Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V2, gold ring or f/2.8 and bigger !

Kent3888
post Dec 27 2010, 03:32 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

I will smile whenever I need to crank the iso up to 1600-3200. The noise is barely visible..... compared to old D5000, haha....

Added on December 27, 2010, 3:34 pmAny good guidance frm web how to shoot a nice flash portrait? As in the power of the rear flash to provide hair light and how to light from the front?? Hmm..... Wanna learn more biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Dec 27 2010, 03:34 PM
TSKTCY
post Dec 27 2010, 03:35 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^ Strobist.com smile.gif
Kent3888
post Dec 27 2010, 03:49 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 27 2010, 03:35 PM)
^ Strobist.com smile.gif
Thanks.... if you rmb or come across any of these kinda info do share with me k, thx in advance rclxms.gif
TSKTCY
post Dec 27 2010, 03:53 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Yay. Quitting photography for good whistling.gif
laputa83
post Dec 27 2010, 04:11 PM

48 posts

Hi all, is minor creeping normal when the camera mount on the tripod?

I experience minor creeping when i zoom to max on my 50-150 sigma on D90, attach to vanguard alta pro 264 tripod, SBH-100 ball head. Which is quite disturbing.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 27 2010, 04:26 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 27 2010, 03:26 PM)
@aldosoesilo : I know la. My friend have 2 unit with him. Play till I sien. Keep poison me non stop sleep.gif
hahaha.. poison is good for future. smile.gif) as you will plan but definitely bad for walet.
anyway sifu teach me group photo.. yao ya yao ya?? can larr.. brows.gif
gnome
post Dec 27 2010, 04:50 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 27 2010, 04:26 PM)
hahaha.. poison is good for future. smile.gif) as you will plan but definitely bad for walet.
anyway sifu teach me group photo.. yao ya yao ya?? can larr..  brows.gif
The easiest for group set to aperture F8 to F11 and if picture turns out dark, pump up the iso or reduce the shutter speed. Having a tripod helps too.
Andy214
post Dec 27 2010, 04:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 27 2010, 03:05 PM)
guys.. I am wondering how t do group photos. w/o having focus in one spot only. I tried using AF-S (since they are still) and center weighted.

I tried to minimize the F but it will only make the picture looks darker. any advice?
group picture depend on the depth, then dial in the appropriate aperture.
If the group is big with 3 or more rows, you can focus on the middle row and dial in smaller aperture to get more in focus.

DOF does not mean focus one area, it means the 'depth'.

If you dial in smaller aperture (bigger f number) you'll let in less light thus your picture will be darker, so you ned to compensate with slower shutter and/or increase iso.
If your camera have depth of field preview button, try to dial in wide paerture (small f number), press the DOF preview button, take a look at your lens, you'll see the aperture wide open thus letting in much light.
Now change your aperture smaller (big f number), press the DOF preview button and see again...

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 27 2010, 04:53 PM
aldosoesilo
post Dec 27 2010, 05:05 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 27 2010, 04:50 PM)
The easiest for group set to aperture F8 to F11 and if picture turns out dark, pump up the iso or reduce the shutter speed. Having a tripod helps too.
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:53 PM)
group picture depend on the depth, then dial in the appropriate aperture.
If the group is big with 3 or more rows, you can focus on the middle row and dial in smaller aperture to get more in focus.

DOF does not mean focus one area, it means the 'depth'.

If you dial in smaller aperture (bigger f number) you'll let in less light thus your picture will be darker, so you ned to compensate with slower shutter and/or increase iso.
If your camera have depth of field preview button, try to dial in wide paerture (small f number), press the DOF preview button, take a look at your lens, you'll see the aperture wide open thus letting in much light.
Now change your aperture smaller (big f number), press the DOF preview button and see again...
so basically it's kinda hard to do group picture w/o tripod and flash since it will be dark and reducing shutter speed will make it prone to shaking?
aw... rclxub.gif
Kent3888
post Dec 27 2010, 05:13 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 27 2010, 05:05 PM)
so basically it's kinda hard to do group picture w/o tripod and flash since it will be dark and reducing shutter speed will make it prone to shaking?
aw...  rclxub.gif
It merely impossible to do group photo without flash in bad lit condition, I mean real dark with mayb 1 small light source, coz even ur hands r steady, for sure some of ur frens will move a bit, den gone ur photos.... but with more light bulbs around and a good sensor, just pump to iso 6400 lor.....
aldosoesilo
post Dec 27 2010, 05:16 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Dec 27 2010, 05:13 PM)
It merely impossible to do group photo without flash in bad lit condition, I mean real dark with mayb 1 small light source, coz even ur hands r steady, for sure some of ur frens will move a bit, den gone ur photos.... but with more light bulbs around and a good sensor, just pump to iso 6400 lor.....
icc icc.. I get it now.. bumb the iso will make it prone to noise. and I think noise is worse than the geisha effect. thumbup.gif
thanks.!
celciuz
post Dec 27 2010, 05:18 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Dec 27 2010, 05:13 PM)
This is when the mighty D3s comes into picture tongue.gif.
adriancs
post Dec 27 2010, 05:20 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(laputa83 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:11 PM)
Hi all, is minor creeping normal when the camera mount on the tripod?

I experience minor creeping when i zoom to max on my 50-150 sigma on D90, attach to vanguard alta pro 264 tripod, SBH-100 ball head. Which is quite disturbing.
What do you mean by creeping? If its zoom creeping as in your lens gets an erection all by itself, then yes its normal.

If you're seeing camera shake while mounted on tripod, then no, thats bad. You have a crap tripod.

To check, extend your zoom to max zoom, then look thru the viewfinder. Then tap on the end of your lens or lens hood. If you see movement thru the viewfinder, then that means that shaking will come up in your photos. Get a better tripod and head.
gnome
post Dec 27 2010, 05:26 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

IIRC sigma 50-150 is internal zoom lens, no extruding bits coming out while zooming unsure.gif

also dont think vanguard alta pro 264 tripod is that crappy, maybe the lens got problem? unsure.gif
General_Nic
post Dec 27 2010, 05:27 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 27 2010, 05:18 PM)
This is when the mighty D3s comes into picture tongue.gif.
Or SU800 + 4,6,8 SB900s laugh.gif

5 more posts to V3!

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Dec 27 2010, 05:28 PM
gnome
post Dec 27 2010, 05:30 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 27 2010, 05:27 PM)
Or SU800 + 4,6,8 SB900s  laugh.gif

5 more posts to V3!
Woah...doing group photo for army battalion izzit? need so many flashes laugh.gif
celciuz
post Dec 27 2010, 05:32 PM

14,037 posts

5 more posts to V3!
This one really sounds overkill LOL. No need so ganas geh~
General_Nic
post Dec 27 2010, 05:35 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 27 2010, 05:30 PM)
Woah...doing group photo for army battalion izzit? need so many flashes laugh.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 27 2010, 05:32 PM)
This one really sounds overkill LOL. No need so ganas geh~
Better effect n still cheaper than a D3s lor laugh.gif
Kent3888

1,333 posts

5 more posts to V3!
This sounds like doing group photos in stadium with spots lights all around!! I soo itch to play with strobe now..... brows.gif
celciuz

14,037 posts

LOL, but a lot more troublesome compared to D3s. D3s just come in chik chak. This one need to setup here and there + test lighting haha!

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0192sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:58 PM