9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

crapp0
post Jan 11 2011, 11:56 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:44 AM)
no Apple products are cheap. but if u wan cheaper, i can get a bit discount for you depends on what item u want. But if u really want cheap, then go for those China Brand pirated Apple products.
How much cheaper are you offering if say an ipad wifi edition 32GB?

I checked the singapore apple store is $878 inclusive gst and free shipping.

Anybody know when the ipad 2 gonna come out. Since i prefer that since its a smaller form factor, the current ipad is too heavy for me.
crapp0
post Jan 11 2011, 12:07 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 11 2011, 12:03 PM)
if u are looking for iPad, then better wait, coz Apple products normally have a 1 year cycle and iPad is near to the end of the cycle already. I highly doubt it will be a smaller version since Apple CEO bash Samsung for creating a 7 inch tablet and says that it is too small for reading last time. if u wanna buy, then let me know ba, but as for iPad, even after discount, it won't be cheaper as well since Malaysia is selling iPad at a cheaper price, Better take a bus cross the causeway and buy it there. a lot cheaper.
I think i'll wait for the ipad 2. Plus it isnt for me but a gift.
crapp0
post Jan 12 2011, 08:27 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 11 2011, 11:37 PM)
ok finally i can leave office now to go home rest  sweat.gif
Only 11:37 what. Not like you work more then 48 hours straight. But then again i doubt most people here have the fortitude to go the distance even in an office environment.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 12 2011, 08:28 AM
crapp0
post Jan 12 2011, 12:01 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 12 2011, 11:25 AM)
why on the 6th? I tot most people already went back on the 1st or 2nd of Feb. If u wanna go on the 4th evening, mayb i can tumpang u. But 6th, too bad i already went back.
So early u go back to singapore?

I only going back around 9th or i have the option of taking the whole week off since now slow season.
crapp0
post Jan 15 2011, 10:53 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(danny1010 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:31 AM)
in tampines.... whats the rent like ?
If its anything like pasir ris, value for money.

You can get a 4 bed room executive flat for around a little over 2k and believe me the place is big.
crapp0
post Jan 15 2011, 02:36 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 15 2011, 01:21 PM)
shakehead.gif i dun wan2 abuse d use of MC  tongue.gif ...i never take MC for almost two years working in my current company...i never take half day leave as well, mayb that's the reason he becomes suspicious... cry.gif i had taken one day leave on monday if im going back to KL (several times due to long weekend)....
In morally bankrupt singapore, people take mc so that they can go out and play hooky with their mistress. Not surprising really since theres a big market for it, and there are willing players.
crapp0
post Jan 17 2011, 08:49 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 16 2011, 07:51 PM)
If u are from West Malaysia, searching from Malaysia should be no prob, but if u are from East Malaysia, it is best u search from Singapore. Also, it is illegal to rent a room in SG without a work permit. U can however, stay with ur cousin's house or someone that u know.

For me, when i come Singapore for job hunt, i stay at Backpacker Lodge, it is not cheap though but at least i have a place to stay while ongoing job hunting.
I doubt you can stay long enough in a rented room just to look for a job. Plus the golden rule in singapore is "you can whatever you like, as long as you dont get caught".

Assuming the landlord allows to rent his/her place for someone on the short term and only you 2 know about the deal, who's gonna spill the beans if the only people you know the deal are in it?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 17 2011, 08:56 AM
crapp0
post Jan 17 2011, 09:00 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 17 2011, 08:58 AM)
My advise is dun rent a room at HDB, but instead go for backpacker lodge.
Like i said, i doubt the landlord would rent a room for a couple of days like some motel.
crapp0
post Jan 17 2011, 04:06 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 17 2011, 02:15 PM)
SG bus and MRT WILL be there as schedule and the operation is closely monitored. Let me tell you my experience of some Malaysian bus operator.

1) detour to their workshop for repair while the whole bus load of passenger stuck on-board.

2) On main road, driver ask "ada orang turun?" If no aswer then the driver skip the entire Taman route. Good luck if you are waiting for bus at the taman.

3) Bus driver ask you to get down at the entrance of taman just because he is rushing to go home.

so, malaysian bus operator is more efficient? I think SG bus company dont need to learn from them.

Added on January 17, 2011, 2:22 pm

some people have the idea : green and holy country

under construction ...
Its not an idea, its like the advertisement of products, what you see and hear from them is not what you get or even expect.

Like how lucifer tells people that doing his deeds is the right thing when its the direct opposite.
crapp0
post Jan 17 2011, 04:52 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 17 2011, 04:29 PM)
can someone clarify on this? different people said different versions...
my only concern is that if I renew in Malaysia, will my S pass be voided? whats the process to renew my s pass in this case?
Why would renewing your passport void your s pass?
crapp0
post Jan 18 2011, 08:44 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 17 2011, 11:53 PM)
whoa, how come rejected 2 times... low pay? criminal record? not so good school?
Dont you know Singapore isnt encouraging people to just take up PR but citizenship. Running upto the GE their sure to placate the citizens by not increasing the number of PR's.

Try your luck after the GE, not before. Any how, it reeks of desperation if one quickly apply for PR as soon as one touches down in a land.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 18 2011, 08:46 AM
crapp0
post Jan 18 2011, 09:09 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 18 2011, 08:49 AM)
i'm in marine line but not keppel / jurong. heard so far their bonuses almost alike.. in terms of months.
not sure though about salary. but in my impression Keppel guys looks much better overall.

Exposure is super great ... but workload is the huge turn down. Same for both shipyards.
if you manage to pull through years in shipyard you might be someone great someday

Added on January 18, 2011, 8:51 am

any lucky ones got their PR approved these days .. ?
My frens bro got his PR approved in 2010, but then again he's an executive manager in infineon and has an MBA.

It depends really. Working for keppel or sembawang, expect a rather big bonus payout. Keppels bonus for 2010 was 8.5 months if im not mistaken. Sembawang wasnt trailing far with around 6 months.

You can focus on pressure vessels or piping as a specialization. Asme boiler and pressure vessel for the marine industry and api standard 510 for OnG pressure vessel inspection code.

Personally im focusing in HSE and osha training since i find the safety regulations that are implemented here isnt as effective as the standards followed overseas by either shell, transocean or BP. In singapore, they tout themselves on safety but its just a selfish excuse to cover their ass and to appease their clients since they follow singapores method of following rules, with large fines rather then properly educating and making people realize the problem.
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 08:21 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:19 AM)
i think i will only apply PR just for buying a HDB as an investment in singapore. I still dun think singapore is a good place for kids.
Didnt the government introduce measures to stop people like yourself from buying hdb as an investment tool rather then a home.

For kids, the majority of those who grow up in singapore tend to have certain mentality since their used to having luxuries which children in other countries dream off. Maybe thats why whenever you fly in SIA, you'll most probably hear a Singaporean throw a tantrum about not getting his/her way and giving excuses like PPS like that video some time ago titled the ugly singaporean.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 19 2011, 08:24 AM
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 09:07 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(shinchan0824 @ Jan 19 2011, 09:03 AM)
No body heard about StuartWright ?
They have chicks on oil rigs.
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 10:03 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 19 2011, 09:34 AM)
yes, u have friend which lives far more luxury lifestyle, but compare to Singapore, i see 10 kids at least 2 having at least psp, iphone, ipad, etc, but in Sarawak, 10 kids, i can hardly spotted one.

In a country which their technology keep improving, comparing to a country which developing in slow pace, so which kid will get influence more? I notice the kid in Singapore rebel towards their parent more than wat i see in Malaysia.
Singapores tech doesnt really improve, its just their wallets which then allows them the luxury to guy goods not easily accessible to the masses at other countries.

Added on January 19, 2011, 10:04 am
QUOTE(shinchan0824 @ Jan 19 2011, 09:54 AM)
Thanks for the reply. How's the working culture in StuartWright?
I have no clue, i've only seen them on the oil rigs since its usually a "sausage fest". So its refreshing when you see a girl onboard.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 19 2011, 10:04 AM
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 10:08 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 19 2011, 10:06 AM)
yeah, tat is one of the major point also, due to currency.  smile.gif
Not just currency but economic situation as well.
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 02:01 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:57 PM)
ok then, i am a single male, then we be PR and get married asap so we can both buy a HDB flat and save on rental tongue.gif (joking).

anyway, becoming a PR is definitely yes for me, but its just a matter of time. Coz after i become PR, i can't ride my Malaysian bike to work anymore and need to buy a Singapore bike. My Malaysian bike is just 2 months old. I got it new when i move to JB in december. So i think i need to wait at least another 2-3 years before i will get another new bike.
You can sell you malaysian bike. No probs over there.
crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 06:18 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jan 19 2011, 05:20 PM)
PR can only buy REsale HDB. It makes me wonder if its worth giving up ur citizenship just to buy new HDB .
You gotta be thinking way more then just getting singaporean citizenship for a HDB. Most people immigrate in search for a better life, not just to have the opportunity to buy government alloted flats in a land sparse country like singapore.

crapp0
post Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM

4,414 posts

Anybody here knows or works for a vendor which supplies "intrinsically safe" video camera system for enclosed spaces?
crapp0
post Jan 20 2011, 06:48 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 20 2011, 06:18 PM)
becoz things in spore is CHEAP ! imagine iphone 4 SGD 400++ with 2yrs contract ?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Why dont people realize thats how the phone companies "ketuk" you is with the contract length and monthly telephone fee. If you find a better deal you cant drop your contract without paying some stupid waiver fee.

Getting you to sign the 2 year contract is more important then how much their selling the phone to you.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 20 2011, 06:50 PM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1346sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:52 PM