Qatar to host World Cup 2022, Is this a Joke?

TSeffhedge
post Dec 2 2010, 11:49 PM, updated 16y ago

the 2018 & 2022 world cup host revealed

2018 wc host: russia

2022 wc host: qatar

source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/9247651.stm
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 12:09 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

Fair enough Russia gets to host WC 2018....

BUT QATAR was chosen as the host of World Cup 2022? Nope, not funny. It's not a effing joke.

Absolute BOLLOCKS of the highest degree. A country that sticks out like a d*** in the Persian Gulf with a mere population of 350000, (less than the number of foreign expats who work there) with sweltering heat up to 60 deg in the summer and booze is limited to hotels, gets to host the world's greatest show on Earth.

FIFA is definitely high on crack and get ready for an embarassment of epic proportions.

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 3 2010, 12:10 AM
bigbangformula
post Dec 3 2010, 12:11 AM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:09 AM)
Qatar was chosen as the host of World Cup 2022. Nope, not funny. It's not a effing joke.

Absolute BOLLOCKS of the highest degree. A country that sticks out like a d*** in the Persian Gulf with a mere population of 350000, (less than the number of foreign expats who work there) with sweltering heat up to 60 deg in the summer and booze is limited to hotels, gets to host the world's greatest show on Earth.

FIFA is definitely high on crack and get ready for an embarassment of epic proportions.
Haha I wanted the 2022 World Cup to go to Australia though..and for the 2018,I wanted it to go to England!

But they may prove you wrong biggrin.gif

aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 12:12 AM

121 posts

actually i like it.. world cup should go to the region that need it more.. we have already watch too much of England and Spain through football..
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 12:16 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Dec 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
Haha I wanted the 2022 World Cup to go to Australia though..and for the 2018,I wanted it to go to England!

But they may prove you wrong  biggrin.gif
I like your optimism but seriously you need to see go to Qatar to check out the scene there. Then you would have understand me.

Those bedsheet wearing dickwats can't even host a proper birthday party for their kids (they usually pay McDs to do that)...let alone World Cup.
Mikeshashimi
post Dec 3 2010, 12:18 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

its in 12 more years mind you. So give them a break. tongue.gif
bugKecik
post Dec 3 2010, 12:20 AM

53 posts

this is quite good bcoz fifa, it's all about bringing the 'soccer' throughout the world.

---------------
i wonder if liqour is banned there

This post has been edited by bugKecik: Dec 3 2010, 12:20 AM
SUSCharkoteow
post Dec 3 2010, 12:22 AM

225 posts

So the problem Qatar hosting 2022 with you is because of the booze and sandniggers can't party?
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 12:23 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

as long as their stadiums meet expectations and they allow booze/alcohol drinks then it's fine for me...but the latter is almost impossible

give them a chance, and at least it's in Asia

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 3 2010, 12:24 AM
Quick`

735 posts

mehh, not really bothered by WC that is coming like in what....another 12 years?
for all you know we are all uncles and aunties, wont even be watching football already
12 more years that a long time to go, and who knows what will happen by then. transformed Qatar tongue.gif
who is to say the world wont end in 2012 whistling.gif
looking forward to Brazil world cup 2014
oh wai- Euro 2012!
1 at a time

nizamhameed

6,437 posts

why its joke, when they capable
faris21
post Dec 3 2010, 12:24 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

so Qatar automatically will be one of the tournament`s favorite
really lucky for those who will be in same group with Qatar. I bet they will take over South Africe`s worst host team in World Cup history
carloz28

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Charkoteow @ Dec 3 2010, 12:22 AM)
So the problem Qatar hosting 2022 with you is because of the booze and sandniggers can't party?
Like i said, buy yourself a ticket to Doha in the summer, spend a couple of days there and then come back read my post if it still make any sense to you.
bugKecik

53 posts

the real joke is most of you all will be ended up only at mamak's. why butthurt so much?
faris21
post Dec 3 2010, 12:25 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(bugKecik @ Dec 3 2010, 12:24 AM)
the real joke is most of you all will be ended up only at mamak's. why butthurt so much?
+1
eddychstu
post Dec 3 2010, 12:26 AM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

qatar > vuvuzela
cocklea
post Dec 3 2010, 12:31 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

Yes, the country is not exactly massive and the heat can be daunting but I think they are more than capable to host the game there (Qatar) and with the money that they have I believe it will be an amazing event. They did an amazing job hosting the TriBeCa this year and I'm not hearing any complaints from De Niro or Selma Hayek about the heat.
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 12:32 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

well at least we can see some of this in a world cup

one vulgar but funny comment...chuckled non stop..open at own risk tongue.gif

SUSCharkoteow
post Dec 3 2010, 12:32 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:24 AM)
Like i said, buy yourself a ticket to Doha in the summer, spend a couple of days there and then come back read my post if it still make any sense to you.
Thousands have been there for the Asian Games and MotoGP. doh.gif
If I'm not mistaken, 2011 AFC Asian Cup will be held in Doha too.
dlct87
post Dec 3 2010, 12:37 AM

474 posts

its still 12 years to go....they can really improve a lot in terms of infrastructure if they really determined to make it one of the best WC, since they already have the money

unless you can forecast the future, then I'm speechless

This post has been edited by dlct87: Dec 3 2010, 12:37 AM
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 12:40 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

odds on Israel qualifying for WC2022?
aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 12:41 AM

121 posts

interesting how they would design stadiums that would be dismantled later and rebuild in 'developing' countries to avoid white elephants.
zstan
post Dec 3 2010, 12:42 AM

15,856 posts

eh russia good what. at least cheaper flight tickets. maybe i can afford in 12 years time. if london or australia reli cannot la.

unless that time rm1 = 0.5 usd. oh wai-
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 12:44 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

okay so alcohol will be allowed in certain fan zones, and Israel is allowed to play if they qualify
z928328
post Dec 3 2010, 12:46 AM

34 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I'm happy Qatar got it- Bored with WC always being played in Europe.

12 more years-Most of you will be daddy mommy & this thread/topic pun takde dah..

Z
dlct87
post Dec 3 2010, 12:55 AM

474 posts

seriously ts, what did Qatar did to you?
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 01:13 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(z928328 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:46 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

I'm happy Qatar got it- Bored with WC always being played in Europe.

12 more years-Most of you will be daddy mommy & this thread/topic pun takde dah..

Z
can't blame ma, europe paling developed ba..more influence also

86 - Mexico
90 - Italy
94 - USA
98 - France
02 - SK/Jap
06 - Germany
10 - SA

other continents especially america has their fair share too..recently only asia more developed, can handle wc
legendofhafiz
post Dec 3 2010, 01:13 AM

82 posts

Why can't people happy with Qatar? They got the money man. It depends on them though. I'm sure in 12 years they will handle the WC just fine. If I'm not mistaken , many people doubt on S.Afrika right?
faris21
post Dec 3 2010, 01:34 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

i have no doubt about their stadium and facilities, for me the WC will be down if the host is weak team, at least we can consider South Africa as a good team, they even play in past WC, but Qatar football team ....
ayanami_tard
post Dec 3 2010, 01:37 AM

40 posts

i is butthurt the moment they announced mother russia will host 2018.

i mean wtf? Theatre of Dreams,wembley,Old Trafford,Emirates,st james' park,white hart lane.....hell even pride park(derby county home stadia) is good enough to stage any world cup match

at least qatar(as an AFC member) can host 2022 wc.i expect japan/korea but they already done so in 2002
dlct87
post Dec 3 2010, 01:42 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 3 2010, 01:37 AM)

i mean wtf? Theatre of Dreams,wembley,Old Trafford,Emirates,st james' park,white hart lane.....hell even pride park(derby county home stadia) is good enough to stage any world cup match

at least qatar(as an AFC member) can host 2022 wc.i expect japan/korea but they already done so in 2002
blame the England media for the downfall of their 2018 campaign
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 01:50 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

Early odds for 2030 World Cup: North Korea 7/1, Somalia 6/1, North Pole 11/1, The Moon 25/1 England 10,000/1
Meis
post Dec 3 2010, 01:55 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

beckham was so sarcastic when he said "Qatar is a great country"

i almost pee in my pant lol
gummerz
post Dec 3 2010, 01:57 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:45 AM)
They can build all the gigantic stadiums and worldclass infrastructure with their oil money but nothing beats the fact that the country is an absolute shithole.

Nevermind the weather and booze, the attitude of the Qataris needs the biggest fix. Rude, obnoxious & illiterate, they make Homer Simpson looks like a farkin genius and the woman there are so fat that they can leave a footprint on a dry cement.

Here's a joke. You know why Qataris are behaving like d***$?

Coz their flag looks like a zipperhead.
If you are saying this,then i can't see any difference between you and them

This post has been edited by gummerz: Dec 3 2010, 02:00 AM
ayanami_tard
post Dec 3 2010, 02:00 AM

40 posts

don't be butthurt lol

troll just trolling.they can say anything they want
mkaz
post Dec 3 2010, 02:01 AM

208 posts

now parents in qatar will send their kids to football academy and hopefully their son will feature in WC- in 12 years time lol..

ayanami_tard
post Dec 3 2010, 02:02 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Dec 3 2010, 02:42 AM)
blame the England media for the downfall of their 2018 campaign
yes i blame them.i don't quite mind if them tabloids doing the mess but BBC?

it's like RTM saying BN suck
Meis
post Dec 3 2010, 02:02 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:09 AM)
Fair enough Russia gets to host WC 2018....

BUT QATAR was chosen as the host of World Cup 2022? Nope, not funny. It's not a effing joke.

get ur facts right dummie

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qatar

This post has been edited by Meis: Dec 3 2010, 02:03 AM
sakaito
post Dec 3 2010, 02:06 AM

1,366 posts

hell...

the wc is in 12 years time.. plenty of time to develop a decent team.

btw.. why butthurt about qatar?
mingxhin
post Dec 3 2010, 02:06 AM

57 posts

2/3rd of Qatar are expats and foreign workers biggrin.gif
wonder how they gonna fill up the stadiums?

russia i can understand got good football, zenit, spartak etc.
qatar only once pass 1st round of asia cup rclxub.gif

saudi kena 8-0. dprk kena 8-0 (or isit 7-0), qatar ?-0
unless like asian games import from africa, qatar import from brazil, argentina, spain....united nations of football thumbup.gif laugh.gif
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 02:07 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

What's the problem this idiot had with Qatar anyway? rolleyes.gif

Sure, the heat is crazy in summer, u can barely breathe properly. But infrastructure wise, they are more than ready. Some sporting events they held including annual Tennis competition with the likes of Federer and Nadal playing, 2006 Asian games, and the soon to be 2011 Asian Cup (which I have the chance to watch soon hehe). Plus, MU's decision to choose Doha as one of their training location last year shows what they have. If South Africa can virtually change a nowhere into a soccer city, why not Qatar do similar with what they already have?

I personally prefer Australia coz my long term plan is to finish study and work in Australia (personally easier for me to attend WC), bur Qatar isn't that bad themselves. Having visited Qatar every year since my family is there due to dad's working commitment, I don't see why this Carloz dude are being such an ass about Qatar. Dun like the country coz of personal problem, fine but go on and insult the flag etc is pure stupidity that rednecks display.

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 02:08 AM
miketee
post Dec 3 2010, 02:09 AM

483 posts

For those of you old enough to remember, there were also a lot of question marks over FIFA's decision to award WC94 to USA and most recently, South Africa 2010. Both turned out pretty well so I'm sure Russia and Qatar will do fine.

And 1000 "likes" to that "most of you watching from mamak" comments :-)
faris21
post Dec 3 2010, 02:12 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

Qatar WC stadium plan

Al Shamal Stadium

Al-Wakrah Stadium

Al-Khor Stadium

mingxhin
post Dec 3 2010, 02:14 AM

57 posts

stadia very impressive biggrin.gif state of the art cooling technology using solar power!
rEDs
post Dec 3 2010, 02:14 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

baru balik dari souque waqif.situ pun pasang tv tadi.tak habis2 main hon kereta dgn vuvuzela geng2 ni....doha agak sesak mlm ni...i hope they enjoy suffocating in high humidity the real silent killer.the summer temperature is nothing.

This post has been edited by rEDs: Dec 3 2010, 02:17 AM
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 02:16 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Dec 3 2010, 02:14 AM)
baru balik dari souque waqif.tak habis2 main hon kereta dgn vuvuzela geng2 ni....doha agak sesak mlm ni
bro, still gonna work there onot after 12 years? tongue.gif
rEDs
post Dec 3 2010, 02:21 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

if got chance i work.safety n family value is better here somehow at this moment. fullspec of stadium checck qatar evaluation report on fifa.com
leymar7
post Dec 3 2010, 02:30 AM

86 posts

hahaha..nahh im staying at home..lol

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:45 AM)
They can build all the gigantic stadiums and worldclass infrastructure with their oil money but nothing beats the fact that the country is an absolute shithole.

Nevermind the weather and booze, the attitude of the Qataris needs the biggest fix. Rude, obnoxious & illiterate, they make Homer Simpson looks like a farkin genius and the woman there are so fat that they can leave a footprint on a dry cement.

Here's a joke. You know why Qataris are behaving like d***$?

Coz their flag looks like a zipperhead.
why soo butthurt? you give them 3minute they can be good,3hour better, 12years?
you r behaving like a di*cks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-z2jtUS9-Y

go share your feelings with this dude http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/sport/duncanw...of-fifas-greed/

This post has been edited by leymar7: Dec 3 2010, 02:31 AM
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 02:45 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

Jack Warner must be a man at least 10 times more hated than he was a few hours ago...
popeye3rd
post Dec 3 2010, 04:04 AM

361 posts

wonder if fifa hv a beef with england.they send the best teams for the bid,even got the prince backing.
putin dont ever bother come to zurich and qatar won the bid jst bcoz they got zidane as their ambassador
nakata101
post Dec 3 2010, 07:06 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:24 AM)
so Qatar automatically will be one of the tournament`s favorite
really lucky for those who will be in same group with Qatar. I bet they will take over South Africe`s worst host team in World Cup history
Not really worst, i think SA play well as a host, beat France, draw with Mexico, just lose to Uruguay which reach semi-final.
Lucky not our bolehland be the host, bcoz we got a good example in AFC Asian Cup 2007, the worst ever, shame. whistling.gif
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 07:25 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

Luv to see some cretins here eg pyroboy acting all righteous & Shyte like a Qatar fanboy who doesn't even understand what a banter is.

Guess wat? At least I'm talking bout Qatar but here u r insulting other forummers. Grow up homer & stop being a pompous ass urself

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 3 2010, 08:25 AM
IcyDarling
post Dec 3 2010, 08:24 AM

1,372 posts

my goodness Qatar lol. Hot enough now, imagine 12 years from now. 100 degree celcius lol....

Still cant believe england didnt win it though, i thought beckham was doing quite an impressing job. Nevertheless, wish both the country luck in hosting the world cup~
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 08:27 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 07:25 AM)
Luv to see some cretins here eg pyroboy acting all righteous & Shyte like a Qatar fanboy who doesn't even understand what a banter is.

Guess wat? At least I'm talking bout Qatar but here u r insulting other forummers. Grow up homer & stop being a pompous ass urself
Lol now butthurt from my comment laugh.gif

This guys reli emotionally unstable rolleyes.gif dei, stop being such an emotional wreck and chin up when something doesn't go your way, instead of lying on the floor and throwing tantrums like a 4 year old girl doh.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 08:33 AM
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 08:35 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:27 AM)

This guys reli emotionally unstable rolleyes.gif
LMFAO. The one butthurted is you, fanboy. Stop jacking off on Peter Chao's gf and learn to reciprocate properly to a banter next time.

Just because you went sanddunning in Mesaieed and had a little stroll on curvy Corniche on a Sat afternoon, doesnt mean you know the country very well. You should go and ask ur pops how's life in Doha before making yourself look like a fool with your comments. Comprende?

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 3 2010, 08:45 AM
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 08:44 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:35 AM)
The one butthurted is you, fanboy. Stop jacking off on Peter Chao's gf and learn to reciprocate properly to a banter next time.

Just because you went sanddunning in Mesaieed and had a little stroll on curvy Corniche on a Sat afternoon, doesnt mean you know the country very well. You should go and ask ur pops how's life in Doha before making yourself look like a fool with your comments. Comprende?
whatever you say pal rolleyes.gif

the fact is everyone here know's who's the real person who butthurt so needless to say more rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 08:46 AM
arvil22
post Dec 3 2010, 08:47 AM

155 posts

what wrong with the venue , a true quality team must face the challenge anywhere anytime ,if a team only able to win in home or own continental is that a true champion ?
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 08:48 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(arvil22 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:47 AM)
what wrong with the venue , a true quality team must face the challenge anywhere anytime ,if a team only able to win in home or own continental is that a true champion ?
what's wrong with the venue is the flag looks like a zipperhead. Said by someone who knows Qatar well, so it must be true laugh.gif

To be honest i'm sad that Australia didn't win it sad.gif What more, it seems like Aussie only got 1 vote in the first round, behind Korea and Japan who had 3! Australia were second favourites behind Qatar, no idea why the exco doesnt buy into Australia's campaign.

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 08:51 AM
arvil22
post Dec 3 2010, 08:57 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:48 AM)
what's wrong with the venue is the flag looks like a zipperhead. Said by someone who knows Qatar well, so it must be true laugh.gif

To be honest i'm sad that Australia didn't win it sad.gif What more, it seems like Aussie only got 1 vote in the first round, behind Korea and Japan who had 3! Australia were second favourites behind Qatar, no idea why the exco doesnt buy into Australia's campaign.
flag problem......joke of the day
fcbarcelona-my
post Dec 3 2010, 09:05 AM

1,109 posts

Qatar? ok la. 2022. got 12 years ahead. no need too butthurt
boxsystem
post Dec 3 2010, 09:45 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

Too many English men and Aussie folks in the forum, I guess. Didn't know that. I thought we only have Malaysian and Singaporeans here.

I was having a laugh reading BBC's comments and those from both English men and their 'bad boy' counterparts. And now this? laugh.gif

Carloz28, you WIN!!! zipperhead? laugh.gif
aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 09:51 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:34 AM)
i have no doubt about their stadium and facilities, for me the WC will be down if the host is weak team, at least we can consider South Africa as a good team, they even play in past WC, but Qatar football team ....
Qatar has 2 tries to avoid becoming the first WC host never to qualified to the world cup. Japan escaped by the scruff of their neck in 2002.

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:54 am
QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 3 2010, 01:37 AM)

thats the problem with England and Spain bid.. they are tooo prepared.. they can hold the world cup tomorrow if you want to...

world cups in USA, korea, Japan and South Africa brings a much higher value and development...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 3 2010, 09:54 AM
sickx
post Dec 3 2010, 10:13 AM

:)
1,232 posts

i don't mind qatar hosting the tournament.but isn't russia's stadia are mostly using artificial grass?
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 10:17 AM

440 posts

lol.. Carloz28, i hope youre not 28 year old, coz u dont act like one xD

Carloz28, the zipperhead.

why so butthurt? its not u who plays, since u hate the country so much, im pretty sure u wont be there during WC also..if ure 28, 12 years later ure 40 adi.. take care of ur wives bro lol..

so i bet u gonna watch at mamaks, or burrow in ur house, watching alone.. the TV is good enough to display what u expected to see, the stadiums are properly shaded..so u wont see any glares on TV.

"Why.....sooooo....butthurt?", - Joker

madmoz
post Dec 3 2010, 10:23 AM

4,250 posts

I am pretty sure most of the European teams will be gutted. But correct me if I am wrong, deserts are supposedly pretty chilly at night, no?

No one is proposing afternoon matches in the middle of the desert, right?
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 10:29 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

the matches will be played in the evenings..from around 6.30pm..

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:30 am2026 or 2030 - Malaysia/Indonesia

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 3 2010, 10:30 AM
khelben
post Dec 3 2010, 10:49 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I'm pretty sure Qatar will pull it off. It is definitely nice to have a brand new venue too. About time.
krk24
post Dec 3 2010, 10:55 AM

277 posts

i find no issues with russia nor qatar to organised WC.....but when will MY host WC...at least they can be in the tournament..
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 10:56 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 3 2010, 10:17 AM)
lol.. Carloz28, i hope youre not 28 year old, coz u dont act like one xD

Carloz28, the zipperhead.

why so butthurt? its not u who plays, since u hate the country so much, im pretty sure u wont be there during WC also..if ure 28, 12 years later ure 40 adi.. take care of ur wives bro lol..

so i bet u gonna watch at mamaks, or burrow in ur house, watching alone.. the TV is good enough to display what u expected to see, the stadiums are properly shaded..so u wont see any glares on TV.

"Why.....sooooo....butthurt?", - Joker
Yet another cretin who tries to act more intelligent than he really is. If you really been to Qatar then you will know that the zipperhead joke is quite common among expatriates there. It's all pun intended. Hop off that Qatari cock wil ya and It's kinda laughable that you take it seriously..

Give it up kid, Butthurt is a wimpish word Homer Simpson used after being owned and tored to pieces in a public forum. Typical kiddie weak response...

LOL, why do you care so much where I'll be watching? It's not even relevant to the topic. Hell yea I'm bashing Qatar yes because i hate that country and partly because i think they are not up it. Too bad FIFA's little rotation policy means that a Middle Eastern Country will get a chance to hold the event sometime in the future.

I would have nominate Dubai ahead of Qatar for that but too bad they didnt volunteer.

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 3 2010, 11:05 AM
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM

6,112 posts

This stinks of corruption. Putin didn't even bother to show up did he? I think Russia's apppointment will go down easier. I mean they have a professional league and have qualified for the World Cup numerous times. They have churned out several World Class players beginning with the legendary Lev Yashin. The downside is that travelling will be chore for fans especially during the knockout stages. The distance between Moscow and St. Petersburgh for example is 435 miles! I'm pretty sure they'll increase the number of flights between venues during that time but at what price I wonder? Thought that Spain and Portugal would have been a good choice.

Speaking about price, how much do you reckon it will cost a fan to live in Qatar for the duration of the World Cup? Russia has a huge landmass but Qatar is the direct opposite, comprising of only 1 city, Doha. They have half the population of Wales ffs. Can you imagine the traffic? They don't exactly have a rich football history either. There are huge social economic factors to consider. The fans contribute greatly to the vibrant colours at atmosphere at the World Cup, the pretty lasses in particular. So what now? No more pretty women in skimpy attire especially in that bloody heat? What about gay players or fans? What about Jewish fans? Heaven forbid (quite literally eh?) that Israel should qualify. Where does one get a cold beer to combat the sweltering heat? There aren't any pubs around and you'll have to be pretty darn rich to get into one of those exclusive hotel lounges. Speaking about the heat, it goes up to 50 bloody degrees now and in 12 years time, who knows how high temperatures will soar in light of global warming? Air-conditioned stadiums? Sure, how many Earth Hours will we need to make up for this? More negatives than positives if you ask me. Sepp Blatter and FIFA are a joke.
madfag
post Dec 3 2010, 11:09 AM

the Legend.
564 posts

Hmmm. Duke Red does have his points. especially about the fans.
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 11:17 AM

440 posts

well, 12 years is a long way to go..

at first i thought S.Africa was a joke too...

they sure can pull it off lah.. decisions like these arent forged, they sure analyzed kao kao already.

i jz like to see new places, getting to know cultures n all throughout WC...am not rich to travel for WC.
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 11:18 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM)
This stinks of corruption. Putin didn't even bother to show up did he? I think Russia's apppointment will go down easier. I mean they have a professional league and have qualified for the World Cup numerous times. They have churned out several World Class players beginning with the legendary Lev Yashin. The downside is that travelling will be chore for fans especially during the knockout stages. The distance between Moscow and St. Petersburgh for example is 435 miles! I'm pretty sure they'll increase the number of flights between venues during that time but at what price I wonder? Thought that Spain and Portugal would have been a good choice.

Speaking about price, how much do you reckon it will cost a fan to live in Qatar for the duration of the World Cup? Russia has a huge landmass but Qatar is the direct opposite, comprising of only 1 city, Doha. They have half the population of Wales ffs. Can you imagine the traffic? They don't exactly have a rich football history either. There are huge social economic factors to consider. The fans contribute greatly to the vibrant colours at atmosphere at the World Cup, the pretty lasses in particular. So what now? No more pretty women in skimpy attire especially in that bloody heat? What about gay players or fans? What about Jewish fans? Heaven forbid (quite literally eh?) that Israel should qualify. Where does one get a cold beer to combat the sweltering heat? There aren't any pubs around and you'll have to be pretty darn rich to get into one of those exclusive hotel lounges. Speaking about the heat, it goes up to 50 bloody degrees now and in 12 years time, who knows how high temperatures will soar in light of global warming? Air-conditioned stadiums? Sure, how many Earth Hours will we need to make up for this? More negatives than positives if you ask me. Sepp Blatter and FIFA are a joke.
12 yrs from now it's difficult to predict what will the actual costs is. A return ticket with Qatar Airways now roughly cost RM5K so if you take in current economic considerations in Qatar with inflation rates for the past 2 yrs were whopping 13% and 15%, it will cost you a bomb to watch a game in Doha in 2022.
A decent meal cost like RM30 here but expect that to soar 10 fold in year 2022.

In summer time (May to Sep) the heat can soar up to 50-60 deg and this could prove to be too hot to handle for fans. Open air stadiums will be a killer i gerenti unless they build all indoor stadiums with massive air conditioning.

Transportation wise, there's no LRT or subway available at the moment and i expect KARWA to put a plan in place very soon. There's only one road that leads to various satetile cities like Al-Khor and Mesaieed so they will need to have some proper road planning soon.

Another factor here is the football team here. There's a lot of passion about football but the quality wise left a lot to be desired. It's hard to see how can they compete in WC 2022 unless they start taking in Brazillians and Africans as citizens.
madmoz
post Dec 3 2010, 11:20 AM

4,250 posts

@Duke, I would love to see Israel qualify. Want to see how FIFA deals with that.
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:36 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:18 AM)
12 yrs from now it's difficult to predict what will the actual costs is. A return ticket with Qatar Airways now roughly cost RM5K so if you take in current economic considerations in Qatar with inflation rates for the past 2 yrs were whopping 13% and 15%, it will cost you a bomb to watch a game in Doha in 2022.
A decent meal cost like RM30 here but expect that to soar 10 fold in year 2022.

Football is nothing without it's fans. Many noted how empty the stadiums were especially during the group stages of the last tournament in South Africa. Giants like Argentina, Brazil, and Spain don't exactly have the richest fans. I'd hate to imagine how little support African teams will receive. Qatar will no doubt take this opportunity to market itself to the rest of the world so I reckon we can expect to see expensive suits sitting in VIP boxes, in place of screaming fans with painted faces dancing in the stands?

In summer time (May to Sep) the heat can soar up to 50-60 deg and this could prove to be too hot to handle for fans. Open air stadiums will be a killer i gerenti unless they build all indoor stadiums with massive air conditioning.

Well if they could build an indoor ski slope in Saudi, who knows what more oil money can buy in 12 years? Reckon indoor stadiums with climate control will be out of the question? Teams will flip coins to determine the temperature eh. Can't imagine Scandanavian countries doing very well in that heat. Like I said earlier, it can soar up to 60 degrees now but with the polar ice caps melting at an alarming rate and global warming a serious issue, what will temperatures be like then? I'm guessing we can easily expect an increase of 5 degrees celcius.

Transportation wise, there's no LRT or subway available at the moment and i expect KARWA to put a plan in place very soon. There's only one road that leads to various satetile cities like Al-Khor and Mesaieed so they will need to have some proper road planning soon.

This is one thing that I believe will be rectified. Infrastructure will be improved to accomodate the population influx. It still doesn't address the cultural issues though. Israel? Women? Booze? I mean come on. Qatar has only just recognised a woman's right to drive ffs.

nakata101
post Dec 3 2010, 11:39 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:55 AM)
i find no issues with russia nor qatar to organised WC.....but when will MY host WC...at least they can be in the tournament..
The "MY" u mean which team trash by Indon by 5-1 few days ago... dun waste the slot bro...
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 3 2010, 11:17 AM)
well, 12 years is a long way to go..

at first i thought S.Africa was a joke too...

they sure can pull it off lah.. decisions like these arent forged, they sure analyzed kao kao already.

i jz like to see new places, getting to know cultures n all throughout WC...am not rich to travel for WC.
With South Africa, issues were largely related to infrastructure. With funding these problems can be rectified. Building more roads, having more hotels, looking into world class facilities for stadiums, this is all fixable. They erected 5 new stadiums, upgrading 5 existing ones which came up to US $1 billion.

The difference with Qatar if you forget the demographic and climate factors I mentioned is culture. You can't spend money to ensure they have a more liberal view on women by then. You can't spend to ensure they don't descriminate against Jews. Will any amount of money guarantee that booze will be permitted in the streets? Culture and religion in that region has done it's best to withstand the change that time brings. I am not confident that hosting the World Cup will suddenly mean this process will be sped up. The atmosphere at the World Cup contributes a great deal to the whole tournament. What kind of tournament would it be if everyone were wrapped up, not permitted in public viewing places without family, not permitted to hug the opposite sex when celebrating a goal and not allowed to drink when rejoicing?

Ken
post Dec 3 2010, 11:57 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:39 AM)
The "MY" u mean which team trash by Indon by 5-1 few days ago... dun waste the slot bro...
if MY apply, will blocked by Asia FA first before reach FIFA, as you said, don't waste asia slots by putting a taufu host.
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM)
With South Africa, issues were largely related to infrastructure. With funding these problems can be rectified. Building more roads, having more hotels, looking into world class facilities for stadiums, this is all fixable. They erected 5 new stadiums, upgrading 5 existing ones which came up to US $1 billion.

The difference with Qatar if you forget the demographic and climate factors I mentioned is culture. You can't spend money to ensure they have a more liberal view on women by then. You can't spend to ensure they don't descriminate against Jews. Will any amount of money guarantee that booze will be permitted in the streets? Culture and religion in that region has done it's best to withstand the change that time brings. I am not confident that hosting the World Cup will suddenly mean this process will be sped up. The atmosphere at the World Cup contributes a great deal to the whole tournament. What kind of tournament would it be if everyone were wrapped up, not permitted in public viewing places without family, not permitted to hug the opposite sex when celebrating a goal and not allowed to drink when rejoicing?
Culture..you are having a laugh. Do you know a Qatari does not mingle with people apart from their own kind for the fear of "lowering down their social status in the community"?

Do you know a bachelor are prohobited from entering a public shopping mall on Fridays as Fridays are declared FAMILY day?

Not to mention all women have to dress like Togukawa-Edo Shinobi whenever they appear in public places?

FFS, they hired Indians, Bangla and Paks , foreign workers to cheer for own athetles in Asian games!

I respect the religion but these are the barriers that needs to be overcome if they want to start thinking about hosting an international event.

aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM)

despite the obvious difficulties, i am sure the challenge will be less compared to South Africa. We can see a sneak preview in January when Doha hosting the Asia Cup.
Whats good about countries with infrastructure problems is these events will give the resource and political will to solve it.

1) Traffic problems are expected but not really unsolvable 12 years from now. Greece and Beijing had it much tougher and can be used as a case study
2) Skimpy pretty lasses will be missed. But with different culture, they have a chance to be creative about giving a vibrant colour atmosphere at the world cup. It is definitely not a deal breaker.
3) i am pretty sure Islamic culture issues are the earliest questions asked and tackled by the bidding committee. A jewish team ban would be a no no from the start. i never heard of openly gay world cup players before but i am sure they and and the jewish players can expect a professional hospitality like anyone else. But dont hope for gay entertainment establishment though.
4) i think drinking holes will be much more available during the actual competition compared to now, but then again, why not try to adapt to local method of dealing with the heat. The longest you will do it is only for a month for the rest of your life.
5) During their bidding presentation, they mentioned they will use a zero carbon emission method to cool the stadiums. Solar panels galore.

the best thing about the world cup is the world wide diversity of its participants. So why not extend it to the host and organization as well. Dont expect a typical south american style world cup every time. Open ourselves to different culture as well..
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 12:11 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

I can only imagine the crowd reaction when the Israeli anthem is played in the stadium...iff Israel manage to qualify
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 12:11 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
Culture..you are having a laugh.

This denotes that I've just said something absurd. Don't see how as I've just agreed with everything you've said below.

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
Do you know a Qatari does not mingle with people apart from their own kind for the fear of "lowering down their social status in the community"?

Do you know a bachelor are prohobited from entering a public shopping mall on Fridays as Fridays are declared FAMILY day?

Not to mention all women have to dress like Togukawa-Edo Shinobi whenever they appear in public places?

FFS, they hired Indians, Bangla and Paks , foreign workers to cheer for own athetles in Asian games!

I respect the religion but these are the barriers that needs to be overcome if they want to start thinking about hosting an international event.
I've not been there but I did bother to read up a little. This is exactly why I doubt if it will be a 'successful' tournament. Religion and culture aren't things you can just change with money.
mingxhin
post Dec 3 2010, 12:12 PM

57 posts

Qatar is not exactly a top class football team either, they have only once went past the first round in Asian Cup. Unless they "BUY" a team of foreigners to compete for them which will be more disgraceful than their contingent of African medal winners at the just concluded 2010 Asian Games.

Australia should have won though, USA/Japan/Korea realistically not logical to have them host again so fast. My mind is boggled too that Qatar won. Remember 2006 Asian Games, Malaysia lost to Qatar? This is what Tunku Imran Tuanku Jaafar said

Malaysia did not lose -- in the end it was the Asian Games that lost. Obviously, in this case the merit and criteria went through the window.

Same story again.
dlct87
post Dec 3 2010, 12:12 PM

474 posts

start thinking? they already got the right to host WC la ts....doh.gif
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 12:21 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM)
i think u're confused between Qatar and Saudi Arabia, u dont have to be wrapped up in Qatar, nor are u forbidden to hug in public (PDA is another different issue). Unlike Saudi, non-local women can even wear tight fitting shirts and jeans around, though not encouraged but certainly not punishable. Plus going out with family is not frowned upon as well. Besides, FIFA's policy is to bring football to different cultures around the world, not finding cultures that suit the typical western football. Drinking is another issue i guess, but like i said, we are bringing football to different parts of the world to different cultures, not changing cultures of different people to suit "stereotypical" english version of football. And i'm pretty sure drinkings will be allowed to some extend, maybe there's a "alcohol" and "non-alcohol" section? And about the Jew thing, that's a political problem. the issue with Israel is the same even if the WC is held in Malaysia. I think many here fear the Arabic culture, but my point is, it's the main purpose of FIFA innit, to expose the world to different cultures and religions. If every venue is required to do what the typical English do for football, might as well hold it in England every single time.

The main and biggest problem i can think of is the heat, even at night the temperature can reach 30 degrees, and the humidity is intense, making it difficult to breath, and the air does feel heavy. i can see a lot of players struggling to catch their breathe. At least they've got 12 years to figure out what to do with this.

Personally i don't fancy Qatar as well, as i would have preferred Australia. But what's done is done, i think instead of highlighting the disadvantages now, it's better to discuss on what can be done on it. Every of the contenders have their shortcomings, for example the thing with USA, people will complain they still call it "soccer". Korea and Japan, complain about how recent they've just held one. Australia people will complain about timing and all. The best thing to do now is to witness and discuss how Qatar can improve whatever disadvantages they may have. It's not like they are gonna hold it next year, 12 years is a long time!

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 12:22 PM
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 12:25 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
despite the obvious difficulties, i am sure the challenge will be less compared to South Africa. We can see a sneak preview in January when Doha hosting the Asia Cup.
Whats good about countries with infrastructure problems is these events will give the resource and political will to solve it.

The Asia Cup will be a yardstick but not an accurate one. It will test the extent to which they've set up their infrastructure but Asian culture is still a little more subdued in comparison with the South Americans or Europeans.

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
1) Traffic problems are expected but not really unsolvable 12 years from now. Greece and Beijing had it much tougher and can be used as a case study
2) Skimpy pretty lasses will be missed. But with different culture, they have a chance to be creative about giving a vibrant colour atmosphere at the world cup. It is definitely not a deal breaker.
3) i am pretty sure Islamic culture issues are the earliest questions asked and tackled by the bidding committee. A jewish team ban would be a no no from the start. i never heard of openly gay world cup players before but i am sure they and and the jewish players can expect a professional hospitality like anyone else. But dont hope for gay entertainment establishment though.
4) i think drinking holes will be much more available during the actual competition compared to now, but then again, why not try to adapt to local method of dealing with the heat. The longest you will do it is only for a month for the rest of your life.
5) During their bidding presentation, they mentioned they will use a zero carbon emission method to cool the stadiums. Solar panels galore.
the best thing about the world cup is the world wide diversity of its participants. So why not extend it to the host and organization as well. Dont expect a typical south american style world cup every time. Open ourselves to different culture as well..
1) From what I understand, the roads are the primary modes of transportation now. I'm sure they will have better access by building multi-storey highways or by having better transit systems by then. Still, given it's size and the possibility of tens of thousands of fans flying in, it could get pretty congested.
2) Not a deal breaker, just a deterrent. What if laws are broken? What will be the repercussions then? Might have an adverse effect on the host nation.
3) What will the rest of the citizens or Islamic nations think about Qatar putting aside one of the oldest conflicts in history just for this one tournament?
4) Easy for someone who doesn't drink but when you consider that beer and food are very much big components of having a good time, especially over a month, it's hard to just put it aside. Westerners consume alcohol almost on a daily basis.
5) Kudos.

"Open ourselves to different cultures". Fairplay but it's hard when that culture is such a closed one with so many restrictions. Do you openly invite a person into your house and then tell him he can't go to your bedroom, walk around your living room on his own, take off his coat, etc? It's a double edged sword. Even if they do give in, how will other Islamic nations look upon them? How will their own citizens?

Added on December 3, 2010, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:21 PM)
i think u're confused between Qatar and Saudi Arabia, u dont have to be wrapped up in Qatar, nor are u forbidden to hug in public (PDA is another different issue). Unlike Saudi, non-local women can even wear tight fitting shirts and jeans around, though not encouraged but certainly not punishable. Plus going out with family is not frowned upon as well. Besides, FIFA's policy is to bring football to different cultures around the world, not finding cultures that suit the typical western football.  Drinking is another issue i guess, but like i said, we are bringing football to different parts of the world to different cultures, not changing cultures of different people to suit "stereotypical" english version of football. And i'm pretty sure drinkings will be allowed to some extend, maybe there's a "alcohol" and "non-alcohol" section? And about the Jew thing, that's a political problem. the issue with Israel is the same even if the WC is held in Malaysia. I think many here fear the Arabic culture, but my point is, it's the main purpose of FIFA innit, to expose the world to different cultures and religions. If every venue is required to do what the typical English do for football, might as well hold it in England every single time.

You paint a different picture from carlozz. Well I haven't been there so I'll avoid making assumptions then and stick to what little I know. I agree with the whole exposing football to different cultures bit. The issue however is that it should be reciprocated. I can only be open to someone who is willing to be open to me. Will Qatar be prepared to accept a culture totally different from theirs if only for a month? We are not talking about one nation visiting another here, we are talking about the rest of the world. Drinking isn't just an English culture anymore. It is largely a European one. Hooliganism for example is more prevelant in Italy these days than it is in England. There are many many cultural issues to consider and I'm just wondering if it will be one way or there will be a compromise, and if it's the latter, what other Islamic nations will think of it?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 3 2010, 12:34 PM
pyroboy1911
post Dec 3 2010, 12:41 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

well you can either take a description from someone who is obviously hating Qatar, or from my view on my numerous visits in the past 4 years as a VISITOR. Of course some of them are not so positive, for example it is true the high class Qataris doesnt really mingle with the others, but that's stereotypical; my dad has a local Qatari colleague who is super friendly, according to him.

and in terms of Middle East cities opening to foreigners, i think Dubai ranks no1, and Doha is easily 2nd or 3rd in that list. Look at Qatar as a little more conservative version of Dubai. the freedom is roughly the same, but minus the bad influence such as prostitution and drugs that is quite prominent in Dubai. I would hate to visit if the strictness is anywhere near Saudi Arabia.

PS: Qatar Internet blocks porn site, if that is considered as an disadvantage as well laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 3 2010, 12:43 PM
SUSCharkoteow
post Dec 3 2010, 12:58 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:41 PM)
PS: Qatar Internet blocks porn site, if that is considered as an disadvantage as well laugh.gif
OH SNAP! Im with carloz28 now! laugh.gif
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 01:06 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Charkoteow @ Dec 3 2010, 12:58 PM)
OH SNAP! Im with carloz28 now!  laugh.gif
Proxy! rclxms.gif
liez
post Dec 3 2010, 01:25 PM

1,346 posts

u guys dont scare something like Munich 1972 summer olmpic rehappen again????
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 01:39 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 12:11 PM)
This denotes that I've just said something absurd. Don't see how as I've just agreed with everything you've said below.
Duke, not taking a mickey out of your statement but merely laffing at the their so called "culture" in Qatar...we are on the same page on this
71ers
post Dec 3 2010, 01:53 PM

467 posts

I don't think the muppets in FIFA would have awarded the rights to Qatar if they don't see the benefits. After all, football is the most popular sports in the world. Why risk the popularity of the game ? Economically i believe it is viable to have it for the first time in the Middle East. ... but again i felt the Qatari bid was quite outrageous .. dismantling some stadiums after the world cup and give them to the poorer countries ???
madmoz
post Dec 3 2010, 01:56 PM

4,250 posts

Why can't Malaysia put up a coherant bid? Come on, we've probably got enough $$ and manpower to organise a successful world cup.

Seriously, why not host a world cup instead of building more gigantic buildings, grossly overpriced resorts that turn out to be dismal pondoks or million hole golf courses, an F1 team that only makes up the numbers and some stupid slogan driven pr campaign.

Imagine what hosting a world cup would do for our economy and Malaysian footie.
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 02:02 PM

6,112 posts

Another issue to ponder. What do you guys make of the heresay that Qatar bought votes just like they were alleged to have done back when they won the bid to host the 2006 Asian Games? Malaysia was pretty unhappy claiming that it was a ridiculous decision that was influenced by their economic wealth. I mean FIFA was hit with a bribery scandal earlier this year. (http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/worldcup/story/world-cup-bid-day-marred-in-controversy). There is also allegations of vote trading between Spain/Portugal and Qatari representatives as both World Cup hosts were awarded on the same day.

This all isn't conclusive but with FIFA's recent history of selling votes, one cannot completely rule it out.
letspackme
post Dec 3 2010, 02:05 PM

QUOTE(mingxhin @ Dec 3 2010, 12:12 PM)
Qatar is not exactly a top class football team either, they have only once went past the first round in Asian Cup. Unless they "BUY" a team of foreigners to compete for them which will be more disgraceful than their contingent of African medal winners at the just concluded 2010 Asian Games.

Australia should have won though, USA/Japan/Korea realistically not logical to have them host again so fast. My mind is boggled too that Qatar won. Remember 2006 Asian Games, Malaysia lost to Qatar? This is what Tunku Imran Tuanku Jaafar said
Same story again.
May i know that when Malaysia play with Qatar in 2006 Asian Games??
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_at_t...006_Asian_Games
cleave
post Dec 3 2010, 02:15 PM

Custom Title goes here...
673 posts

QUOTE(letspackme @ Dec 3 2010, 02:05 PM)
May i know that when Malaysia play with Qatar in 2006 Asian Games??
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_at_t...006_Asian_Games
Dude, he's not talking about a football game. He was talking about when Malaysia lost the hosting rights to Qatar. doh.gif
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 02:27 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

wouldn't be complete without a LOL article by dailymail

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13...-delegates.html
esca_flo
post Dec 3 2010, 03:32 PM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:27 AM)

This guys reli emotionally unstable rolleyes.gif dei, stop being such an emotional wreck and chin up when something doesn't go your way, instead of lying on the floor and throwing tantrums like a 4 year old girl  doh.gif
u know its not fair to all the 4 year old girls out there when u compare them together with him right ?
Envoy
post Dec 3 2010, 03:49 PM

88 posts

it wouldnt be fair if USA got it since they just host WC at 1994
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 04:22 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Envoy @ Dec 3 2010, 03:49 PM)
it wouldnt be fair if USA got it since they just host WC at 1994
Well you have to weigh them up against those they were up against. Australia, South Korea, Japan and Qatar were the other contenders. We all know the reservations some, myself included have against Qatar. Korea and Japan were also recent hosts of the World Cup. Would have been a first for Australia. Not being privy to the proposals each country had to offer, I can only comment based on what general information I have. I thought that Australia would have been a good choice. They qualified for this year's tournament and although they don't have a popular league, they have players plying their trade abroad, mainly in England. What else? Nice weather, nice people, nice scenery, nice places of interests. Having hosted the Commonwealth Games before, we know they have infrastructure. Oh yeah, and it's cheaper and geographically better set up.

I don't know about fair. I think consideration should be given to which country has the best potential to pull off the world's biggest tournament?
cocklea
post Dec 3 2010, 04:30 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

Quite excited about the prospect of watching the match in Qatar. I have family living there, I hope they are still there in 12 years. I bet the stadiums they're building would be amazing.

Japan's bid was pretty wicked though, 3D hologram projecting the matches in real stadium all over the world would be totally boss!
jam_lennon
post Dec 3 2010, 04:40 PM

4,156 posts

y Qatar is a joke? they have the monies, they have the budget unlike m'sia
aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 04:48 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(cocklea @ Dec 3 2010, 04:30 PM)
Quite excited about the prospect of watching the match in Qatar. I have family living there, I hope they are still there in 12 years. I bet the stadiums they're building would be amazing.

Japan's bid was pretty wicked though, 3D hologram projecting the matches in real stadium all over the world would be totally boss!
hahaha... i pretty sure Qatar and Russia have started negotiating with the Japanese to have that technology in place for them right after the ceromony..

Why would the Japanese hold that technology now for... their (Asia's) realistic next turn to bid would propably be in 2042.

P/s - 2042 really sounds like a science fiction date. If holograms already ready by 2022, the eagerly awaited Jetson's flying cars would propably already in use by 2042 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 3 2010, 04:49 PM
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 05:59 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

baru ingat, Paul the Octopus "predicted" England 2018

if anyone of you watched BBC's Panorama recently, these are the guarantees FIFA demands from the governments

http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_1.pdf - Visa and Entry Procedures
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_2.pdf - Work Permits
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_3.pdf - Tax Exemption
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_4.pdf - Safety & Security
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_5.pdf - Bank & Foreign Exchange Operations
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_6.pdf - Protection and Exploitation of Commercial Rights
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_7.pdf - Telecommunication, Information Technology
http://media.rtl.nl/media/financien/...Garantie_8.pdf - Legal Issues and Indemnification

Complete tax exemption shocking.gif not sure if the olympic body also got demand this from potential hosts

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 3 2010, 06:40 PM
SUSlittle_mozart
post Dec 3 2010, 06:45 PM

391 posts

then, football is for everyone, no racism etc2

now, tak buleh here, tak buleh there, israel here, israel there

u reli facepalm.jpg la

u think FIFA comittee chose qatar using their knee issit?

their plan IS ENOUGH TO SATISFY FIFA COMITTEE TO SELECT QATAR as host!

adussssss

This post has been edited by little_mozart: Dec 3 2010, 06:47 PM
aladdin
post Dec 3 2010, 07:40 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

the biggest joke ever in football history. I wonder how many people will be survive under 50c temperature
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 08:51 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Dec 3 2010, 04:40 PM)
y Qatar is a joke? they have the monies, they have the budget unlike m'sia
Might I suggest you read the reasons given earlier by several posters, myself included?

This applies to anyone of the "why a joke, u think FIFA buta pick wan ah?" persuasion. Instead of stating the obvious ie FIFA has picked Qatar for a reason, why not try discounting several of the negative points posted earlier? If you are going to facepalm someone, at least state your reasons why?
IcyDarling
post Dec 3 2010, 09:16 PM

1,372 posts

Whats a world cup without the latinas shaking their.. err.. head? lol....

but, i duno man, islam country like Qatar for sure will raise up rages in Israel.. Havent FiFa considered about that? I mean, this is not a small matter. These are matter causing war in the world. Who knows, FiFa trying to be hero to stop the conflict. by football lul
cocklea
post Dec 3 2010, 09:49 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:48 PM)
hahaha... i pretty sure Qatar and Russia have started negotiating with the Japanese to have that technology in place for them right after the ceromony..

Why would the Japanese hold that technology now for... their (Asia's) realistic next turn to bid would propably be in 2042.
P/s - 2042 really sounds like a science fiction date. If holograms already ready by 2022, the eagerly awaited Jetson's flying cars would propably already in use by 2042 tongue.gif
That would be wicked cool. I hope they do it. And maybe install one at Stadium Bukit Jalil. I love the Japanese, always one upping everybody with their cool gadgets.
aressandro10
post Dec 4 2010, 08:28 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 3 2010, 09:16 PM)
Whats a world cup without the latinas shaking their.. err.. head? lol....
but, i duno man, islam country like Qatar for sure will raise up rages in Israel.. Havent FiFa considered about that? I mean, this is not a small matter. These are matter causing war in the world. Who knows, FiFa trying to be hero to stop the conflict. by football lul
lets burn the bridge when we get there.... i dunno how they will fare 12 years from now, but Israel still far from qualifying to the world cup...

mhyug
post Dec 4 2010, 08:43 AM

1,553 posts

in the countless, senseless 22 pages of reply, by far the best post laugh.gif

now as for they can or cannot host, too early to call, but was this 2018/22 wc a fiasco to begin with??damn right it is.

that fat lard doesnt even like the english and english football being so successful and jumped at the chance to bar them a rightful and meaningful chance to host the wc.that d*** head needs to step down, i mean ousted dictatorship style(more proper) if were going to see football advance the way it should, and btw platitoninioni falls in the same category too.he aint no better heading uefa either. wink.gif

IcyDarling
post Dec 4 2010, 09:01 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 4 2010, 09:28 AM)
lets burn the bridge when we get there.... i dunno how they will fare 12 years from now, but Israel still far from qualifying to the world cup...
so no Israelite football fan ? Only citizen from country that qualify is eligable to watch?
Duke Red
post Dec 4 2010, 09:05 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 4 2010, 08:43 AM)
How do you figure that? Points I raised were not valid?

Yes most of us will still be watching the World Cup naturally. Most here either can't afford (as in my case) or won't bother to fly all the way there. Several socioeconomic roadblocks were brought up earlier so mind telling me how they were senseless? Perhaps you have an answer? The best replies I've seen suggest that all these problems will rectify themselves in 12 years. Not a well thought out assumption, but a possibility nonetheless. I'm guessing everything we read in the media now is senseless to you as well given how the media is responding in shock? I actually applaud the idea of having solar panels harness the extreme sun there to keep temperatures in stadiums below 27 degrees. If this is however, their main selling point, then there are other countries that can do this without any investment at all. They want to promote themselves as a cultural destination (http://articles.cnn.com/2010-05-14/world/qatar.world.cup.solar.cooling_1_stadiums-solar-power-photovoltaic-panels?_s=PM:WORLD)? All good just so long as they are ready to accept that fact that they will be exposed to a multitude of cultures very different from theirs. I hope that from a religious standpoint, this will be possible.

Well I read what's been written and aside from socioeconomic factors, you have demographic ones, not to mention hints of vote buying, something that happened during the bid for the 2006 Asian Games no? Is it conclusive that they bought votes this time? Of course not but even in common law, there is Precedent. FIFA themselves had been involved in a bribery scandal a mere 6 months earlier.

Will any conversation here change anything? Of course not but the purpose of there being a forum, is for discussion and since the rest of the footballing world is talking about it, I'm guessing it's a pretty hot topic. I'm surprised that so few find this a good discussion topic.

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:12 am
QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 4 2010, 09:01 AM)
so no Israelite football fan ? Only citizen from country that qualify is eligable to watch?
I know this is something some feel may be rectified. It's probably an issue no one sees fit to address at the moment seeing as Israel have not qualified for the World Cup before. The conflict between them and Muslim nations have gone on for a long time. They aren't even recognised as a country. It remains to be seen if Israel will even take part in the qualification rounds. Just came across this article :-

http://in.reuters.com/article/idINIndia-43838520091110

Interesting. Qatar will allow Israel, a nation is does not recognise to take part if they qualify. On one hand, it could be a positive thing. I mean sports has bridged cultural divides before but we're talking about one of the oldest conflicts in the world here. How will the citizens of Qatar take this? How will the rest of the Muslim nations? Will there be safety and security threats for the team?

Alcohol will also be readily available in "fan zones". I'm guessing this means that there will be designated areas within Doha for fans to drink? Good move. I don't think drinking is allowed in stadiums these days, not at the stands anyway.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 4 2010, 09:12 AM
IcyDarling
post Dec 4 2010, 09:23 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 4 2010, 10:05 AM)
How do you figure that? Points I raised were not valid?

Yes most of us will still be watching the World Cup naturally. Most here either can't afford (as in my case) or won't bother to fly all the way there. Several socioeconomic roadblocks were brought up earlier so mind telling me how they were senseless? Perhaps you have an answer? The best replies I've seen suggest that all these problems will rectify themselves in 12 years. Not a well thought out assumption, but a possibility nonetheless. I'm guessing everything we read in the media now is senseless to you as well given how the media is responding in shock? I actually applaud the idea of having solar panels harness the extreme sun there to keep temperatures in stadiums below 27 degrees. If this is however, their main selling point, then there are other countries that can do this without any investment at all. They want to promote themselves as a cultural destination (http://articles.cnn.com/2010-05-14/world/qatar.world.cup.solar.cooling_1_stadiums-solar-power-photovoltaic-panels?_s=PM:WORLD)? All good just so long as they are ready to accept that fact that they will be exposed to a multitude of cultures very different from theirs. I hope that from a religious standpoint, this will be possible.

Well I read what's been written and aside from socioeconomic factors, you have demographic ones, not to mention hints of vote buying, something that happened during the bid for the 2006 Asian Games no? Is it conclusive that they bought votes this time? Of course not but even in common law, there is Precedent. FIFA themselves had been involved in a bribery scandal a mere 6 months earlier.

Will any conversation here change anything? Of course not but the purpose of there being a forum, is for discussion and since the rest of the footballing world is talking about it, I'm guessing it's a pretty hot topic. I'm surprised that so few find this a good discussion topic.

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:12 am

I know this is something some feel may be rectified. It's probably an issue no one sees fit to address at the moment seeing as Israel have not qualified for the World Cup before. The conflict between them and Muslim nations have gone on for a long time. They aren't even recognised as a country. It remains to be seen if Israel will even take part in the qualification rounds. Just came across this article :-

http://in.reuters.com/article/idINIndia-43838520091110

Interesting. Qatar will allow Israel, a nation is does not recognise to take part if they qualify. On one hand, it could be a positive thing. I mean sports has bridged cultural divides before but we're talking about one of the oldest conflicts in the world here. How will the citizens of Qatar take this? How will the rest of the Muslim nations? Will there be safety and security threats for the team?

Alcohol will also be readily available in "fan zones". I'm guessing this means that there will be designated areas within Doha for fans to drink? Good move. I don't think drinking is allowed in stadiums these days, not at the stands anyway.
Now it is the government that proposed the allowance of Israelites in, right? How about those citizens? Im quite sure though that some hardcore Islamic people are going to perform some patterns against these Jews. I mean, im not trying to be racist or something, but these conflict really had inflicted too much war already for us to believe that they would put it down for football.
SGSuser
post Dec 4 2010, 11:07 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 4 2010, 08:43 AM)

now as for they can or cannot host, too early to call, but was this 2018/22 wc a fiasco to begin with??damn right it is.

that fat lard doesnt even like the english and english football being so successful and jumped at the chance to bar them a rightful and meaningful chance to host the wc.that d*** head needs to step down, i mean ousted dictatorship style(more proper) if were going to see football advance the way it should, and btw platitoninioni falls in the same category too.he aint no better heading uefa either. wink.gif
senseless? guess you didn't bother to read all the replies here sweat.gif

agree about Sepp..corruption is the first time that comes to mind whenever someone mention him, along with the other high rank fifa officials..there are claims that he did this because he is aiming for the Nobel prize for promoting football(world cup) to the world with new hosts instead of just europe and america..if he gets it, absolute travesty..if he doesnt get it, well at least he has that as his legacy

boyyserizawa
post Dec 4 2010, 01:59 PM

28 posts

my opinion is.. ntg wrong with qatar or russia for hosting a worldcup. for qatar their are keep shining in this past few years n for sure will be more improved 2022. worldcup should be held in diffrent country. like england n usa they have hosting worldcup b4 this. n they shud understand why they are not selected for the next 12years. oh ya for the country football team just dont underestimated them. they have like 12 years to train n be better. see what happen to japan n korea when they host a world cup? i also dindt expect they can go so far. i sure qatar will suprised us.

owh ya b4 this i heard rumors about malaysia and indonesia are participating in this vote for hosting worldcup. is it true?
rEDs
post Dec 4 2010, 02:14 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

QUOTE(bugKecik @ Dec 2 2010, 07:24 PM)
true... this will be the most expensive visitors have to spend to watch world cup in the history.
Total extraoridnary rip-off by kerala and pinoy locals mark up price.
I'll be joining the ranks in malaysia mamak watching in my 84" 3D(by 2012 la..) tv.

IcyDarling
post Dec 4 2010, 02:28 PM

1,372 posts

what u mean all of us end up in mamak.. not everyone going mamak to watch okay? a few milllion people will go there and we are just discussing about it. Dont have to experience it to talk about it
O-haiyo
post Dec 4 2010, 02:43 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 3 2010, 09:51 AM)
Qatar has 2 tries to avoid becoming the first WC host never to qualified to the world cup. Japan escaped by the scruff of their neck in 2002.

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:54 am

thats the problem with England and Spain bid.. they are tooo prepared.. they can hold the world cup tomorrow if you want to...

world cups in USA, korea, Japan and South Africa brings a much higher value and development...
You sure? I thought host is automatically qualified?
IcyDarling
post Dec 4 2010, 03:14 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 4 2010, 03:43 PM)
cant qualify for knockout.
SA also didnt qualify? did they?
SGSuser
post Dec 4 2010, 03:18 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 4 2010, 03:14 PM)
cant qualify for knockout.
SA also didnt qualify? did they?
got la...98(iirc) and definitely 02

Added on December 4, 2010, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 4 2010, 02:43 PM)
he means qatar has 2014 and 2018 to try and qualify...if they can't, then they will be the first host to not qualify for fifa wc before..but of coz they will auto qualify for 2022

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 4 2010, 03:21 PM
z21j
post Dec 4 2010, 06:44 PM

1,307 posts

Probably, this is "planned" to let the asian nations win the 1st ever wc? Since most asian countries can tahan high temperature, and for europe country, if they cant tahan the temperature,... then.... eliminate in group; so that can go back home country faster... hehe...

faris21
post Dec 4 2010, 07:35 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

this is why Qatar 2022 is a joke

Qatar World Cup may be held in January

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar could take place in January or February to avoid the scorching temperatures of the summer months in the desert state, FIFA Executive Committee member Franz Beckenbauer has said.

Beckenbauer, who won the 1974 World Cup as West Germany captain and also coached his nation to the 1990 title, said hosting the tournament during the winter would be an alternative.
The World Cups are traditionally held during the northern Hemisphere's summer months after the end of the domestic league competitions.

Qatar, which beat bid rivals Australia, Japan, South Korea and the United States, said it would deploy climate-control technology to keep the temperature on the pitch to 27 degrees Celsius while outside it was a scorching 50 degrees.

sure they can built mega stadium which can give u 27 degrees Celsius but for the whole month player and fan need stay in Qatar oven

maybe most of us will end at mamak, it didn't mean we cant talk and discuss about this, what done is done, all player and fan should face this temperature issue, beside with our global warming problem then they will have more problem there
SGSuser
post Dec 4 2010, 07:49 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

can't see that happening tbh
Envoy
post Dec 4 2010, 08:00 PM

88 posts

one another problem is tht qatar population is only 1.5m so i doubt the stadium will be full.

only 1m came to SA so total=2.5 and not all of qatar people will go, and there will be 112 matches to play and each myt have 60,000

60,000 X 112 =6,720,000 where will qatar get t 6.7m people to watch the game unless the stadium will be small

This post has been edited by Envoy: Dec 4 2010, 08:12 PM
pyroboy1911
post Dec 4 2010, 08:06 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

NO WAY will a World Cup be held in january. What, all major league paused for World Cup? or resume, and let 10 of their 1st team players go for World Cup? 1 for African Nations Cup, and a few for this coming Asian Cup already leave premier league managers fuming, a january World Cup will cause a World War 3!

Like i said the main problem is heat, but doesnt mean its a joke. Dont tell me just because its not ideal, World Cup would never ever be played in Arab soil? For all you know they might build a giant glass dome within the 30km stadium radius, which is fully airconed laugh.gif anything can happen in the next 12 years, so we just wait patiently. Cant use the scenario now to predict 12 years from now.
rEDs
post Dec 4 2010, 08:48 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

For me the real problem is the high humidity, you sweat like taking bath out of no where. its not mentioned much compare to temperature/heat.
the high temperature is still sustainable. this year i taste 51C , feel like still ok. just wear shades and walk. that time 50C humidity still low.
but when come to july-aug , you give me 44C but high humidity...i prefer 50C but lower humidity. the summer humidity here is awesome.

I wonder how they will solve putting mega-air conditioner for people walking from vehicle parking to LONG queue entrance prior to game match. all sweat like hell.

p/s the national game for qatar is basketball(pinoy) and cricket(kerala) ,if follow by majority drool.gif

This post has been edited by rEDs: Dec 4 2010, 08:49 PM
Ken
post Dec 4 2010, 10:22 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

world cup in january ?

then european country will miss it for sure. they wont give up their luxury league.

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 4 2010, 06:44 PM)
Probably, this is "planned" to let the asian nations win the 1st ever wc? Since most asian countries can tahan high temperature, and for europe country, if they cant tahan the temperature,... then.... eliminate in group; so that can go back home country faster... hehe...
south america country might have advantage over the european on the temperature

This post has been edited by Ken: Dec 4 2010, 10:23 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 4 2010, 11:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 4 2010, 02:43 PM)
Japan qualify to the world cup for the first time for France 98 by the play-off before they host 2002.

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(Envoy @ Dec 4 2010, 08:00 PM)
one another problem is tht qatar population is only 1.5m so i doubt the stadium will be full.

only 1m came to SA so total=2.5 and not all of qatar people will go, and there will be 112 matches to play and each myt have 60,000

60,000 X 112 =6,720,000 where will qatar get t 6.7m people to watch the game unless the stadium will be small
they will depend on nearby arab nations for fans..

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 4 2010, 08:06 PM)
NO WAY will a World Cup be held in january. What, all major league paused for World Cup? or resume, and let 10 of their 1st team players go for World Cup? 1 for African Nations Cup, and a few for this coming Asian Cup already leave premier league managers fuming, a january World Cup will cause a World War 3!

Like i said the main problem is heat, but doesnt mean its a joke. Dont tell me just because its not ideal, World Cup would never ever be played in Arab soil? For all you know they might build a giant glass dome within the 30km stadium radius, which is fully airconed laugh.gif anything can happen in the next 12 years, so we just wait patiently. Cant use the scenario now to predict 12 years from now.
not impossible... of course everything has to stop during world cup month.. its just a matter scheduling.. leagues just have to start earlier and stop later..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 4 2010, 11:15 PM
matyrze
post Dec 5 2010, 01:23 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

I've hit the report button twice already for post no.25. Hopefully mods will delete it soon.
SGSuser
post Dec 5 2010, 01:30 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

maybe you should try harder tongue.gif
aressandro10
post Dec 5 2010, 01:52 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Dec 5 2010, 01:23 AM)
I've hit the report button twice already for post no.25. Hopefully mods will delete it soon.
whats wrong with post no.25?
matyrze
post Dec 5 2010, 02:47 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 5 2010, 01:52 AM)
whats wrong with post no.25?
Nvm, it's already been deleted. thumbup.gif

Added on December 5, 2010, 2:52 amLOL I just realize there are several post that quote #25 post. Why don't just delete all of them? People should not insult flags of other nation, that is idiotic to put it mildly doh.gif doh.gif Please delete all of them mods. Thx.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Dec 5 2010, 02:52 AM
leymar7
post Dec 5 2010, 02:52 AM

86 posts

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/20...-cup-2022-qatar
Duke Red
post Dec 5 2010, 02:01 PM

6,112 posts

The heat and humidity will definitely be an issue for players and fans but if you think about it, African and South American players have to play in temperature 10-15 degrees below what they are accustomed to. Same goes for Scandanavian countries when they play is South America or Asia. At one point Rio was the hottest city on earth at 40 degrees celcius. The climate has always been a factor.

Another challenge has popped into mind. Out of Qatar's population, only some 200,000 are Qatari. Most are foreign workers and I'm guessing it's because Qataris are of "high society" and don't perform manual work. With the huge influx of fans, where are all the bus or cab drivers, construction workers, cleaners etc going to come from? More foreign imports? It will be like being in a can of sardines there.
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 05:23 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 5 2010, 02:01 PM)
The heat and humidity will definitely be an issue for players and fans but if you think about it, African and South American players have to play in temperature 10-15 degrees below what they are accustomed to. Same goes for Scandanavian countries when they play is South America or Asia. At one point Rio was the hottest city on earth at 40 degrees celcius. The climate has always been a factor.

Another challenge has popped into mind. Out of Qatar's population, only some 200,000 are Qatari. Most are foreign workers and I'm guessing it's because Qataris are of "high society" and don't perform manual work. With the huge influx of fans, where are all the bus or cab drivers, construction workers, cleaners etc going to come from? More foreign imports? It will be like being in a can of sardines there.
dont worry, apart from the city central, the whole lot of the country is land, land and more land laugh.gif Though it will need strategic and careful planning to avoid congestion.
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM

144 posts

man, pyro and volrath. you both should stop following each other around just to back each other up in arguments. how gay is that? this isn't highschool man, grow up. you and your mob mentality. if you're gonna join the discussion, bring in some valid points yeah? first the Chelski thread and then here. you both are really wannabe mods, man. is it so important to you? and pyro, just cos' you go around acting polite when you're really not, doesn't mean everyone is the same as you. shall I quote you in here, brat?

be a man, say it like you mean it. don't be a wimp, just to score some bonus points with the mods or whatever. even a red scum has the guts. and you both, a devil and chelski. heh, new generation of "fans" indeed.

so carry on the banter. Qatar? who cares? FIFA is inept as it is.

pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 06:18 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(katnl @ Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM)
man, pyro and volrath. you both should stop following each other around just to back each other up in arguments. how gay is that? this isn't highschool man, grow up. you and your mob mentality. if you're gonna join the discussion, bring in some valid points yeah? first the Chelski thread and then here. you both are really wannabe mods, man. is it so important to you? and pyro, just cos' you go around acting polite when you're really not, doesn't mean everyone is the same as you. shall I quote you in here, brat?

be a man, say it like you mean it. don't be a wimp, just to score some bonus points with the mods or whatever. even a red scum has the guts. and you both, a devil and chelski. heh, new generation of "fans" indeed.

so carry on the banter. Qatar? who cares? FIFA is inept as it is.
i really have no freaking idea what drugs u're on mate.

EDIT: Oh now i get it, the butthurt Everton fan laugh.gif carry on, quote here. I have no worries, coz i dont think what i said is wrong. go on, quote. let everyone see what you said, and why Chelsea fans are angered, and why i dont think going around trolling, especially in their own thread, is appropriate. go on, i dare you.

Wanna comeback against what i said, do in Chelsea thread la. why do it here? reli laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 5 2010, 06:22 PM
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 06:33 PM

144 posts

you can stop pretending now, pyro. and using your kiddy 'butthurt' line. nobody is butthurt, I'm not the one who got his feelings hurt in here and went over to the Chelski thread to back up his 'brother' Volrath even though he has no idea what the discussion is about and everything. just to vent his frustration =/. so there, there's nothing to 'comeback' to your statements in the other thread, that's you being a tosser. or should I say...a troll.

and really, you can convince yourself and your friends. but nobody cares really. most with a sensible mind thinks you're annoying, brat. and stop being a wannabe mod can? you very "senior" in LYN? can tell others to do what you think they should do?

you're the actual "TROLL", I say. with your wannabe mod act, disrupting topics and such for personal glory.

done here, sorry for thread hijack TS. want to continue, go start a thread in /k/ or something pyro. goodnight to you.

pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 06:42 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

oh wow, my secret revealed! Volrath is my brother in arms, and i really really REALLY wanna be a mod!

oh well, i guess its not important now, people just think i am annoying brat anyway. OOOHhhh~~ *pee in pants*

OK la, not butthurt la. When someone warn you not to use the term "chelski" in Chelsea thread and u retaliate by calling them lot "rudeness sheathed in fake courtesy" and a "bunch of elitist", that's not butthurt. That's just being a man. i get it now rolleyes.gif

bye bye!
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 06:52 PM

144 posts

took you that long to get it? disregarding the cynical tone?

back to Qatar. Qatar is really uninteresting, the previous WC was crap as far as I'm concerned. it's getting worse and worse, give me back my Euro 96 anytime.
IcyDarling
post Dec 5 2010, 06:56 PM

1,372 posts

wanna update me with what is happening btw katnl and pyroboy?

Anyway, yeah katnl... every year, worse and worse. i can understand spreading football all around the world, but.. Qatar =="
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 07:00 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i have no idea IcyDarling. u can check back the previous page where my secrets are revealed by him, u know being gay with volrath and wanna be mod and all. tetiba kena sucker punch, aiseh...very manly of him wub.gif

I could tell the story in Chelsea thread i guess, but....nah. it'll just be irritating to sensible people like u i guess.
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 07:10 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 5 2010, 06:56 PM)
wanna update me with what is happening btw katnl and pyroboy?
Anyway, yeah katnl... every year, worse and worse. i can understand spreading football all around the world, but.. Qatar =="
my feeling is that it's gonna be like this year. a barely there atmosphere, teams playing below par with the media hyping everything up as usual. it's sad to see, when the only drama you get is Suarez the cannibal's act of blatant cheating. "professional" is so much a bad word right now.

and pyroboy, seriously. I can't be bothered tracking you, you don't deserve a vendetta even if I play that kind of thing. sorry it took me so long to get to this thread even at your invitation, there's this thing called can't be arsed. so let it rest already. if you wanna troll or go on with senseless insults then /k/ to the left.
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 07:14 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

cant take the heat, then dont pour oil onto a spark, brada. But i agree, i'll stop here, as long as its not brought up again smile.gif as my nick suggests, i love playing with fire wink.gif
carloz28
post Dec 5 2010, 07:15 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(katnl @ Dec 5 2010, 07:10 PM)
my feeling is that it's gonna be like this year. a barely there atmosphere, teams playing below par with the media hyping everything up as usual. it's sad to see, when the only drama you get is Suarez the cannibal's act of blatant cheating. "professional" is so much a bad word right now.

and pyroboy, seriously. I can't be bothered tracking you, you don't deserve a vendetta even if I play that kind of thing. sorry it took me so long to get to this thread even at your invitation, there's this thing called can't be arsed. so let it rest already. if you wanna troll or go on with senseless insults then /k/ to the left.
The allegations that FIFA committee took bribes from Qatar has started to surface...True or not , we dunno yet but i wouldnt be surprised if it happens..

On a side note, i can see Homer just couldnt stop trolling at every thread he stepped in...Give it up kid. Oh wait papa must be working hard in overseas to leave his baby boy running rampant in this forum...

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM

144 posts

more like love stoking embers, haha! carry on the thread.
SGSuser
post Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

seems like people get butthurt easily nowadays don't they? semua thread pun ada, simple things like quoting once also can trigger negative response doh.gif ..good example in MUST laugh.gif

well, the spreading football around the world thing by sepp, imho, is just another ploy to cover up the massive corruption inside fifa...england quit fifa b4(long long time ago lah) and that is being brought up again now..not sure if it is a wise suggestion though hmm.gif
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 07:18 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 5 2010, 07:15 PM)
The allegations that FIFA committee took bribes from Qatar has started to surface...True or not , we dunno yet but i wouldnt be surprised if it happens..

On a side note, i can see Homer just couldnt stop trolling at every thread he stepped in...Give it up kid. Oh wait papa must be working hard in overseas to leave his baby boy running rampant in this forum...
serious note though, I actually like his avatar. it's quite a nice representation of the Mancs, with their "CHAMPEEONS, YOONITED" endless rant. meh.
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 07:21 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(katnl @ Dec 5 2010, 07:18 PM)
serious note though, I actually like his avatar. it's quite a nice representation of the Mancs, with their "CHAMPEEONS, YOONITED" endless rant. meh.
its funny how these peoples are the ones that have problems with me huh? regulars in this Qatar thread will know what carloz had posted earlier, and some Chelsea folks will remember the ruckus katnl caused when he entered Chelsea thread and purposely used "chelski" there, much to their bemusement.

And now you just have to start again with the United jibe eh? wrong move mate, my mobs will come and sappork me rolleyes.gif
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 07:22 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM)
seems like people get butthurt easily nowadays don't they? semua thread pun ada, simple things like quoting once also can trigger negative response  doh.gif ..good example in MUST laugh.gif

well, the spreading football around the world thing by sepp, imho, is just another ploy to cover up the massive corruption inside fifa...england quit fifa b4(long long time ago lah) and that is being brought up again now..not sure if it is a wise suggestion though  hmm.gif
it's hard to walk around with a bit of banter, before someone comes clamping down your neck with some political correctness crap, man. and then it just degenerates from there...

England feels very betrayed that promised votes did not materialise, but this talk of quitting is plain tabloid methinks. this whole vote thing, very political in nature. and with the money in football...

prepare for another McWorldCup.
carloz28
post Dec 5 2010, 07:24 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(katnl @ Dec 5 2010, 07:18 PM)
Well, there's nothing wrong with his avatar. He can put Orlando Bloom or a 60s Marlon Brando pic for all I care, but no potrait can hide the fact that a troll is a troll.

Katnl, What do u think about the bribery allegations from the English media? England is so bitter about this.
beck_ken
post Dec 5 2010, 07:27 PM

4,716 posts

Not even give people a chance to do it then u say it's a joke for Qatar to host world cup? doh.gif No people in this world born to know do anything. Give Qatar a break and see whether it's a joke or not when that time come. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 07:28 PM

144 posts

opening a huge can of worms there, England are. don't mean to be cynical, but honestly feel they have a point. can they take the consequences of these allegations though? Calciogate was bad enough for the Seria.

think the whole thing would blow over soonish though, nobody can afford bad publicity. fans are jaded enough by corruption in modern football, more scandals and soon everyone would be watching Peterbrough Utd. with the exception of United fans that is. hee hee!
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 07:30 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Give it up kid. Oh wait papa must be working hard in overseas to leave his baby boy running rampant in this forum...
QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 5 2010, 07:24 PM)
but no potrait can hide the fact that a troll is a troll.
In Internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into a desired emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion

When a troll calls someone else troll, it makes that troll a hypocritical troll biggrin.gif

haha thank god my exam finish, got time to sit in front of com and be a keyboard warrior for a while.
skystrike
post Dec 5 2010, 08:28 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

what the hell....england should stop from butthurt himself...lose wc bid & then accuse fifa corrupt???!!!! no wonder england will never4 win wc...
mingxhin
post Dec 5 2010, 08:33 PM

57 posts

Not only England accuse FIFA of corruption - US, Australia, Korea and Japan also have accused FIFA. I read somewhere Spain also complaining about Russia but not about corruption.

Heck, Malaysia also accused Qatar of corruption in the bidding for the 2006 Asian Games.
dlct87
post Dec 5 2010, 08:34 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 5 2010, 07:30 PM)
When a troll calls someone else troll, it makes that troll a hypocritical troll biggrin.gif

haha thank god my exam finish, got time to sit in front of com and be a keyboard warrior for a while.
those who call other as troll, are in fact, a troll himself....

so just wanna clear things up

mocking other country's flag is ok, but when someone talk about him, its not ok?
SGSuser
post Dec 5 2010, 08:36 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

it's not an accusation tbh...it's well known already that Fifa is corrupted

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 5 2010, 08:36 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 5 2010, 08:59 PM

121 posts

in my opinion, in 12 years time, Qatar will hold as good world cup as it ever been hosted... all this issues brought up by sceptics will turn out as much ado about nothing... South Africa 2010 organization commitee knows all about that from their exerience..

the real issues is the relevance of bidding proses... where the best overall bid doesnt mean anything because someone else need the world cup more than they do..

i think, for both football developed countries and football developing countries can have an equally realistic chance to hold the world cup, rotation of the world cup must be done according to countries critetia..

1) for football first world countries where the best technical bid will be judged solely on pure merit.

2) for new frontiers counties- candidates must present why they need the world cup more and how much the world cup will accelerate development in that region. In the same time they must prepare a tchnical bid with concrete plans how to overcome their shortcomings...

until the best technical bif by an european country and the best technical bid from the rest of the world is not separated, both will feel sense of injustice by their own reasons...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 5 2010, 09:02 PM
Duke Red
post Dec 6 2010, 12:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM)
well, the spreading football around the world thing by sepp, imho, is just another ploy to cover up the massive corruption inside fifa...england quit fifa b4(long long time ago lah) and that is being brought up again now..not sure if it is a wise suggestion though  hmm.gif
With FIFA's history of corruption allegations, it really won't be a surprise. I'm personally pro bringing football to new nations but I like looking at an employee's CV, I think you need the proper credentials. Between themselves, Holland and Belgium already have world class facilities and stadiums. Holland have a rich history in the World Cup despite not winning one and have churned out legendary players like Johan Cryuff, Ruud Gullit and Marco Van Basten. Visiting fans will settle in easy as they are a popular tourist destination. The point I'm trying to make isn't that Qatar is a bad choice by itself, it is just a boggling choice given the other candidates.

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 5 2010, 08:59 PM)
in my opinion, in 12 years time, Qatar will hold as good world cup as it ever been hosted... all this issues brought up by sceptics will turn out as much ado about nothing... South Africa 2010 organization commitee knows all about that from their exerience..

the real issues is the relevance of bidding proses... where the best overall bid doesnt mean anything because someone else need the world cup  more than they do..

i think, for both football developed countries and football developing countries can have an equally realistic chance to hold the world cup, rotation of the world cup must be done according to countries critetia..

1) for football first world countries where the best technical bid will be judged solely on pure merit.

2) for new frontiers counties- candidates must present why they need the world cup more and how much the world cup will accelerate development in that region. In the same time they must prepare a tchnical bid with concrete plans how to overcome their shortcomings...

until the best technical bif by an european country and the best technical bid from the rest of the world is not separated, both will feel sense of injustice by their own reasons...
With the money they have at their disposal, I've no doubt that there will be world class facilities up by the time 2022 comes around. Money however doesn't address the cultural divide and I'm interested to see what compromise will be struck. Who knows? Maybe fans will stay home, preferring instead to watch it on telly?

I agree that it should be judged on merit which is why I find Russia and more so Qatar to be doubvious choices. Who knows? I may be wrong but we've to wait a decade to see how it pans out. I personally think that countries shouldn't be picked based on purely on their financial clout but also footballing legacy. I understand Africa's selection as teams like Cameroon, Senegal and South Africa are regulars now. Cameroon even beat Argentina and England on their debut. Don't know what Qatar has done in that aspect.
aressandro10
post Dec 6 2010, 01:42 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 6 2010, 12:01 PM)
With FIFA's history of corruption allegations, it really won't be a surprise. I'm personally pro bringing football to new nations but I like looking at an employee's CV, I think you need the proper credentials. Between themselves, Holland and Belgium already have world class facilities and stadiums. Holland have a rich history in the World Cup despite not winning one and have churned out legendary players like Johan Cryuff, Ruud Gullit and Marco Van Basten. Visiting fans will settle in easy as they are a popular tourist destination. The point I'm trying to make isn't that Qatar is a bad choice by itself, it is just a boggling choice given the other candidates.
With the money they have at their disposal, I've no doubt that there will be world class facilities up by the time 2022 comes around. Money however doesn't address the cultural divide and I'm interested to see what compromise will be struck. Who knows? Maybe fans will stay home, preferring instead to watch it on telly?

I agree that it should be judged on merit which is why I find Russia and more so Qatar to be doubvious choices. Who knows? I may be wrong but we've to wait a decade to see how it pans out. I personally think that countries shouldn't be picked based on purely on their financial clout but also footballing legacy. I understand Africa's selection as teams like Cameroon, Senegal and South Africa are regulars now. Cameroon even beat Argentina and England on their debut. Don't know what Qatar has done in that aspect.
If the bid were judged purely on merit or world cup legacy it will not be fair to all of the other countries also. And the world cup will turn around a small circle of about the same countries. If you are a member of the association, you'd like to think you have a chance to do something like any other members do and not restricted to elite members only.

Aspiration of the region also must be taken highly in the consideration. Middle eastern people has high passion in football as the rest of the world do. So it would mean a great deal to them to host the world cup too. But the problem is, the only countries there who have any sort of world cup legacy are Iran and Saudi Arabia. but for obvious reasons, these countries would never bid to host the world cup. The only chance for the region to have a taste of it is for liberal countries like UAE or Qatar to bid for them.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 6 2010, 01:45 PM
Meis
post Dec 7 2010, 12:29 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

ok what sup with the "lego" stadia ? is that even possible...? hmm.gif

i think Qatar will go down in the history as the first nation who fail to "deliver it", if there isn't any before

they should go for joint bid with the neighbouring countries

This post has been edited by Meis: Dec 7 2010, 12:30 AM
Duke Red
post Dec 7 2010, 09:58 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 6 2010, 01:42 PM)
If the bid were judged purely on merit or world cup legacy it will not be fair to all of the other countries also. And the world cup will turn around a small circle of about the same countries. If you are a member of the association, you'd like to think you have a chance to do something like any other members do and not restricted to elite members only.

Aspiration of the region also must be taken highly in the consideration. Middle eastern people has high passion in football as the rest of the world do. So it would mean a great deal to them to host the world cup too. But the problem is, the only countries there who have any sort of world cup legacy are Iran and Saudi Arabia. but for obvious reasons, these countries would never bid to host the world cup. The only chance for the region to have a taste of it is for liberal countries like UAE or Qatar to bid for them.
I agree with giving new nations a chance. It's just that I think onne should prove they are capable during the bidding process or else it's just words on a screen. Well maybe the questions I posed earlier were answered by the committee. Thus far, nations have proven themselves by having established leagues and doing well in their own continent before bring named hosts, up until now that is.

Added on December 7, 2010, 5:30 pmFormer German midfielder Stefan Effenberg feels the same apparently (http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/soccer/article802131.ece/Qatars-World-Cup-credentials-savaged).

I cited concerns earlier over how the citizens of Qatar will take to their nations pledge to be more open to diverse cultures during the World Cup. If this article is anything to go by, these concerns have already begun to materialise. One wonders if it will change in 12 years time.

I brought up the topic of Qatar needing to bring in even more foreign workers to cope and this itself brings a whole other set of problems.

It was going to surface sooner or later wasn't it? Some feel it's right to bring religion into this now.
http://www.alarabiya.net/articles/2010/12/06/128677.html

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 7 2010, 05:53 PM
skylinelover
post Dec 8 2010, 01:18 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

haha i think the qatar will record the least tourist visiting in world cup history laugh.gif just wait in 12 years n my wish shall come true haha laugh.gif no europeans r capable 2 bare the heat of more than boiling water in arab world like qatar n that is the reason the attendance will drop down big time

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Dec 8 2010, 01:19 AM
mhyug
post Dec 8 2010, 03:00 AM

1,553 posts

btw any one seen todays papers??qatar gov says ok to booze and kissing on public venues laugh.gif
SGSuser
post Dec 8 2010, 06:21 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 8 2010, 01:18 AM)
haha i think the qatar will record the least tourist visiting in world cup history laugh.gif just wait in 12 years n my wish shall come true haha laugh.gif no europeans r capable 2 bare the heat of more than boiling water in arab world like qatar n that is the reason the attendance will drop down big time
I saw reports of south africa having some 60-80% less tourists/foreign fans coming than expected by fifa, it wouldnt be a surprise if qatar record fewer... but meh, 11.5 years still to go
aressandro10
post Dec 8 2010, 09:35 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 8 2010, 01:18 AM)
the Thanis who head the bidding commitee holds everything in Qatar. They will stop at nothing to make this work.
Duke Red
post Dec 9 2010, 11:14 AM

6,112 posts

Written with just a touch of sarcasm.

aressandro10
post Dec 9 2010, 12:27 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 9 2010, 11:14 AM)
Written with just a touch of sarcasm.

good one rclxms.gif
pyroboy1911
post Dec 9 2010, 05:54 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Haha funny article biggrin.gif

BTW, does anyone remember the reaction when South Africa was named WC10 host? i mean, after the voting what is the public reaction like? issues such as poor country, money could be better spend than "build stadium", high crime rates etc, were they mentioned?

I cant recall reading any of those articles back then, heck i dont even remember when are they voted. so need someone to enlighten me tongue.gif Coz wanna compare the reaction then, and the reaction to Qatar now. is it as controversial? and the extend of South Africa's committee to turn those criticism into a succesful WC, and compare it to maybe how Qatar can surprise as well hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 10 2010, 01:15 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Qatar purposed to move WC to January. Now there's mix feelings. I would like to see WC host in Asia again but since you already knew your country will be heat up during that particular time, why bother to take part to host WC? Qatar has alot of things to do to make this event a success.

Duke Red
post Dec 10 2010, 09:52 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 9 2010, 05:54 PM)
Haha funny article biggrin.gif

BTW, does anyone remember the reaction when South Africa was named WC10 host? i mean, after the voting what is the public reaction like? issues such as poor country, money could be better spend than "build stadium", high crime rates etc, were they mentioned?

I cant recall reading any of those articles back then, heck i dont even remember when are they voted. so need someone to enlighten me tongue.gif Coz wanna compare the reaction then, and the reaction to Qatar now. is it as controversial? and the extend of South Africa's committee to turn those criticism into a succesful WC, and compare it to maybe how Qatar can surprise as well hmm.gif
Don't recall any major controversies, certainly not on this scale. It terms of money being put to better use, hosting the World Cup does cost a fair bit but you'll also have a never ending stream of sponsors lining up at your door step wanting to be involved in the biggest event on the planet. Bear in mind that as a sponsor, you don't just get exposure during the tournament but also in qualifying games and campaigns leading up to them. FIFA themselves dump in a pretty sizeable amount. I'm not sure what the final figure is but South Africa 2010 was expected to bring in $2.2 billion pounds in revenue. FIFA themselves dumped in excess of $600 million pound in funding. Yes it does take a lot of money to host a tournament of this magnitude but it's like some Chinese wedding dinners, you stand to make it back with some profit. In the case of the World Cup, it's a lot of profit. Don't also forget that industries like tourism will flourish after so there are long term benefits as well. Another big contributing factor was the use of a short term policy by FIFA which states that the World Cup hosts should be rotated amongst football confederations. At the time, 5 African nations put in their bid with South Africa finishing top followed by Morocco.

I don't know how Qatar plans to make a profit given that they've pledged US$ 50 billion to upgrade their infrastructure. It clearly isn't about profit.

The reaction to Qatar 2022 is indeed negative. Do a quick google search and you'll see what I mean. No point on going into details again. Scroll back a couple of pages and you'll see valid points have been raised.

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 10 2010, 01:15 AM)
Qatar purposed to move WC to January. Now there's mix feelings. I would like to see WC host in Asia again but since you already knew your country will be heat up during that particular time, why bother to take part to host WC? Qatar has alot of things to do to make this event a success.

I'm not sure how possible this is. It's going to be a big ask. It would mean every major league in the world rescheduling. Not only will it affect league games, what about transfer windows? Clubs usually do a great deal of shopping after the World Cup and this will mean transfer windows being extended.
aressandro10
post Dec 11 2010, 02:12 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 10 2010, 09:52 AM)
Don't recall any major controversies, certainly not on this scale. It terms of money being put to better use, hosting the World Cup does cost a fair bit but you'll also have a never ending stream of sponsors lining up at your door step wanting to be involved in the biggest event on the planet. Bear in mind that as a sponsor, you don't just get exposure during the tournament but also in qualifying games and campaigns leading up to them. FIFA themselves dump in a pretty sizeable amount. I'm not sure what the final figure is but South Africa 2010 was expected to bring in $2.2 billion pounds in revenue. FIFA themselves dumped in excess of $600 million pound in funding. Yes it does take a lot of money to host a tournament of this magnitude but it's like some Chinese wedding dinners, you stand to make it back with some profit. In the case of the World Cup, it's a lot of profit. Don't also forget that industries like tourism will flourish after so there are long term benefits as well. Another big contributing factor was the use of a short term policy by FIFA which states that the World Cup hosts should be rotated amongst football confederations. At the time, 5 African nations put in their bid with South Africa finishing top followed by Morocco.

I don't know how Qatar plans to make a profit given that they've pledged US$ 50 billion to upgrade their infrastructure. It clearly isn't about profit.

The reaction to Qatar 2022 is indeed negative. Do a quick google search and you'll see what I mean. No point on going into details again. Scroll back a couple of pages and you'll see valid points have been raised.
I'm not sure how possible this is. It's going to be a big ask. It would mean every major league in the world rescheduling. Not only will it affect league games, what about transfer windows? Clubs usually do a great deal of shopping after the World Cup and this will mean transfer windows being extended.
its possible. just a matter of people making it difficult or not.

Added on December 11, 2010, 7:53 pmmajor leagues in the world who plays from September to May are only minority..

majority of leagues in the world plays from February to December..

Europe has been the axis of football for a long time. Its time the rest of the world starts to think that its does not have to be totally that way..

But i do admit that by holding the world cup outside european summer, the host would miss the opportunity to tap into european summer holiday travel market..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 11 2010, 07:53 PM
Duke Red
post Dec 12 2010, 03:29 PM

6,112 posts

Well the big leagues play during that time anyway. Also one must consider that training camps and friendly matches will intensify just before the tournament during mid-season which means that bigger sides in particular, will be affected.

Whatever it is, no one expected an F1 night race was possible so let's see what they pull out from under their sleeve.
sickx
post Dec 22 2010, 08:55 AM

:)
1,232 posts

Rebump old thread with a news i just found.

Players' union wants 2022 World Cup switched to winter

so,with all the chaotic wheather in europe particularly in UK,i think winter world cup in Qatar could be the escape route for the football team. hmm.gif
rEDs
post Dec 25 2010, 05:31 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

anybody else going? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

faris21
post Jan 8 2011, 11:51 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

Qatar just lost 2-0 at home to Uzbek, their gameplay not even a WC team, hope they do something about their national team, it shame if the host lost all group game 0-4 @ 0-5
pyroboy1911
post Jan 9 2011, 12:31 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i heard that Qatar's team is taking the same initiative as our malaysian team, ie. playing a bunch of young players together so they can bond and gel to play better. whether or not that will be succesful, we gotta wait and see.

0.0641sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:33 PM