Working Life in Singapore V5

crapp0
post Jan 20 2011, 07:15 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 20 2011, 07:02 PM)
I don't see how Malaysia is better. In Malaysia, you typically have to pay RM1000-1500 more than Singapore for the newer smartphones. And even though you're not on contract, you still have to pay significant monthly subscription and airtime charges no matter how many times you switch. At the end of the day, the immediate cash savings on hardware is way more than the cumulative DIFFERENTIAL between the monthly charges you have to pay - stretched over 2 years.

In any case, there is NO mobile plan in Malaysia that gives you voice (with free minutes and sms) and 12GB of 3.5G HSDPA data for the RM equivalent of S$38*1.07.
Im not talking about malaysia since i never did mention the country. Just the startegy telcos use like most if not all cellphone carriers in the US like at&t and verizon.
crapp0
post Jan 20 2011, 07:19 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Raitama @ Jan 20 2011, 07:17 PM)
my fren said he wanna do SAP in Singapore.. wan request USD$10k per month, u think possible or not?
Just ask him to try and see whats the response. If he thinks he's worth that amount then by all means go for it
crapp0
post Jan 20 2011, 08:06 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(sakura9 @ Jan 20 2011, 07:23 PM)
I thought sg only hire 'cheap and hard working labour' from msia? Unless he is very experience and skillful.
yea, cheap labour is to singapore like crack is to a heroin addict.

My fren loves singaporean food, especially their selection of western restaurants which he says taste much better then in malaysia. I find its ok but not that fantastic.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2011, 09:34 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 21 2011, 08:36 AM)
this 1 ar , pathetic lol...ppl earning SGD 2000 fresh grad able to buy a lot of things including DSLR... my point is , things are cheap there...

working adult in kl ? cheh... our currency is weak pls... anyway , dont compare an city with a undeveloped country + city ...
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  cool.gif

Added on January 21, 2011, 8:38 am

come on ... SGD 30 monthly is expensive ? can u find any iphone plan in malaysia that is RM30 ? no right ? our iphone sell at RM2290 with RM58 iDigi plan. spore singtel SGD30 monthly for 2 yrs , and iphone for SGD400... see the diff ... some ppl juz dont realised things are cheap in advanced city such as US and Spore...

iphone in china is around 2months of the average salary there....2months salary !
Its more about the contract period. But i guess thats usually overlooked by the phone they get.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2011, 08:08 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2011, 12:59 PM)
just handed in my pr application today... they mentioned it will take 6 months to process.... is that true for you guys? care to share how long they take to revert usually?
Yup, usually six months.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2011, 08:50 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Jan 21 2011, 08:18 PM)
where got teh tarik drink??
There are, the prata place has it.
crapp0
post Jan 22 2011, 09:39 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 22 2011, 09:09 PM)
I totally agree. Went for this so called "best bak kut teh" in Sg. Didn't like it at all. Dunno what's the deal with the peppery soup??!!!. Nasi lemak is all fried chicken. No rendang.... hokkien mee is watery not like kl thick and solid. In summary hawker food though cheap is not tasty at all.... Now i miss kl food so much
I prefer the peppery taste compared to the malaysia bak kut teh which is herbally since i like black pepper. True their nasi lemak and the all important sambal fall flat on the face, donno why singapores taste prefer a fried chicken wing since the plain nasi lemak with either a a boiled egg or mata telur is much better.

Their otak also is a dissapointment.
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 11:04 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 24 2011, 11:48 PM)
normally room rental contracts are bonded at 6 months minimum with 1 year lease.. that's quite the common standard. if within 6 months you leave, landlord has the right to makan your 1 month deposit (yes this is the standard too)...

i used to stay at tiong bahru area which is a convenient 25 min bus ride to alexandra point. abit expensive as since its the closest hdbs to orchard road..
Wow, minimum 6 months stay. So far i've rented from landlords and its always 3months minimum stay or forfeit of deposit.

But if the landlord cannot tahan you and ask you to leave within the first 3 months, then the landlord should pay you an amount equating to the monthly desposit. But to escape this prob, what landlords do is impose new rules and make your life a living hell to force you to leave, rather then they ask you to leave.
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 01:22 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 25 2011, 11:20 AM)
What if u dun follow these "new rules"?
What can they do, they will still nid to ask u to leave.
They will make things very difficult to force you to break the contract and pay to the landlord if you leave within the 3 first months, rather then they ask you to leave and pay you the penalty price.

Woah, a crane accident just occurred at sembawang shipyard, the crane drivers head was sliced.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 03:15 PM
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 04:20 PM

4,414 posts

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This ruling reminds me of an animal activist petitioning the amount of space given to livestock during transportation. Only in singapore, they apply it to people, especially foreigners. In dubai which is considered less developed then singapore, you hardly see employers transporting worker in vehicles which were designed to "only" carry goods.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Heres another brochure. Noticed how it depicts the guy whose sitting on the floor is much happier then the guy who has a proper seat? I wonder which fella made this since it just doesnt make much common sense. Instead of malaysia boleh, singapore pun boleh juga.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 04:51 PM
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 09:47 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ Jan 25 2011, 05:25 PM)
Do I get to see in news?
It wont be publicize, but it will be in mom records that an accident did happen. A few times fatal accidents do happen in both sembawang and keppel shipyards but u never hear about it unless its has a high death toll count.

Anyway the accident i mentioned occurred today. One fatality which was the crane driver. I doubt anybody will fuss about it since its not somebody important so no news about it.

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 25 2011, 05:27 PM)
All because of COE and to help SME make more money.

In the brochure, person sitting down on the floor would have lower Center of gravity (CG) than those who sit on somthing (thus higher). Tendency of falling out is higher for those with higher CG.... Having said that, I must say that allowing people to sit behind truck without seat and seat belt is not a good policy. Even the school bus have indivisual seat belt.

Then again, many SG male will have chace to sit behind truck when they serve NS right?
NS fellas have proper seats with cushion with a canopy over their heads. You'll notice for the foreign workers whose company transport is a vehicle designed to transport goods, it doesnt have the amenities of canopy, or proper seats for that matter, let alone seat belts. So in the case of an accident, these guys get tossed around like rag dolls either in a steal cage out the vehicle they go. But its not really a big deal in singapore since their basically disposable people.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 09:57 PM
crapp0
post Jan 26 2011, 08:30 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jan 25 2011, 10:33 PM)
Wow what happened to the crane driver?? He wasn't in the crane was he?
He was, part of his head was sliced off since he was operating the crane when it collapsed. But then again he was an indian national, i doubt it would make headline news.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 26 2011, 08:31 AM
crapp0
post Jan 27 2011, 04:03 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 27 2011, 01:00 AM)
i am not sure if your info of rate is correct, coz i've been told for tampines area $450 is considered expensive (mine is 450) and that should be the rate for area like ang mo kio

Added on January 27, 2011, 1:09 am
I look at all aspects. Like Kranji, the company is located at industrial area (i think), only one bus. hardly can see any cab. if i work late, cant catch the last bus then on-call cab? for the job it requires alot overtime. one or two times is ok, but if long term, i think most people will feel annoying eventually. and no matter how good the company is, the emotion will definitely make some influences. That company is really good. thats why i am in a dilemma....
So far i've been asking around and 450 for an ang mo kio common room is very cheap, if not impossible to find unless you look for store room.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 27 2011, 04:06 PM
crapp0
post Jan 27 2011, 09:14 PM

4,414 posts

Does anybody which bus i can take from woodlands mrt to larkin?
crapp0
post Feb 7 2011, 02:53 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Feb 7 2011, 11:25 AM)
then why still work for them ?

you got lower pay, they looked down at you, why still work for them ?
For some, its either a job which puts food on the table and a roof over their heads or nothing at all.

Plus alot of foreigners have to pay agents for the "privilege" to work in singapore. Those of you who may have worked in company specializing in foreign outsourcing employment would know this rather well.

And since those foreign workers are literally indebted to the foreign emploment agents, who maybe in cahoots with the company which hired the workers in singapore. The misery is compounded twice since it gives the employer the power to exploit that worker even further plus the fact that singapore doesnt have a minimum wage system for foreigners or even its own citizens. Let the good times roll for the singaporean employer.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Feb 7 2011, 02:57 PM
crapp0
post Feb 9 2011, 03:10 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Feb 9 2011, 12:33 AM)
Hey guys,

I am looking for a room at Tampines/Pasir Ris (Near Ikea Tampines).
Single Professional Lady, Chinese Msian. Budget S$600 (Aircond & Broadband). If you guys got any rooms let me know.

Cheers.
Chessgal
Too bad, my fren had a room which was taken for only 400 excluding PUB. But then again its a 10-15min walk to the pasir ris mrt unless you mind sharing with the guy.
crapp0
post Feb 9 2011, 03:37 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Feb 9 2011, 03:23 PM)
I just had a phone interview with one of the foreign banks in SG. All went well but my three months notice period totally turn him off... He told me they are urgently looking for someone to start working in a month time. So I suggested to him that he can "buy off" my notice period if he is keen on me. But he seems totally not sure how this works.

By the way, I am applying for the position of Analyst for Portfolio Analytics.
A recruiter cant decide on the phone on this matter, if he thinks your worth it. He'll most probably defer this to his superior, but then again there are other "you" who can join without the notice period.
crapp0
post Feb 9 2011, 04:40 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Feb 9 2011, 03:49 PM)
Yes, absolutely. He just gave me a range because only HR can decide on the exact amount. Let's see whether they come back to me or not.  smile.gif
Yea, dont put too much hopes on them getting back to you.
crapp0
post Feb 10 2011, 08:37 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 10 2011, 12:35 AM)
harlo.. need 2 ask for opinion, recently i complained i had to go to work on weekends and i am facing difficulty getting cab, so my boss says he will get me a new 325i but i have to forfeit my this year's bonus (5 figures) so i was thinking is this worth it? i can have the car for 10 years if i am still in the company, but on and off he will surely ask me to fetch ppl. maintenance by company ins, erp and fuel self. btw, company is very chinaman, i am sure i will be made to work hard for it. i dont have sg license yet and i have been here more than a year.
Shouldnt a company car be under the company expenses aka road tax, maintenance fee, insurance etc instead of off loading that cost to you eventhough the car is given to you since its intended for business purposes.

Cant you book for a cabby beforehand so that you wont run into difficulties in finding a cab.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Feb 10 2011, 08:40 AM
crapp0
post Feb 11 2011, 01:12 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:59 AM)
basically what they said is quite true though. It is hard to work part time in Singapore because they need to apply work permit for you thus they need to pay some amount of money to MOM just to hired you.

But if only work as part time, which company willing to do that for you.

Then again, there is always a way to get a part time (if you know the method though).
Work as a FL is a part time job which is very lucrative and doesnt need a permit.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:52 AM