Samsung Galaxy 5 GT-I5503(V2 Froyo-ing Now), Froyo, pls come to papa

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 08:59 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:03 PM)
tried ndrive on my G5 with froyo and it couldnt get gps lock..

so, im using android market to search for gps optimisation and gps booster lite..to my concern, it says 'the requested item could not be found'..

anybody got the apk of both files?..mind to share it?..smile.gif
hmm.gif Another concern issue............
the android market has block the "GPS Booster" in froyo, unknown reason

GPS Booster not support froyo?
I unable get it

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:05 am
QUOTE(qazkurei @ Dec 3 2010, 10:21 PM)
is it really worth a try to flash my phone to v2.2(froyo) or just wait for the official release?
if there is an official release, where can we download the said firmware?
smile.gif I not suggest newbie going to flash this leaked version froyo.
We flash it for testing purpose only, the firmware still in buggy

The official release will be upgrade via KIES later, automatic download by KIES

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:08 am
QUOTE(ukoo @ Dec 3 2010, 10:26 PM)
by updated that im one of the user here ..
by the way .. how to upgrade to 2.2 ??
Current 2.2 is leaked beta version, the firmware is buggy............think carefully before you upgrade

The upgrade method can be found in few page back of this thread, or you can search "ODIN"

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:11 am
QUOTE(uglyducklai @ Dec 3 2010, 10:28 PM)
guys, i noticed that sometimes the screen went blank when i browse some page or enter android market. any idea?
hmm.gif We dont have this problem, it might software crash.

If your phone still new, I suggest you do a factory reset to resolve this issue

note:factory reset will erase your data, you are advise to backup before do it

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:12 am
QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:28 PM)
nah: post 960

sgpc..if possible, plz put this upgrade firmware in the 1st post rolleyes.gif
biggrin.gif I will do it this 2 days, and the GPS guide by Khaez as well

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:14 am
QUOTE(uglyducklai @ Dec 3 2010, 11:15 PM)
en en! means i nid to remove the NaviSEA file from my sdcard?
smile.gif Just install the apk will do...........dont remove the NaviSEA folder, if you still cant get the apk file just re-post in this thread. We will help you, the apk file is small in size

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 4 2010, 09:14 AM
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Dec 4 2010, 09:18 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 4 2010, 08:59 AM)
hmm.gif Another concern issue............
the android market has block the "GPS Booster" in froyo, unknown reason

GPS Booster not support froyo?
I unable get it

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:05 am
smile.gif I not suggest newbie going to flash this leaked version froyo.
We flash it for testing purpose only, the firmware still in buggy

The official release will be upgrade via KIES later, automatic download by KIES

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:08 am
Current 2.2 is leaked beta version, the firmware is buggy............think carefully before you upgrade

The upgrade method can be found in few page back of this thread, or you can search "ODIN"

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:11 am
hmm.gif We dont have this problem, it might software crash.

If your phone still new, I suggest you do a factory reset to resolve this issue

note:factory reset will erase your data, you are advise to backup before do it

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:12 am
biggrin.gif I will do it this 2 days, and the GPS guide by Khaez as well

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:14 am
smile.gif Just install the apk will do...........dont remove the NaviSEA folder, if you still cant get the apk file just re-post in this thread. We will help you, the apk file is small in size
Will the Official Froyo perform better than the leaked version? As in increased fps for gaming, smoother UI and stuff?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 09:20 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:45 PM)
bro ultraman ... wana 2 ask a noob question here ... d rom is use for instal d OS and rams 2 run programs is it.. and app install at ..??rom o rams o flash that come with d phone.?
ROM = Internal Hard Disk in PC
RAM = RAM in PC
SD Card = External Hard Disk

the phone apps are install in ROM
kenny79
post Dec 4 2010, 09:23 AM

3,200 posts

so that mean 512mb rom aint so enought is it.??after instal d froyo stil leave how much StupidGuyPlayComp
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 09:25 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(lcct @ Dec 4 2010, 12:19 AM)
Thanks bro gocke for clarifying it to sgpc smile.gif 3g watchdog is a nice utility to have. Here in Indonesia using Telkomsel we have quite cheap data plan rate, RM 35 / month for unlimited, up to 384 Kbps (512 Kbps in practice) HSDPA connection. So I've been using my G5 as wifi tether, and 3g watchdog helps me keeping track how many data I've been using so far. Speaking about tethering, I could not get the new froyo build-in wifi tether to work. It works as a wifi router in infrastructure mode (i can access other computers in LAN), but there is no internet access. So I am still using barnacle for tethering, which still works perfectly (in froyo I need to turn on option 'skip wpa supplicant' in setting). What a pity, as the build-in tether can work in infrastructure mode and wpa2, and barnacle can only operate in ad-hoc mode and unsecure wep128. Do you guys have any luck with the build-in wifi tethering in froyo?
laugh.gif Bro, you are a nice tester...........
In Malaysia the data plan is damn expensive and limited bandwidth, I not subcribe.
If we using the data connection without data plan, Habis lah............phone bill might few thousand Ringgit Malaysia.
1KB=1cent

Once I activate the 3G, not even execute any apps, the background data already consume me RM1.00 doh.gif

So I difficult to test the data connection thingy

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:28 am
QUOTE(afaidhi88 @ Dec 4 2010, 12:57 AM)
i already flash my G5 to froyo but my contact icon missing.. ^^
Contact icon is save in phone memory..............once re-flash firmware, it will gone

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 4 2010, 09:28 AM
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Dec 4 2010, 09:29 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 4 2010, 09:25 AM)
laugh.gif Bro, you are a nice tester...........
In Malaysia the data plan is damn expensive and limited bandwidth, I not subcribe.
If we using the data connection without data plan, Habis lah............phone bill might few thousand Ringgit Malaysia.
1KB=1cent

Once I activate the 3G, not even execute any apps, the background data already consume me RM1.00 doh.gif

So I difficult to test the data connection thingy

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:28 am
Contact icon is save in phone memory..............once re-flash firmware, it will gone
What if most of my contacts are facebook ones. Will they disappear as well? Or will they still be there as Facebook does not have anything to do with the phone. hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 09:31 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(ja3kass @ Dec 4 2010, 01:34 AM)
i try one before, it's working fine after i enlarge the pic...

Added on December 4, 2010, 1:41 ama situation here...
i installed handset sms and the msg will pop out for both apps...so i go to force stop for message apps...
after that i notice that my phone battery bar juz left half only...i juz charged it and go to exam...then i go to about phone there to check, then it was lagggg...
it has no respond at all even i press any button...
what i can do is take out my battery and restart, it still lag after reboot...
it become normal after 2nd reboot... sweat...
Dont force stop the stock "Messaging", just change the notification setting inside

The stock "Messaging" is your default sms apps, once you force stop it, the phone will keep searching this apps and cause it hang

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:35 am
QUOTE(shadow111 @ Dec 4 2010, 04:50 AM)
same thing here.. still confuse with the ROM and RAM portion..
ROM is used for the OS, while RAM is used for application installation/etc..
Let say I used up fully the RAM.. does that means that my phone now hv no RAM for memory swapping/etc?
smile.gif The OS and apps are install into ROM(Internal Memory)
The RAM cant use as installation space, its a room for running apps storing, once the apps has stop, it will remove from the RAM.

Why we need the RAM to parking the running apps?
its simple, RAM is much faster than ROM, using RAM can faster up the reading/writing

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 4 2010, 09:35 AM
qazkurei
post Dec 4 2010, 09:36 AM

99 posts

can mybackup pro, saves all my contact to my sd?

if i flash v2.2 can i reflash it back to its previous firmware? planning of experimenting my phone thru flashing it it to v2.2 and returning back to it previous firmware.. .^__^
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 09:39 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Dec 4 2010, 08:57 AM)
i want to buy galaxy 5. ori one, not AP. how do i check if it is ori?
hmm.gif As we know, there is no AP for G5 available in market

Its simple to check whether it ori, just match the IMEI in phone against IMEI in box, the Box has stick with "Samsung Mobile Malaysia" sticker

The warranty card is come from "Samsung Mobile Malaysia" too

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:40 am
QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 4 2010, 09:18 AM)
Will the Official Froyo perform better than the leaked version? As in increased fps for gaming, smoother UI and stuff?
hmm.gif No ideal about this, but I hope so

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:46 am
QUOTE(kenny79 @ Dec 4 2010, 09:23 AM)
so that mean 512mb rom aint so enought is it.??after instal d froyo stil leave how much StupidGuyPlayComp
512MB is common for Android phone, except some high end phone like SGS, it have 2GB ROM if not mistaken.

512MB is maximum for budget phone at this moment. G5 has 186MB free ROM after the froyo. meaning froyo using 512-186 MB ROM space

Since you already own G5 and planning for 2nd phone, I would suggest you go for the high end model.
xt720 and X10 is decent in term of pricing and performance, but they confirm cant get froyo

next higher price is HTC Desire, the performance is same with xt720 and X10, but it still unable fight with SGS

Aria, Wildfire, A10 all these are not recommend because its overprice, unless you wanna attach with telco's plan

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:47 am
QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 4 2010, 09:29 AM)
What if most of my contacts are facebook ones. Will they disappear as well? Or will they still be there as Facebook does not have anything to do with the phone. hmm.gif
smile.gif The facebook icon will disappear after re-flashing or factory reset, but it keep a copy at Facebook's server

once you sync again the facebook, it will come back

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:51 am
QUOTE(qazkurei @ Dec 4 2010, 09:36 AM)

if i flash v2.2 can i reflash it back to its previous firmware? planning of experimenting my phone thru flashing it it to v2.2 and returning back to it previous firmware.. .^__^
Can, you can restore back the contact to phone after flashing, flashing wont touch your SD card data.

This one has not test yet, but I believe it can

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 4 2010, 09:51 AM
mikecmy
post Dec 4 2010, 10:00 AM

734 posts

anyone knows is the service centre for samsung is open today?
arepeace82
post Dec 4 2010, 10:12 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Dec 4 2010, 10:00 AM)
anyone knows is the service centre for samsung is open today?
yup in Berjaya open until 5pm rclxms.gif
mikecmy
post Dec 4 2010, 10:18 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(arepeace82 @ Dec 4 2010, 10:12 AM)
yup in Berjaya open until 5pm  rclxms.gif
near where ah?
berjaya which area.. i tried searching in samsung web but dun have ler..
arepeace82
post Dec 4 2010, 10:25 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Dec 4 2010, 10:18 AM)
near where ah?
berjaya which area.. i tried searching in samsung web but dun have ler..
at level 1 plaza berjaya...next to sony ericsson and nokia service center

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:30 amStupidGuyPlayComp.... is 3g service not available for the "new" firmware?? cry.gif cry.gif i notice that the mobile data is hidden and can't be configured.... hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by arepeace82: Dec 4 2010, 10:30 AM
qunox
post Dec 4 2010, 10:50 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(arepeace82 @ Dec 4 2010, 10:25 AM)

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:30 amStupidGuyPlayComp.... is 3g service not available for the "new" firmware?? cry.gif  cry.gif i notice that the mobile data is hidden and can't be configured.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Is available, just checked. But i didnt use the apn setting in the 1st post. Use another, more lengthy.

Hey froyo guys, just want to check if you guys punya "turn mobile network on/off" setting (the one when you long press the power off button) is working. Mine's working. but I usess different apn setting. hmm.gif I think read here somewhere that is not working
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 11:11 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(arepeace82 @ Dec 4 2010, 10:25 AM)

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:30 amStupidGuyPlayComp.... is 3g service not available for the "new" firmware?? cry.gif  cry.gif i notice that the mobile data is hidden and can't be configured.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
smile.gif Thats because you haven set the APN
Setting - Wireless & Networks - Mobile network setting - Access Point Names
(Add in the APN for your telco here, according the APN setting in front page of this thread)
arepeace82
post Dec 4 2010, 11:12 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(qunox @ Dec 4 2010, 10:50 AM)
Is available, just checked. But i didnt use the apn setting in the 1st post. Use another, more lengthy.

Hey froyo guys, just want to check if you guys punya "turn mobile network on/off" setting (the one when you long press the power off button) is working. Mine's working. but I usess different apn setting.  hmm.gif I think read here somewhere that is not working
what apn setting you used?? as for "turn mobile network on/off" cant event click on it....item hidden ....same thing in setting wireless & mobile network

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:14 am
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 4 2010, 11:11 AM)
smile.gif Thats because you haven set the APN
Setting - Wireless & Networks - Mobile network setting - Access Point Names
(Add in the APN for your telco here, according the APN setting in front page of this thread)
do we have to key in every thing(mms server,proxy prot...blablabla) or just the APN ....im Using U Mobile....

This post has been edited by arepeace82: Dec 4 2010, 11:14 AM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 11:32 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(arepeace82 @ Dec 4 2010, 11:12 AM)
what apn setting you used?? as for "turn mobile network on/off" cant event click on it....item hidden ....same thing in setting wireless & mobile network

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:14 am
do we have to key in every thing(mms server,proxy prot...blablabla) or just the APN ....im Using U Mobile....
hmm.gif I tried the setting in front page, the mobile network still unable activate...........wait for others rescue
arepeace82
post Dec 4 2010, 11:36 AM

18 posts

[quote=StupidGuyPlayComp,Dec 4 2010, 11:32 AM]
hmm.gif I tried the setting in front page, the mobile network still unable activate...........wait for others rescue

[/quote

qunox let us know how do u that?? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 4 2010, 11:42 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

News update, Samsung Brasil said the G5's official froyo re-schedule to early 2011

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 4 2010, 11:42 AM
khaez
post Dec 4 2010, 11:44 AM

60 posts

wow.. havnt been here for a while, and the posts are coming in really fast..

129 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:45 PM