ASOS, reliability and payment

Meowmeowee
post Aug 29 2019, 10:54 AM

51 posts

Anybody successfully got a refund for missing items in the package? I bought 2 bags but only 1 came
pagne666
post Sep 1 2019, 03:49 PM

126 posts

Any advice for returning wrong item back to ASOS? Which courier service to choose and will Asos refund the courier fees?

Bought an adidas hoodie (black) with size xs but sending me size xl.. anyone interest i am selling off at price MYR180.. pm me if u want.

Prize from Asos : GBP44

This post has been edited by pagne666: Sep 1 2019, 03:52 PM

attacusatlas
post Oct 2 2019, 08:36 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,661 posts

Has anyone been asked to pay custom tax for buying stuff from Asos?
absorb-d
post Oct 4 2019, 07:20 PM

1,115 posts

No I don't think there's tax for normal post afaik only FedEx DHL bothers to collect tax
attacusatlas
post Oct 5 2019, 04:15 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,661 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Oct 4 2019, 07:20 PM)
No I don't think there's tax for normal post afaik only FedEx DHL bothers to collect tax
absorb-d, I would think the same as well but strangely i received an email from a forwarder of asos.com asking me to make the payment before the parcel can me delivered to me.....and this is the first.

This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Oct 5 2019, 04:17 PM
absorb-d
post Oct 6 2019, 07:32 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Oct 5 2019, 04:15 PM)
absorb-d, I would think the same as well but strangely i received an email from a forwarder of asos.com asking me to make the payment before the parcel can me delivered to me.....and this is the first.
Odd stuff keep us updated if it's legit
attacusatlas
post Oct 12 2019, 03:36 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,661 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Oct 6 2019, 07:32 PM)
Odd stuff keep us updated if it's legit
I was indeed slapped with a customs tax. I believe it was because the amount was huge (over RM900) asos.com decided to deliver to me via expedited shipping method which has caught customs’ attention, just like any other shipment delivered by Fedex or DHL.

Oh well, lesson learned.
neekun
post Oct 13 2019, 07:38 AM

I'm a Mac
2,343 posts

Any order exceeded RM500 will kena tax, this was my experience with online shopping delivering from overseas.
yucahilo
post Nov 20 2019, 08:01 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 13 2019, 07:38 AM)
Any order exceeded RM500 will kena tax, this was my experience with online shopping delivering from overseas.
HI..was wondering, if the purchased item is below rm500, we do not pay anything (custom tax n bla bla) extra charges right? the items will be delivered to mailing address, right?

reason I ask, wanted to buy something from ASOS (first time buyer) and it says FREE DELIVERY if total purchase over GBP30. From your experience, what is the limit amount in GBP (I know the amount fluctuate) so that I will not be born by the custom tax or whatnot.

Many thanks in advance.

yucahilo
post Nov 20 2019, 08:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Oct 12 2019, 03:36 PM)
I was indeed slapped with a customs tax. I believe it was because the amount was huge (over RM900) asos.com decided to deliver to me via expedited shipping method which has caught customs’ attention, just like any other shipment delivered by Fedex or DHL.

Oh well, lesson learned.

how much the total purchase you paid in GBP? cos I want to make sure I did not exceed that limit.

Many thanks.
athirah88
post Nov 21 2019, 01:19 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(yucahilo @ Nov 20 2019, 08:03 PM)

how much the total purchase you paid in GBP? cos I want to make sure I did not exceed that limit.

Many thanks.
Made a purchase totalling £82.95 = rm446++, custom hold and slap on rm300++ in freight, so my total CIF is more than Rm500.

Now aramex is asking for rm100+ payment sst and their service charge.

I just don't understand how they are charging me tax on amount that wasn't spent. Has anyone experienced this before?
yucahilo
post Nov 21 2019, 06:25 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(athirah88 @ Nov 21 2019, 01:19 PM)
Made a purchase totalling £82.95 = rm446++, custom hold and slap on rm300++ in freight, so my total CIF is more than Rm500.

I just don't understand how they are charging me tax on amount that wasn't spent. Has anyone experienced this before?
OH MY GOD!!!!...CIF alone could cost more than the item itself. Hmmm...I think I should limit my item below than GBP50.

Thanks for the reply
Adrian_Alastair
post Nov 22 2019, 02:22 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(yucahilo @ Nov 21 2019, 06:25 PM)
OH MY GOD!!!!...CIF alone could cost more than the item itself. Hmmm...I think I should limit my item below than GBP50.

Thanks for the reply
Delete

This post has been edited by Adrian_Alastair: Nov 22 2019, 02:22 PM
neekun
post Nov 22 2019, 08:28 PM

I'm a Mac
2,343 posts

QUOTE(yucahilo @ Nov 20 2019, 08:01 PM)
HI..was wondering, if the purchased item is below rm500, we do not pay anything (custom tax n bla bla) extra charges right? the items will be delivered to mailing address, right?

reason I ask, wanted to buy something from ASOS (first time buyer) and it says FREE DELIVERY if total purchase over GBP30. From your experience, what is the limit amount in GBP (I know the amount fluctuate) so that I will not be born by the custom tax or whatnot.

Many thanks in advance.

Try to limit below £90.
MichellSX P
post Feb 26 2021, 01:28 AM

Probation

QUOTE(athirah88 @ Nov 21 2019, 01:19 PM)

same, I had my order controlled right below 500 but the invoice showing the amount before my discount code was applied, which was slightly above 500, guess that's the reason why it caught custom attention. It happened to be that only CIF value below 500 will not get taxed, which include item cost, shipping as well as custom own international shipping fee standard, for example, from UK to Malaysia is around 300MYR. This means your order value has to be 500-300 = 200 to be really save. Anyway I dont think they bother to hold any parcel with order value below 500 as the amount is too little for them, so just keep the order below 500 is safe enough.

38 Pages « < 36 37 38Top

0.0127sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:54 PM