Wah, i feel so touched that u guys want muh demo...
no probs no probs...i'll get it sort out after finals yah.
Bass LYN Bassist's Groove !, bassist, please share you comment
Sep 17 2005, 11:49 PM
2,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: On a chair, facing the screen |
Wah, i feel so touched that u guys want muh demo...
no probs no probs...i'll get it sort out after finals yah. |
Sep 27 2005, 07:55 AM
I prefer 2 brand for my 5-stringer :-
1. La Bella 2. Ernie Ball Stainless Steel Custom Gauge For my old P-Bass i used 1. Fender Original Nickel 2. Warwick Red Label La Bella tone are warmer than Ernie Ball but the EB's will get warmer as it get seasoned. But still, EB more treblish than La Bella which make me like La Bella better. All things said, La Bella are expensive and very hard to get. T_T Warwick Red Label quite cheap are sounded better than D'Addario XL IMHO but as SLC alrdy closed down, donno where to get it now. I don't get to try their 5-string set |
Sep 28 2005, 02:34 AM
You can cut your head now.
Well, i broke A string twice (one happened during a show...paiseh!). Everything have their life limit. Bass string will eventually dead sounding (there's many out there like dead-sounding strings...) or snapped...see how u play la |
Sep 28 2005, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(MoNnY @ Sep 28 2005, 07:09 AM) i broke the A and G string... Other than Sujesh la of course..kamoonn then when i broke the A string, i also killed my hipshot tuner... had to replace one... damn hate d'daddario now haha chapree, la bellas are easy to get if u know where.. hehe... sujesh is the man... but yea, they are expensive... my super steps cost RM100 a set.... actually i hate dead sounding strings... i like a new set of strings.. super bright man.... but i'm happy with my tone now |
Sep 29 2005, 12:39 PM
it's not defect loh...just that played it too much
Sep 29 2005, 06:50 PM
Saw this at GuitarStore.com.my website, currently reside at Damansara Perdana branch.
![]() Nice looking, the headstock design like Bass Collection and body like Yamaha's. At first, i thought the pickups were EMGs (the writing there), then I checked, oh EMGs the writings were at the other side. Hahahah, so foolish, there's no way bass with EMG pups can be this cheap. I knew I played on A string a lot...so logically, it will go away faster then the rest hahaha~ |
Sep 30 2005, 04:13 AM
No idea what brand it is...the picture is the only thing posted at the site. Personally, when it comes to pups, I like MM humbuckers or J-pups. MM humbuckers are loud while J-pups are warm.
I went to Cort Melodic Funk concert @ Planet Hollywood, KL just now which featured TM Stevens (w000ttt OMFG Funk 1337ness!!) & Neil Zaza. Two sentences = jaw-dropping & funk-e-licious. Dunno what else to say...i did say something at my blog anyway --> http://chapree.tripod.com/blergh/ Sham Kamikaze opened the concert together with top sessionists such as A.J Popshuvit (on bass - this dude also a jazz player to peeps that dunno), Dr. Bode (guitar) and Yuri (drums). Sham played with the Melodic Funk band at the end of the concert. ![]() Da 1337 man himself. ![]() Funk it up heavy! ![]() TM Steven's effects ![]() That's not Neil Zaza autographing...he's playing! Mad tapping...hahaha~ His settings are as below :- Basses - Cort Funk Machine S-1 4 & 5-string (i think both are identical or close to retail version. Bartolini MK-1 spotted in both) Effects - Jim Dunlop Crybaby Bass - Boss Digital Delay - Boss Metal Zone (kid you not!!) - Boss Super Octave - built-in autowah inside the Funk Machine. (this is around half of his effects that were shown at his website.) Amps (obviously Bentley showroom unit) - Fender Bass Pro 400 (2x10 /w horns) - Fender 115 Pro ext (1x15) Totally an awesome concert...what a change from normal clinic |
Sep 30 2005, 06:42 PM
foonie : i merdeka alrdy w000tt!
that time, when i broke my string, my finger alrdy badly blistered (bleeding alrdy but got to keep on playing)...then we just stop loh. |
Oct 1 2005, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(Swaye @ Oct 1 2005, 03:52 AM) Hey guys,axzel had a comment on "higher low range basses" from ibanez.. i was wondering... if the BTB and EDB are considered low ranged ibanez's what's a HIGH-RANGE ibanez? hahaha well i'm just curious... Cheers ppl! BTB and EDB are not low range Ibanez, they are mid-ranged. Axzel refering to those cheaper Soundgears (except GSR which is low range).High range Ibanez would be Prestige series & Signature series. |
Oct 1 2005, 05:29 PM
Bart's MK-1 are great pups
But i dun think u can get SR500/SR900 with 1.8k price tag...bubinga neck woahhh |
Oct 2 2005, 12:56 AM
Hahaha GAS alert on the high!
I wish Warwick didn't stop their Standard line, so that a Streamer Standard can be available for 2k plus only |
Oct 3 2005, 02:46 PM
5th december, we back at uni alrdy
Good luck to both of u... swaye : I check around the net for SR900...the price are around 800 dollar = RM 3000. That's like twice your budget man |
Oct 4 2005, 03:13 PM
One of the reason I dun like P-bass because due to the single split pickup which not very versatile. But the S-1 supposed to eliminate that problem right...and Precision can't sound like typical Soundgear or RBX because different pup setting unless the S-1 switch were set to the "other" position
For 2k, I think if you could wait for Malaysia Mega Sales, you can get Mexican Fender Jazz Bass (4 or 5-string). A quote from my buddy "Every musician should own at least ONE Fender axe" I want to go to Singapore for WCG World Final, but looks like my pocket damn empty lah. This post has been edited by chapree: Oct 4 2005, 03:14 PM |
Oct 5 2005, 02:03 AM
Hahaha..ada duit semua jadi...
Meanwhile, why don't you browse Swee Lee website? Not much to see though but u can guess the prices Around 2 years back, I want to learn guitar...but my old housemate that time need a bassist for his show. So I get a bass...and continue to learn groove till now. How about you, swaye? This post has been edited by chapree: Oct 5 2005, 02:04 AM |
Oct 5 2005, 05:39 PM
Bentley...nothing much nowadays...lots of Fenders, Squiers & Ibanez as usual. Not sale period somemore..heheh~
Oct 6 2005, 02:55 PM
Hahah, i think that's a while ago.
Now on that particular wall would be all those Amercian Series Precision or Jazz Bass Specials 5-stringer and Signature Strats. There's one MIM J-bass 5-stringer I'm very keen off a while ago, when i have enough money to actually get it (for RM 1.7k weeh) suddenly somebody reserved it. Recently I went, it still around for the original price 2.2k. WTFFF!!! This post has been edited by chapree: Oct 6 2005, 02:56 PM |
Oct 6 2005, 08:02 PM
I started on 4 then went to 5 and stuck there.
Practical? Are you sure...oh boy, u looking at the wrong person here heheh~ Seriously, my music knowledge have went down to drain. I didn't play at all during tournament season. I forgot what's major & minor alrdy...can somebody explain plz A Black Jazz...maybe it were shifted somewhere else last week. Man, I tested the Sting Ray 5 once, damnnn it's sooo loud... Couple that with a Fender amp, swweeeeeetttt mother of tone... |
Oct 7 2005, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Swaye @ Oct 6 2005, 09:01 PM) ahahah hmmm well just scales and fifths and stuff la.. ahah i'm willing to start anywhere!! ahhaah ISh... Stingray 5.. damn nice la.. ahah butterscotch finish with black pickguard.. haha Oh, the one i tried have butterscotch finish too but with white pearloid pickguard.I actually so in love with flamed maple...but kinda poor here. QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Oct 7 2005, 05:12 PM) Awesome review there! Short and simple, direct to the point. You just couldn't resist plugging guitar to a "Bassman" amp eh? |
Oct 7 2005, 08:25 PM
Hehehe, we all poor mah...but let me quote somebody, "Money talks alright but make your "chops" talks, then the money will talk back to you," Man, imagine how my face that time...
It's not wrong to dream & complain about prices though. For comparison, Ampeg V-4BH 100watter head cost around RM 5k. Of course, it's unfair to compare a all tube (Ampeg) and solid state (Fender). Well, personally for me, I haven't seen any amp as unique as Phil Jones Bass amp...humongus. ![]() Saw one of the larger size series at Combo Mix, KL Plaza before...wonder if it's still there or not. |
Oct 7 2005, 11:31 PM
that's their 2nd smallest...the biggest would be their Pirahna 8T & 24B cabs.
![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0460sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:20 AM |