26 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Streamyx Things to do / Self-investigation (streamyx only), *updated - what to do when mis-capped

Charsiupao
post Aug 10 2007, 09:09 PM

128 posts

I have a problem that I hope somebody can help me with.

3 years ago I set up my wireless connection at home, using an Aztech modem and a Linksys router/AP. I configured the router/AP to use the modem to dial Streamyx using PPPoE and establish a connection, after which the router/AP would broadcast the signal for my PCs to use.

A few weeks back my Aztech modem started to go senile (after 3 years I'm told it's normal). It has incredible difficulty picking up a DSL signal when I turn it on, and after Streamyx very kindly sent a technician to my home to test my phone line he found out that it was my modem problem as the modem he brought with him picked it up with no problems (paiseh). I then bought a new Aztech modem.

I plug the Aztech modem into the phone line, and sure enough, the DSL indicator lights up after a few seconds. I plug in my router/AP to dial in and the Ethernet indicator lights up as well, showing that everything is working well. However, when I try to use my PC, it says that I have the wireless signal but no internet connection - even though the modem shows the Ethernet indicator on.

Is there something I need to configure? All my settings in the router/AP have not changed, including the DNS settings (and when I plug in my old modem - which still works sometimes as it can detect a DSL line one time out of maybe a 100 times I turn it on, I just don't have the patience to spend hours turning it on/off/on/off/ad infinitum - the signal works fine and I can use the net). Do I have a faulty new Aztech modem, or do I need to configure something on the new modem side to make the connection work? I don't remember ever installing anything for my old modem nor configuring any setting for the modem - they were all at the router level.

Thanks!

Pao

This post has been edited by Charsiupao: Aug 10 2007, 09:11 PM
phillys
post Aug 13 2007, 06:59 PM

20 posts

Hi, I have just checked my SNR margin and apparently I got less than 10dB or so. I guess this means it's really bad, right? Take a look at my screenshot below and tell me what you think.

Should I call TM-Net or Telekom Malaysia considering I have just changed my telephone lines roughly a month or 2 ago and have been charged RM60 for it :-/
scorps
post Aug 21 2007, 08:11 AM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

QUOTE(phillys @ Aug 13 2007, 07:59 PM)
Hi, I have just checked my SNR margin and apparently I got less than 10dB or so. I guess this means it's really bad, right? Take a look at my screenshot below and tell me what you think.

Should I call TM-Net or Telekom Malaysia considering I have just changed my telephone lines roughly a month or 2 ago and have been charged RM60 for it :-/
try ask your question about snr margin at here >> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/222851
wodenus
post Aug 26 2007, 07:10 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Aug 2 2007, 12:48 AM)
well, mine must take the cake then... i can still surf, with much difficulty i must add, and this is what i get when i try to ping any site.... i've tried changing the DNS address, and i've called the tmnuts about 7 times in the past 4 days. all they say is that they'll get a technician to look into it. i'm not sure what he's looking at then. and the agents don't seem to care when i tell them that i can't ping any site... they just ask me to wait for the technician.... funny thing is, i can still use torrent and messenger (ie yahoo and msn). however, surfing sucks big time. torrent speeds never go past  20kbps... port forwarding done with encryption enabled...

C:\>ping 202.188.0.133

Pinging 202.188.0.133 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 202.188.0.133:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
these are my DSL param... :

DSL Parameters and Status
Vendor ID: 0039 
Revision Number: E.37.5.5 
Serial Number: 123456789abcdx 
Local Tx Power: 12.3 dB
Remote Tx Power: 14.3 dB
Local Line Atten.: 55.5 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 31.5 dB
Local SNR Margin: 18.5 dB
Remote SNR Margin: 16.0 dB
Self Test: Passed 
DSL Standard: T1.413 
Profile: MII 
Tx Line Rate: 512 Kbps
Rx Line Rate: 1216 Kbps
Framing Structure: Framing-3 
Trellis Coding: Enable 
Power Management Mode: L2, L3 Not Allowed 
HELP!!!
Local line Atten. is quite bad.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Aug 26 2007, 07:29 PM
hairul
post Sep 5 2007, 01:11 AM

** Learn From The Mistake **
944 posts

i cant login, all modem status ok.. here the log
Im using billion5112s... this is replacement modem i get from forumer.

NAT is Dissable, it is ok? i cant enable it...

9/5/2007 0:47:1> Accept() fail
9/5/2007 0:49:3> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:49:3> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:49:3> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:49:33> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:49:34> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:49:34> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:50:14> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:50:18> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:50:18> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 0:50:18> Accept() fail
9/5/2007 0:57:22> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:57:22> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:57:22> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:58:34> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:58:38> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:58:38> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 0:58:38> Accept() fail
9/5/2007 0:58:45> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:58:45> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:58:46> netMakeChannDial: err=-3001 rn_p=80435e88
9/5/2007 0:58:50> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:58:50> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 0:58:50> Accept() fail
9/5/2007 1:0:26> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 1:0:26> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 1:0:26> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface

slid3
post Sep 6 2007, 04:32 PM

41 posts

Are you staying in perak or penang region. I had the same problem from 12 am today. The connection was permanently lost from then. checked router all ok. Called TM nutz today and they said service interruption in perak and affected some places in penang. Dunno if it's ok by now.

QUOTE(hairul @ Sep 5 2007, 01:11 AM)
i cant login, all modem status ok.. here the log
Im using billion5112s... this is replacement modem i get from forumer.

NAT is Dissable, it is ok? i cant enable it...
9/5/2007 0:49:3> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:49:3> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:49:3> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:49:33> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:49:34> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:49:34> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:50:14> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:50:18> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:50:18> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 0:57:22> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:57:22> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 0:57:22> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:58:34> MPOA Link Up
9/5/2007 0:58:38> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:58:38> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 0:58:45> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 0:58:45> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
9/5/2007 0:58:46> netMakeChannDial: err=-3001 rn_p=80435e88
9/5/2007 0:58:50> ppp_ready: ch:8047d950, iface:803cc500
9/5/2007 0:58:50> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
9/5/2007 1:0:26> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
9/5/2007 1:0:26> MPOA Link Down
9/5/2007 1:0:26> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
hairul
post Sep 6 2007, 05:51 PM

** Learn From The Mistake **
944 posts

Now already ok after Reset my modem, on off, setup new connection...

Normally, if PPP No Light in modem, what is the problem?
How to make Manual Connection instead of Auto Connect?
Im using Billion Modem (Supply by TM)...
slid3
post Sep 7 2007, 10:42 AM

41 posts

Anyone experiencing connection problem ( cant connect to Streamyx) these few days? Starting from Wed (5 Sept 2007) till today?

I Called Streamyx and they said they say there are service interuption in perak and affected to some areas in Penang. I am currently staying in Penang but my neighbour which staying a few meters away (same apartment block) is having no problem with the conenction. So i am wondering if anyone else experiencing the Disconenction or the problem comes from my side??

Would appreciate if anyone can give some feedback or help. Thanks.
Aoki-sama
post Sep 8 2007, 02:52 AM

Hi guys, Im currently about 7 months subscribed to TMnet. Truly its a dissatisfaction and really disappointed services / customer services.

Earlier February this year I chose package RM99 with Free Modem lease,
1 week of first connection was like hell. Everything is below 100kbits/s (10kbytes/s).

I keep calling everyday and lastly I got better speed but it just below 400kbits/s (40kbytes/s)
I still keep callings, making reports, etc but its still the same. So I thought out that probably my house if quite far from the exchange / DSLAM (whatever it is).

So I tried out my way checking my modem, status, SNR, update firmware, even update my PPPoE protocol...
Not satisfied with that, I borrowed my friend's modem, tested, using another PC, even try re-format, re-installing windows, etc.

Im almost giving up my effort about this, oh yeah at least I got to decrease my bill to RM77 now since the merdeka bash campaign (I was thinking to downgrade to package RM77 for 512k+Modem but I get RM77 for 1MBits+modem instead).

up to this day, Im still getting 40kbytes/s... using torrent? nah... I use XDCC IRC stuff for animes, at least I got max out my speed to 40kbytes/s but that is all... STILL SLOW...

Anyone having the same problem as I am?

Thats all Im using:

TMnut ScreamyX's Promotion Package 1MBits/s RM77+Modem (Merdeka Bash)

Modem Status

Link Status Connected
Us Rate (Kbps) 384
Ds Rate (Kbps) 1024
US Margin 28
DS Margin 31
Modulation MMODE
LOS Errors 0
DS Line Attenuation 33
US Line Attenuation 27
Path Mode Interleaved

Im sharing with 2 computer, using Aztech DSL600E modem, D-Link's DES-1005D switch.

Im rarely checking lowyat nowadays, but if anyone have any suggestion to solve my problem kindly please reply thanks.

EDIT: If any chance the problem WAS my location is too far from the exchange, is it possible to increase both download and upload rate so I will get the rate I suppose to get? I mean by calling the customer service...

This post has been edited by Aoki-sama: Sep 8 2007, 03:01 AM
Deslack
post Sep 8 2007, 10:16 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jun 15 2005, 01:19 AM)
basically the route path is
You -> Gateway (219.93.218.177) -> DNS server (202.188.0.133) -> Destination
Correction:

You -> TMnet Gateway -> Other International Gateway -> Destination

Though it might not be that simple. Your request might be relayed into a dozen or more gateways before it reaches the destination.

A suitable analogy would be you, driving to a friends place, which is the destination. Every junction and/or corner you encounter/pass through could be considered as a gateway. And the only difference here is, the junction decides which route to go to. Not you, the driver. smile.gif

The DNS server plays its part in translating name-based addresses (forum.lowyat.net) to IP address of the host (202.190.197.145). Then you will connect directly to the IP address received from the DNS server.

Your data transfer to the destination never pass through the DNS server.
Skylinestar
post Sep 28 2007, 10:57 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

i'm asking a question for my friend. she's using a d-link wireless router and a centrino notebook. previously, she can online using the wifi. but recently, we format the notebook for a new start. it can scan the network/access point. but when connect, it shows limited connect or no connectivity although we are choosing the correct access point and entering the corret password.

my friends who go to her house also can online through wifi but she cannot.

help plz.
Reimao
post Nov 19 2007, 04:50 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

Hey guys..

Say im having a ping from tmnet and it accounts to 340++ms averagely...tat's witout including connecting to sites like youtube or streaming sites..and a while ago i checked my speed test wit speedometer streamyx and
wat shocked me is tat im getting less than 120kb/s...im subscribing 512 btw..
ttwy
post Dec 7 2007, 06:42 PM

214 posts

Hi guys! I'm having problems connecting to the internet. I just moved into this house a couple months ago and ever since I moved in, my DSL light either just blinks or won't even on when I turn on my modem unless it's after 12am till 6am and between 3pm and 4pm. What could be the problem? Is it streamyx or is it most probably my landline? By the way, I was reading the first page of this thread and I can't seem to find how to check my SNR. I'm using an Aztech 660EU by the way.

This post has been edited by ttwy: Dec 7 2007, 06:44 PM
milw0rm
post Jan 10 2008, 11:07 AM

i've been a customer since 2004. no problems since. but since the end of 2007, my line is a livin nightmare for me.

i suppose its my old line, i demanded for it to be changed.

take a look at my attachment. it is really my line, right?

i dont want to be all rough to tmnet, so yeah.

This post has been edited by milw0rm: Jan 10 2008, 11:08 AM
Aoki-sama
post Feb 20 2008, 10:46 AM

Hi guys, glory to you all. Firstly I would like to thank you everyone for never ending support to poor people like me and some other.
I had very hard, tough, times with TMnet (now TM). Its gonna be a long story, so let me summarize it.

I've been subscribed to StreamyX basic 1Mbit for 1 year now. Ever since the beginning, I've tested, everything, my computer, modem, bandwidth's test. And to my conclusion I'm capped at 30%. It doesn't matter whats the problem is, if you tested on TMnet website with their speedometer, and you count it, and if you get result of below than 70% of what package you've subscribed to, then you can take action.

Generally you will need to report to 100, yes do that, but I will tell you to my honest experience, MY OPINION IS that customer care doest even help me solve any problem, HOWEVER you will NEED to make the report. So the report exist. The better way is to get contact number of the technician in charge, or someone from the branch.

Thanks to masamura! (on the 1st page), his tip about reporting to MCMC DOES HELPED. After waiting for months well alot of times and my money wasted, December last year I decided to be serious and let MCMC involved. After you get MCMC's reply (letter etc), Notify TM using email, phone, that you've MCMC behind you now and you will be surprise to see how much TM will bug you lol. Yes they called me alot of times just to get confirmation. And lastly they WILL put a better person in charge of your case which will come running at you in short time (well in a day or two) to help you solve any problem.

My problem was not only due to slow StreamyX, I had 3 times of stolen phone cable since last December. And TM took about 1 month just to repair back the cables despite of me calling 100 everyday (yes I did). Now I won't call to 100 anymore since I got the person in charge at my area cell phone's number, And I got cable stolen again last 5th February and they take less than a week to repair it since its CNY. And last case was better, I got it stolen yesterday, it was repaired today. I'm not even calling 100 to hear crappy script anymore lol.

So to simply all this:

1. Test, Bandwidth Test your speed yourself.
2. Unsatisfied? Report to 100, then report to MCMC and wait for MCMC reply. (Please refer to 1st post for more detail)
3. If TM doesn't solve it in a week, and u got the MCMC reply, use the MCMC's report number and tell TM.
4. They will definitely solve it in ASAP and they will send someone with better rank to solve it. (get his contact number!)

Alrite now, its rebate time!

To request rebate you will need to call 100 and go to billing area. I was told I need to go nearest TM place (where u pay the bills and all) and ask for rebate form there. And I did, and what worker in TM told me? I was then again told to write a letter / email to request rebate. Email? that 0.1% reply rate from TM. Do TM read em all?.

Alrite, the right way is to do this, Get EVERY REPORT numbers that you've been given to by phone. Write it down somewhere. And get MCMC's Report number too. Write an email, write those report numbers, MCMC's report numbers and don't forget your account detail (no need to write out you password) including your username@streamyx, account number, phone number, etc.

Send it to help@tm.com.my
TIPS: Use "MCMC" on the subject, example: Requesting Rebate and MCMC's report detail, etc

Done with email you WILL NEED to call 100 and tell the billing area's customer care, INSIST and request the rebate, tell him / her every report numbers, MCMC report, and tell that you also have sent email. BE SERIOUS and PUSHY here. I mean don't give up :3

You should get called by "someone" to tell you that they will investigate and all, and they WILL notify you how much, your rebates that you will get. By my experience, if you had alot of cases before like me, they were like, hardly want to give you rebates. I got rebated for my stolen case, and I got rebated by my slow streamyx too (that after I insist and sent 2nd email to them).

What I'm not satisfied now is that I get really low rebated for my slow streamyx's case. (I will send them 3rd email).

I hope my post here will settle and enlighten anyone who had cases like I does.
Lastly, glory to you all and don't give up, we can win this :3

And now, here my result from TMnet's speedometer and my Modem/Router's page:

user posted imageuser posted image

Jealous? what are you waiting for? go solve your own case now! YOU CAN DO IT! GAMBATE!

EDIT: I've just sent 3rd email, and called the person in charge about rebates, and yes they will investigate and count it carefully and I will get more than what have they rebated which is really low. Im happy now lol, I changed, I became pushy and insist that I'm right, you should too. Good Luck and Glory to you all :3

This post has been edited by Aoki-sama: Feb 20 2008, 11:30 AM
LuCasYew
post Feb 24 2008, 10:30 PM

HI SnoWFisH,

it is my ADSL status normal? Pls advices. Thnks thumbup.gif

ahpek26
post Feb 25 2008, 10:57 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(Aoki-sama @ Feb 20 2008, 10:46 AM)

Holy wankers shocking.gif 8000 kbps DS rclxub.gif Nice whistling.gif
Seriously dude, where the heck do you live? Near a prison or something. They should put an electric fence around those cable I mean come on, it's like the thieves already got their calendar marked for stealing those shocking.gif .

Anyways, congratulations on your winning battle against TM. I too share the same opinion with you since most of my problems are solved instantly (no mcmc though). But maybe it's just the workers on my area are less lazier compared to others.

Good guide, will use them in desperate times, thanks thumbup.gif
Aoki-sama
post Feb 26 2008, 04:18 PM

Well IDK how much they upgraded my connection, but Im getting the speed that I supposed to get.
I live in a village, and my phone cable route crosses some bushes where there is less people live (not much houses around).
For this month, February, I got 3 cases of stolen cables (5th, 16th, and 23rd).

Seriously next time, Im gonna beat the crap out of that guy. I recognized his face, the problem is IDK where he live and when he will come again, stealing cable. I already set up an alarm. The next time, Im gonna break his arms and legs >:D /gg
SeeD
post Feb 27 2008, 05:33 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Look at my attenuation and the margins ...
I think it's bad ...
is it bad ?

Anyways, I'm experiencing
1. Laggy dota games ... I'm unhappy
2. Tested speedometer with download and upload. Guess what I got ..
Download Speed 1025.68 41.59 24.66 197.28
Upload test did not start due to timeout ... Damn tmnut I'm phoning them in a while after this post
3. LAG LAG LAG AND LAGS AGAIN !!
4. I can't connect to the internet for more than 24 hours already ... for more than 5 times in a month. Reported yesterday and they said it's the cable. I hope no more of these happen again.
5. FRUSTRATION

GOtta phone now ... tongue.gif Do tell me if the line is okay or not. The attenuation and the margin thingie...

This post has been edited by SeeD: Feb 27 2008, 05:44 PM

michaelconan
post Feb 28 2008, 01:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Feb 27 2008, 05:33 PM)
Look at my attenuation and the margins ...
I think it's bad ...
is it bad ?

Anyways, I'm experiencing
1. Laggy dota games ... I'm unhappy
2. Tested speedometer with download and upload. Guess what I got ..
Download Speed    1025.68    41.59    24.66    197.28
Upload test did not start due to timeout ... Damn tmnut I'm phoning them in a while after this post
3. LAG LAG LAG AND LAGS AGAIN !!
4. I can't connect to the internet for more than 24 hours already ... for more than 5 times in a month. Reported yesterday and they said it's the cable. I hope no more of these happen again.
5. FRUSTRATION

GOtta phone now ... tongue.gif Do tell me if the line is okay or not. The attenuation and the margin thingie...
hey hey, i face the same problems too, did tm cs send ppl to solve your problems? any solution for this problem?

26 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:49 PM