Working Life in Singapore V5

Lester1987
post Feb 14 2011, 11:45 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 14 2011, 11:33 AM)
How to apply for the emergency certificate and where did you do it?

Added on February 14, 2011, 11:34 amAnd how you cross ica without passport?
you can't cross to SG without passport (10000000% confirmed, i got scolded by the ICA people last time coz trying to cross). to get the emergency cert, you need to have a police report, and a letter from your employer (ask them to fax or e-mail it to you), then pass it to immigration dept in Malaysia, they will do it for you.
Lester1987
post Feb 15 2011, 11:58 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 15 2011, 11:33 AM)
yea... can use both side... very easy... sg side faster 2x, a bit narrower but longer in length....
have u try it in the BIKES lane b4? coz i see that they need to do smth to our passport to use the BIKES lane for motorcycles. I am registered BIKES user but just curious if EP is already embedded it in the passport so we don't have to go to the checkpoint during office hours to do the BIKES thingy.
Lester1987
post Feb 15 2011, 04:38 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 15 2011, 03:43 PM)
Plus you can think highly of yourself compared to those who have to use the normal gate. i know a number of people who look down at the normal "gaters".
then i have to sad liao, coz i only using S Pass and need to walk on the normal gate cry.gif . but nowadays i cross mainly with bike, coz i go do the BIKES thingy, so i can scan also tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Feb 16 2011, 11:30 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 16 2011, 10:43 PM)
Hi guys,

Wanna ask let's say my gf is a singaporean, so next time when we married and I wanted to shift back to Malaysia (be it for business or when we retire), can my gf get a Malaysia PR or convert to Malaysia citizenship?
ur gf can't get PR or citizenship. u can try apply but the chances are very very slim. But as long as both of you are legally married, you can apply for a long term dependent pass for her in Malaysia.
Lester1987
post Feb 17 2011, 09:06 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 17 2011, 12:40 AM)
Thanks reign226 notworthy.gif

For currency exchange, do you mean I can get better rate if I exchange RM to SGD in Singapore compared to in Malaysia?
the best rates i got is in JB. i used to change currency in Singapore. but i find that the money changer in JB is giving better rate. their buy in and sell out price difference is very minimal. for example, they are selling RM for $1=RM2.376, they are selling SGD around $1 = RM2.385 perhaps. so i usually change with that particular money changer. And their rate is quite similar to the online rate as well. especially if u are changing from RM to SGD
Lester1987
post Feb 18 2011, 09:43 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kiki-lo @ Feb 18 2011, 08:24 PM)
Hi guys.. Can anyone in banking sector share ur working exp in S'pore with me..? Will it be difficult to seek for a job in bank..? Thanks in advance ya.. smile.gif
DBS is actively hiring telebanker recently. receive numerous call from recruiter about that position already. they said it should be around $2-2.5k. but i rejected it cause don't want to start all over again in another company.
Lester1987
post Feb 19 2011, 07:51 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(smartalec @ Feb 19 2011, 12:43 PM)
been working in sg for 4 yrs now. no doubt it is a good place to earn $$$, however with the ever increasing cost of living (esp housing, transport & food) most ppl here will not be able to afford a good lifestyle. lemme giv an example. a typical citizen/pr stays in a HDB flat and takes public transport. this applies for ppl from the jr. executive ranks all the way to mid level executive ranks. only those in the sr. executive ranks will be able to afford private housing a car etc.

back in msia, ppl within this range has so much options to choose from, they can choose to stay in either in a landed house or a condo. they can choose which car they want to drive. personally having experienced both ways of lifestyle, i prefer the msian way of lifestyle. in msia, with a car we have the freedom to go where ever we want with no inhibition, while in sg if you r dependent on public transport, the full flexibility is not really there unless u r willing to pay the taxi fare. personally i'd prefer to drive than take public transport due to the privacy and convenience. on a more personal side, if a guy wants to court a girl, i'd think u would stand a better chance if u r driving compared to taking public transport.

when it comes to food, i believe everyone here will agree that msia wins hands down. let's be truthful, sg foodcourt sells the same thing everywhere, and they are not nice. the only food that sg has that is consistently nicer than msia is fried rice. they hav an uncanny ability to make good fried rice as compared to msia. to get nice food, we need to go to restaurants. but how many times a month do we eat at restaurants?

as a single guy working in sg, a good chunk of my pay is already going into my rent, food & transport as well as fixed expenses back home in KL. with my savings, i wont be able to afford a house nor a car in singapore. thx to the new ruling, i'm no longer eligible to buy HDB as i've a property in KL, so it is purely private if i want to buy and they are hell expensive right now. i won't wanna forever be stuck staying in a rented room, hence am seriously considering moving back to KL. the only thing that is holding me back the the absolute amount of savings i can get by working in sg. perhaps a good alternative is to stay in jb and work in sg. something which i am still contemplating.

jz my 2 cents and a rant here...
That is what i am doing now and I love it very much. I have stayed in SG for 1 full year. initially didn't feel anything because was very impress with their public transport efficiency and also they high speed broadband service. but after a while, i started to get bored with the life in the common room and also need to go out 1 hour early because taking public transport. Now living in JB, although i need to leave home 1 hour 30 mins before work, but still i get the freedom of owning a car, a bike and rent a whole 3 rooms flat.
Lester1987
post Feb 19 2011, 08:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Feb 19 2011, 08:34 PM)
That is because the opportunity cost of 3 hours a day, 15 hours a week, 60 hours a month and 720 hours a year to u is insignificant compared to what you will be able to save.  It starts to weigh on ou when you further your studies.

Or I should say the savings outweight the opportuntu cost to soften the tone.
u can't calculate it that way, you need to remember, even when u stay in Singapore, you will still need to leave ur house 1 hour early to take MRT and walk to ur office. so, for me, i only spend 30mins extra a day traveling, this is because i will go home late to escape the traffic jam since i will go to the company gym for 1 to 1 and 1/2 hours. Even when i am staying in SG, i still go to the gym, so for only 30 mins extra a day, i get to own a car, stay in a flat all by myself, and also get to enjoy better quality food (even JB chinese food is not up to standard with KL food, but JB's Malay food is the best i have eaten so far). i personally thinks that it worth it.

Added on February 19, 2011, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(cheeyt @ Feb 19 2011, 08:01 PM)
To live in JB and travel to Spore, working place need to be where so that it will be convenient? thanks
i think ur work place cannot be in Changi or somewhere far. even ur office in CBD is not convenient already. my office in in Yio Chu Kang, so its quite near to the northern side. from Woodlands checkpoint to my office, it only take 10-15 mins by bike. some people might say if rain, then you are in trouble this and that. so far, i only encounter rain 4 time from november until now (november to early feb is rainy season). Even it rains everyday, normally the rain will start somewhere around 10am-4pm. so it won't cause me trouble coz by the time i want to go home, the rain already stop. and i can use rain coat also what, if the rain is really heavy, then just drive in la, we got 10 VEP free days for our cars ma.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Feb 19 2011, 08:51 PM
Lester1987
post Feb 19 2011, 11:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Feb 19 2011, 10:55 PM)
Hi all,

I'm going to work in Singapore next month. Just wanted to know where is the best place to stay if my work location is at Shenton way?

And also comparing with Malaysia, what are the things that are cheaper and vice versa. I've been told that hawker food and clothes are cheaper in Singapore. How bout other consumables?
if u compare dollar to dollar, then everything is cheaper in SG except room rental. even cars are cheaper if u compare dollar to dollar tongue.gif Shenton way i believe the nearest MRT is Tanjong Pagar. so u look for somewhere on the greenline. mayb Tampines?
Lester1987
post Feb 19 2011, 11:37 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Feb 19 2011, 11:32 PM)
Greenline is kinda like lrt line here? e.g. putra line, etc.
How much is the average rental in Tampines? around $500?

To get room around $500 - $700, I can only opt to stay in HDB right?
yup, u are right. Clementi is a nice place (according to my colleague) but its freaking expensive. not sure if u can get a room with $700 nowadays. But i think Tampines shouldn't be a problem. I am not very familiar with the green line housing estate coz i used to stay in the red line area (according to my friend, red line and purple line rooms are cheaper compare to green line). with $500, u can definitely get a room in red line or purple line area. green line i not very sure, mayb others can help u out.
Lester1987
post Feb 20 2011, 05:32 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Feb 20 2011, 05:15 PM)
Ok, accommodations along the green line is more expensive ya.. that's some unwritten rule there?
Common room? I've came across this term quite often while browsing around for rooms. Is it kinda like 'living room'?

Ok, now I know that I need to look for rooms along the green line, does it means that the closer to Tanjong Pagar Mrt, the more expensive the room will be?

Btw, which is the best mobile operator in SG? Since I found that their price is almost the same. I'm planning to subscribe for IPhone 4 plan.
there are 3 type of room.

1: master room. size is slightly bigger and comes with attached bathroom. ($700-$1300 depends on location)
2: common room. normal size room and normally u need to share toilet with the others. ($400-$900 depends on location)
3: utility room. that's what they call it in Singapore and in Malaysia, we call it Store room. ($200-$400 depends on location)

regarding mobile operator, i am using Starhub now and i think they sux. according to my Singaporean uncle. he say Singtel got the best coverage but it is a bit pricey. my uncle is using M1. so far he got no complaint unlike me, i always complaint about Starhub. let say if i take MRT from AMK to Woodlands, my call got disconnected 5 times because of the bad coverage they have. And AMK to Woodlands is not even underground. when my contract end this december, i will definitely switch to other telco tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Feb 21 2011, 10:19 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Feb 21 2011, 09:33 PM)
ERPs are like tolled roads in malaysia.....and its only chargeable at certain timings.....n diff timings will have different rates...
but if u do drive a foreign vehicle.....u will be require to pay for the VEP(Vehicle entry permit) also depending on timings..its not payable on weekends.

Refer to this
http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...uide_permit.htm

For the ERP charges for foreign vehicles...its a flat SGD5 per day.....doesnt matter how many gantries u pass thru in that day

Calculator for the charges VEP/ERP n etc

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/Cal...oll_ERP_VEP.htm

But you will get 10 free VEPs per year....i think....

For Singapore registered vehicles...u will need to pay the ERP as stated accordingly using a cash card.......
that is only applicable to cars. for motorcycles, you need to install the IU device (S$155+) if u wanna go through any ERP. if not, every gantry you pass through without the IU device will be charge S$70 fines. this is because there are a lot of motorcycles going in to SG daily (I am 1 of them) and SG gov is forcing foreign bikes to install that thing. trust me, if u want to use a foreign bike in SG, better install it, or else there is a lot of stuff u can't do. like going to the city, going into shopping malls car park etc etc.
Lester1987
post Feb 22 2011, 10:38 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(hwong40k @ Feb 22 2011, 09:05 AM)
i would lie to opine though that i see more professionals and 'specialists' (need not be highly educated ones but special 'professionals' such as nurses, electricians, etc) that are Malaysians in Singapore. I see more blue collars coming from China, India, etc but Malaysians are usually those that has abilities that are very much needed in the value add areas.
there are thousands of blue collar workers traveling into SG daily. Initially when i am staying in SG, i do feel that there are a lot of Malaysian in my office. but after moving to JB, i can say that the numbers you see is nothing compare to those traveling into SG by bike daily. you can know that they are blue collar workers because almost all of them wear boots, carrying a saw, and equipments for construction. besides those, you can also see a lot of them are factory workers because they are wearing their factory uniform. there is also a lot of Gain City employee traveling in daily biggrin.gif. Lets say they clear 4 person every minute per counter. they have almost 50 counters in the motorcycle side when it is peak hours. imagine they are letting 100 people cross the border every minute by bike alone. the jam starts from 5:30am until 9:00am. so thats around 40-50k ppl per day. haven include those that carry pillion rider. and we also haven include those that take bus. i can say that there is very little Malaysian white collar worker in SG. mayb 80% blue collar, 20% white.
Lester1987
post Feb 22 2011, 02:52 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 22 2011, 01:46 PM)
Is apple singapore having a shortage of apple iphone 4's to sell?

Is there a limit as too how many iphones a person can purchase from the apple online store?

Coz i know a guy who has bought around 30 iphones.
apa ni, tanya iPhone pulak~~ iPhone no stock la.... they say each customer can buy 2 per order and can order 10 per customer. but lets say if u ordered 10 already, just use ur relative's name and order la. apa susah~~ Apple only opened the sales for 2 days and it exceeded the supply by (cannot disclose the amount here, but i can tell u its not little). I also dunno the units that i ordered the other day will arrive or not since they got no stock and even after 2 weeks, they still can't produce the required units that has already been booked.
Lester1987
post Feb 23 2011, 12:33 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 22 2011, 10:24 PM)
still good ? the levy will increase starting this year and will continue to increase at least for the next 2 years down the road. So do you have the skill that ordinary Sg is lacking ? If yes then there is a very high change you will land a job is Sg.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/newsroom/Pages/Press...aspx?listid=349
looks like its time for me to get myself a degree since S pass levy raise so much. just curious, they said there that a person are entitle for EP if we have salary more than than 2.5k. also we need to have a professional cert (degree i suppose?) or we can commensurate it with 5 years working experience in a reputable company. so in other words, lets say i work in my current company more than 5 years and got more than 2.5k, so i am qualified to get an EP even i don't have a degree cert, am i right?
Lester1987
post Feb 23 2011, 09:26 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:34 AM)
Why do you call a degree cert?

Its either a degree or certification from an international body.

You can get an EP without the prerequisite of a degree if you have some from of internationally recognized certification and singapore has a lacked of skilled manpower in that sector.

Mechanical engineering certs such OHSA and welding inspector certs are one of them, for the computer side, you've got cisco certified network professional courses, MCSE, juniper certs and vmware professional certs. Take your pick.

Added on February 23, 2011, 8:35 am

Most ang moh companies, especially those managed by aussie look for hands-on experience first, and then they see what certification you have. Since its easy to get a piece of paper, doing the deed is another matter entirely.
for my case, my only chances are getting ACMT (Apple Certified Macintosh Technician). is that consider a professional cert?
Lester1987
post Feb 23 2011, 11:07 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alexleong_2002 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
hi,
is m'sia local university degree recognizable by Singapore employers?
there is a list in the MOM website. you can refer to there on which uni is recognize in SG. which uni are u from? i believe most well known uni i accepted in SG, like UTAR, MMU, Sunway, Taylor, Monash and all the 13 IPTA as well as UiTM.
Lester1987
post Feb 23 2011, 11:35 AM

2,017 posts

yup, that's the 1. like i said, all 13 IPTA is included, so you don't have to worry.
Lester1987
post Feb 26 2011, 01:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 26 2011, 09:42 AM)
Any of you guys got an entertainment room in your offices?

Anybody got any further info on the upcoming iphone5?
last time we have, got a pool table, ping pong table, those soccer machine (those play with hand that type). due to renovation, dunno they move those thing where liao....

iPhone 5, u slowly wait la..... still will take long time.
Lester1987
post Feb 27 2011, 12:03 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 27 2011, 10:22 AM)
1.2k sgd/m to 1.7k

anything is possible. yes travel. stay in sg for holis.

called s-pass for ppl like u, e-pass not for u.... ep req 2.5k/m min, degree, + others
if the salary is lower than 1.8k, she is not even qualified to get an S pass. and recently the gov announce to increase the levy for S pass and work permit. i think its gonna be very tough for her.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:09 PM