Guitars Cheap guitars & Cheap amps, Bargain 'Em All. Cheap = Rm1500 below

Everdying
post Sep 20 2006, 06:12 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

actually with the LP, the weight is only partly to do with it.
the other factor is its thick body shape which makes it more uncomfortable.
my '74 gibson SG is heavier than a epi LP, but its comfortable.

like comparing the contoured strat body to the plank of wood tele.
noisetrigger
post Sep 20 2006, 06:26 PM

687 posts

That I can agree. The lack of a belly cutaway do make things uncomfortable.

I love SGs too at one point but the neck heaviness is something that bugs me greatly.
Everdying
post Sep 20 2006, 06:29 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

well my SG standard isnt neck heavy.
the newer SGs are very very light tho which makes it neck heavy.
you can just get a nice strap that grips to prevent neck from dipping.
darrencw
post Sep 20 2006, 06:33 PM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

Guys,i appreciate all the help has been given to me.

Just to ask for another favour,how do i really choose what kind of guitar is really suitable for me? Yes,i myself loved LP as well.But money is one of my major problems now.Anyone here can guide me? Or actually if anyone's free can go shopping with me?

Sorry to ask.hehe...
noisetrigger
post Sep 20 2006, 06:35 PM

687 posts

How much you willing to spend? I will always advice buying used. Can get lots of great deal that why. How bout that Ibanez? Seems like a pretty good deal for the price.
sean392
post Sep 20 2006, 07:07 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Sep 20 2006, 06:02 PM)
After playing a few gigs with it you will think otherwise.
sadly im not good enough to play anything, but i do practice standing
after bout 1-2 hours it does leave a sore shoulder =/
all in the name of music <<<< lame lol
darrencw
post Sep 20 2006, 07:30 PM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Sep 20 2006, 06:35 PM)
How much you willing to spend? I will always advice buying used. Can get lots of great deal that why. How bout that Ibanez? Seems like a pretty good deal for the price.
yes,i also prefer used guitar.My sifu bought an eric clapton signature for 2k.and its in perfect condition.sighs.can get good deal and u have no obligations.If buy from shop,u get irriatated,those sales ppl talk to u la.bug u this ant that.budget,depends on what guitar.but definitely not more than 2k.i wanna get an amp as well.
noisetrigger
post Sep 20 2006, 07:51 PM

687 posts

2k can get loads of cool stuff dude. I always believe in investing in a better guitar. Set aside RM400 for the roland microcube. Since you like the LP sound why not get the Orville Khairold in selling? His price is always negotiable.
MetalZone
post Sep 20 2006, 09:35 PM

2,515 posts

Agreed 2K can get u loads of stuff. Its a pretty reasonable budget actually. Depends on what kind of guitar you are looking for. Reading from your post, if you're looking for a FR equipped superstrat like the JEM555, i'd say go grab a second hand RG Prestige from singapore, yes 2K is just about enough to get you one. Someone from jemsite managed to net an RG2020X for 750 SGD, but not perfect condition la (a couple of nicks, and a one rusted saddle on the trem). If you want the thicker mahogany tone, look for the mahogany bodied ones of course.

If you know for sure that a fixed bridged mahogany bodied LP (and 24.75" scale neck) is what you're looking for, make sure you get a mahogany bodied one, or else you just defeat the purpose of getting it.
Or you might even want to check out the Ibanez ARC100, which is their own alternative of an LP. Someone told me its retailing at bentley at around RM1.1K. You might wanna check out the ARC300 as well, which has a flamed maple top and shouldn't be that much more. These guitars are definately a better deal than low end epiphones, and you get better hardware and electronics as well.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 20 2006, 09:37 PM
echobrainproject
post Sep 20 2006, 11:21 PM

4,765 posts

After playing a few gigs with it you will think otherwise.

blacktrix is right. it aint THAT heavy til it hurts. ive played long shows before and still no complaints. i also practice standing up. thats like an hour or more everyday. yes, its heavier than other guitars but you'll get used to it (and for me, love the weight). im no zakk wylde, im an unbelievably underweight skinny short guy rocking with a les paul. if i can do it why cant u all?

That I can agree. The lack of a belly cutaway do make things uncomfortable.

haha. maybe coz i dont have a belly and my tummy is flat thus making it 'fit' confortably. lol
darrencw
post Sep 20 2006, 11:56 PM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

My main concern is the style of playing if i buy LP.i Understand that LP's has a thick neck.And i would prefer a tremolo bridge.So my choice now is whether to sacrifice comfort,tremolo and speed for the tone or sacrifice the tone for the 3 i mentioned.Anyway,i'm gonna meet khairold this friday.Gotta test it out.I preffered a marshall amp.Heh...As for effects,not necessary at the moement.
MetalZone
post Sep 21 2006, 12:18 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(darrencw @ Sep 20 2006, 11:56 PM)
My main concern is the style of playing if i buy LP.i Understand that LP's has a thick neck.And i would prefer a tremolo bridge.So my choice now is whether to sacrifice comfort,tremolo and speed for the tone or sacrifice the tone for the 3 i mentioned.Anyway,i'm gonna meet khairold this friday.Gotta test it out.I preffered a marshall amp.Heh...As for effects,not necessary at the moement.
btw, if you're talking about the tone of the LP, make sure its mahogany. I highly recommend you try out the Ibanez ARC100 and ARC300 as well and see if you like it. they are very good value for money unless you are a diehard Epi/Gibson fan.
as for the amp, in fact anything for that matter, don't just say you prefer a particular brand without factoring in which model vs which model.
echobrainproject
post Sep 21 2006, 12:21 AM

4,765 posts

having a les paul wont affect ur speed. if u're comfortable with it u can shred with it. im used to fat necks. pass me an ibanez RG and i'll have problems shredding cleanly. i find that i have more control over my bends and vibrato with a thick neck guitar. IMO playing good bends and vibrato is more important than speed for me.

well, its all up to you. whats comfortable with you.
sean392
post Sep 21 2006, 12:30 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 21 2006, 12:21 AM)
having a les paul wont affect ur speed. if u're comfortable with it u can shred with it. im used to fat necks. pass me an ibanez RG and i'll have problems shredding cleanly. i find that i have more control over my bends and vibrato with a thick neck guitar. IMO playing good bends and vibrato is more important than speed for me.

well, its all up to you. whats comfortable with you.
well, my LP has a 60's neck i think, its pretty slim, but it feels comfy to play la,
i cant solo to save my soul tho.... aihz.... string whacker only =(

OT => nice post count EBP
blacktrix
post Sep 21 2006, 12:48 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Well, I never found going without a trem bar a dissability. True, I want the new Dimebag because it has a trembar, but for the Les Paul, I love it because of the great tone it can squeeze out.

At first, I thought my LP-100 was all that and a bag of chips, but once I got my hands on the ZW LP Custom..... I'm blown away even more. I can't imagine if I laid my hands on a proper Gibson Les Paul Custom (or a '59 Standard... DROOOOOOOOL).....

Wait.... I lost track.... back to point.
I don't gig, but I DO practise alot (during holidays).... Sometimes 2 hours, 2 times a day (Once in the afternoon, and once at night)... and I play standing..... Shoulders ached at first, but soon got used to it. I also find propping up my leg against an elevated surface (in my case, a milk carton that's lifting my amp) to get better support.

During my first year with my Les Paul, I used a DIY Chain strap ala Zakk, and MAN did it cut through my shoulder. First had to use padding, and then finally had to yank it out.... waaaaaaay too painful. But Ironically, it DID build strength towards my shoulder... I wouldn't recommend the same method I did to build strength towards my shoulder, but you WILL get used to the weight.
MetalZone
post Sep 21 2006, 12:50 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Sep 21 2006, 12:30 AM)
OT => nice post count EBP
[off topic]

LOL!!! you're right. 1337 = LEET

[/off topic]
darrencw
post Sep 21 2006, 10:50 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

Thanks for the advise guys.I appreciate that alot,i wil try out the guitar and see which one suits me most.Thanks.
mvtan
post Sep 21 2006, 05:18 PM

Kop king
795 posts

hi guys,
i am looking for a guitar for about 2k, willing to go up to 2.5k max.
i have no idea what brand to start looking at and what guitar models are good

blacktrix
post Sep 21 2006, 05:26 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Another Noob.....
In order to help us help you, please state what kind of music you want to play, what are your musical preferences and do you have anything already in mind........

Also note that for electric guitar, you'll also need an amplifier..... Please state if you have included the amplifier in your budget or not..... or if you even want an amplifier.
noisetrigger
post Sep 21 2006, 07:02 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 20 2006, 11:21 PM)
blacktrix is right. it aint THAT heavy til it hurts. ive played long shows before and still no complaints. i also practice standing up. thats like an hour or more everyday. yes, its heavier than other guitars but you'll get used to it (and for me, love the weight). im no zakk wylde, im an unbelievably underweight skinny short guy rocking with a les paul. if i can do it why cant u all?
You must have been the lucky one that do not have to pick up every single one of his bandmates to gigs, or gigs in Kuching actually start on time, or your LP is lighter than usual.

I used to have one copy that's around 4kg or nmore. At home or just casual jamming, I am sure anyone can play one the whole day without feeling a single thing but when you are gigging outside, most of the time, you will be half death before you even get on the stage. And a heavy guitar sure ain't helping during those moments.

It sucks if you are the one with the car cause then you have to pick everyone up who stays quite far away from each other. In addition to that, you will have to go through the KL jam to get to the venue, then round forever for a carpark.

Worst, you had to get to the venue like a few hours early for soundcheck which never starts on time, then wait a few more hours for a gig that never starts on time, and finally after waiting for the whole day, you might just be lucky enough to get up on the stage full of energy after waiting in a pup or bar or gig venue full of second hand smoke.

I play lots of gigs and battle of the bands too before, some 15 minutes set, some half an hour, some more than an hour, I am glad I brought the RG along for the longer gigs. (I used to bring two guitars to some gigs sometimes)

As for the belly or tummy cut. Not sure why they name it that why cause you must be hanging your guitar quite low for it to actually benefit someone with a tummy.

It should be called rib cut instead cause guitars without it poke your ribs while playing sitting down.

This post has been edited by noisetrigger: Sep 21 2006, 07:04 PM

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:12 AM