WTB new rig for Cataclysm, LF: ~50+fps in heavy raid environment

Currylaksa
post Dec 10 2010, 01:02 AM

1,616 posts

Actually 6870 is significantly better than GTX460 in mainstream 3D games, just not World of Warcraft. rclxub.gif

Also the price difference is only around RM100.

Finally, temperature on load for both cards are almost the same.

This post has been edited by Currylaksa: Dec 10 2010, 01:07 AM
kEazYc
post Dec 10 2010, 01:46 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Dec 9 2010, 11:41 PM)
6870 is rm750..if budget limited go for 460/6850..ati dun have physx..btw,both have pro n cons..i want to get 6870 now,but no stock..if take too long,might consider 560..
6870 no stock meh, my shop got alot sweat.gif
vostroxe
post Dec 10 2010, 03:57 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Dec 10 2010, 01:46 AM)
6870 no stock meh, my shop got alot sweat.gif
PM'ed!
ArmedandDangerous
post Dec 10 2010, 04:50 AM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Dec 10 2010, 01:02 AM)
Actually 6870 is significantly better than GTX460 in mainstream 3D games, just not World of Warcraft. rclxub.gif

Also the price difference is only around RM100.

Finally, temperature on load for both cards are almost the same.
I can't find any reviews that shows that though. At best, the 6870 is doing 5-8FPS better in some games, and an overclocked 460 easily matches the 6870 in almost every other game.

If the price difference is within RM100 like you said, I MIGHT choose that over the 460, I just pray that ATi fix their drivers faster sad.gif

This post has been edited by ArmedandDangerous: Dec 10 2010, 06:15 AM
vostroxe
post Dec 10 2010, 11:50 AM

768 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/world-...mance,2793.html

this? it post bt CurryLaksa..
khelben
post Dec 10 2010, 03:06 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(ArmedandDangerous @ Dec 10 2010, 04:50 AM)
I just pray that ATi fix their drivers faster sad.gif
The thing I like about ATi is that they have new drivers every month. I don't usually face problems with their drivers but if I do, I know that they'll release one soon.

Nvidia, on the other hand... laugh.gif

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Dec 10 2010, 11:50 AM)
Hmm you gotta copy the links properly though laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 10 2010, 04:29 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

facts:

-Nvidia overprice BS, but they tamed up recently due to heat by ATI

- ATI drivers suck

- nvidia drivers only rock, because of their gaming market monopolization

- ATI yields better raw card performance than nvidia for the same amount spend

- however said performance may not be achievable in actual game play due to shitty drivers

tldr: nvidia generally less hassle, and lol fanboyism/paying out of your nose, while ATI is better price/performance ratio, but rofl drivers.

both are viable choice, and its almost really up to who have the "best card of that period" or "best performance/value ratio of that period" in which case, at the moment GTX460 is on the upper hand.
ArmedandDangerous
post Dec 10 2010, 10:49 PM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

Got my new system today biggrin.gif
TristanX
post Dec 11 2010, 05:24 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 10 2010, 04:29 PM)
facts:

-Nvidia overprice BS, but they tamed up recently due to heat by ATI

- ATI drivers suck

- nvidia drivers only rock, because of their gaming market monopolization

- ATI yields better raw card performance than nvidia for the same amount spend

- however said performance may not be achievable in actual game play due to shitty drivers

tldr: nvidia generally less hassle, and lol fanboyism/paying out of your nose, while ATI is better price/performance ratio, but rofl drivers.

both are viable choice, and its almost really up to who have the "best card of that period" or "best performance/value ratio of that period"  in which case, at the moment GTX460 is on the upper hand.
At least ATI doesn't release driver that fries your card.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-19...ating,9802.html

I've used both ATI(2 years) and Nvidia(6 years). I have no problems from them. From the news, both of them have their bad times though.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Dec 11 2010, 05:26 AM
vostroxe
post Dec 11 2010, 03:01 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 11 2010, 05:24 AM)
At least ATI doesn't release driver that fries your card.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-19...ating,9802.html

I've used both ATI(2 years) and Nvidia(6 years). I have no problems from them. From the news, both of them have their bad times though.
yeah..+1..i dont want to stick at 1 brand only..forgot bout 196 driver..

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0156sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:09 PM