Working Life in Singapore V5

Lester1987
post Feb 27 2011, 02:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 27 2011, 12:06 PM)
what is below the S pass ? work permit ?
yup, you are right, if u are holding work permit, then its very very troublesome, like applying phone line and iPhone 4, u need to pay a lot of $$ for the deposit just because of the pass you are holding.
Lester1987
post Feb 28 2011, 01:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Feb 28 2011, 01:50 AM)
Hello guys, I live in JB and have a plan to work in SG. But I will not stay there, instead I will travel back and fro. I would like to ask if I would have to apply any kind of permit or visas or PR? I just have an international passport, thts all. Please advise me if I have to get any of the following?

Note : Due to the rules keep changing, I am not certain that what I am lacking of in order to work in SG.
Permit and work pass, your employer will do it for you if they hire you. Malaysian doesn't need any Visa to enter Singapore. an international passport will do. If you wanna travel back and forth daily, are you taking a bus? then prepare to spend 2 hours for a 1 way trip daily. for example, if u start work at 8am. u need to leave home at 5:30am (this is what my friend do and he stay in Taman Sentosa). Very torturing unless you are planning to get in by bike. then its still acceptable.
Lester1987
post Mar 1 2011, 01:20 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 27 2011, 10:04 AM)
about the interview last time, i did went all the way down to sg... but i heard some of my frenz said there is company did do the phone interview or web cam interview... not very sure about this though coz i have not experience it yet...
i got my current job through phone interview. the 1st time i meet the employer (HR) is the day i come down to collect the medical chit to do the medical report. the 1st time i meet my hiring manager is the day i report to work biggrin.gif
Lester1987
post Mar 1 2011, 05:50 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 1 2011, 02:24 PM)
u will need to do the medical checkup blood + min-chest Xray then together with the MOM approval letter to submit together to get your EP....

what EP u get?Q1?Q2?P2?P1?
nola, i am those people that don't study 1...... so i only take S pass....
Lester1987
post Mar 2 2011, 01:11 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 2 2011, 09:21 AM)
people who don't study get S pass? I studied but I get S pass too?
no matter how high u earn, without a recognize degree, its extremely hard to get an EP. If u have a degree but earning less than $2.5k, i heard that if ur degree is from a reputable uni, they will still give u EP.
Lester1987
post Mar 3 2011, 12:34 PM

2,017 posts

stay in JB and travel in Daily... rental less than $150 biggrin.gif frankly speaking, if u stay in SG, you can survive with a mere $1k per month la. no prob at all.
Lester1987
post Mar 4 2011, 10:06 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Mar 4 2011, 06:46 PM)
That's really nice. Usually I got interview through jobsDB, ST701 and go to SG for interview.
The food here don't taste nice sad.gif laugh.gif
Do you find any nice food around Jurong Point?
do you get sufficient sleep? i was considering of staying at JB, but I don't have transport to travel to n fro SG.
I m just here for the 3rd month and I feel like going back.
Perhaps I don't like the life here sad.gif
i normally sleep at 12am, wake up at 7am. leave my house at 730am, reach office around 845am. if u really wanna travel to work and go home straight, ca reach home around 715pm la. not that bad actually. because i sometimes will go to company gym for 1 1.2 hours, so reach home around 9pm after dinner. but u need to have a bike la. if u wanna travel by bus. then i would say forget about it. my friend stay near to JB kastam, he start work at 8am and he need to leave his house at 5:30am. crazy. if i stay at his place. i can leave my house at 8am to reach my office at 9am by bike.
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 09:02 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(chowdm @ Mar 7 2011, 08:56 AM)
Hihi, I'm getting a new job in Singapore sooner or later. Gonna join National University of Singapore as a Librarian. I m wondering is there any public transport for me to use to travel between JB to NUS? Is it convenient or just trouble some? tongue.gif  tongue.gif  hope to hear some guide from u all...thx rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
u wanna stay in JB ar?? very very troublesome 1.... my friend stay in Sentosa and work in NUS, he start work 8am, he need to leave home at 5:30am. you need to take 170 to Kranji, then from Kranji take MRT to Clementi, from Clementi, there is a shuttle bus to NUS (according to him, i never tried). if u stay in JB, i suggest that u buy a motorbike and ride a bike better, save a lot of time.

PS : JB bus service sux... they like to wait for passengers at the bus stop... i tried once, the stupid driver waited for 30 mins at the bus stop before he jalan.
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 01:24 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(chowdm @ Mar 7 2011, 12:40 PM)

Thanks for all your information. I have no choice but need to stay in JB because my wife she is working in JB and my babe is there too...for sure cant afford if moving the whole family to SG. Worst is I dont have bike license, if i wanna drive a car from JB to NUS...is it much worst??? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
kalau tak da license, kita ambik license biggrin.gif... really cannot drive in SG la. unless you wanna get a Singapore registered car (even worst, you need to take SG license, get a guarantor if u wanna buy car). if u are driving a MY registered car in, you need to pay $20 VEP (weekdays if u enter or leave Singapore from 2am-5pm) and i assume that u taking woodlands, still need to pay $1.20 toll + RM2.90. if u take bike, only pay $4 VEP, that's it. no nid to take Singapore license, buy bike can get loan without guarantor. and it is common that a lot of Malaysian taking bike to work daily from JB (i am 1 of them). I got a car in JB as well. u will get 10 VEP free days every year. so use it wisely. the main reason for me to stay in JB is to enjoy a luxury life (so call luxury according to my Singaporean colleagues) because with my $2k salary, i can own a car, stay in a 3 rooms flat alone, got a bike, can go out makan makan... go back KL once in a while... but with $2k, if u wanna stay in SG, u will only stay in a room, take MRT, cannot go lepak etc etc.. Oh ya, if u are going from Woodlands to NUS, you need to cross 1 ERP at BKE. so u still need to add the BKE ERP fees (not sure how much).
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 02:22 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 7 2011, 02:18 PM)
Just wanna know, how did u purchase ure car with ure spore income? wht doc u present to the bank?
i purchase it previously before i start work in SG. but i purchase a bike with my Singapore income document taking Malaysia loan. just need to give 3 months pay slip, your work pass, company name, company number,a nd they will call ur HR to confirm if u are working there, my HR refuse to do it. then they ask for a letter from the company that says i am working there. my manager prepared for me and the loan got approve. they say it will be better if u have the income tax form. it will help a lot. and of course, you need to give them a JB house address. then no problem at all since a lot of people that stay in JB work in Singapore.
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 02:51 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 7 2011, 02:26 PM)
dont they need to verify your financial status?
such as? i already have a car loan, 3 credit cards with good payment records... so no issue with applying loan when they see that i am a good payee base on my CC records.
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 04:06 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 7 2011, 03:36 PM)
can EP/S pass holder work part time? i mean after regular work, such as night time or weekends?
legally no, because your work pass stated clearly that u are permitted to work for the specific company that is stated on the EP/SP. but you can do some part time distributing flyers at MRT station (illegally)... anyway... "you are not guilty until you were caught". its just whether you wanna risk it or not.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Mar 7 2011, 04:06 PM
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 05:31 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Dslr_Trader @ Mar 7 2011, 05:06 PM)
Can anyone please tell me what is the average salary in SG. i am working in financial for 3 years (1.5 at back end office and 1.5 as Analyst).

my pay in MY is cheapo (2.5k) as they keep saying that i am still fresh in the financial industry.

anyone please help!!
i am getting about RM3k in Malaysia, when i move to Singapore. my pay got downgrade to 2.2k SGD. but i am in IT field.. not sure about finance...
Lester1987
post Mar 7 2011, 11:45 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 7 2011, 11:36 PM)
Anyone taken bus from SG back to Penang before? Which bus company is recommended (safety and comfortable)?
Aeroline... comfortable and safe biggrin.gif but a bit pricey
Lester1987
post Mar 8 2011, 08:55 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 8 2011, 08:01 AM)
Aeroline don't have direct bus to Penang.
So far I only know Grassland and Konsortium for SG -> PG bus... not sure if still have other choices...
I'm going, want to see how SG IT fair look like.. tongue.gif
1 word says it all, "people mountain people sea(人山人海)" i went for the Sitex once in EXPO and another 1 in Suntec, all dam freaking crowded. and the worst part is, they got no leng lui model to cuci mata, not like KL, even got a lot people, we still think its worth it co can cuci mata, here so dam crowded and no model... sad case... haha
Lester1987
post Mar 8 2011, 11:26 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(starriebaby88 @ Mar 8 2011, 10:39 PM)
2.2k SGD basic? or inclusive of all allowance?
ya, because the job is simple and don't have to work shift. no stress and no nothing... so now i am quite satisfied with my job and life la. even pay is not very high, but because i am using it in JB. so i would say that it is very sufficient for me.
Lester1987
post Mar 9 2011, 12:16 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(starriebaby88 @ Mar 8 2011, 11:59 PM)
mind me asking which part of Sg r u working at Lester?
working in AMK, near yio chu kang MRT, from causeway to my office, can reach in 10 mins

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Mar 9 2011, 12:01 AM)
Lester, I.T which field? IT support, network admin, programmer, etc?
IT support, i work as a helpdesk la. (call center type)
Lester1987
post Mar 10 2011, 08:53 AM

2,017 posts

see so many forumers got their EP/SP/WP rejected recently makes me worry that my SP will get reject when i wanna renew it later on sad.gif
Lester1987
post Mar 11 2011, 02:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Mar 11 2011, 02:38 PM)
How is the job market now in Singapore? Are there a lot of Malaysians being hired at the moment? Also, if they reply that they want to interview you, do you purposely fly/take bus/train/drive to Singapore just for the interview?
answer is good, yes and yes.
Lester1987
post Mar 11 2011, 04:33 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Limjimmy @ Mar 11 2011, 04:30 PM)
How long to process the apply of the employment pass?

If signed the offer letter and reject by MOM. How is going on? Packing all the back to Malaysia?
if EP got rejected, then mayb u can try appeal, if appeal also fail, then u can pack ur bags and go back MY already. even the company willing to hire you, if SG gov doesn't welcome you, you can't work here at all.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0465sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:01 PM