Dell XPS Series, Discuss everything about ur XPS
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 15 2010, 01:31 AM) My personal opinion.....XPS 15 should be good enough.....I have been using for 2 weeks....my spec was the core i5 package.....im oso studying engineering....the spec is more than enough to handle them..... Well, I'll be studying engineering in about... 4 years' time? Sure hope it doesn't change much then
ubeyou
Dec 15 2010, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 15 2010, 01:33 AM) Well, I'll be studying engineering in about... 4 years' time? Sure hope it doesn't change much then  don't worry, school syllabus won't change much and only worry when u're joining competitions tat required heavy autoCAD(which requires more RAM than fast processor speed). Engineer on i5 should be enough but it will be a plus point to get i7 package. It's best if u can upgrade to 3 years warranty since u're trying to hold it for 4 years.
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Dec 15 2010, 01:38 AM) don't worry, school syllabus won't change much and only worry when u're joining competitions tat required heavy autoCAD(which requires more RAM than fast processor speed). Engineer on i5 should be enough but it will be a plus point to get i7 package. It's best if u can upgrade to 3 years warranty since u're trying to hold it for 4 years. Thanks for clarifying for me. More RAM - so do you suggest I settle for 8GB RAM in my XPS 15 config? As you said, if I'm joining competitions that requires heavy AutoCAD. I kind-of need the battery to last at least 3-4 hours so the i7 is out of the picture unless it can produce phenomenal results compared to the i5.
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 15 2010, 01:45 AM) Thanks for clarifying for me. More RAM - so do you suggest I settle for 8GB RAM in my XPS 15 config? As you said, if I'm joining competitions that requires heavy AutoCAD. I kind-of need the battery to last at least 3-4 hours so the i7 is out of the picture unless it can produce phenomenal results compared to the i5. since budget is not ur problem y not?
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 15 2010, 01:54 AM) since budget is not ur problem y not?  Budget is not a problem, but if it doesn't do much difference, then why splurge on it? Yes, I'm tempted to get 8GB RAM, but if 4GB is already powerful enough, I don't see a need in 8GB...
ubeyou
Dec 15 2010, 02:01 AM
err, actually 4GB is sufficient for me, but 6GB will allow u to handle more things at once. Based on site reviews, when u're doing hardcore work, with i5 i don't think u can get more than 3 hours. Anyway, GC and processor determine ur rendering speed. IMO i7 + 9 cells would be a good 1.
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 15 2010, 01:56 AM) Budget is not a problem, but if it doesn't do much difference, then why splurge on it? Yes, I'm tempted to get 8GB RAM, but if 4GB is already powerful enough, I don't see a need in 8GB... if u don nid that much u can upgrade then later on when u nid them.....i have 4gb but starting to be not enough.....
ubeyou
Dec 15 2010, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 15 2010, 02:01 AM) if u don nid that much u can upgrade then later on when u nid them.....i have 4gb but starting to be not enough..... what you do with the 4GB anyway
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Dec 15 2010, 02:03 AM) what you do with the 4GB anyway  running 2 browser with a lots of tab.....and vmware for virtual machines
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Dec 15 2010, 02:01 AM) err, actually 4GB is sufficient for me, but 6GB will allow u to handle more things at once. Based on site reviews, when u're doing hardcore work, with i5 i don't think u can get more than 3 hours. Anyway, GC and processor determine ur rendering speed. IMO i7 + 9 cells would be a good 1. Yeah, problem is the i7 doesn't support Optimus, and Optimus supposedly does quite a bit in saving battery power. QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 15 2010, 02:01 AM) if u don nid that much u can upgrade then later on when u nid them.....i have 4gb but starting to be not enough..... Oh, I see. Well, I think I'll get the 4GB since 4GB sticks go for around the same price on LYN.
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:06 AM
rmb to upgrade to 9 cell when u purchase the core i5 XPS 15....the default 6 cell onli last u for around 2.5 hour with casual browser onli.....
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 15 2010, 02:06 AM) rmb to upgrade to 9 cell when u purchase the core i5 XPS 15....the default 6 cell onli last u for around 2.5 hour with casual browser onli..... Yup, definitely going to take the 9 cell. Btw, does anybody have an idea of what's the difference between the WiFi Link 6200 and WNC 6300?
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:09 AM
6300 one is with 3 antenna which and support higher speed whereas the 6200 one onli have 2 i read it from other thread...
This post has been edited by vernon91: Dec 15 2010, 02:11 AM
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 02:13 AM
Doesn't really make a difference for us normal users right? We don't have routers like the one mentioned in this topic on NBR in our country anyway, we're just using normal D-Links right? http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo-ibm...-vs-6300-a.html
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:14 AM
normal router wont see the diff
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 02:15 AM
Hm then I guess I'll save that 50 bucks and spend it on something else then  Added on December 15, 2010, 2:16 amOh hold on, what about Dell Care Premium vs XPS Premier & CompleteCover? This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 15 2010, 02:16 AM
TSvernon91
Dec 15 2010, 02:16 AM
here is the post on the intel 6200 vs 6300 QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 5 2010, 11:49 PM) 6300 has three antenna compared to 6200 which only has two antennas, 6300 can achieve high speed intranet 450Mbps compared to 6200 which only 300Mbps, assuming your router can support it.. and also since it got 3 antenna, signal strength should be better...
lee_what2004
Dec 15 2010, 02:20 AM
*stare* ji--------
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 15 2010, 02:15 AM) Added on December 15, 2010, 2:16 amOh hold on, what about Dell Care Premium vs XPS Premier & CompleteCover? Dell Care Premium include everything in XPS Premier & Complete Cover + weekend/night service....
TheWandererX
Dec 15 2010, 02:23 AM
Weekend/night service? Care to elaborate on that? Sorry if I'm being a little buggy, just want to make sure I've got everything set for the laptop. It's gonna be with me for quite a while anyway.
lee_what2004
Dec 15 2010, 02:24 AM
*stare* ji--------
Normal one, they only service on working days/hours..