Working Life in Singapore V5

Lester1987
post Jan 23 2011, 08:37 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Jan 23 2011, 08:15 PM)
hey guys, just wondering can I bring CNY biscuit to Singapore? I know I cannot bring frozen meat, however, can I bring biscuit or cake?
from my experience, if u are coming in by car or bike, they don't really check your stuff 1 la. even u bring 10 carton of cigarettes, they wont know unless u very "yong shui" that they check u 1 by 1. But by bus, they will scan all ur bags and ur body. so if u are planning to bring in "illegal stuff", come in by car/bike, sure no prob tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Jan 26 2011, 04:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 26 2011, 04:18 PM)
hi guys, wanna know how do you guys feel about working in kranji, paya lebar and lavender?
I attended 3 interviews today and they all offer me the position but i told them i need to consider for couple of days. All of them offer almost the same salary. Now i only concern about the working place and living place. i quite concern about living environment and comfort like i am living in tampines i personally like it alot. so can you guys give comments for above three areas(and nearest district)? which do you think its best for living?
work in Kranji, you can live in JB and save a lot of $$ for rental. and u also get to enjoy your Malaysian life style if u live in JB. Not really sure why, but i like the Malaysian life style more than Singapore life style. Malaysian chinese kopitiam got sell chinese tea ice and also herbal tea. And i find it much better than Singapore food. But you need to sacrifice your fast broadband connection though.
Lester1987
post Jan 27 2011, 09:17 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 27 2011, 01:00 AM)
i am not sure if your info of rate is correct, coz i've been told for tampines area $450 is considered expensive (mine is 450) and that should be the rate for area like ang mo kio

Added on January 27, 2011, 1:09 am
I look at all aspects. Like Kranji, the company is located at industrial area (i think), only one bus. hardly can see any cab. if i work late, cant catch the last bus then on-call cab? for the job it requires alot overtime. one or two times is ok, but if long term, i think most people will feel annoying eventually. and no matter how good the company is, the emotion will definitely make some influences. That company is really good. thats why i am in a dilemma....
AMK room rental already surpassed the $500 mark quite long ago. if you are talking about $450, that is the rate for Marsiling area. AMK room now is around $550-$600 depends on how close is the room to MRT. Even Sembawang and Yishun rooms are going for around $500-$550.
Lester1987
post Jan 27 2011, 10:59 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 27 2011, 09:38 AM)
mad.gif almost quarter of my salary...living is hard in singapore now...can hardly achieve my primary intention here...
that's why i opt to stay in JB even my office is in Yio Chu Kang. rental is crazy in Singapore. And JB isn't really that not safe like u all describe la. If you are talking City Square or Taman Sentosa Area, then yes, i can feel the unsafeness in that area. But i stay in Johor Jaya, All those shopping center and surrounding area looks good to me, and got those Malaysia feel. Not like in City Square where it is dominate by Bangla. Also no Rempit in my area. Rempit mostly hang around Angsana/Skudai area. You just need to know where to live if u wanna stay in JB.
Lester1987
post Jan 27 2011, 08:13 PM

2,017 posts

but if u stay in JB and work in SG, that will be the best deal. i am a very asian person, so i can't afford to live in other country coz i must eat rice everyday. initially though of other countries like u do. but after a while. i find it quite comfortable working in SG and living in JB. i get to enjoy my usual KL lifestyle in JB (coz JB is similar to KL, only thing is less people speak cantonese) and i get my salary in SGD. i also get to enjoy cheap properties and cheap car price. only thing is need to cross the immigration daily. but that is not a big deal for me. coz if u can catch the timing, then u won't feel that it is very stressful of waste time. my travel time is not that long compare to living in SG. i just need to spare another 30-40mins a day and i get to spend my salary 2x more than i could in Singapore.
Lester1987
post Jan 28 2011, 03:49 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 28 2011, 12:30 AM)
For those work in SG, do you keep your savings in SGD or RM or both?
when u say savings. if u are talking about extra cash, then keep in SGD, coz SGD is more stable compare to RM. IF talking about fixed deposit. Keep it in RM. Coz Malaysia bank offer around 3.8% interest while Singapore bank only offer around 1.2%.
Lester1987
post Feb 1 2011, 08:55 PM

2,017 posts

1 question, if we renew our workpass (mine is S pass), do i still get to keep my existing FIN number? coz my FIN number is freaking nice. G6***##*K if u understand what i am writting tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Feb 1 2011, 10:04 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 09:40 PM)
yes, i can keep that number only for a period of time, after tat the number maybe release to other people. That is why when u apply for ur working permit, there is a section which u should put in ur old FIN number.
this even applicable to renewal of work pass? coz my pass gonna expire this november. so just curious.
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2011, 01:40 PM

2,017 posts

hm.. any idea where can we get food tonight?? still working lo... need to find place makan tonight.... all kopitiam is closed sad.gif
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2011, 09:18 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 2 2011, 05:57 PM)
aloong, he mean that his FIN number is very nice, G6888338K, so he was wondering after he renew his working permit, will the FIN number change as he wanna keep his old number.

Added on February 2, 2011, 5:59 pm

Yeah u can, but kinda hard. U can always try. rclxms.gif
you got me right, my FIN now is "edited", this number is soooo easy to be remember and nice. 1 of the reason as well that i dun wan apply PR so fast since this number seems nice to me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Feb 2 2011, 10:07 PM
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2011, 10:09 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 2 2011, 09:28 PM)
no reunion dinner?

make sure the pills have the label still on it.... usually wont check 1 ler... if u do ntg illegal, check also nvm... waste time nia

1 month depo, 1st month rent, 1 month agent fee... cash or check

should be enough to move it with bed, cupboard, 1 fan if lucky desk and tv
i used up usd3k when i moved over... dont forget opening acc need sgd1k or was it sgd500

better dont reveal it here...

help me remove it from ur post also biggrin.gif i already remove from my post.
Lester1987
post Feb 4 2011, 07:48 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 4 2011, 01:35 AM)
me  blink.gif
me also... tonight only go back KL. btw Mackiddo, got the rebate already, thanks so much..... that's the correct sticker needed.
Lester1987
post Feb 6 2011, 10:50 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Feb 6 2011, 09:11 PM)
Hi, I'm new here.  I'm still young.

Well my question is simple.

Is your salary lower than any Singaporeans or equal to them? 
Do they treat you like a foreign worker so some will look down at you ?
then ask your self, is those indonesian workers got the same pay as you do? is those filipino worker got the same pay that your were getting in Malaysia? Do you look down on foreign workers in Malaysia it self. then you got the answer. of course, for malaysia singapore case, most of them can accept you, just like how our fellow malays friend accept the indonesian cause they are some what look the same.
Lester1987
post Feb 8 2011, 02:30 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 6 2011, 11:27 PM)
You are back in JB?  How was the traffic on the way back to JB? 

I think somehow Malaysian can blend in better then the rest maybe due to our similarities with the Singaporeans.  I have no problem corresponding with the Singaporeans at friends level.
yes, we can blend in better than any other neighboring country. I mean I have Singaporean friends my self. I have no issue hanging out with them. but because I am from KL, there are still some differences between us. hanging out with a Singaporean doesn't get the feel like how we hang out with our fellow Malaysian friend's. And when it comes to home topic when we chat, we can't discuss something in the pass like our schooling times, jokes etc. we can only talk about current stuff.

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 7 2011, 01:40 AM)
Err, I would really love if really can get 100%  drool.gif , but I'm staying in JB. Not planning to stay in SG in near future as I have two babies and just bought a house. So 85% actually a lot  nod.gif

Added on February 7, 2011, 1:43 am

Hi bro Lester, you got any idea how long does it takes to pass the customs in Tuas  notworthy.gif
I take bike to work daily. I tried to use the Tuas checkpoint once coz went to a friend's house in Gelang Patah. Frankly speaking, thos epeople using the Tuas checkpoint behave like barbarian. They squeeze the bike until i can't even put my leg down. In causeway, those people will queue nicely and more organize. But with your salary, i would suggest you to stay in Singapore. Personally, i love to stay in JB. coz i feel more safe and better to stay in Malaysia. Lets say if we were caught in an accident or there is some dispute on some matter that involve the gov people. Definitely the Singapore Authority is going to help the Singaporean no matter who is at the wrong end. Just like when you are in Malaysia, if u accidentally step on a Indonesian feet, then if the indonesian demand for an apology and you refuse to. If he (the indonesian) call the police, you think he will help the indonesian or the Malaysian?

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Feb 7 2011, 11:25 AM)
then why still work for them ?

you got lower pay, they looked down at you, why still work for them ?
Cause of the $$ i can enjoy for working in SG. also I can have a place to run if Racial riot happen in Malaysia again. But frankly speaking, i can feel that the people in JB can blend in better compare to KL. in other words, the racial tension is much lower in JB compare to KL. the malays can blend with the chinese and indian better compare to KL. in KL, if a Malay involve in an accident with a chinese and they started a fight, those on lookers will just help their own race and whack the other fella without asking what is wrong. but in JB, if that happen, they will pull them back and try to settle it peacefully.
Lester1987
post Feb 8 2011, 06:04 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Feb 8 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hi, I'm new to this particular thread.  I cannot help but respond to your answer because I'm concerned that it might give a wrong impression.

If your answer is in the context of blue-collar/non-graduate/casual work then it's fair to compare with foreign workers in our country.  However, if you get a job as an executive or even as an auditor, you will be treated like other Singaporean workers, always providing you are adequately qualified or experienced or both.

For those interested to work in Singapore, the ideal strategy is to gain an acceptable qualification for your field of work plus some work experience before applying.  If you are not qualified and inexperienced, you'll be pushed around or bullied even if you work in our own country.

One should not blindly jump across the causeway because of stronger currency and/or brighter prospects because life may not be easy in Singapore.  The pace of work is much faster there and hence, the pressure will be heavier.  People under such pressure may not be friendly or patient. On top of that, coming 'home' after a hard day's work to find yourself in a small room in a small HDB flat may not be easy to adapt to.

Always find out as much as you can. Always be realistic in your expectations..
it doesn't really matter what collar you are, when it comes to a dispute, it is something like a human nature that humans will project their own people (Singaporeans) instead of defending a foreigner and going against your own people. I am not sure about the others, but i will act like a very good boy when i am in Singapore, but when i come back to Malaysia, when it comes to talking to a retailer or scolding the telco for not providing good service, i will be more fierce in Malaysia compare to Singapore coz i scare that the Singaporean might tell me "shut up you stupid foreigner, go back to your own country."
Lester1987
post Feb 9 2011, 03:45 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Feb 9 2011, 03:43 PM)
The HOD himself interviewed me just now. Yes agree with you, in this case they will most likely look for someone who has shorter notice period and can start immediately. Aih... sad.gif
if the offer is good, why not u buy urself out. lets say if you are getting RM5k salary, but they are offering you $5k, if you look at it in long run, definitely you can afford to buy urself out.
Lester1987
post Feb 12 2011, 01:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 12 2011, 01:51 PM)
If im not mistaken, singapore immigration officers are more concerned about things coming into singapore rather the going out of it.
like i mentioned previously, if you plan to smuggle anything in or out of Singapore, travel by motorbike. the checks on the motorbike section is very simple. especially during office hours.
Lester1987
post Feb 12 2011, 02:23 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 12 2011, 01:56 PM)
But you cant smuggle big items. Like a desktop or tv.
i smuggled 2 box of engine oil for another forummer the other day. just put at the front seat area la. they won't disturb 1. TV cannot la. but for items like speaker and desktop, i still can carry with my bike. i normally carry my gas tong by myself on my bike.
Lester1987
post Feb 13 2011, 01:00 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 13 2011, 09:53 AM)
No lar, it's from Singapore to Malaysia. Malaysia side will tax. It's depend on luck sometimes .... I noticed they are a bit slack during certain time, so ...play smart when you wanna 'smuggle' rclxms.gif
by car, they sometimes will just ask you "ada apa apa barang?" just say no and u can pass. by bus, they will do random check, but when they see you carry a big item, then they may kacau u. by motorbike. most of the time, you can't even see an officer on the kastam check section. if there is 1, most probably he is sleeping or sit until very inside and chatting with his/her colleague biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Feb 13 2011, 05:58 PM
Lester1987
post Feb 14 2011, 09:39 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 14 2011, 07:39 AM)
Later i will go to immigration and keep you guys posted. Seems like need to wait at least 1 month...damnit
you need to get your employer to send you a letter to verified that u are working with them for the Malaysian immigration officer to issue you a temporary travel document. and that document is only valid for 2 time, (in out in out). You can't enter Singapore without your passport even you have a work pass (I tried this personally before, i dropped my passport after crossing MY immigration and stucked on SG immigration, lucky someone picked it up and passed to the SG ICA guys, so i got it back).

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0536sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:35 AM