QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jan 20 2011, 06:44 PM)
Opss my bad didn't saw the budget range. I can't help much then. sorry. Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher
Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher
Jan 20 2011, 06:49 PM
1,457 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur |
Jan 21 2011, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(chiugy @ Jan 21 2011, 09:39 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera based on your option I'll go to 60D anytime w/o even look at 550D features. Budget:rm3k++ Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon or nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait Any specific models in mind? : 550d and 60d |
Jan 21 2011, 02:43 PM
^
Low yat Plaza RM 1950. |
Jan 21 2011, 03:19 PM
^
Nop. You will even get tripod if you insist. hahaha |
Jan 21 2011, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 21 2011, 05:38 PM) I have no recommendation store tough. they all money minded beware.all you need to keep on your mind is the price range is RM 1950-1999 don't go for more than that. You will get all the freebies. + don't buy any weird converter or lens whatsoever on your first purchase of DSLR the seller will usually tell you a lot of bullshit which eventually you will pay a hell lot of money for useless stuffs. (Like what I did) |
Jan 21 2011, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(rainbow84 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:29 PM) Hi, asking for my boyfriend, hope someone can help : Ask him to get D7000 with's within your budget. and you will get AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm as your kit lensType of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget : RM4000-R5000 Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Varied - Landscape, Macro, etc Any specific models in mind? : D5000 (thinking of getting lens AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm) |
Jan 21 2011, 08:25 PM
Jan 23 2011, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(dolphinpunch @ Jan 23 2011, 01:27 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR For 2k budget the best option is D3100.Budget : <RM2000 Your Location : Currently KL. Going back Kuching on CNY. den after CNY KL. Preferable brand : Any Type of photography u want to do : Portrait + landscape + outdoor types. Any specific models in mind? : Canon 1000D. Nikon D3100. Sony A380 Any specific features u want? : Just want it to be handy to bring around. Takes good pictures. Beginner level. I have a few friends( CANON users). The most pro among them advised me for canon 1000D and also asked me to look into Sony. Doesnt recommend Nikon for dono what reason. So yeah. |
Jan 23 2011, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 22 2011, 09:32 PM) wow..thanks man.! the shop name is tarita? Nice to know you are feeling helpful. Added on January 22, 2011, 9:36 pm thanks a lot aldosoesilo! QUOTE(dolphinpunch @ Jan 23 2011, 01:45 AM) Alright here's the thing. My friends are really against Nikon. I don't question his skill in photography though. He won a canon EOS 400D in one photography competition before. But, i want to know what Canon users out there think about Nikon. Is it because he's a Canon user that's why he has this biased feelin towards NIkon? Fanboyism is everywhere bro.. Not sure why he didn't advice you for nikon. but here is the thing. IF and ONLY IF your friend allow you to do lens swapping I suggest you to grab the same brand as your friends did. this is an advantage as you don't have to spend a hell lot of money to test a lens. HOWEVER if he doesn't allow you to do lens swapping. just follow your intention bro. it doesn't matter what ever thing you choose since all of your consideration is an entry level model. which will serve you very good for beginner. NIKON, CANON, SONY, SAMSUNG, PENTAX it doesn't matter. However please do consider lens availability in the market. and yeah again for <2k DSLR model camera D3100 is the best deal you can find in the market bro. good luck |
Jan 23 2011, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 23 2011, 03:45 PM) Want meh? Later this thread go off topic all come troll >"> that is the downfall Built in AF motor. Image stabilization. higher iso. 7fps. Dual mem slot. AF focus during video. Etc etc etc.... Tech specs wise, A33 is better. Usage wise, that's depending on the user. I was merely pointing at the fact that Sony do not suck, its just under-par compared to the GREAT Nikon and Canon. Nobody ask anyone to use Sony, its a freedom of will. The comment suck was clearly uncalled for. IS should be placed on the lens instead of body. my very personal opinion. That's the reason canon and Nikon didn't have IS on body even on their newest model D7000. but let's see later on 5D Mark III and D800. maybe they will have this thing. hahaha This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 23 2011, 06:28 PM |
Jan 23 2011, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 23 2011, 08:26 PM) I wonder if the day would really come if Nikon or Canon will have IS in their bodies. The main selling point is lens with IS built in, which in return costing more. I myself not sure about this. let me post something on the forum and see the feedback after that I will get back to you. that's just my very personal opinion bro.IS in body and IS in lens, how often do you really peek and test it out? As long as the image comes out sharp, I don't think people would bother much. But there are those who are very particular indeed about the type of IS. And do share why should IS be placed on lens instead of body? I said that with a weak or almost no justification. <- just because most of DSLR camera put Is on the lens. QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 23 2011, 09:47 PM) Coz I really new to DSLR. my friend told me there is pirated lens in the market I myself not sure if there is any. All I know is only the existence of grey set and 3rd party lens. |
Jan 24 2011, 02:26 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 23 2011, 08:26 PM) I wonder if the day would really come if Nikon or Canon will have IS in their bodies. The main selling point is lens with IS built in, which in return costing more. It was true if I say IS on lens is better compared to IS on the body. please do check http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry39531947 IS in body and IS in lens, how often do you really peek and test it out? As long as the image comes out sharp, I don't think people would bother much. But there are those who are very particular indeed about the type of IS. And do share why should IS be placed on lens instead of body? Added on January 24, 2011, 2:30 am QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 23 2011, 01:40 AM) Yeah, better get nikon D3100..Sony DSLR sucks..btw, nikon D3100 can record Full HD video and oso has miniature effect..it has small n compact size but its performance is superb.. No fanboyism please. I wouldn't say Sony is sucks if I never use any of them.Have you use any? This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 24 2011, 02:30 AM |
Jan 24 2011, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(chiugy @ Jan 24 2011, 02:26 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera if it is possible get 60D with 18-55 + 50mm 1.8 II it's a way better and more useful compared to 550D + 18-200 IMHO.Budget:rm3k++ Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait Any specific models in mind? : 550d need recommendation for beginner to dslr. canon 550d 18-55mm rm2800 canon 550d 18-135mm rm3500 canon 550d 18-200mm rm3750 which one should i get?? except you are preparing for travel. |
Jan 24 2011, 02:59 PM
^
If that is the case go for 7D it is a significant upgrade from 550D. what I am saying is get a better body if it is possible. therefore you can invest on lens slowly. compared to get entry level body and later on you do upgrade your body again. because a good body can serve you for a long period of time. yup 1855 is better in term of sharpness. therefore I suggest you go for 1855 + 50mm 1.8 |
Jan 24 2011, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Jan 24 2011, 03:05 PM) thinking to get between D90 or D3100 with 18-105 lense. but not sure which one to get. here's my priority to get this family camera Indeed D90 is better compared to D3100.1 lense fit for all (i'm not a pro, just wanna get a lense that can zoom, take nice pics, mostly family outings pics) RM3xxx or below, which D90 or D3100 fits my bill Good pics taken during night time Auto features/guide modes most of the time (simple usage) Some of the camera shop ppl tells me D90 compare to D3100 1) continuous shots for d90 is better. 4.5 frame per sec, whereby d3100 only 3frame ps. 2) shooting at night time, if both shoots at iso3200, d90 will be better with lesser noise output. 3) D3100 body is small and 18-105mm lense is heavy. Hence might not so balance when you hold the camera. Are these facts true and make sense to you all? D3100 is RM700 cheaper, but the camera guy say D90 is far more worth need. Need your inputs. but I dont think D3100 noisy performance is worse to D90. D90 is better as it has AF motor in the body so you can use any lens you want. however D3100 you have to use AF-S lens in order to get the focus. D3100 is easier for newbie in DSLR. so again it's your call. |
Jan 24 2011, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 24 2011, 03:24 PM) Its noise control bro. typo sorry. at least you got what I mean. IMHO D3100 noise control is better to D90. And D3100 high iso performance is on par if not better than the again D90. Main advantage of D90 is the built in AF motor which allows any lens to be used. at least shot at ISO 3200 still awesome. |
Jan 24 2011, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Jan 24 2011, 03:47 PM) thx guys for the feedback. i alridi have a fixed lense in my mind, which 18-105. so even the d3100 does not have built in auto focus, it's okie for me. I will update you tomorrow about the picture with ISO 3200. so you can judge yourself.wit my criteria and a newbie, does it mean that D3100 is better for me? as long as D3100 (light body) with 18-105 lense (heavy) combination is ok? Both D90 and D3100 with ISO3200 take night pics nearly the same output quality? Added on January 24, 2011, 3:48 pm yea ka? some camera shop owners tell me that at iso3200, D3100 noise control is worse than D90 and overall output quality also worse than D90. wanna confirm on this point. anyway never listen to sales man, they are tricker they just want to take your money as much as possible. (Like what they did to me) D90 is better ergonomic + better control + AF motor inside + got commander mode + better support given (you have battery grip available etc etc) - old model (been there 2 years plus). <- consider that where as D3100 smaller size + HD recording + the latest sensor and processor + new model. <- do consider that as well This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 25 2011, 10:21 AM |
Jan 24 2011, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 24 2011, 04:11 PM) Oh..I think that is what they mean. that means you bought it from third party reseller whom they bought it from the respective System (e.g nikon,canon, sony)btw, what is grey set ? worry being conned coz really new to DSLR...I did do research but need time to understand the jargon used... Therefore if you want to claim your warranty you have to approach the third party (usually the seller of the lens to you) and hand in your good to him. he eventually will return you the item after the warranty process claimed to the respective official center. CMIIW |
Jan 24 2011, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(JanableJoy @ Jan 24 2011, 04:30 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera In my opinion for budget 2k the best option is Nikon D3100. However if you want to consider canon 1000D wouldn't be a wrong option tough it will cost you roughly 1.6k for new set and 1.2k for used set (approx). or you can go for 450D if you can find 1 within your budget.Budget : Less than RM2000, preferably around RM1500? Your Location : Penang Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, portrait, still life Any specific models in mind? : Not really... Any specific features u want? : Not really XD Well, I'm just a beginner in all these DSLR things so I don't know much.. >< But I thought I would ask in the forums before I go into a shop so I would know at least SOMETHING beforehand and you guys like really nice people to ask My friend told me that she bought a Nikon D3100 (which seems to be rather popular in this thread too So maybe I was thinking of getting a Canon DSLR, but I don't know where to start! Any recommendations is greatly appreciated Thanks! IDK much about Nikon centers in Penang, but I know 1 forumer from penang and he manage to get his necessary stock from penang. |
Jan 24 2011, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(JanableJoy @ Jan 24 2011, 04:49 PM) What's the difference between Canon 1000D and Nikon D3100? Can you explain to me a little about the features for both the DSLRs? Which is better? I hope these can help you.P/S. I don't know, but that's what I heard, they say that Canon's after-sales service is better and conveniently available... http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_EOS_1000D-vs-Nikon_D3100 http://www.camera-catalog.com/compares/pop...canon_eos_1000d In term of performance D3100 is superior over 1000D. IDK much about after-sales service since I never have a problem with my DSLR camera. but the fact is Canon provides a longer service duration over Nikon's. Canon used to give 1+2years warranty where Nikon only 1 year warranty. |
| Change to: | 0.0418sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:56 AM |