8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Rabbit Corner V10, --== Come Get Some Bunny Rubs ==--

TSsangterap
post Mar 22 2012, 09:35 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

And that's how you remember each one of them for a lifetime....

Here's something to brighten up the thread...

QUOTE(iceng @ Mar 22 2012, 08:59 PM)
they will mess with everything that they should not.... trust me. i given them a big paper box but they insisted to bite on the box that i dun permit and i gave them rabbit toy but them bite on furniture!!
aihz... lol. but still love them...
This post has been edited by sangterap: Mar 22 2012, 09:38 PM
TSsangterap
post Mar 23 2012, 06:46 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hello Pink Princess. Just my humble opinion, rabbits look best in their own fur. I think bunny clothing is not suitable for our climate here in Malaysia. It's too warm for them.

QUOTE(pinK_Princess @ Mar 23 2012, 12:33 PM)
Newbie bunny owner here!
=)

Does anyone know where can I get clothes for my bunny?
TSsangterap
post Mar 28 2012, 03:32 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Lotsa running around the house can help with stomach motility. smile.gif

QUOTE(Hypermakey @ Mar 28 2012, 12:12 AM)
Hi,i'm new to rabbit owner....is anyone's rabbit suffer from hairball usually.....my bunny is a regular hairball sufferer...i have given many hay n sufficient water...what else to overcome this???
TSsangterap
post Apr 6 2012, 11:28 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

If you are feeding Alfalfa based pellet or rabbit food, you should start feeding Timothy Hay. Some young rabbits cannot tolerate the high protein in alfalfa.

QUOTE(hitsugayat10 @ Apr 4 2012, 09:08 AM)

Prob with bunny is it doesnt know how to groom, so bottom part's a bit dirty coz of d sticky poo poo d other day..
All my rabbits uses bottle because it is much easier.

Here's what I use:

http://tinycritterz.com/webshaper/store/vi...kProductItem=25

QUOTE(hitsugayat10 @ Apr 4 2012, 04:31 PM)
Problem: Bunny cant drink from bottle and so i use a bowl to fill water for it to drink. Prob's bunny likes to get inside the "pool" and is always wet doh.gif:x:x
It's a weird behaviour! Plz advise.
TSsangterap
post Apr 16 2012, 09:48 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I am sorry to hear about lil BunBun's passing.

I cannot stress enough not to get bunnies from PetShops. Here are some reasons why I will not get bunnies from pet shops:

1. Baby bunnies are "harvested" too early from the farms. Baby rabbits can only leave their mother after 8 weeks
2. Most petshops have too many animals from different locations and no one knows what diseases some of these animals carry. Your bunny may have contracted some diseases

Not to generalize though, there are some pet shop owners who are very careful and ensure their livestock are in good condition.

QUOTE(hitsugayat10 @ Apr 7 2012, 09:00 PM)
My lil BunBun has passed away at about 1115pm last night  cry.gif
Sent for cremation early this morning  cry.gif
D vet said on Friday morning, bunny might be stressed coz of being away from herd n being in new environment which caused stomach upset...
Since it's just stomach upset, my fren who's a bunny owner said that my bunny might be a bit sick already when i got it from petshop..Anyway, did the best that i can do to take care of him and may lil BunBun rest in peace...

sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
TSsangterap
post May 14 2012, 07:41 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Any discussion to expand the knowledge of fellow forumer is always welcome. That is the main function of this thread.

You share very good information...

TSsangterap
post May 14 2012, 08:12 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

It will be nice to see a dog and rabbit together. Perhaps you will be the first to do that. Make sure you start off having supervised play time for both of them. Don't leave them unattended. I believe if your puppy is really tame, it shouldn't be a problem. Good luck!

QUOTE(paige.pc @ May 12 2012, 12:54 AM)
guys i got one question

Is there any problems will occur if i mix a rabbit to play with my dog together ?

Im thinking of getting a rabbit for my dog. My dog is very well behave , so rest assured she is very tame.

Any advise before getting a rabbit of all the rabbits sifus out there ?
TSsangterap
post May 17 2012, 12:21 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

None at the moment but may be available soon...

I would like to get one and name it JAR JAR BINKS!

QUOTE(leesa_maza @ May 16 2012, 09:19 PM)
I have a question, where can i find english lop. ive been looking everywhere for one sad.gif(((
anyway meet mr. ponpon, holland lop rabbit happy.gif.. hye everyone. huhu
TSsangterap
post Jul 18 2012, 05:18 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Alfalfa should not be staple as most pellets are already made using alfalfa. This is also because alfalfa is too high in protein and may damage the kidney. The main reason why your ND is not keen on taking the Timothy Hay is because it may not be fresh.

I personally use only Timothy Hay and Genesis Ultra Premium Rabbit pellet (alfalfa based). Genesis pellet comes in Timothy Hay based and Alfalfa Hay based.

I never use Alfalfa Hay at all even for younger rabbits. My baby rabbits are introduced to Timothy Hay at the age of 3 weeks. The just start to nibble on the hay at that age while still on their mother's milk.

QUOTE(Arawin92 @ Jun 30 2012, 10:18 PM)
Im her BF here.We are feeding were feeding the bengy 1kg at 1st,later on now a friend said its the same as the 25kg repack so we got 2kg of that.But now im going to change it into hagen 2.27kg after this bag finish.
As for hay we wer using Alfafa(the bugger loves this) but the same friend recommended timothy.Btw this guy is a rabbit breeder as well(our rabbit wasnt from him).But our ND doent even touch the timothy hay.So im going to change to Alfafa now.
My plan is to feed alfafa as staple n provide some pellet everyday.Tats all.Good enof? Im looking for the bermuda hay for beding but cant find...is it cheap?

Added on July 18, 2012, 5:26 pmIs RM 40 for 2 kg and free shipping considered cheap?

QUOTE(kopiPeng @ Jul 16 2012, 08:51 PM)
Anyone know where can get cheapest Timothy Hay in KL?? Please advise. Sharing is caring! wink.gif

Added on July 18, 2012, 5:30 pmIt takes a while for their hormones that causes aggression to reduce. After both are neutered, should be better. Good luck!

QUOTE(msxeroz @ Jul 5 2012, 11:05 AM)
My rabbit eat almost all vege but dislike carrots. So i make a point to give green leafy vege (Eg. parsley), sometimes cucumber, carrot, orange haha.. but in small amounts. just dont give them too sweet, or starchy vegetables. Vegetables must also be washed thoroughly and air dry. I don't really pantang my rabbits.

Added on July 5, 2012, 11:07 amRabbit lovers,
My female rabbit has became aggressive and territorial that i took it to be altered. After 2 weeks, still aggressive leh! I intend to bring my male rabbit to alter too then both of them can live together like childhood times. I dont know how to make them loving again.. Headache headache.. any advice?
This post has been edited by sangterap: Jul 18 2012, 05:30 PM
TSsangterap
post Jul 19 2012, 04:47 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

smile.gif Thanks for the good review. ROFL!

Actually the stalks can be used as toothpick. save you some more money there eh?

Glad that your bunny is enjoying the hay which is an important part of a rabbit's diet. smile.gif

QUOTE(ally19 @ Jul 19 2012, 03:23 PM)
convenient too.
not to mention it smells nice.
not sure about the taste as I havent tasted it but I can say my busybody will eat the stalks/stems too. the only thing left are the bits of hay and dust. nothing is wasted unlike before where I have to throw the stalks/stems away. you can leave it there for days and she won't even touch it.
TSsangterap
post Aug 16 2012, 01:16 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Here wishing all Muslim friends....

SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDILFITRI MAAF ZAHIR DAN BATIN!

in advanced.....

travel safe!
TSsangterap
post Sep 3 2012, 06:16 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I assume you bought a rabbit with lop ear. for none lop ear breed, the ear will lop if the ear is injured.

There are a few other indications:

1. Tight crown
2. It is nervous
3. May be a mixed breed
4. Still too young to lop

QUOTE(odin556 @ Aug 31 2012, 12:30 PM)
my lop ear bunny has one ear up and one ear down. any idea whats going on?! sad.gif
TSsangterap
post Nov 13 2012, 09:34 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hi Carol,

Perhaps you can try reading this - http://www.barbibrownsbunnies.com/ecuniculi.htm

I have not had much luck with Wry Neck but have friends successfully help them through it. You will never get 100% recovery though, they will usually show a little sign of wry neck.

Hope it helps and hope she recovers well.

Good luck!

QUOTE(carol274876 @ Nov 12 2012, 03:57 PM)
Hi all, I need some advise as I have no experience with rabbits before. I am currently fostering a rabbit found abandoned in my office carpark. Vet says it has Torticollis & already completed antibiotic course for 2 weeks but neck still twisted. So now undergoing treatment for ear mites. Anyone has experience in taking care of this type of sick rabbit? Your reply would be greatly appreciated. Currently I am keeping her in my doggies playpen but because she can't balance very well she is constantly rolling in pee & poo & I need to clean her & the area 2x a day. Should I get a cage? Hope to hear from you guys soon as I desperately need help. Thanks.
TSsangterap
post Nov 29 2012, 09:56 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Good job dantck! thumbup.gif

Glad to hear that Carol! rclxms.gif

TSsangterap
post Feb 16 2013, 10:00 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hi Mizu,

Welcome to the wonderful rabbit hobby.

You are right about the cage being bare, you can have everything but the most important is to add a wire mesh at the bottom for the comfort of Kiki's feet.

Regarding purebreed or not you really cannot tell unless the rabbit comes with a pedigree document that list 3 generations of lionhead. Most probably Kiki is a hybrid rabbit with the mane gene.

1) Should I trim her fur myself? I brush regularly but it's still pretty long. She always accidentally chews on her fur while eating! If I send to a shop, how much should I expect to pay?
for "long" fur breed like Kiki, it is advisable to brush her fur regularly to reduce tangles that can be painful and it will also help reduce the ingestion of fur. Up to you to clip the fur yourself. Most owners enjoy DIY because it is a form of bonding session with the rabbit.
2) If I decide to spay her, should there be anything I need to prepare before or after surgery?
Spaying can be done after 6 months of age. In this case Kiki does not come with a pedigree that states the actual birthdate so you have to estimate her age. Maybe waiting at least 4 months from now before deciding to spay. There are only a handful of vets that are good with spaying. I highly recommend Valley Pet Veterinary (Sg. Long) or HillPark (Kota Kemuning). Very high success rate for spaying. Please refer to this page for address - http://truluvrabbitry.com/6-basic-care-for-beginners/
3) Should I get her a friend? And if so, any reliable breeders where can I get another Lionhead like her, preferably another color?
You seemed to prefer having rabbits as pets, it is good to have a pair and the best pairing is a neutered buck and an intact doe. Even better if both are sterilized so that the buck does not harass the doe and the doe will have better temperament. But of course it all depends very much on the individual rabbits.

Hope this helps.

TSsangterap
post Apr 9 2013, 03:02 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Mar 26 2013, 10:48 AM)
hello all wabbit sifus, i have some questions that i'd like to ask before adopting a rabbit.

Is it alright if i were to play 2 female rabbits (spayed) together in the same cage?
YES if their temperament are mild and compatible

Will female rabbits be on heat? (unspayed)
NO, rabbits are induced ovulators. Only the act of intercourse will cause them to release egg.

I have heard of rabbits having fragile hearts - they get heart attacks easily. I have dogs at home but they are small sized and will of course be seperated from the rabbit (dogs will remain inside their own room). Will my dogs be of a threat to them? I hope not.
The presence of Predator will stress them out. Some may break their backs when bolting in the cage when panic.
TSsangterap
post May 27 2013, 11:56 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

During warmer days, you can give them frozen bottles to cool down. Cool veges are fine as long as they do not contain too much water e.g. lettuce.

QUOTE(aoibhealFae @ May 23 2013, 10:17 AM)
Its okay if its really hot dry days. But depends on your rabbit actually.
TSsangterap
post Jun 5 2013, 12:35 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

DryPetz is pretty good so far. Economical too.

Try to avoid bedding with too much dust. IF you are allergy to dust then try to imagine how it affects the rabbit. Sometimes the wrong bedding will cause rabbits to have respiratory problems.

Hope that helps.

QUOTE(aoibhealFae @ May 31 2013, 11:59 AM)
how about drypetz litter?

I use chipsi because my parents use the feces as fertilizer and the timber shavings are biodegradable. Yeah, its too messy for indoors and I have slight allergies to the dust.
TSsangterap
post Jun 11 2013, 05:53 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

zenix,

I used to build my own cage. Not anymore, too troublesome. What do you plan on doing? Perhaps I can give you some suggestions if they are worth anything smile.gif

aoibhealFae,

It is very subjective and each individual animal reacts different. You are right about aeration being important to avoid respiratory problems. Never tried lining litter with hay cause I prefer them chewing on them rather than pee/poo on them. As long as it works, it is worth practicing.

Regarding matted fur, perhaps using a slicker brush would help? It works for me.

TSsangterap
post Jul 9 2013, 05:54 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hi There,

Here's a little article to help you start with toilet training. Hope it helps...

http://www.petfinder.my/wagazine/201210/15...-bunny-home.htm

QUOTE(ktboyz @ Jul 8 2013, 07:20 PM)
How to train rabbit pee and shit in 1 place??!! My rabbit keep pee and shit on her food there... after that she duwan eat her food.. very pening kepala.. i put the food on her bowl... untill noon i came back, she pee on her bowl and duwan eat her food.. T_T teach me how?

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0501sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:13 AM