9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Qatar to host World Cup 2022, Is this a Joke?

boxsystem
post Dec 3 2010, 09:45 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

Too many English men and Aussie folks in the forum, I guess. Didn't know that. I thought we only have Malaysian and Singaporeans here.

I was having a laugh reading BBC's comments and those from both English men and their 'bad boy' counterparts. And now this? laugh.gif

Carloz28, you WIN!!! zipperhead? laugh.gif
aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 09:51 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:34 AM)
i have no doubt about their stadium and facilities, for me the WC will be down if the host is weak team, at least we can consider South Africa as a good team, they even play in past WC, but Qatar football team ....
Qatar has 2 tries to avoid becoming the first WC host never to qualified to the world cup. Japan escaped by the scruff of their neck in 2002.

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:54 am
QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 3 2010, 01:37 AM)
i is butthurt the moment they announced mother russia will host 2018.

i mean wtf? Theatre of Dreams,wembley,Old Trafford,Emirates,st james' park,white hart lane.....hell even pride park(derby county home stadia) is good enough to stage any world cup match

at least qatar(as an AFC member) can host 2022 wc.i expect japan/korea but they already done so in 2002
thats the problem with England and Spain bid.. they are tooo prepared.. they can hold the world cup tomorrow if you want to...

world cups in USA, korea, Japan and South Africa brings a much higher value and development...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 3 2010, 09:54 AM
sickx
post Dec 3 2010, 10:13 AM

:)
1,232 posts

i don't mind qatar hosting the tournament.but isn't russia's stadia are mostly using artificial grass?
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 10:17 AM

440 posts

lol.. Carloz28, i hope youre not 28 year old, coz u dont act like one xD

Carloz28, the zipperhead.

why so butthurt? its not u who plays, since u hate the country so much, im pretty sure u wont be there during WC also..if ure 28, 12 years later ure 40 adi.. take care of ur wives bro lol..

so i bet u gonna watch at mamaks, or burrow in ur house, watching alone.. the TV is good enough to display what u expected to see, the stadiums are properly shaded..so u wont see any glares on TV.

"Why.....sooooo....butthurt?", - Joker

madmoz
post Dec 3 2010, 10:23 AM

4,250 posts

I am pretty sure most of the European teams will be gutted. But correct me if I am wrong, deserts are supposedly pretty chilly at night, no?

No one is proposing afternoon matches in the middle of the desert, right?
SGSuser
post Dec 3 2010, 10:29 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

the matches will be played in the evenings..from around 6.30pm..

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:30 am2026 or 2030 - Malaysia/Indonesia

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 3 2010, 10:30 AM
khelben
post Dec 3 2010, 10:49 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I'm pretty sure Qatar will pull it off. It is definitely nice to have a brand new venue too. About time.
krk24
post Dec 3 2010, 10:55 AM

277 posts

i find no issues with russia nor qatar to organised WC.....but when will MY host WC...at least they can be in the tournament..
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 10:56 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 3 2010, 10:17 AM)
lol.. Carloz28, i hope youre not 28 year old, coz u dont act like one xD

Carloz28, the zipperhead.

why so butthurt? its not u who plays, since u hate the country so much, im pretty sure u wont be there during WC also..if ure 28, 12 years later ure 40 adi.. take care of ur wives bro lol..

so i bet u gonna watch at mamaks, or burrow in ur house, watching alone.. the TV is good enough to display what u expected to see, the stadiums are properly shaded..so u wont see any glares on TV.

"Why.....sooooo....butthurt?", - Joker
Yet another cretin who tries to act more intelligent than he really is. If you really been to Qatar then you will know that the zipperhead joke is quite common among expatriates there. It's all pun intended. Hop off that Qatari cock wil ya and It's kinda laughable that you take it seriously..

Give it up kid, Butthurt is a wimpish word Homer Simpson used after being owned and tored to pieces in a public forum. Typical kiddie weak response...

LOL, why do you care so much where I'll be watching? It's not even relevant to the topic. Hell yea I'm bashing Qatar yes because i hate that country and partly because i think they are not up it. Too bad FIFA's little rotation policy means that a Middle Eastern Country will get a chance to hold the event sometime in the future.

I would have nominate Dubai ahead of Qatar for that but too bad they didnt volunteer.

This post has been edited by carloz28: Dec 3 2010, 11:05 AM
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM

6,112 posts

This stinks of corruption. Putin didn't even bother to show up did he? I think Russia's apppointment will go down easier. I mean they have a professional league and have qualified for the World Cup numerous times. They have churned out several World Class players beginning with the legendary Lev Yashin. The downside is that travelling will be chore for fans especially during the knockout stages. The distance between Moscow and St. Petersburgh for example is 435 miles! I'm pretty sure they'll increase the number of flights between venues during that time but at what price I wonder? Thought that Spain and Portugal would have been a good choice.

Speaking about price, how much do you reckon it will cost a fan to live in Qatar for the duration of the World Cup? Russia has a huge landmass but Qatar is the direct opposite, comprising of only 1 city, Doha. They have half the population of Wales ffs. Can you imagine the traffic? They don't exactly have a rich football history either. There are huge social economic factors to consider. The fans contribute greatly to the vibrant colours at atmosphere at the World Cup, the pretty lasses in particular. So what now? No more pretty women in skimpy attire especially in that bloody heat? What about gay players or fans? What about Jewish fans? Heaven forbid (quite literally eh?) that Israel should qualify. Where does one get a cold beer to combat the sweltering heat? There aren't any pubs around and you'll have to be pretty darn rich to get into one of those exclusive hotel lounges. Speaking about the heat, it goes up to 50 bloody degrees now and in 12 years time, who knows how high temperatures will soar in light of global warming? Air-conditioned stadiums? Sure, how many Earth Hours will we need to make up for this? More negatives than positives if you ask me. Sepp Blatter and FIFA are a joke.
madfag
post Dec 3 2010, 11:09 AM

the Legend.
564 posts

Hmmm. Duke Red does have his points. especially about the fans.
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 11:17 AM

440 posts

well, 12 years is a long way to go..

at first i thought S.Africa was a joke too...

they sure can pull it off lah.. decisions like these arent forged, they sure analyzed kao kao already.

i jz like to see new places, getting to know cultures n all throughout WC...am not rich to travel for WC.
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 11:18 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM)
This stinks of corruption. Putin didn't even bother to show up did he? I think Russia's apppointment will go down easier. I mean they have a professional league and have qualified for the World Cup numerous times. They have churned out several World Class players beginning with the legendary Lev Yashin. The downside is that travelling will be chore for fans especially during the knockout stages. The distance between Moscow and St. Petersburgh for example is 435 miles! I'm pretty sure they'll increase the number of flights between venues during that time but at what price I wonder? Thought that Spain and Portugal would have been a good choice.

Speaking about price, how much do you reckon it will cost a fan to live in Qatar for the duration of the World Cup? Russia has a huge landmass but Qatar is the direct opposite, comprising of only 1 city, Doha. They have half the population of Wales ffs. Can you imagine the traffic? They don't exactly have a rich football history either. There are huge social economic factors to consider. The fans contribute greatly to the vibrant colours at atmosphere at the World Cup, the pretty lasses in particular. So what now? No more pretty women in skimpy attire especially in that bloody heat? What about gay players or fans? What about Jewish fans? Heaven forbid (quite literally eh?) that Israel should qualify. Where does one get a cold beer to combat the sweltering heat? There aren't any pubs around and you'll have to be pretty darn rich to get into one of those exclusive hotel lounges. Speaking about the heat, it goes up to 50 bloody degrees now and in 12 years time, who knows how high temperatures will soar in light of global warming? Air-conditioned stadiums? Sure, how many Earth Hours will we need to make up for this? More negatives than positives if you ask me. Sepp Blatter and FIFA are a joke.
12 yrs from now it's difficult to predict what will the actual costs is. A return ticket with Qatar Airways now roughly cost RM5K so if you take in current economic considerations in Qatar with inflation rates for the past 2 yrs were whopping 13% and 15%, it will cost you a bomb to watch a game in Doha in 2022.
A decent meal cost like RM30 here but expect that to soar 10 fold in year 2022.

In summer time (May to Sep) the heat can soar up to 50-60 deg and this could prove to be too hot to handle for fans. Open air stadiums will be a killer i gerenti unless they build all indoor stadiums with massive air conditioning.

Transportation wise, there's no LRT or subway available at the moment and i expect KARWA to put a plan in place very soon. There's only one road that leads to various satetile cities like Al-Khor and Mesaieed so they will need to have some proper road planning soon.

Another factor here is the football team here. There's a lot of passion about football but the quality wise left a lot to be desired. It's hard to see how can they compete in WC 2022 unless they start taking in Brazillians and Africans as citizens.
madmoz
post Dec 3 2010, 11:20 AM

4,250 posts

@Duke, I would love to see Israel qualify. Want to see how FIFA deals with that.
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:36 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:18 AM)
12 yrs from now it's difficult to predict what will the actual costs is. A return ticket with Qatar Airways now roughly cost RM5K so if you take in current economic considerations in Qatar with inflation rates for the past 2 yrs were whopping 13% and 15%, it will cost you a bomb to watch a game in Doha in 2022.
A decent meal cost like RM30 here but expect that to soar 10 fold in year 2022.

Football is nothing without it's fans. Many noted how empty the stadiums were especially during the group stages of the last tournament in South Africa. Giants like Argentina, Brazil, and Spain don't exactly have the richest fans. I'd hate to imagine how little support African teams will receive. Qatar will no doubt take this opportunity to market itself to the rest of the world so I reckon we can expect to see expensive suits sitting in VIP boxes, in place of screaming fans with painted faces dancing in the stands?

In summer time (May to Sep) the heat can soar up to 50-60 deg and this could prove to be too hot to handle for fans. Open air stadiums will be a killer i gerenti unless they build all indoor stadiums with massive air conditioning.

Well if they could build an indoor ski slope in Saudi, who knows what more oil money can buy in 12 years? Reckon indoor stadiums with climate control will be out of the question? Teams will flip coins to determine the temperature eh. Can't imagine Scandanavian countries doing very well in that heat. Like I said earlier, it can soar up to 60 degrees now but with the polar ice caps melting at an alarming rate and global warming a serious issue, what will temperatures be like then? I'm guessing we can easily expect an increase of 5 degrees celcius.

Transportation wise, there's no LRT or subway available at the moment and i expect KARWA to put a plan in place very soon. There's only one road that leads to various satetile cities like Al-Khor and Mesaieed so they will need to have some proper road planning soon.

This is one thing that I believe will be rectified. Infrastructure will be improved to accomodate the population influx. It still doesn't address the cultural issues though. Israel? Women? Booze? I mean come on. Qatar has only just recognised a woman's right to drive ffs.

nakata101
post Dec 3 2010, 11:39 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:55 AM)
i find no issues with russia nor qatar to organised WC.....but when will MY host WC...at least they can be in the tournament..
The "MY" u mean which team trash by Indon by 5-1 few days ago... dun waste the slot bro...
Duke Red
post Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 3 2010, 11:17 AM)
well, 12 years is a long way to go..

at first i thought S.Africa was a joke too...

they sure can pull it off lah.. decisions like these arent forged, they sure analyzed kao kao already.

i jz like to see new places, getting to know cultures n all throughout WC...am not rich to travel for WC.
With South Africa, issues were largely related to infrastructure. With funding these problems can be rectified. Building more roads, having more hotels, looking into world class facilities for stadiums, this is all fixable. They erected 5 new stadiums, upgrading 5 existing ones which came up to US $1 billion.

The difference with Qatar if you forget the demographic and climate factors I mentioned is culture. You can't spend money to ensure they have a more liberal view on women by then. You can't spend to ensure they don't descriminate against Jews. Will any amount of money guarantee that booze will be permitted in the streets? Culture and religion in that region has done it's best to withstand the change that time brings. I am not confident that hosting the World Cup will suddenly mean this process will be sped up. The atmosphere at the World Cup contributes a great deal to the whole tournament. What kind of tournament would it be if everyone were wrapped up, not permitted in public viewing places without family, not permitted to hug the opposite sex when celebrating a goal and not allowed to drink when rejoicing?

Ken
post Dec 3 2010, 11:57 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:39 AM)
The "MY" u mean which team trash by Indon by 5-1 few days ago... dun waste the slot bro...
if MY apply, will blocked by Asia FA first before reach FIFA, as you said, don't waste asia slots by putting a taufu host.
carloz28
post Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM)
With South Africa, issues were largely related to infrastructure. With funding these problems can be rectified. Building more roads, having more hotels, looking into world class facilities for stadiums, this is all fixable. They erected 5 new stadiums, upgrading 5 existing ones which came up to US $1 billion.

The difference with Qatar if you forget the demographic and climate factors I mentioned is culture. You can't spend money to ensure they have a more liberal view on women by then. You can't spend to ensure they don't descriminate against Jews. Will any amount of money guarantee that booze will be permitted in the streets? Culture and religion in that region has done it's best to withstand the change that time brings. I am not confident that hosting the World Cup will suddenly mean this process will be sped up. The atmosphere at the World Cup contributes a great deal to the whole tournament. What kind of tournament would it be if everyone were wrapped up, not permitted in public viewing places without family, not permitted to hug the opposite sex when celebrating a goal and not allowed to drink when rejoicing?
Culture..you are having a laugh. Do you know a Qatari does not mingle with people apart from their own kind for the fear of "lowering down their social status in the community"?

Do you know a bachelor are prohobited from entering a public shopping mall on Fridays as Fridays are declared FAMILY day?

Not to mention all women have to dress like Togukawa-Edo Shinobi whenever they appear in public places?

FFS, they hired Indians, Bangla and Paks , foreign workers to cheer for own athetles in Asian games!

I respect the religion but these are the barriers that needs to be overcome if they want to start thinking about hosting an international event.

aressandro10
post Dec 3 2010, 12:04 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 3 2010, 11:01 AM)

despite the obvious difficulties, i am sure the challenge will be less compared to South Africa. We can see a sneak preview in January when Doha hosting the Asia Cup.
Whats good about countries with infrastructure problems is these events will give the resource and political will to solve it.

1) Traffic problems are expected but not really unsolvable 12 years from now. Greece and Beijing had it much tougher and can be used as a case study
2) Skimpy pretty lasses will be missed. But with different culture, they have a chance to be creative about giving a vibrant colour atmosphere at the world cup. It is definitely not a deal breaker.
3) i am pretty sure Islamic culture issues are the earliest questions asked and tackled by the bidding committee. A jewish team ban would be a no no from the start. i never heard of openly gay world cup players before but i am sure they and and the jewish players can expect a professional hospitality like anyone else. But dont hope for gay entertainment establishment though.
4) i think drinking holes will be much more available during the actual competition compared to now, but then again, why not try to adapt to local method of dealing with the heat. The longest you will do it is only for a month for the rest of your life.
5) During their bidding presentation, they mentioned they will use a zero carbon emission method to cool the stadiums. Solar panels galore.

the best thing about the world cup is the world wide diversity of its participants. So why not extend it to the host and organization as well. Dont expect a typical south american style world cup every time. Open ourselves to different culture as well..

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0261sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:24 AM