Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher
aldosoesilo
Jan 25 2011, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Jan 24 2011, 03:47 PM) thx guys for the feedback. i alridi have a fixed lense in my mind, which 18-105. so even the d3100 does not have built in auto focus, it's okie for me. wit my criteria and a newbie, does it mean that D3100 is better for me? as long as D3100 (light body) with 18-105 lense (heavy) combination is ok? Both D90 and D3100 with ISO3200 take night pics nearly the same output quality? Added on January 24, 2011, 3:48 pmyea ka? some camera shop owners tell me that at iso3200, D3100 noise control is worse than D90 and overall output quality also worse than D90. wanna confirm on this point. QUOTE I will update you tomorrow about the picture with ISO 3200. so you can judge yourself. anyway never listen to sales man, they are tricker they just want to take your money as much as possible. (Like what they did to me)
D90 is better ergonomic + better control + AF motor inside + got commander mode + better support given (you have battery grip available etc etc) - old model (been there 2 years plus). <- consider that where as D3100 smaller size + HD recording + the latest sensor and processor + new model. <- do consider that as well ISO 1600  ISO 3200  ISO 6400 / HI1  ISO 12800 / HI2  now you judge yourself about it's noise control
aldosoesilo
Jan 25 2011, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(wadever @ Jan 25 2011, 09:41 PM) I own a D90 with 18-105mm kit lens. I've been hunting for a telephoto lens for a very long time and ended up with nothing. I mainly photograph birds. Should I: 1. sell the 18-105mm and get a 18-200mm. or 2. keep the 18-105 and get a longer lens? I'm facing difficulties as most of the telephoto zoom are in the range of my 18-105mm (eg 50-300, 70-270), and i feel that would be a waste. Any lens to recommend? Budget would be +-RM4k or less. How good is "Bigma"? the 50-500mm sigma lens. It's almost RM5000, is it value for money? are you interested on 70-200 2.8 sigma?
aldosoesilo
Jan 25 2011, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Jan 25 2011, 10:14 PM) wow, thx dude for the comparison. seems like iso1600 is the best result here. you can see there it still produce pretty useable picture at ISO 3200
aldosoesilo
Jan 25 2011, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 25 2011, 10:38 PM) Lighting also plays a big role in "noticing noise" lar  Guess what ISO is this shot at?  it is ISO 3200. at least it is what written on my EXIF reader. xD QUOTE(wadever @ Jan 25 2011, 11:26 PM) IDK but that is one of my target for tele-lens considering Nikon/Canon 70-200 2.8 is a way much much more expensive compared to siggy 70-200 2.8 This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 25 2011, 11:32 PM
aldosoesilo
Jan 26 2011, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(Jade05 @ Jan 26 2011, 12:19 AM) i want to trade in my current slr Canon 450D and i want to upgrade.. do any can suggest me thanks Specify your budget please. I will make us easier to give you suggestion.
aldosoesilo
Jan 26 2011, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 26 2011, 05:53 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget:around 4.5k or less Your Location: KL, PJ Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, Lanscape, low-light shooting, Any specific models in mind? : 550D, 60D, suggest me Nikon, can i not to choose D90? as its bit old, but D7000 is out of my budget? Any specific features u want? : Range, so i might opt for 18-200 for 60D but its slightly out of my budget. any views? comments? Please also tell me and suggest me on main diff between Canon and Nikon, i studied but cant really pick which 1 to get... Go for D7000 it's not out of your budget photo IQ-wise it is awesome. beat for cropped factor body in low light. Difference between canon and nikon? Color, model, agronomic.
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 26 2011, 09:25 PM) but if u ask me, i think i prefer 60D more though.... really a tough choice.... actually i'm new to this, just an entry level user, but i dont wish to upgrade further... so i will only do one time investment.... how leh? if you want to do one time investment you have to get pretty decent body. for me either D7000,7D, or 60D. 60D is good for video as it has swivel lcd. it's up to you. you have the money QUOTE(coolredz @ Jan 27 2011, 09:15 AM) I see.. Thanks alot  Btw, my boss using a lens where it's used to snap photo of people while background remains blur, no zooming and my friend say the lens is for potrait one @_@ what kind of lens is this? prime portrait lens?
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(coolredz @ Jan 27 2011, 10:48 AM) it's written DX SWM Aspherical 0.3m/0.98ft and AF-S NIKKOR 35mm 1:1.8G I'm am not sure about DX SWM Aspherical 0.3m/0.98ft but I am currently using AF-S NIKKOR 35mm 1:1.8G  it is prime wide-angle lens. <- actually however because I am using it on my cropped factored body it become some-what portrait lens. This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 27 2011, 10:59 AM
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(coolredz @ Jan 27 2011, 10:58 AM) Thanks alot bro.. Guess there's alot thing for me to learn about DSLR and lens..  There's alot of thing to play with DSLR  Added on January 27, 2011, 10:59 amIs it NIKON's one? LOL actually both is the same lens. Just that i don't know which one is the name  of course it is Nikon's it's named Nikkor. bro DX SWM Aspherical 0.3m/0.98ft <- is the spec. it is a DX lens with silent wave motor (SWM). and aspherical element inside. and I have no idea about 0.3m/0.98ft This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 27 2011, 11:04 AM
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(coolredz @ Jan 27 2011, 12:23 PM) Hahas.. How much roughly does it cost? Oh, so that means DX SWM Aspherical 0.3m/0.98ft is the spec. Really need to learn more about DSLR stuffs lol..  new set approx 750-780RM
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(david9 @ Jan 27 2011, 06:46 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget: RM 1900 - RM 2300 Your Location: SEREMBAN , KL , SELANGOR Preferable brand : CANON , NIKON Type of photography u want to do : POTRAIT AND LANDSCAPE Any specific models in mind? : D3100 KIT , D90(BODY),550D(BODY) Please pm/help me ! I'm gonna buy either one of it on month of february after chinese new year week Reason : Going to travel to take photos what lens do you have? if you do have Nikon lens available. go for D90. Canon lens go for 550D. else go for D3100
aldosoesilo
Jan 27 2011, 10:38 PM
^ IMHO go for D90 if your friend have nikon lens else go for 550D if your friend have canon lens. actually it still depends on what kind of lens do you want to use
aldosoesilo
Jan 28 2011, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(leakingpipe @ Jan 27 2011, 10:49 PM) hey guys... can u all suggest me a DSLR for starter like me?? and state the reason.... around 1-2k go for D3100. the best you can get with 2k budget.
aldosoesilo
Jan 28 2011, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Jan 28 2011, 11:51 AM) Hi. Newbie here. I am planning to get a DSLR and maybe today (I know it's a bit rush but hey, CNY is coming and why not). Function: maybe scenery and family use. Budget: 2k-3.5k, include lens i guess? p/s: I would like to get 1 that I will stick with it for long time. Not those "oh you can try this 1st, is good for beginner and then when you are pro enough, you can upgrade to another 1" How abt the lens? What's the criteria? Which 1 should I choose? and where can I get it. (i know they sell it in camera shop but maybe which shop is more trustworthy or maybe good price and freebies? 550D or 60D should be able to satisfy you
aldosoesilo
Jan 28 2011, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Jan 28 2011, 12:33 PM) Thanks for your reply.They differ like 1k, so what would you recommend? is the 1k worth it? and how abt lens? 60D for movie making where as it has swivel LCD. and 60D is pro-sumer body no longer entry body. therefore the body looks though.
aldosoesilo
Jan 31 2011, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(Malcom522 @ Jan 31 2011, 09:13 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera Budget : RM2000 to RM3000 with lens Your Location : SABAH Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon & Sony Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait Any specific models in mind? : D3100 / D90 / A33 Any specific features u want? : Photo & video if it is possible go grab 550D. highly recommended for a long run else 500D.
aldosoesilo
Jan 31 2011, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(Malcom522 @ Jan 31 2011, 11:42 AM) Hi Chia and Aldo. Thanks a lot for the info. you are welcome. Happy to know it is helpful.
aldosoesilo
Jan 31 2011, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(azim61 @ Jan 31 2011, 07:38 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget : RM2.5K below Your Location : Selangor Preferable brand : Canon, Sony, Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Video Recording Any specific models in mind? : Canon 500D and Nikon D5000 Any specific features u want? : Features that should have on DSLR top up a little bit and go for 550D else just grab D3100 never go for D5000. reason? that is the best you can get with your money. IMHO
aldosoesilo
Feb 1 2011, 05:10 AM
QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 12:19 AM) hello guys. can your tell me the pros and cons of buying Nikon D90 and D7000. which one is the best for a beginner such as myself?. if you have go for D7000 as it has the latest technology of nikon. which will please you on the long run.
aldosoesilo
Feb 1 2011, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 09:20 AM) A friend of mine told me D90 have a motor inside it that makes it compatible with lens that have no motor. does D7000 also have this feature?. thank you really much for your help here. yeah it does. QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 10:38 AM) so it is safe to say that anything that is inside of D90 is also available inside of D7k  ?. well you can conclude that. QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 11:16 AM) hahaha... just making sure before i decide to buy and regret it later on. thank you very much!!.  if you love photography you wouldn't regret of buying D7000