Hobbies RC Flying Models v3

cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 10:10 AM

143 posts

hi guys....

I'm new to this hobby .......but already starting doing a little homework about rc helis.....just want u guys@sifus help which is the best and reliable rc shops that sell online in Malaysia ( or other countries)...any recommendation???......thx

Added on June 14, 2011, 10:26 am
QUOTE(zhnme523 @ Nov 23 2010, 02:29 PM)
My previous and current collection.. Most of plane already out of commission.
u hv the walkera heli model (orange colour)......was it a good heli??.....

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 14 2011, 10:26 AM
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 10:47 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 14 2011, 10:36 AM)
dunno much about walkera standalone rx since i dont have one .. hehehehe

Added on June 14, 2011, 10:37 am

most shops in malaysia no problems .. the well known ones laa
to start .. tell us your budget and how determined are u to play and upkeep the heli
we can then suggest something
Can u suggest the well known ones?........budget (<RM700)...actually its my hobby since childhood but been paused for quiet a long time (....haiyaa..a pc gamer also..tats Y)...so quiet a determine one...sort of like the airwolf models.......so....ready for any suggestion
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 12:20 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 14 2011, 10:54 AM)
have a look at http://www.rcsmart.com.my/
see if they have anything u like
budget <rm700 not much choice .. coz a decent radio setup not including heli oso close to rm600 .. batteries ... charger .. heli .. all purchase separately
if u wanna buy something RTF (ready to fly) with radio charger batt heli .. not much choice .. the obvious one would be belt CP but not recommended

looks at post#948 on previous page ... i would go for the walkera ..
ok...If let say I can push for <RM 1500....what would u reco??......thx for suggestion (RCSmart)...already sign in as a member

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 14 2011, 12:31 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 03:29 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kirashin @ Jun 14 2011, 12:33 PM)
hmm i m currently working in a hobby shop tat specialize in R/C heli...at tesco manjalara...there tons of heli to choose from..
any website?

cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 03:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 14 2011, 03:31 PM)
ok ... rm1.5k
u can get a new radio futaba 6ex ... less than rm600
as for heli .. u can look for align trex clones 450size or u can look for 2nd hand align trex
u will need batteries and charger ... then u are done

or alternatively ... u can order from OVERSEAS ONLINE HOBBY SHOP
one of the best prices will be http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/index.rc
they have clone helis there ... and other brads of radios that are quite reliable and cheap ... batteries and chargers too
i will list down for u below ....

radio >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...?idProduct=8992
heli >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...idProduct=10901
charger (this is the same one i have been using the last almost 2yrs) >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...?idProduct=7028
u will need a ac/dc converter for the charger ... laptop power adapters 12-15v 5A can be used if u have one
batteries (buy at least 3-4 for more training time) >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...?idProduct=6306

electronics for your heli
motor >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...idProduct=11172
servos (3 for cyclic 1 for rudder) >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...idproduct=11856
ESC >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...idproduct=11430
gyro >> http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/u...idProduct=15318

note that this is a very capable budget setup ... it will take u from beginner to intermediate

lastly and most importantly ...
SIMULATOR to learn so u dont crash your heli so often
>>  go to rcsmart and ask for the ahemm ahemm version ... less than rm100 i think ... plug that into your radio and fly in your PC for training

or just get a radio locally ... plug in the SIMULATOR ... and practice b4 u even buy anything else ... this way u for sure will crash much much less with your real heli when u get it
if u go this way ... u can buy the stuff/heli as budget allows later

where are u located ??
From land below the wind bro....Sabah..

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 14 2011, 03:41 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 04:08 PM

143 posts

emmm...looks like HK a heaven for rc hobbyist......can we get cheaper price tags of the same model/parts in HK ??...o ya thx for the tips (Bro QiW)........if I were to the RTF thing...which models u guys reco??......

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 14 2011, 04:15 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 04:40 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 14 2011, 04:21 PM)
my realflight downloaded with emulator ... dont need the dongle oso .. hehehe

if i were to choose RTF ... i would take the walkera in the earlier page
small cheap ... batts are cheap too
and can sell to another beginner when u are ready to progress ... but i think u will keep it coz its small and fun to fly around in the house
actually I hv a small phantom heli ..used it to chased away the birds in turbo mode....(ha ha ha my 2 cents joke)......walkera...walkera.......emm...now looking at the CB180Q and V200DQ01....any of u guys owned@fly this models??......

cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 07:53 PM

143 posts

any good, reliable and good price RC shops in HK?......reco???
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 08:39 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 14 2011, 08:11 PM)
thx a lot bro......doing some lcd shopping now...
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 09:48 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 14 2011, 08:59 PM)
But take not that if you order from HK/CN it could take at least 2 weeks to reach you using registered airmail.

I have some online orders from them except the last one .......
what abt support@warranty@parts??.....2 weeks is not a problem...im quiet a patient person.....and ...what abt the last one u re talking abt??
cpmboy
post Jun 14 2011, 10:51 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 14 2011, 10:47 PM)
Hehehehe, a bit hard to get warranty for hobby parts. But so far I personally feel that the HK/CN sellers are more reliable, responsive and more responsible. Maybe better consumer right in those country and they are actually doing international business with the people all around the world.

But you have to take note that some of the OHS required you to pay for the shipping for return stuff which is DOA - Defect On Arrival.

The last one I was talking about is another hobby shop in HK I think, I have not done any order with them before but reputation not bad ....
Here's a video by dun know who which was comparing HK450 and TAROT heli ...... dun take it serious tongue.gif

thx bro...

Added on June 15, 2011, 9:22 am
QUOTE(kirashin @ Jun 14 2011, 12:33 PM)
hmm i m currently working in a hobby shop tat specialize in R/C heli...at tesco manjalara...there tons of heli to choose from..
Do u guys sell online also??....

Added on June 15, 2011, 9:33 amemm...I think i'll start off with a sim & radio 1st....then the heli.....whats the best, reliable, 2.4g tech radio?....for the sim (maybe realflight@phoenix.....).......if let say the intended heli model is not in the sim models list...how can I go about??

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 15 2011, 09:47 AM
cpmboy
post Jun 15 2011, 10:28 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 15 2011, 09:38 AM)
Best and reliable radio would be Futaba's radio but quite pricey, especially the receiver  .......

There are alternative options like Turnigy, KDS and so on but I have no idea how good/bad it is .... I am using Walkera 2801 Pro, a 8-ch cheaper radio made in China. So far it is good enough for me as a beginner.
wat helis's model do hv nw bro??.....o ya how to configure your radio with your future model??...

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 15 2011, 10:31 AM
cpmboy
post Jun 15 2011, 11:19 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 15 2011, 10:53 AM)
1.) Walkera 4G6, this is where I got the radio from a RTF package.
2.) Trex 450 Pro.

There are a lot of settings in the radio so you have to read a lot or get a Sifu to help you on this. It is really hard to tell you all in this forum now but you may post here to ask just in case you have any setup issue in the future.

Hehehe, I don't think I can help you on those setup issue as I am still a beginner. Bro Qiw is here all the time to help ........
surely will do....o ya..hw much for your trex 450 pro and where from??.....

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 15 2011, 11:41 AM
cpmboy
post Jun 15 2011, 07:41 PM

143 posts

coaxial @ fixed pitch@ collective pitch @ wt flybar @ flybarless????....for beginners??

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 15 2011, 07:50 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 15 2011, 10:36 PM

143 posts

another 2 cents Q...(beginner...beginner).....can a 6ch radio support 4 ch helis.....or just for 6ch helis only??
cpmboy
post Jun 16 2011, 10:42 AM

143 posts

thanks for the reply guys (daddo & QiW)...coz Im thinking that i want to start wt a 4ch helis then progessing to 6ch helis by just using 1 radio........smile.gif

trex 450 pro @ sport??.....wat does 'super combo' means??

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 16 2011, 10:51 AM
cpmboy
post Jun 16 2011, 12:24 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kirashin @ Jun 16 2011, 11:10 AM)
http://www.hobbysportz.com/index.php?main_page=shippinginfo

here ya go that the shop..hahaha...well tat i will need dat i will need to ask my boss..but he did be happy to give discount...
ahh...good news..discounts...discounts...

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 16 2011, 12:25 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 16 2011, 07:09 PM

143 posts

already made my order also.......a sim + a radio first (phoenix + futaba 6ex).......heli's...coming soon ......I hope can pass my sim before pencen ha ha ha........

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 16 2011, 07:16 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 16 2011, 08:51 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Jun 16 2011, 08:38 PM)
Two questions.

What's the difference between Futaba 6EX Mode 1 and Mode 2?

What makes the Futaba 6EX more expensive than the Turnigy 9X?

Cheers
don knw really bro....also still new to this hobby...maybe the quality i presummed......i think u get some rating and their says from users of the two models......

as for mode 1 mode2 .....no clue bro.......maybe this pic will tell some story....

[attachmentid=2277512]
cpmboy
post Jun 17 2011, 03:03 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 17 2011, 10:58 AM)
ok ... cessna hand launch and belly land no problem ... its quite a floater
if u plan to belly ... set your ESC brakes ON ... cover the bottom of your fuselage with some fiber tape to withstand abrasion .. thats all u need to do

long blades are not a problem .. as long as they almost stop or stop spinning when u land ... blade breaks mostly from the rotating impact coz brakes are OFF ..

my EX-PYLONs (3 planes .. 2 given away after crash another i threw away) had blades than goes at 1-2 inch below the lowest part of the fuselage ... no problem
my funjet used to have blades damaged quite easily when i left brakes OFF ... after putting brakes ON .. little to no damage

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:46 pmdont understand what u mean by MAIN HELI SETUP

i fly futaba 8fg .. my 450pro uses r617fs receiver .. electronics are stock standard from align (so far only changed tail servo to futaba 9257 and added an external BEC coz stock tail servo died from EOL)
the thing with heli is setting it up ... setting it up properly will make it much easier to fly .. if u do a chin chai job with your setup then u will have a hard time ... hehehe
another 1.5 cents Q.....how to know which aircraft model support your radio (apart from the channel)..?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:45 PM