Sorcery etc (not a complete list, give an old guy a break. Writing all this stuff from memory)

I think with big budget movies like Legend (1985) and Willows (1988) which didn't lose money but made lower then expected returns and cause a drought for fantasy movie!! Movie executive basically went, but fantasy don't sell and would point to those two movies as example...

I'm ranting...

This is a passable movie for a lazy Sunday afternoon...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Mar 6 2013, 11:56 PM
Mov_freak
post Mar 7 2013, 12:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

This movie, surprisingly, gets better after each viewing.

I have already watched this in 3D and 48fps 3D in the cinemas.

The little nuances that Peter Jackson pepper all over the movie is very entertaining and the more I watch it, the more I pick up!! laugh.gif

I have previously reviewed this and it is here:

The Hobbit Review (Mov Freak)

It is a shame that I do not have a 3D TV as yet and cannot relive the wonder, that is 48fps 3D.

c'est la vie

My Additional Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Mar 20 2013, 02:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Wreck-It Ralph (2012)

If you remember, pixelated game characters, you'll enjoy this little gem.

Gone are the days, when Disney (as in Disney, Disney) sucked at making good CGI animation (Chicken Little and Meet the Robinsons, anyone?).

They were trying to dazzle people with their CGI prowess and in the process forgot to tell a good story!

The same thing happened to them after the death of Walt Disney and Disney animation went into a slum, before The Little Mermaid!!

And then something happened. Disney bought Pixar and along with that, came John Lasseter, who reminded everyone at Disney, the art of story telling...

Since then things had gotten better at Disney Animation and they made animation like Tangled and now Wreck-It Ralph!!

Nostalgia galore!

Nintendo and Sega kept popping into my mind when I was watching this!! smile.gif

So lets do a check list

1) Good story √
2) Cute Characters √
3) All kinds of game related jargon from past and present that is actually cool √
4) Interesting villains √
5) Unconventional couple √
6) Heart warming sequences √
7) Unique movie √

So to keep this simple, great movie, check it out.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Mar 20 2013, 11:33 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Ray Harryhausen: Special Effects Titan (documentary) (2011)

Magic

A great documentary about THE GREAT Ray Harryhausen.

I probably watched everything he had done (wait, I might not have seen The Valley of Gwangi and First Men in the Moon)

As Willis H. O'Brien (Special Effects wizard behind the original King Kong) inspired Ray, to be involved with movie Special Effects, Ray in turn inspired people like George Lucas, Steven Spielberg & Peter Jackson to be involved in Special Effect laden movies...

To date, when they have issues with special effects shot, they would still refer to Ray's work as solution to their effect problems!! smile.gif

I have to agree with Ray, when a effects shot is film practically (eg with something that is solid) it tends to anchor that effects shot with reality...

On other words, the scene is sold to the audience!

With all the special feature we get with DVD and Bluray, the mystic/secrets of the movie is disclose, making present day movie goes more... jaded in a sense (aiya, CGI lah...)

We no longer suspend our disbelieve...

It is sad in a way...

If you are a Ray Harryhausen fan, please DO NOT miss this.

My Two Sen
Angel of Deth
post Mar 21 2013, 08:20 AM

1,242 posts

Second Time Around (2001)

Finished watching this movie from Asian 151 channel, HyppTV (it's rock, lots of quality old HK movie). At first the plot kinda lame, a gambler who dream big, to make a big time at Las Vegas. But things is not as easy as he think, lost all his money. Sounds lame and cliche. But after quarter way through the film start to pick the pace and become much more interesting with twist, conflict and drama. The film is classic case of never judge a book by it's cover or by the introduction page. From the early narration, you thought the film is about some sci-fi time traveling adventure, Hollywood rip-off something like that, but it's not. Time traveling still play big part, sometime bit confusing (as expected from any movie that incorporate this theme). But the film itself is much deeper, and it has one of the best or most fitting ending i ever seen in any movie but at the same time kinda tragic. You can't help to feel sorry at the main protagonist. Not disappointing at all. I still think Ekin Cheng isn't a great actor, he just decent. But his partnership with Cecilia Cheung were natural, not feeling out of place at all.

Ekin played his role very well although but he wasn't irreplaceable. Surprisingly i don't find Cecilia was annoying at all in this movie. As opposed to Ekin, i don't think any other actress could naturally replicate what she had done in the film. Kinda shame her later career (up until the scandal) were reduced to comedy / romantic comedy genre. Unlike many popular actor and actress at her era, she actually had so much potential and diversity.
Mov_freak
post Mar 27 2013, 11:55 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

G.I. Joe Retaliation (2013)

Well, this was a long wait.

After two huge movie (expensive) bombed in 2012 (John Carter and Battleship), Paramount got jittery...

So much so they withdrawed this movie from the 2012 schedule, and reworked it!!

First the bad news

The good news

So did Paramount get it right?

This movie is NOT gonna please everyone.

I have to say this though, Paramount did everything they could to make this work, and in a way, it does.

If you like the first one, chances are you'll like this.

As always....

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 1 2013, 05:01 PM
Angel of Deth
post Apr 1 2013, 07:49 AM

1,242 posts

Woke up early morning (too early), stumbled across this film on Screen RED:

Beyond our Ken (2004)

The film is about: "The story tells about Ching (Gillian Chung), who was dumped by her playboy boyfriend Ken (Daniel Wu). She tracks down his new girlfriend Shirley (Höng Tao) and claims that Ken uploaded nude photos of her to a website." -wiki

Surprisingly very good drama. The plot, the storyline everything make sense. The most positive aspect from this film is the pacing. Everything reveal at natural pace. There are few charming and funny moment too. Like suddenly these two girls become very close just because they're share one common interest.

I don't know much about the cast but i believe this film has to be one of very few works from Gillian which is outstanding and not crap. Not like her usual commercial movie which were horrendous for most of the time. Actually the blame lies more on the her label, producer and director's shoulder for making such crap movie. She was the fad at that time, everybody milking her status.
Mov_freak
post Apr 3 2013, 10:33 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Croods (2013)

What a gem!!

Now, the paleontologists amongst us would have BIG issues with this movie and here is why (I'm putting this bit of information in spoiler so I don't put the majority of youse to sleep)

Good story, a little different.

Very imaginative (I love how Croods hunt). I also love how this is compared with how Guy does things (Neanderthals Vs Homo Sapien, please read spoiler). There are some scenes which are down right breathtaking....

I did not watch this is 3D, but now I really wish I had... Maybe a 3D TV.... smile.gif

Do I recommend this movie.

HECK YES!

Bring your friends, bring your family. Heck bring your significant others!!!! tongue.gif

Have fun and enjoy

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 4 2013, 12:05 AM
Mov_freak
post Apr 8 2013, 02:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Short Circuit (1986)

Ah... the 80s... is there a stranger point in time...

America was in it's hey days.

Reagan just sold the country (CBS was sold to Sony etc) to Japan and the country was flush with money

Walkman and VHS were the IN thing, and people actually talk to each other, FACE To FACE....

Good times.... laugh.gif

The movie industry went through another transition....

In the 50s... MGM (MGM was so big that Warner, Fox, Disney, Paramount, put together, weren't even near the size of MGM!!) was brought down by TV and it was feared that VHS was bring down Warner, Fox, Disney, Paramount!!

Blockbuster sprang out of nowhere (a chain of video rental shops) and made a TON of money. This also taught the movie studios that this new format can actually bring them in further revenue!! This was a happy marriage!!?!

It is also in this period where people was talking about blockbusters!

Jaws, Raiders and Star Wars were big hits in the 70s and were release on video.

This new stream of revenue also encourage sequels to be made Jaws 2, Raiders 2 etc

And what am I going on about!!?!

Short Circuit was made during this time, a modern retelling of Frankenstein, with a happier ending. To understand the existence of this movie, you have to understand the 80s!!

The Asian invasion had already begun in America (Ben Jabituya??).

I have watched this on SO MANY Format

VHS, Laserdisc, DVD and now in HD!!

It doesn't have the nicest picture and sound transfer

This movie is ALL ABOUT NOSTALGIA!!!!

I really don't know if young'un would like this movie or just find it tacky!!!

Here is a horror story young'un.... to get general knowledge during the 80s.... you have read to something called.... THE ENCYCLOPEDIA!!!! Things made out of paper, usually is several volumes... You might still see samples of it in Libraries (if you are lucky) laugh.gif Here is the horror part... there was NO internet in the 80s (well, not much access and information anyway)!!!!!!????! No, internet cafes, not handphones, no iPad. NOTHING OF VALUE TO YOUSE!! And yet, we survived!!?! I hope you are able to sleep tonite... tongue.gif

Me, this is a guilty pleasure of mine!!

To each their own!! nod.gif

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 9 2013, 06:04 PM
Mov_freak
post Apr 15 2013, 04:52 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2 (2012)

Okay... anyone who has been paying attention would know by now that I'm NOT a Twilight fan

I have given my reason for this.

I've also explained in my previous posted why I continue watching the series even though I do not appreciate this.

Here are additional why the storyline is problematic to me

I have to say I have had NO expectations going into this movie and surprisingly, there WAS one surprise!!

I knew what the ending was going to be.

And yet the author of the books had a "twist" I did not figure on.

Picture and sound is good.

Storyline had a passable twist.

Am I a diehard Twilight fan now?

Don't hold your breath.

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Apr 17 2013, 09:42 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

*** Repeat ***

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 23 2013, 01:21 PM
Mov_freak
post Apr 17 2013, 09:42 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Oblivion (2013)

Hahahaha!

It takes alot to entertain current movie viewers.

Science fiction movies have been around since the 50s.

Many a science fiction writers have given us so many angles to science fiction storyline, I truly believe, that is really isn't an original idea, for a very VERY long time.

The writers of this story had thrown in EVERY theme of science fiction there is, THAT in itself, truly remarkable!!

Alien Invasion, End of the World, Last Man and Woman on the planet, Utter destruction (on a planetary scale), cloning, ultra modern living to living in the gutters...

I notice that many a people had compared this movie to a particular movie (from few years back). Personally, I see influences from, Independence Day, 2001 The Space Odyssey, anything by P.K. Dick, episodes from The Twilight Zone and The Outer Limits!!

The homage paid in this movie is mind boggling!!

This is an AMBITIOUS movie!! Too some extent, I feel, overly ambitious.

Credit where credit is due, the designers in this movie, deserves special mention!! Very VERY manga, and their actually look like they work!! (Flight ship and collapsible motor bike)

Here is the kicker...

This is really REALLY hard for me to say.

I would really REALLY like to say that I absolutely positively LOVE this movie...

I can see that the story writers and director put their heart and soul into this project...

Tom Cruise is really invested into the movie as well...

Pacing... the pacing...

... I can only say that is movie is slight above okay...

My Two Sen...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 18 2013, 12:27 AM
Mov_freak
post Apr 18 2013, 12:06 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

A Haunted House (2013)

It has been quite sometime since the Wayans had done any low brow comedies.

The last one I can remember, Marlon Wayans in was Little Man...

This movie makes fun of all the paranormal movies and then some...

I've notice Marlon Wayans likes to make fun of homosexuals and have to add, this movie takes THAT to a whole new level... biggrin.gif

For a low brow comedy, there are actually some spooky bits in this one...

If you like the first two Scary Movies, White Chicks and Little Man, chances are you will find this enjoyable...

As always...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 18 2013, 07:54 PM
shootkk
post Apr 19 2013, 01:36 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Since reviews are not necessarily on current movies playing in theaters, here's one from me:

The Mural (2011)

This is a Chinese movie directed by Gordan Chan (of Painted Skin) and the cast are mostly China stars. In the lead are Deng Zhao, Betty Sun and Collin Chou (Seraph of The Matrix). Eric Tsang of Hong Kong has a cameo role.

The story deals with scholar Zhu Xiaolian (Deng Zhao) and his adventures in fairy land. The way he got to the fairy land is through a mural that he found painted on a wall in a temple. Adapted from one of the tales in Liao Zhai.

First and foremost, this movies features loads of beautiful women with at least half a dozen in major supporting roles. This is what you get when the core of the story takes place in a land inhabited by fairy maidens and no men are allowed.

Secondly, if you want to enjoy this movie you would have to view it as a tale of love and forget everything else. Although it may be marketed as a fantasy action flick, this description will only lead to disappointment for those looking for great action scenes. You can find more exciting action scenes in an episode of anime series.

The movie is beautifully shot and the set pieces are great to look at. Although you could easily spot the CGI effects, the fantasy settings kinda makes it justifiable.

All in all, it's a good tale of love being told and is quite enjoyable. The only grouse I had was with the pacing of the movie.
Mov_freak
post Apr 19 2013, 02:29 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Yea shootkk!! Thank you for breaking my streak!! For a sec (for only a sec mind you) I thought I was the only one on this thread!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 23 2013, 01:22 PM
Mov_freak
post Apr 19 2013, 02:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 19 2013, 01:36 PM)
Since reviews are not necessarily on current movies playing in theaters, here's one from me:
The Mural (2011)

This is a Chinese movie directed by Gordan Chan (of Painted Skin) and the cast are mostly China stars. In the lead are Deng Zhao, Betty Sun and Collin Chou (Seraph of The Matrix). Eric Tsang of Hong Kong has a cameo role.

The story deals with scholar Zhu Xiaolian (Deng Zhao) and his adventures in fairy land. The way he got to the fairy land is through a mural that he found painted on a wall in a temple. Adapted from one of the tales in Liao Zhai.

First and foremost, this movies features loads of beautiful women with at least half a dozen in major supporting roles. This is what you get when the core of the story takes place in a land inhabited by fairy maidens and no men are allowed.

Secondly, if you want to enjoy this movie you would have to view it as a tale of love and forget everything else. Although it may be marketed as a fantasy action flick, this description will only lead to disappointment for those looking for great action scenes. You can find more exciting action scenes in an episode of anime series.

The movie is beautifully shot and the set pieces are great to look at. Although you could easily spot the CGI effects, the fantasy settings kinda makes it justifiable.

All in all, it's a good tale of love being told and is quite enjoyable. The only grouse I had was with the pacing of the movie.
Yes, the movie is too dialoguey.... But beautifully shot though
orangeong6
post Apr 19 2013, 03:30 PM

24 posts

my favourite : House of Wax !!!
Mov_freak
post Apr 19 2013, 04:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(orangeong6 @ Apr 19 2013, 03:30 PM)
my favourite : House of Wax !!!
Er... which one? The 1953 or 2005 version?
lexoh
post Apr 21 2013, 12:18 PM

Watched a Chinese movie called Saving General Yang(2013) , a very good movie and full of actions in this movie,but one thing I dont like is the ending.

Watched another chinese movie called Drug Wars(2013) , a story driven movie, lack of actions but same as above,I dont like the ending as well sad.gif

This post has been edited by lexoh: Apr 21 2013, 12:19 PM

125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:29 PM