Gen-X
post Dec 29 2010, 02:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 29 2010, 02:03 AM)
err... only amex gold that offer 12 months 0% BT. can u list the 'others' bank?
Don't be so lazy, go read previous posts, that's why don't spam so got less page to read. hahahahaha

Well other banks giving 0% BT for 12 months are Maybank, AMbank and Alliance.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 29 2010, 02:07 AM
Gen-X
post Dec 29 2010, 02:17 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 29 2010, 02:10 AM)
err... ambank never give 0% for BT, same goes to alliance?

but ambank & alliance give 0% 12 months for ambank amflexi-pay & flexi-payment plan.

are u confuse BT and flexi payment plan? sweat.gif
hahaha, you are right, AMbank not giving 0% for 12 months, my bad doh.gif MBB and Alliance yes. And yes confirm Alliance got 12 months 0% BT, not in their website but in phamplet together with statement.

And by the way, on your earlier post on MBB 3 months 0% no more applicable.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 29 2010, 02:20 AM
Gen-X
post Dec 29 2010, 07:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 29 2010, 10:41 AM)
Do update us the exchange rate of RHB Bank if you happen to use it overseas.
I did post on 18th Dec 2010 Psot #618 at page 31 Click here, a table inrespect to RHB rate for my SG transactions, but that time this thread was like kopitiam so I guess you missed it.

You can read more about MBB Visa vs DAWMC vs OCBC MC vs RHB Visa vs UOB Visa at my blog:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/

QUOTE(beast_doadore @ Dec 29 2010, 05:28 PM)
I just go to nearest HL branch to apply a gold card with a supp card for my gf. so there is no pro to apply a supp card to any one you loved:P btw. its charge me RM160 for main card, RM80 for supp card  and RM50 for gov =.=''' just to share with anyone who interested to apply HL CC. and..Hopefully to get Madza 3 back!
how come no free annual fees waiver? Are you sure you have to pay for the cards? If yes, there are so many card outs there which are free at least for the first year.

My Dad just applied a HLB Plat card last week to help out a branch staff to meet her quota and was told if he charge twice in the first month the GST will be waived. Also he got a booth organizer.
Gen-X
post Dec 31 2010, 11:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Dec 31 2010, 08:43 PM)
Just received sms from CIMB Bank, stating that the 2% petrol rebate for Direct Access Master Card  is no longer available from 1 Jan 2011 onwards, OMG!!!
received the sms too but in the same sms it also states to look out for new offers. So I guess they will better the offer compared to this year.

Happy New Year guys!

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 31 2010, 11:51 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 12:53 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just checked out OCBC website and they waive GST for all type of cards as long as principal and supp cards spend RM10K and RM5K per year respectively.

For Alliance card members who shop at Subang Parade, spend RM88 and you will get 1 packet ang pow + 1 lucky draw entry + 1 Alliance Mug. I hope Alliance will continue to give free gifts at Subang Parade from now.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 2 2011, 12:54 AM
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 10:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Jan 2 2011, 07:48 AM)
Isn't the GST will be waived for total spend of RM15k for principal and supp combined? Or must it be principal RM10k and supp RM5k spend separately?
Well according to the website it looks like it is separate.

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 2 2011, 09:08 AM)
if the BT still not done till next statement date, then i believe interest will be charged.
to be exact, as hye mentioned, payments must be made before due date to avoid interest. If payment made between due date and statement date then interest will be imposed and reflected in the next statement.
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 04:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Jan 2 2011, 12:26 PM)
Pls advise

currently, i hold a cimb bank credit card with 15k limit.
next month (feb2010), i going to pay insurance for me, my brother, and my mum.
We practice to pay insurance monthly.

Next month, i propose to pay the insurance in one year in a time.
The insurance agent told me, I can save 4.35%
3 insurance amount total up will be estimated RM10k

Please advise which solutions for me are the best?

1) Pay the 10k insurance with CIMB credit card.

a) Then, use EPP, for 10 months 2 % handling fees on 10K , addition charges will be RM200.
Off set with 4.35%, i still earn 2.25%

b) Use EPP, for 20 months, 4% handling fees on 10K, addition charges will be RM400
then, i still got earn 0.35%
However, i can extend my money to 20 months. use the extra cash to invest in other places for 8 months ( 20 months -12 months )

2) go to apply new credit card, my target is Maybank
as the balance transfer is 0.435% for 36 months

Extra charges will be RM50 GST and 0.435%,
Could anyone advise is it the balance transfer handling fees is only 0.435%? so low? so worth?
Any risk?

3) Don't consider to pay insurance by one time for whole years.
Practice to pay by monthly like usual!
Why so susah so many options? Just charge the insurance to CIMB card and then opt for Smart i-Pay Plan where you get 10 equal installements 0% interest and no handling fees.
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 04:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 2 2011, 02:31 PM)
That was actually back in 2008, not as early as 2002 as claimed by "erry-".
I can confirm that DA was not giving 2% as early as 2002 or 2003. I was using my AMEX Charged Card for many years as it gives points at petrol stations whereas CC no points. Started pumping with DA when they gave offer free watch which I did get one and then continue with DA when they offered 2% for petrol. Switch to AMEX Gold CC in Aug 2009 and since October 2010 using OCBC Titanium.
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 08:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 2 2011, 08:10 PM)
As mentioned by some forummers who have done BT to OCBC Titanium, OCBC's BT programme share the same account with cc. For BT programme sharing same account with cc, it is not advisable to use the cc again until you fully settle the BT outstanding balance. This is to avoid interest being charged to your cc.
Yah, CIMB the best, separate statement for BT. Too bad they did not match MBB 12 months offer.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 2 2011, 08:18 PM)
the bad thing is, if you unable to pay for the amount you transferred from my both cards to OCBC Titanium, they will count it as normal interest charges every month!! that is the bad thing.
if one cannot pay the BT to Titanum card it also means he also cannot pay even if he did not do the BT. Better he don't use CC anymore until settle his/her debts.
Gen-X
post Jan 3 2011, 09:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(foong_14 @ Jan 3 2011, 09:00 PM)
Hello, currently i am holding a DA master card. since now the 2% petrol is no longer available. i am thinking to cancel it. but the problem is i had purchased a tv with 12 months installment. how can i cancel it? Do i need to finish the 12 months installment first?
Firstly, when is your anniversary date. If you not sure go check your statement. If your installement ends before your anniversary date then there is no benefit of you cancelling the card now and miight as well continue the installemts.

Secondly, do you use credit card for other transactions besides petrol? DA does have its benefits. What other cards you holding and what card are you thiniking of getting (if any).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 3 2011, 09:53 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 7 2011, 08:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

As I have informed last month, applied for a MBB Plat MC about a month ago thru the phone @ 03-58914777. Last week I was wondering why it was taking MBB so long to issue my card so call CS and was told application pending. So this Monday called back to the MBB application canter and spoke to the same girl I applied the card with. She told me my application was approved 2 weeks ago but somehow it was withdrawn (maybe they could not contact me) and she'll forward a note to her supervisor. Well yesterday got the card by courier. Pretty efficient. I normally follow up on my CC application and if I had not, today I'll still be waitng for the card. By the way, MBB increased my CL with this new card which was a surprise to me.

Gen-X
post Jan 7 2011, 09:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Jan 7 2011, 09:07 AM)
blink.gif
Premier r for Premier Customers... so, CL shouldn't be low...( mine is quite high, but not as high as my MBB WMC)
I guess for Premier Customers it depends how much you have with HSBC. My dad Premier MC CL is less than his HSBC Visa Plat and my HSBC Visa Plat too (I don't have any depost with HSBC).

MilesAndMore have mentioned that even if you have a Premier HSBC account, it does not mean that you will automatically qualify for their normal Visa Plat.
Gen-X
post Jan 7 2011, 11:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

those who have wave feature CC, see video below

http://www.wreg.com/news/wreg-electronic-p...6726,full.story
Gen-X
post Jan 7 2011, 11:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2011, 05:06 PM)
Many have complained it really is very low. But i guess this is normal. Standard Chartered for instance, requires one to have a minimum deposit of RM250k with them to be a Priority Banking client and the credit line given to the Priority Banking VISA Infinite is peanut too.
RM200K-RM300K in deposits nowadays is not much, you can't even get a double storey terrace house in 1U area. Bangsar single storey terrace house also cannot get.

There is a big difference between a person having annual income of RM200K vs a person having only RM300K in deposit and no regular income. The thing is when one deposit RM250K to RM300K, the amount is not pledge towards CC CL.

QUOTE(shauyan @ Jan 7 2011, 10:13 PM)
hi guys, need your opinion.
I'm planning to travel overseas. I have 3 cards: CIMB Master Gold, Citi Cash back Plat and Maybank Petronas Gold.

When one you recommend to use? Maybank have lowest 0.5% admin charge but how the conversion rate?
read my post in my blog below where I did do a comparison between different cards for SG transactions:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/

MBB generally give lower conversion rate. If you do travel overseas frequently, recommend you apply MBB Plat MC where it gives 2X Treat Points (Petronas Plat 1X only).
Gen-X
post Jan 10 2011, 10:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 10 2011, 12:58 PM)
I will cancel my ambank platinum because I arranged for BT from amex BT plan for 1 year.

Due to Amex has not paid it on due date, I do not want to get interest charge and late charge, so I paid full amount from my current account with ambank.

Then when amex paid it, got credit balance and I asked them to transfer the credit balance back to my current account with ambank.

they asked me to fax the proof of the payment i made.. damn, really waste my time to do that. cancel you better.

Some more no grade period to offer interest free period from due date even Maybank, RHB, CIMB do have.
How long did it take MBB/AMEX to approve your BT application and make payment to AMBank?

I know for a fact that CIMB / Direct Access Balance Transfer program vert efficient, within 7 working days approve and payment will be made 2-3 days after approval. Since I have no idea how long MBB takes to approve BT application, not willing to take the risk and do 12 months BT even they are offering 0%.

And as for the grace period, all banks are to give 3 days grace period as it is a BNM ruling.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 10 2011, 01:07 PM)
how do i ask for a higher limit for my credit card? I applied my cards 2 years ago with RM1.8k basic salary and i only get RM3k limit for my cards. Now i wanna cancel all my cards and stick to only 1 card with RM7 or 8k limit, izzit possible? currently i am holding 3 cards. RM3k each. Now My basic salary is 2.3k SGD which is equivalent to RM5.5k. Seriously RM3k means nothing to me now coz its less than 1 month of my salary. I can just simply buy a Macbook for around RM4k++ and i can't use the card to swipe. Worst thing is the bank ask me to use RM10k a year so waive the gov tax, how am i suppose to hit that amount when my card's limit doesn't allow me to do so.
Call Customer Service and ask for CL increase, and they will tell you waht to do. As for how to buy RM4K with RM3K CL, well simple maths - use both cards i.e.split the purchase into 2 transactions and you can buy up to RM6K tongue.gif As for RM10 to et GST waiver, well that's for a year lah, everymonth charge RM1K also enough lah.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 10 2011, 03:48 PM)
well.. for current, i have one EON GSC and HSBC Amanah and both is 1 year old card already. thinking of getting third card actually. just not sure which one to get. AMEX which is good if you use a lot and can get cash back later on by redeem their points and PBB Esso/Mobil card is good for me also because i always pump Esso petrol and not to mention they got 0.5% cash back.. hmm.. headache..
Since you have only EON GSC and HSBC Amanah, I would recommend you go with AMEX Credit Card instead of PBB Esso Mobil. Why I say so is because you will also get 5X reward ponts for Utilities (DiGi, Maxis & CElcom) and Groceries besides Petrol.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 10 2011, 05:57 PM)
ambank got offer 0 % bt or not ?
No, they instead give you free gift. Better go for other cards BT with 0%.

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 10 2011, 09:16 PM)
I wanna ask. I might put myself into a deep trouble when I asking this question.

My family urgently need RM2k cash to pay my brother & sister schooling fee plus the others thing. I was think how the heck I gonna get RM2k cash for them except the cash advance from my credit card.

I aware of daily interest and also the withdraw fee at ATM. My dad told me he can pay me RM 600 every month and he said he willing to pay the daily interest fee and withdraw fee. In my mind was thinking,shall I go withdraw and help them ? sad.gif
School not yet start? Do you have HLB CC, if yes ask call them and ask them to transfer RM2K into your savings account for 6 months program where interest is only 0.5% per month. EON bank also have this thing call Cash On Call where interest 4.99% ofr 6 months. Save you hell a lot more than taking cash from ATM.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 10 2011, 10:01 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 11 2011, 06:56 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 10 2011, 10:13 PM)
Good ideas. But Gen-X's idea better.
School start already. Yes , I do have HLB CC. Omg,you just remind me their Call on Cash stuff. Thank you so much bro. With 0.5 interest,not only save the withdraw fee and also the daily interest fee. I forgot I hold the card and I got such benefit. Hehe..

Thank you so much for reply.
I remember you have like 5 cards approved recently that's why asked you to look into either HLB or EON.

As mentioned by chemistry, HLB "BT" is calculated on daily basis, so earlier you pay back you save on interest. However do take note that you will be imposed a penalty if settle in full before the program period. You can go for 3 months where interest 0.4%. If you go for 6 months and your dad pays you back RM600 for the next few months, then by the 4th-5th months you can settle it full but you should not, instead leave a balance of like RM100 for the 5th month and maintain RM10 in the 6th month. Nearing the 6th month check when is the exact day the plan expire (it does not expire on same day as Statement Date) and then pay on that day or the next.

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jan 11 2011, 12:13 AM)
Got another new Visa Signature card, it's from CIMB Bank. smile.gif
CIMB Visa Signature benefit free tickets at GSC and free annual fees for life. Other than that go for CIMB Visa Infinte got same benefit and more (golf and dinning), If you ask me CIMB/ Direct Acccess World Master Card better benefits.

Comparing to EON Visa Signature, EON better as you get 1.5X points local spending, 2X overseas plus 1% cash back for overseas spending and you get Priority Pass.

On yes, CIMB/DA Eraman 15% discount extended for VI and WMC thumbup.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 11 2011, 10:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 11 2011, 07:37 AM)
If not mistaken, within 7 working days. I sent application to their previous e-mail account that not in use, thus delayed the processing by resending the application again.
7 working days reasonable for approval.

To all:
Anyway, I just posted a new write up on what's new for 2011 at my blog at http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/

nothing much that have not been mentioned in this thread but did come across Alliance Flexi Payment Plan where they offering 0% installement for 6 and 12 months plan which have been extened to Feb 2011. Very good deal if you got Alliance as get cash back plus points and 0% installements for retail transactions.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 11 2011, 10:46 AM
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 08:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 07:45 AM)
Guys,
i have cancelled my HLB cc since 2008. But in august 2010 they send a statement stating tat i have an overdue payment. After several emails, this is what HLB officer have to say:

"As per our previous email, we would like to advise that there is no record of your cancellation request received at our end prior to service tax imposition. We wish to take this opportunity to advise that for each credit card issued the bank is authorize to charge a service tax of RM50-00 which is then make payable to the Royal Customs Department. The bank has indicated that with effective 1 January 2010, all individual holding credit cards will be imposed a service tax of RM 50-00 per principal card.

In view of the above, it is with regret that we are unable to reverse the service tax of RM50-00 which was levied in the Visa card on June 30, 2010. Nevertheless, we are pleased to advise that we have since reversed the annual fee and finance charges derived from the service tax on goodwill basis. We would appreciate if you could make the necessary arrangement to remit payment i.e. RM 50-00 before your  statement due date."

I do not intend to pay for the service tax as my card was cancelled before the implementation of the tax.

Guys, would like to know what should i do?
1) do i really need to pay for the service tax?
2) if i do not make the payment, what is the consequences?
If you have cancelled your card since 2008, did you not get statements between 2008 and Aug 2010? If you have, then I say it was your fault that you did not follow up on the cancellation.

Next time always follow up with a call to check what is in their system.

If you do not make payment, well the amount would be showing in HLB system and wonder if it will show up in CCRIS report which is not good.

To say that they cannot reverse the RM50 is not entirely true, Citibank did reverse my charges after GST was charged and then only I cancel my card.

Write another appeal letter stating why they should waive the GST and if they still not willing, IMHO, just pay the RM50 and move on and use your time and evergy on something else.
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jan 12 2011, 01:35 PM)
hello guys,
im a noobie here,
im trying to apply for my 1st credit card,
still cant decide what to get,
i have a few questions i like to ask sifus here notworthy.gif

abt the finance charge,
do they count the 20 days interests free period frm date of purchase or frm the statement date?
i dont really understand this,
thanks..
as for the 20 days interest free, it goes like this

1. Every month the bank wil on a specific date (called Statement Date) issue you a statement informing you of you account status. And usually you need to make payment before the 20th day (Due Date) after this said Statement Date. For example:

Your Statement Date is on the 8th of every month. Therefore payment is due on or before 28th of that particular month. No interest will be imposed if you make payment before or on the Due Date. That's why they say 20 days interest free.

Actually you can enjoy more than 20 days interest free. Once again will take 8th of every Janaury 2011 to be your Statement Date. Now you go make a purchase on the 10th of January which is pass your Statement Date and this transaction amount will only be shown in the 8th of February 2011 Statement Date and payment due on 28th February 2011. That means you actually got yourself more than 40 days interest free on your purchase if you pay in full on or before 28th Feb 2011.

To read more on credit card, click on my signature below - Intro to CC101
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jan 12 2011, 02:32 PM)
actually, i already read ur blog (good read btw thumbup.gif ),
thats what im trying to understand,
so that mean anything we buy will accumulate in the statement date,
and also the interest free period actually starts frm the statement date to the due date (not from the date of purchase rite),
if like that then we can have like u said more than 40 days of interest free rclxms.gif ,

im confused bcos before,i consult abt it with CIMB bank officer when im there,
and he kept saying that if i dont pay my usage 20 days after i swept my card for any purchases,
i will be charge with the finance charge, i dont want that..

and according to his explanation (if it is true),
then we need to know the date of every purchases we make,
and start counting the days, if we want to avoid the finance charge,
correct me if im wrong, still learning here sweat.gif
that CIMB guy is stupid for a bank officer (to be an officer nowadays one need a degree). Just pay in full whatever amount that is stated in the Statement before the Due Date and you won't be imposed a single sen of interest.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0613sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:18 PM