126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

mmohdnor
post Jan 5 2011, 03:28 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 5 2011, 03:01 PM)
meaning AF-S with come together with G
while most of D lens doesn't come with AF-S?
and D lens can't get auto focus in Nikon entry level line up?
is that true?

guys anyone join this http://football.nikon-asia.com/brief.php?

from nikon usa site http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-Explore/...ype-NIKKOR.html :

"G-type NIKKOR lenses have no aperture control ring and are intended for use on Nikon D-SLRs that allow the lens aperture to be adjusted via the camera's command dial.
In addition, like D-type NIKKORS, G-type optics relay subject-to-camera distance information to Nikon digital SLRs. The information is used to help determine ambient and flash exposure."

Another info here too (explains a whole lot about nikkor lens notations like ED, VR, DX, N, G, D, Micro, AF-S, etc) http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-Explore/...ens-Barrel.html :
"Finally, we end with the letter G, which indicates that the lens has an electronic diaphragm control, meaning that the f/stop is set from the camera. On older NIKKORS you may see the letter D, and that means distance information is factored into the metering process. These days all NIKKORS have distance encoders, so you won't see D on new NIKKOR lenses—only G.

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jan 5 2011, 03:41 PM
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 04:51 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 5 2011, 02:54 PM)
G has no aperture rings, while D have. Or you can read more about it.

Basically, from appearance, from what I can see, the G version is has GOLD all over, the rings, the wordings. It also looks nicer. It also comes with SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for Silent Focus (AF-S).
The D lens is older version, it doesn't have SWM (Silent Wave Motor) (AF-S); Not sure any D lens have this.

In terms of focusing, from my experience, the "D" focus much faster, but not sure about higher end/professional lens like 24-70mm, 70-200mm, etc. On primes like 35mm DX, 50mm, 85mm, definitely the "D" focus MUCH faster and "sleeker" despite noisier.
Apparently the 85G focuses faster than D on D3 system as what I've read so far.
bbuser91
post Jan 5 2011, 05:39 PM

302 posts

how the tamron 17-50mm perform? Want to get one !
aldosoesilo
post Jan 5 2011, 05:40 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

what body model do you use and for what event??

I just found out monochrome photography is fascinating. I will try it xD
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 05:41 PM

14,037 posts

^ Optic wise is good. But focusing is hopeless especially in low light condition.
bbuser91
post Jan 5 2011, 05:45 PM

302 posts

Hopeless focusing in low light condition? icon_question.gif

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 5 2011, 05:40 PM)
what body model do you use and for what event??

I just found out monochrome photography is fascinating. I will try it xD
d3100 and for general use

Izzit a good len for walk around

This post has been edited by bbuser91: Jan 5 2011, 05:46 PM
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 05:48 PM

14,037 posts

Slow and sometimes unable to focus at all ;-).
aldosoesilo
post Jan 5 2011, 05:49 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

^
I would say it is good for walk around lens since it covers 1750 with 2.8 constant aperture.
it will produce sharp yet creamy bokeh.
but I heard the focusing is slow since one of the forummer couldn't use it auto focus yesterday night during his yamcha (he uses 1750 tamron).
kenji_britney
post Jan 5 2011, 06:01 PM

1,734 posts

HDR
bbuser91
post Jan 5 2011, 06:03 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 5 2011, 05:48 PM)
Slow and sometimes unable to focus at all ;-).
Alamak !! doh.gif doh.gif

Thanks for sharing anyway

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 5 2011, 05:49 PM)
^
I would say it is good for walk around lens since it covers 1750 with 2.8 constant aperture.
it will produce sharp yet creamy bokeh.
but I heard the focusing is slow since one of the forummer couldn't use it auto focus yesterday night during his yamcha (he uses 1750 tamron).
Okay i got it.

thanks you !
Str33tBoY
post Jan 5 2011, 06:25 PM

1,874 posts

jz got my lens today...
a 24-70 f2.8...
wow...
it's quite big...
biggest lens i tried till today...
btw...
now i onli know how to take a photo without VR...
maybe nid to work-out more to get some strength to handle it...

btw...
malacca no stock for 77mm hoya HD...
haiz...
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 06:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jan 5 2011, 06:25 PM)
jz got my lens today...
a 24-70 f2.8...
wow...
it's quite big...
biggest lens i tried till today...
btw...
now i onli know how to take a photo without VR...
maybe nid to work-out more to get some strength to handle it...

btw...
malacca no stock for 77mm hoya HD...
haiz...
Bought from? The shop at DP? How much was it?

If no stock then order online then smile.gif
Str33tBoY
post Jan 5 2011, 06:32 PM

1,874 posts

bought used one...
from photomalaysia...
1 year++ abit...
fullset + box & like new condition...
Rm4500...
quite a gd deal huh...?
online i see d price different alot...
so thinking maybe get @ kl since going there dis saturday...
ani gd shop to re-commend...?
Bliz
post Jan 5 2011, 06:36 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jan 5 2011, 06:32 PM)
bought used one...
from photomalaysia...
1 year++ abit...
fullset + box & like new condition...
Rm4500...
quite a gd deal huh...?
online i see d price different alot...
so thinking maybe get @ kl since going there dis saturday...
ani gd shop to re-commend...?
24-70 will not balance that well on your D90, time to get a bigger body brows.gif
Str33tBoY
post Jan 5 2011, 06:40 PM

1,874 posts

zzz...
haha...
dun poison me lar...
currently reali declare bankrup...
not thinking to korek another 5.5k for used D700...
maybe 3k after deduct price of D90...
btw bro cy...
did u went for photo shooting last sunday @ pulau melaka...?
as i think bro bliz went there...
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 06:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jan 5 2011, 06:40 PM)
zzz...
haha...
dun poison me lar...
currently reali declare bankrup...
not thinking to korek another 5.5k for used D700...
maybe 3k after deduct price of D90...
btw bro cy...
did u went for photo shooting last sunday @ pulau melaka...?
as i think bro bliz went there...
I know Agnes did a photoshoot at Pulau Melaka in the morning on Sunday, in the evening I did a photoshoot with her at Jonker Street. Bliz photoshoot was Saturday if not mistaken (the blue skies!).

Str33tBoY
post Jan 5 2011, 06:51 PM

1,874 posts

icic...
maybe next time we can go some outing together and ask u to teach me den...
coz my fren went there...
he ask me to go...
but i'm bz on dat day...
celciuz
post Jan 5 2011, 07:06 PM

14,037 posts

Then should not be Agnes de group, cause they are all from KL and Singapore.
bbuser91
post Jan 5 2011, 07:15 PM

302 posts

Can anyone here teach me about exposure compensation. No idea with it and i did read what is that. But i cannot see any different from the pictures below i taken. Thanks for teaching. Positive value is used when we are in low light condition izzit? To make it brighter , vice versa for negative value.

Correct me if im wrong

+3

All pictures are resized to 640x480

-----------------

One more question to ask

Lightroom 3.2 unable to view NEF?

This post has been edited by bbuser91: Jan 5 2011, 07:19 PM
Kent3888
post Jan 5 2011, 07:16 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

I got somethin in mind suddenly, actually wat's the use of magnesium alloy integrated into pro bodies? Juz in case ppl drop their camera on the floor?? I wonder how useful is this magnesium alloy as it's not like we r going to drop our camera easily blush.gif

126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:33 PM