Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 03:12 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

^
good opportunity you can grab yours tonight.
anyway mind me asking why you sell your 50 1.8??
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 4 2011, 03:13 PM

330 posts

I rarely use my 50mm after getting 17-50 Tamron.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 03:15 PM

1,457 posts

^
Reason? isn't prime produce more pleasant bokeh?
somehow.
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 4 2011, 03:17 PM

330 posts

imho, 50mm is kinda tight for me. soft images on f1.8. might need to turn to 2.8 to get sharper images. Posted image earlier using my Tammy 17-50. Bad side of that lens is it's kinda noisy. Focusing speed wise- so so only.

This post has been edited by Kiki-Lala: Jan 4 2011, 03:20 PM
hihi
post Jan 4 2011, 03:29 PM

189 posts

yea, at the moment, i use most of my photo using the 50mm 1.8, good value lens.

aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 03:30 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jan 4 2011, 03:17 PM)
imho,  50mm is kinda tight for me. soft images on f1.8. might need to turn to 2.8 to get sharper images. Posted image earlier using my Tammy 17-50. Bad side of that lens is it's kinda noisy. Focusing speed wise- so so only.
isn't that great for portrait?
because I heard 50mm + DX sensor is the best range for portrait.
I was thinking to get tammy 1750.
but currently put my focus more of 50mm siggy scare disappointed with it.
Everdying
post Jan 4 2011, 03:36 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

Imo 50mm is like caught in no mans land with dx, not wide and not long enough...the 35mm is ok but of cos still not that wide, but better for general shots.
only other lens i got is 70-300vr...and i feel the tamron 17-50 may do just fine...unless i go buy 85mm tongue.gif
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM

330 posts

Managed to dig the one i shot with 50mm.

This post has been edited by Kiki-Lala: Jan 4 2011, 03:42 PM
Andy214
post Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 4 2011, 03:00 PM)
if I own d90 I will grab 50mm 1.8D.
I read a lot of fantastic review of the lens itself.
a very good value of money <- People said
feeling like testing myself. and the price is okay for testing. IMHO.
sadly I own d3100 w/o AF-motor  cry.gif  that's the reason I go for 35mm 1.8G instead
Really? Hehe
http://mansurovs.com/nikon-35mm-f1-8g-vs-50mm-f1-4g

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 4 2011, 03:09 PM)
im selling off my 50mm 1.8 by tonight...sticking to the 35mm 1.8...and probably get a tamron 17-50 2.8 or sigma 18-50 2.8 later.
The 50mm f/1.8 is cheap, worth to keep it ma for special purpose when needed.

Do share your opinion on the 17-50 f/2.8 Tamron VS 18-50mm f/2.8 Sigma.
Sigma one have MACRO 1:3.

Most reviews tends to lend towards Tamron and saying Tamron is way better. When I do simple test, can't really see much difference, except the Tammy VC version can get sharper image when handshake.
Beside, I think the Sigma focus slightly faster.

I notice when using external Flash AF Assist, the 3rd party lens tends to not focus accurately, the focus will judder as it tries to acquire focus. At first I thought what's wrong, why keep getting OOF image, but when not using external flash, it's focus spot on, after experimenting sometimes, found out the AF Assist on the external flash is distracting the focus.
Anybody has any idea on this? On my 35mm f/1.8G DX, no such problem.

Added on January 4, 2011, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 4 2011, 03:15 PM)
^
Reason? isn't prime produce more pleasant bokeh?
somehow.
It depends actually. The 50mm f/1.8D only have 7 aperture blades, when you stop down a little, your bokeh will not be rounded, it'll be 'hexagon' (is it?) shape, actually, same goes for the 35mm f/1.8G, but I find 35mm f/1.8G does slightly better; I've even gotten cat eyes bokeh before from Christmas tree lights.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2011, 03:43 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 03:43 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 4 2011, 03:36 PM)
Imo 50mm is like caught in no mans land with dx, not wide and not long enough...the 35mm is ok but of cos still not that wide, but better for general shots.
only other lens i got is 70-300vr...and i feel the tamron 17-50 may do just fine...unless i go buy 85mm tongue.gif
it get me more confuse now.. rclxub.gif
people say 35mm is not good for portrait.
go for 50mm instead.. I am just okay with 50mm.
but when I tried 85mm, it's really2 out of my league it's more like tele-shooting.
IMHO tele-shooting is not really nice for taking portrait. Hmm..
I think I shouldn't upgrade anything in these days. hmm.gif hmm.gif

Spam!

Added on January 4, 2011, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM)
No la.. 50mm 1.4 still too expensive for me sad.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 4 2011, 03:45 PM
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 4 2011, 03:45 PM

330 posts

35mm just like 50mm on FF body. 85mm is pretty tight on DX body. Try to ask celciuz. Hehe.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 03:50 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jan 4 2011, 03:45 PM)
35mm just like 50mm on FF body. 85mm is pretty tight on DX body. Try to ask celciuz. Hehe.
yeah.. 35mm = 52.5mm on DX
and 50 = 75mm on DX.
but IDK people prefer to use 50mm for portrait on DX body.
and use 85mm for FX. hmm.gif
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 4 2011, 03:58 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 4 2011, 03:50 PM)
and 50 = 75mm on DX.
and use 85mm for FX.  hmm.gif
i'm not good in explanation but there are lots of example images in Flickr. can view to poison yourself biggrin.gif

Spam!

daze
post Jan 4 2011, 04:05 PM

857 posts

on DX. 50mm are great too.
be it a potrait lens or walkabout.

some photos taken with 50mm. spam

celciuz
post Jan 4 2011, 04:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM)
Really? Hehe
http://mansurovs.com/nikon-35mm-f1-8g-vs-50mm-f1-4g
The 50mm f/1.8 is cheap, worth to keep it ma for special purpose when needed.

Do share your opinion on the 17-50 f/2.8 Tamron VS 18-50mm f/2.8 Sigma.
Sigma one have MACRO 1:3.

Most reviews tends to lend towards Tamron and saying Tamron is way better. When I do simple test, can't really see much difference, except the Tammy VC version can get sharper image when handshake.
Beside, I think the Sigma focus slightly faster.

I notice when using external Flash AF Assist, the 3rd party lens tends to not focus accurately, the focus will judder as it tries to acquire focus. At first I thought what's wrong, why keep getting OOF image, but when not using external flash, it's focus spot on, after experimenting sometimes, found out the AF Assist on the external flash is distracting the focus.
Anybody has any idea on this? On my 35mm f/1.8G DX, no such problem.

Added on January 4, 2011, 3:43 pm

It depends actually. The 50mm f/1.8D only have 7 aperture blades, when you stop down a little, your bokeh will not be rounded, it'll be 'hexagon' (is it?) shape, actually, same goes for the 35mm f/1.8G, but I find 35mm f/1.8G does slightly better; I've even gotten cat eyes bokeh before from Christmas tree lights.
Cat's eye bokeh on a DX? I didn't notice cat's eye bokeh on my 85 and 70200 on D90. sad.gif

But on FX, it appears at almost every light source located at the edge of the frame.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 4 2011, 03:43 PM)
it get me more confuse now..  rclxub.gif
people say 35mm is not good for portrait.
go for 50mm instead.. I am just okay with 50mm.
but when I tried 85mm, it's really2 out of my league it's more like tele-shooting.
IMHO tele-shooting is not really nice for taking portrait. Hmm..
I think I shouldn't upgrade anything in these days.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Spam!

Added on January 4, 2011, 3:45 pm
No la.. 50mm 1.4 still too expensive for me sad.gif
Here's a 200mm on D90,

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jan 4 2011, 03:45 PM)
Haha, it depends on preference.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 4 2011, 03:50 PM)
and 50 = 75mm on DX.
and use 85mm for FX.  hmm.gif
Only reason I like the 85mm is because of the f/1.4 and also lightweight compared to 70200.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 4 2011, 04:33 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 04:32 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2011, 04:30 PM)
Here's a 200mm on D90,

200mm on d90? means 300mm?
yet you still get that much room? walawee.. so geng,

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 4 2011, 04:37 PM
celciuz
post Jan 4 2011, 04:36 PM

14,037 posts

Or if half body,

Just stand further back lah~ haha.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 4 2011, 04:38 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 4 2011, 04:38 PM

1,457 posts

CY what is the secret of getting awesome model? can share??
your model really2.. hmm.gif
cannot tahann.
celciuz
post Jan 4 2011, 04:41 PM

14,037 posts

Err, can't help you on that unfortunately. They are my friends and I just asked them for a photo shoot that's all.
daze
post Jan 4 2011, 04:45 PM

857 posts

whats the secret to have so many beautiful friends?? haha

126 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.3624sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:41 PM